Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stickers illegal on your windshield?

• 21-01-2015 3:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭

Can anybody tell me if stickers on your front windshield are illegal? Because i keep getting told off the same 2 gaurds that they're illegal and blocking my view, I tell them to get into the car and check for them selves but they won't, Iv'e been through countless checkpoints and randomly stopped a few times around the country and not one gaurd has said anything about the stickers except for these 2 gaurds..

Here's a pic of the car with them!

10531383_1587935548099791_5323960714855126574_o.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 380 ✭✭macyard

Daaryl wrote: »
    Can anybody tell me if stickers on your front windshield are illegal? Because i keep getting told off the same 2 gaurds that they're illegal and blocking my view, I tell them to get into the car and check for them selves but they won't, Iv'e been through countless checkpoints and randomly stopped a few times around the country and not one gaurd has said anything about the stickers except for these 2 gaurds..

Here's a pic of the car with them!

10531383_1587935548099791_5323960714855126574_o.jpg

Would of though you would be getting more hassle for the plate it's off center and I would say not clearly visable from the front.

You just might be know to these two gaurds so they are being more sticky to the rules on the tacky stickers, random checkpoint people won't care as much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Daaryl

macyard wrote: »
    Would of though you would be getting more hassle for the plate it's off center and I would say not clearly visable from the front.

You just might be know to these two gaurds so they are being more sticky to the rules on the tacky stickers, random checkpoint people won't care as much

Reg is back on the car, Had no screws to stick it on with :P

Them 2 gaurds don't like me at all lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Reg is back on the car, Had no screws to stick it on with :P

Them 2 gaurds don't like me at all lol
    Reg must be on the front as well IIRC.

He was saying it back attached to the front bumper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I think stickers were previously illegal under the same law as window tint in that anything which obstructed the drivers view was illegal. I'm not too sure on the recent changes but I think that law still applies.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

From the most recent NCT doc I think.
    GLASS
    Method of Testing
    1. Check the condition and security of the windscreen and all side and rear windows.
    2. Check that where the windscreen is made of glass it is marked as safety glass.
    3. Check that there is an adequate view from the driving seat and that it is not interfered with by objects or stickers.
    4. Check that in the case of vehicles first registered on or after 1st January 1986 the windscreen is made of laminated safety glass
    and marked as shown on the attached Schedule I overleaf or to an equivalent standard as shown in Fig. 1 below.
    5. Where windscreens, side or rear windows are fitted with glazing material other than safety glass the vehicle owner shall
    provide a certificate from the manufacturer or installer stating that the glazing material is not likely, if fractured, to produce
    fragments capable of causing severe cuts. In the case of rally cars, this may take the form of a note from the Technical
    Commissioner of the RIAC in the vehicle log book.
    6. Check that the driver’s window operating mechanism is functioning properly.
    7. If an inspector deems that the windscreen or front side windows are excessively tinted, the level of light transmission
    of the window should be tested using light meter capable of measuring the amount of light transmitted through the
    windscreen and the side windows

It's blocking some portion of the screen, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭the world wonders

MarkR wrote: »
    From the most recent NCT doc I think.

It's blocking some portion of the screen, surely?

Is this actually illegal though, or is it just grounds to fail the NCT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They are actually illegal.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1963/en/si/0190.html

Section 34:
    (b) all glass and all safety glass fitted to a vehicle shall be maintained in such a condition that it does not obscure the vision of the driver while the vehicle is being driven and shall be kept free of inessential objects or inessential stickers;
    Which also arguably means that the dealer stickers placed on the rear windows are also illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

seamus wrote: »

Section 34:

Which also arguably means that the dealer stickers placed on the rear windows are also illegal.

Are they? your quote says "inessential stickers", who defines what is "inessential". I might have an "AA" stick on the windscreen, is that illegal as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭JPF82

Those stickers in the centre of your windscreen probably leave you with a fairly large blind spot to any objects obscured by them.

Dealer stickers are usually on the rear window and not too large.

Are they? your quote says "inessential stickers", who defines what is "inessential". I might have an "AA" stick on the windscreen, is that illegal as well?
    I guess that would be a matter for a Garda and subsequently a court to decide, as there's no definition in the SI itself.

If I had to take a potshot at it, I would say that "inessential" is anything which is not legally required (e.g. a tax disc) or does not serve a specific purpose, such as a sun blind on a rear passenger window. You could argue that something like an AA sticker is "essential", since it identifies you in the event of a breakdown.
    Whereas decals of motor sport brands or dealer names aren't essential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭JPF82

Those stickers in the centre of your windscreen probably leave you with a fairly large blind spot to any objects obscured by them.

Dealer stickers are usually on the rear window and not too large.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

I guess that would be a matter for a Garda and subsequently a court to decide, as there's no definition in the SI itself.

If I had to take a potshot at it, I would say that "inessential" is anything which is not legally required (e.g. a tax disc) or does not serve a specific purpose, such as a sun blind on a rear passenger window. You could argue that something like an AA sticker is "essential", since it identifies you in the event of a breakdown.

