Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what are ye looking forward to this year

• 24-01-2015 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭

Ive nothing to look forward to. This thread is about as exciting as it gets for me right now.

Hell & back next weekend.
    A holiday next month.
    4 weddings (hopefully no funerals!!!)
    A race + weekend in Donegal in March.
    A weekend in Galway in April
    A trip to Edinburgh to do a Marathon in May
    Wales and Glasgow in June for two of the weddings.
    My birthday in July
    Warriors Run in August
    Trip away for a half marathon in September
    Dublin Marathon in October.
    I HATE NOVEMBER (but I think my friend might have a baby then :D)
    Christmas in December
    \o/

Make stuff to look forward to. You have to make them yourself like, they won't just fall in your lap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ohbygod

A holiday next month.
    My birthday in July
    Warriors Run in August
    Christmas in December
    \o/

Make stuff to look forward to. You have to make them yourself like, they won't just fall in your lap.

I have 2 weddings this year and i aint looking forward 2 those lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Going to the pub on Monday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Star Wars 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

But but but ....November is 10 months away.....
    Have you lined up a blind date for him/her in February?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Getting my hole. We're over three weeks in and nada :(

ohbygod wrote: »
    I have 2 weddings this year and i aint looking forward 2 those lol

I love weddings. Love them. Love all of it, getting dressed up, the big fancy meal, the dancing. Love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,282 ✭✭✭mosstin

ohbygod wrote: »
    Ive nothing to look forward to. This thread is about as exciting as it gets for me right now.

Think positively. Perhaps someone will thank your post. But that hasn't been going too well either eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A holiday next month.
    My birthday in July
    Warriors Run in August
    Christmas in December
    \o/

I feel tired just reading that

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

My girlfriend is going travelling for 6 months starting in May. In August I'll be taking 3 weeks off to visit her in Thailand. Although she hasn't even left yet, I'm looking forward to meeting up with her having not seen her for 3 months.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ohbygod

My girlfriend is going travelling for 6 months starting in May. In August I'll be taking 3 weeks off to visit her in Thailand. Although she hasn't even left yet, I'm looking forward to meeting up with her having not seen her for 3 months.

6 months of freedom id enjoy it while it lasts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

That's like when you're cooking pasta and you're thinking about the huge dump you're going to take later.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

That's like when you're cooking pasta and you're thinking about the huge dump you're going to take later.

I'm stealing that for the valentines day card

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

I feel tired just reading that

Me too. FCUUUUUK.
    What have I done :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Game and movie related stuff mostly. I'm boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 paulosam

-Afghan Whigs in two weeks
    -Friend that I haven't seen for nearly a year coming home for a weeks visit
    -Nieces first birthday
    -Friends wedding in Edinburgh, which happily coincides with the fringe!
    -Holidays somewhere!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Genuinely looking forward to the results of the Same Sex Marriage referendum later on this year!

Doesn't affect me as such but I'm looking forward to Ireland taking a step forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Taylor Swift concert in June.
    A robotic cleaner for the cow shed in the Autumn.
    Top of the range PC, probably summertime.
    Kilkenny hopefully winning the All Ireland hurling again
    Sport in general
    The by election, but not the posters.
    TV programs like Game of Thrones.
    Uncharted 4.
    O2 changing to 3 and getting 4G internet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Three marathons and an 100 mile race taking between March and end of April. I miss the misery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Ruu wrote: »
    Three marathons and an 100 mile race taking between March and end of April. I miss the misery.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PI0MRyUFIXU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Rugby world cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Going to Edinburgh for a few days with a friend of mine in March.

Going on holidays with himself at some point. We haven't decided where yet! Maybe Italy.

Think I might visit my Dad who lives in France this summer too. I never really go there because it's the middle of nowhere and I usually get bored out of my mind after a few days, but now I have found out there are alpacas in the field near his house so I wanna go :o

All my ones involve leaving the country...

Oh and I am joining a swimming pool in the next few days, yay! This was my first year not being a member of a swimming pool for the past 10 years I'd say, and I really have missed it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

A holiday next month.
    My birthday in July
    Warriors Run in August
    Christmas in December
    \o/

It's a pleasure reading a lot of your posts. You have a great attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Going to the pub on Monday night.

Looking forward to your Monday night thread after the pub. Usually provides some light relief the following morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

One of my best friend's hen party in London next weekend. I worked there for 2 years so I'm also going to go in and say hello to all my friends!

2 weddings in February as well.

That's it so far but I'm sure other things will crop up during the year :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Going to Edinburgh for a few days with a friend of mine in March.

Going on holidays with himself at some point. We haven't decided where yet! Maybe Italy.

Think I might visit my Dad who lives in France this summer too. I never really go there because it's the middle of nowhere and I usually get bored out of my mind after a few days, but now I have found out there are alpacas in the field near his house so I wanna go :o

All my ones involve leaving the country...

Oh and I am joining a swimming pool in the next few days, yay! This was my first year not being a member of a swimming pool for the past 10 years I'd say, and I really have missed it!
    ALPACAS!!!

*Begins to pack bags in preparation to move to France.*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Paying off my personal loan before going off the rails partying and throwing money around like Charlie Sheen on a Thursday evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭honerbright

January:
    - Trip to Berlin (this monday!!)
    - Trip to Galway
    - Friends Engagement Party
    February:
    - Valentines Day
    - First 5k run
    March:
    - Week off from work/undecided holiday location.
    April:
    - Trip to England to see my Dad who is coming over from New Zealand.
    - Going to meet my newborn baby cousin (also in England)
    - Easter!
    - My Birthday!
    June:
    - 8 Year anniversary with OH.
    - Gaslight Anthem in Dublin
    - Taylor Swift in London
    - Taylor Swift in Dublin
    July:
    -Damien Rice in Cork

As well as a possible wedding (depending when friends set date), and presumably a hen night to go with it.

