Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 year old smoking!?

• 26-01-2015 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭

So there's a photo around Facebook of a 5 year old kid from Clondalkin, Dublin smoking what seems to be a cigarette. There's been a lot of controversy surrounding the photo. Everyone is quick enough to jump to the conclusion that it's the parents fault. I'm sure everyone on here has done stuff growing up that their folks didn't know about. Nobody knows the story behind the pic.

Link to the picture: http://gyazo.com/c671c855afd4cd260c61245416109166

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

he looks so cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

Oh my god that's disgusting. I would think at five years old the parents should know where he is and what he is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It most certainly is not his parents' fault, you don't see his parents there running around the place smoking fags like brazen fag-smoking-running-around-people, do you?? You certainly do not, no sir indeedy! That child needs to be rounded up quare lively and have the divil bate outta him wit' shticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Must be a slow starter out there

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There's no smoke. He could have just as easily found it on the ground put it in his mouth and said "take a picture of me for the craic".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

What is the world coming too. First ISIS beheadings and now posed pictures of kids designed to stir up the nest. I for one am outraged. Too many people on the dole that's the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Lets enhance that license plate and get an idea on the location!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

*cough* fake cigarette *cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

masti123 wrote: »
    So there's a photo around Facebook of a 5 year old kid from Clondalkin, Dublin smoking what seems to be a cigarette. There's been a lot of controversy surrounding the photo. Everyone is quick enough to jump to the conclusion that it's the parents fault. I'm sure everyone on here has done stuff growing up that their folks didn't know about. Nobody knows the story behind the pic.

Link to the picture: http://gyazo.com/c671c855afd4cd260c61245416109166

I think it is fair to assume if the child is five it is the parents fault. Who is he with that is old enough to take a picture of him and why have the parents trusted that person with their child?

ScumLord wrote: »
    There's no smoke. He could have just as easily found it on the ground put it in his mouth and said "take a picture of me for the craic".

Wrong wrong. Its the parents fault, its the only possible explanation for me wanting to vent so much. Rational thought be damned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That would make a brilliant album cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

It's more likely that he was given the smoke by some scrote who wanted to take a picture to show his mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Do they still sell those toffee cigarettes that we used to get when we were kids?
    I guess not. Bloody PC brigade.

Fake cigarettes can't make you cough.

Ha! Busted!

Fake cigarettes can't make you cough.

Ha! Busted!

Covered in viruses they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Well, maybe you shouldn't have lit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

First impression was that he had picked a butt off the ground. The thing doesn't appear to be lit. I wouldn't jump the gun and assume he's a smoker and his parents are cool with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭circadian

Doesn't look lit, although I do wonder who took the pic. They're certainly taller/older than a 5 year old (do 5 year olds have phones??)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭spikeS

eviltwin wrote: »
    First impression was that he had picked a butt off the ground. The thing doesn't appear to be lit. I wouldn't jump the gun and assume he's a smoker and his parents are cool with it.

But picking up a used dirty fag and letting the kid put it in his mouth is still pretty bad parenting.

Ah c'mon I know people that done this to pretend to be smokers when I was a kid around that age.

Nothing wrong with their parents or parenting and those lads turned out ok.

This most likely looks like two older kids (see bikes against the wall) either spotted him doing it or encouraged him to do it. I don't see how bad parenting comes into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Is he really 5? He looks younger. It's clearly not a lit cigarette though. Still disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

spikeS wrote: »
    But picking up a used dirty fag and letting the kid put it in his mouth is still pretty bad parenting.

If the parents took the photo I'd agree with you but we don't know if they are even aware of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Ethel

I'm sure everyone on here has done stuff growing up that their folks didn't know about.
    Not at five, No. Parents that don't know where their young children are at that age are irresponsible.
    Nobody knows the story behind the pic.
    To be honest, whatever the reason that child has a cigarette in its mouth (fake or otherwise), it's not good. It looks nasty. The person that took that picture did so because they thought it was funny. And by person, I mean scumbag.

Could have been an older sibling, kids are silly sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ethel wrote: »
    Not at five, No. Parents that don't know where their young children are at that age are irresponsible.

It's more than likely a slightly older kid that took the photo. You'd swear our generation were saints growing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Nah ,he's not 5 , he's 18 - it's just smoking since age 5 has stunted his growth -

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 johnny1235

this picture isn't taken from clondalkin, it was in Limerick get your facts right before you post invalid information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

johnny1235 wrote: »
    this picture isn't taken from clondalkin, it was in Limerick get your facts right before you post invalid information

This is where the picture was taken, it was indeed in Clondalkin. https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.326355,-6.419812,3a,75y,111.08h,71.87t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sWVRGv7o1ElDaUOtYJJXb4Q!2e0?hl=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

You shouldn't have given it to the kid anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭liam24

He's an amateur compared to this guy:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Ethel

It's more than likely a slightly older kid that took the photo. You'd swear our generation were saints growing up.

I never said our generation were saints. I'm specifically talking about a child that age. To clarify, I mean five.

And the point about it maybe being an older sibling is moot, as said in the op we don't know who took it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

5 is just clearly way to young. I wouldn't mind a 14 year old smoking. That's the lowest age I'd ago that i think is acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭spikeS

5 is just clearly way to young. I wouldn't mind a 14 year old smoking. That's the lowest age I'd ago that i think is acceptable.

Smoking seriously stunts growth no one should smoke but a growing teen is a definite no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

You think its acceptable for 14 year olds to be smoking? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Wouldn't have happened when I was his age.

We got no smoke breaks during daylight hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Somebody give that kid a beer. And a hash pipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

I believe he was smoking a real cigarette. Seen some people on facebook claiming they were there and saw it happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

He probably saw those ESB men smoking & drinking tea and wanted to be part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

I believe he was smoking a real cigarette. Seen some people on facebook claiming they were there and saw it happen.

Finally! Some reliable evidence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

I'm sure everyone on here has done stuff growing up that their folks didn't know about.
    Not at five though.
    Pffft, exactly. The guy is five like - loads of people were mad yokes by five; all those junior infanters and their shenanigans of a Friday night.

Seriously though, I'd agree he most likely either picked it up from somewhere or older kids gave it to him and took the picture for the craic.
    That's not that unusual in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

That would make a brilliant album cover
    h ttps://flic.kr/p/qWYHh2

Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Perkinstock

5 year old? oh men, for real?! and look how that Indonesian baby smoke! damn, i'm not a smoker, but i do have lot of friends who are chain smokers, and believe me, that kid in the vids is more professional compare to my friends. That shock me! damn! :) not that i'm judging the parents of that kid, but they should know what their child doing. It's obviously a big deal. Remind me of one of my pal back in high school days. he started to smoke at around 12, then he quickly became addict on it, till he starts to drink booze. At 18, he's totally alcoholic. And at that age, he even started to dig joint (i'm a weed-partners of him, but i smoke occasionally and i usually puff once or twice a week back then). At present, he's totally a mess! an alcohol/heroin addict. Thinking of helping him though, trying to send him some emails regarding treatment. I'm back and forth whether to send this Drug Rehabilitation Center North Las Vegas, but heck, it's his choice anyway if how he wants to live his life. But damn, i am clue less how this kids learn how to smoke at such young age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Cigarettes made out of that weird sweet stuff, mmm.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Cigarettes made out of that weird sweet stuff, mmm.

Tomacco?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

circadian wrote: »
    Doesn't look lit, although I do wonder who took the pic. They're certainly taller/older than a 5 year old (do 5 year olds have phones??)

It was probably his 10 year-old brother. Had little brother pose with the cig and took a photo. It's no big deal. There was a pic going around ages ago of 3 little babies asleep on cushions and a bunch of Heineken bottles on the floor around them. It was most definitely staged by adults.

So that pic and this pic are somewhat funny and the prudes will find them oh so shocking and tasteless but anyone with half a brain won't get all bent out of shape over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

circadian wrote: »
    Tomacco?

It's disgusting..... But I want more!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Ethel wrote: »

Ah would you lighten the fuck up (no pun intended).
    When I was 5 I was always out playing across the road in the green in my estate. There were loads of other kids of all ages there. Yes my parents knew where I was but they weren't standing looking out the window from the time I went out to the time I came in. I walked the mile to school on my own when I was 5. Well, with 2 or 3 more classmates who lived along the route.
    The kid is out playing for christ's sake. Do you want a damn GPS tracker strapped to his head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

He'll turn out okay, probably only get 6 years in prison when he's an adult.