2015 is shaping up nicely so far.

The Peanut wrote: »

Awww, thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Nothing big apart for my holiday. My eldest turns 18 this year, leaves school and goes to college so mostly I'm looking forward to her reaching those milestones. Also looking forward to reaching my goal weight and doing a few half marathons

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭dimsumss

discovering a new continent

getting one answer right on times crossword

building minecraft play space

digging for gold in cavan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Strangely, the mocks and the leaving cert. I'm tutoring some students, they're good kids and if they do the work they'll absolutely reach their potential. The idea of seeing them manage that, and begin the next stage of their life is really exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The Peanut wrote: »

The kind of attitude that gets you thrown out out of the nudey club. Not a feckin clue where I'll find a wife now. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Post-Modern Jukebox gig in Febuary
    Weird Al Yankovic gig in October
    Family wedding in April
    My 27th birthday in April
    Dublin Pride in June
    Dublin Comic Con in August

That's about it, really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I'm gonna watch so much tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭acon2119

A holiday next month.
    My birthday in July
    Warriors Run in August
    Christmas in December
    \o/

You have a great attitude. Your right, you have to make your own plans to look forward to. Hope you enjoy all your events this year. :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

F1 starting again in March :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Looking forward to:
    Hopefully finding work closer to home so I don't spend 13 hours a week driving
    Our baby calves due this spring hopefully being born healthy with no drama (unlike last year)
    A bit nerdy but the practical sessions of the course I'm doing
    Really looking forward to a CPD event for vet nurses in May, going to make a weekend of it with some of my friends from college
    Getting back to my horse riding lessons and MAYBE finally preparing for the BHS exam
    Hopefully will get a holiday outside Ireland this summer
    Seeing some more of my friends, thought I would once I finished college last September but then got a job ridiculously far away from all of them
    Climbing a few hills/mountains
    Last season of Mad Men

Thanks for asking OP, it's nice having things to look forward to

Edit: I just re read your OP. Sorry dude:-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

A lovely long and hopefully hot summer. Moving into my lovely new house in June!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

The hilarious debates before the same sex marriage referendum.
    Rugby World Cup I guess, managed to get some tickets.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Feb: Going to Edinburgh with my friend to visit other friends. Also will be seeing The Commitments in the West End.
    Mar: My birthday is in March and my friend's baby is due at the end of the month.
    June: Glastonbury
    Sep: Possible sun holiday

It's only January so the months will probably fill up with other stuff, including a couple of visits home to Cork. Might also have some friends from Cork and Dublin visit me during the year.

I'm also looking forward to the release of the new Mad Max and Jurassic World films ;-D

I really enjoyed the last couple of summers so hoping to fill my time with many great experiences again this year. :-)

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

A few bits and pieces on im looking forward to but I cant look past july my birthday is 13th but also ill be spending 3wks sailing a luxury yacht in the eastern Mediterranean, Greek Isles, Cyprus to name a few! Heavily!!

I have alot on after that but that will be the highlight of the past two years, I'm counting the days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Magnate

Suits season 4B return
    Better Call Saul premiere
    Finishing leaving cert
    Leaving cert holiday!
    Freedom
    College/Gap year depending on whether or not I f*ck up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭dueaug

Ok so (takes a deep breath)

1 christening, 1 birth & christening, 1 x 80th, 2 x 40th's, 1 x 50th, 2 x 18th's
    1 communion, 1 confirmation, 2 x hens, 1 wedding (baby sister) in Ireland, 1 x wedding in Italy (best friend's), 1 week holiday in Portugal.

That's it til September 15th, after that I dunno yet ;)
    Without all the little surprizes along the way!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Going for lunch next Saturday with my husband.
    Dinner next Sunday with friends.
    First ultrasound on Saturday.
    Meeting my newborn niece this week
    Have 11 nieces and nephews so I love their birthdays and always look forward to them.
    Having a baby in September.
    My son starting school in September.
    My birthday in October.
    Our first anniversary in April.

Loads of stuff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Looking forward to...in no particular order

My photography course (just started it)
    Some new projects at work
    Lots of time off and spending it with my young daughter...plan to take a month off in August
    Reading some good novels

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 67 ✭✭johnohanlon

Derry bating donegal in football next week and watching them getting relegated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Merseyside derby next month (OH getting up at 8am the day after the darts to get the tickets had better be worth it!)
    Kamelot, Blind Guardian and Sonata Arctica gigs this spring
    My wedding in May :D
    Honeymoon, whenever it happens
    Hopefully doing my first half ironman this summer
    Possible Dublin Marathon in October

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Going to be a auntie to twins in about 4 weeks :)
    (there on the way wahooo)
    My friends Wedding :) The first of us too do so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

This year I will not be;
    Attending any weddings ( or stags/ hens/ beer bong events)
    Doing a marathon/ironman/100 mile madmens mullock (not even for charidee)
    Having a baby
    Having a new nephew/niece/surrogate gay stepson)
    Attending any "gigs" featuring Taylor (jayzus) Swift
    Nursing any prize heifers through a difficult calf delivery.

Actually, I'm quite looking forward to 2015