An AA sticker is inessential as it means nothing, there are no details on an AA sticker that will get you help from the AA. Your membership number is on your membership card not the sticker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

Whether they are illegal or not,they are obstructing your view of the front left of your car ie where a child would be if they ran out in front of you.

vandriver wrote: »
    Whether they are illegal or not,they are obstructing your view of the front left of your car ie where a child would be if they ran out in front of you.

It may look like that from the outside, But genuinely 100% you can see clearly out the window! It doesn't obstruct my view at all, If it was i would take them off.

Put up a picture from inside then.

Car is in getting a few bits done to it, So will when i get it back!

Tell that to my extra 5bhp. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What about L plates and people who pass the test and the need to put up N plates?

In addition what about cars where one driver passes the test and the 2nd driver is sill learning so they have up N and L plates blocking their view? I've seen this multiple times.

What about L plates and people who pass the test and the need to put up N plates?

In addition what about cars where one driver passes the test and the 2nd driver is sill learning so they have up N and L plates blocking their view? I've seen this multiple times.

Blu-tac swap ,simple.Top left corner of windscreen.So unless a child falls off a ladder at the side of the road ,you'll probably see them.

Blu-tac swap ,simple.Top left corner of windscreen.So unless a child falls off a ladder at the side of the roaf ,you'll probably see them.

Anyone too stupid to have both N and L plates displayed isn't going to take good sensible advice.

They're legally required, therefore essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

anything that obstruct view is dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

They're legally required, therefore essential.

But are the required on the Windscreen, could they not be else where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Hard to place anywhere else on the front of the car to make them easily visible. Placing them on the bonnet would hardly be visible to most. They should also be placed on the opposite corner of the windscreen from the driver, and high up, meaning that visibility lost is minimal/insignificant.

The law actually doesn't state that the stickers must be essential to the windscreen, just that they must be essential. :)
    So in theory once the sticker is essential you are permitted to put it on the windscreen, even if it could be mounted elsewhere.

Likewise the rule about "inessential objects", I've seen a number of people with their reg plates mounted in the front window. They are an essential object and therefore legal to display in the windscreen once they don't significantly obstruct the view.

Back in the day iirc the front L plate used to get tied to the bumper (in the UK at least) but that was when we had bumpers that weren't part of the cars body panels.

Its the rear L plate thats important for other drivers to see so that can go on the back window and the front one could go lower down on the bumper or grill if it will fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

Those stickers are no worse than the idiots that have a load of crap hanging from their rear view mirror. Some of the junk you see up there is unbelievable. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

Falcon L wrote: »
    Those stickers are no worse than the idiots that have a load of crap hanging from their rear view mirror. Some of the junk you see up there is unbelievable. :eek:

Ah now, you can't be telling someone that their four different scented freshener hangers, rosary beads, fluffy dice and pair of sunglasses aren't "essential".

Not to mention mini football kits, mini football boots or boxing gloves. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Nothing, absolutely nothing in the above photo to suggest why the guards might have an issue with the OP. Nothing at all. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Falcon L wrote: »

I've enough fecking gizmos to run the starship Enterprise down the centre of my windscreen. That said the dash cam is tucked in behind the rear view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

From reading the legislation posted they are illegal. The two garda are correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Section 34:

Except for the fact that the only widows that need to be clear are the windscreen and front passenger doors. You can completely blank out the rear window and rear passenger door windows if you want, and are forced to do if you have a commercial need.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Except for the fact that the only widows that need to be clear are the windscreen and front passenger doors. You can completely blank out the rear window and rear passenger door windows if you want, and are forced to do if you have a commercial need.
    Actually the law I quoted above makes no distinction as to the location of the glass, the rule applies to all glass fitted to the vehicle that the driver looks through.

If the vehicle has no rear windows, then the provision doesn't apply. Interestingly I wonder exactly what a judge would make of completely blacked-up rear windows on a commercial that even the driver can't see out of.

Actually the law I quoted above makes no distinction as to the location of the glass, the rule applies to all glass fitted to the vehicle that the driver looks through.

If the vehicle has no rear windows, then the provision doesn't apply. Interestingly I wonder exactly what a judge would make of completely blacked-up rear windows on a commercial that even the driver can't see out of.

I'm fairly sure windows and windscreen are separate items on a car and considered differently. For example years back when I imported a car I had to say how many windows it had and I got it wrong because the windscreen doesn't count as a window :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

What function do the stickers perform for you? Apart from being chavtastic!

Makes my car be fulla shport :pac: As they say each to their own..

my3cents wrote: »
    I'm fairly sure windows and windscreen are separate items on a car and considered differently. For example years back when I imported a car I had to say how many windows it had and I got it wrong because the windscreen doesn't count as a window :rolleyes:
    I'm just quoting the law.

The law states, "All glass and safety glass", it doesn't mention "windows" or the words "front", "side", or "rear". The declaration you had to make to revenue is not relevant to the road traffic act.

In fact, the same provision prohibits you from putting stickers on your rear-view mirrors.

Reminds me of the shopping list you used to see on chavmobile doors. Let me see, I need Momo wheels, Sparco seats..... etc. :D

I'm just quoting the law.

The law states, "All glass and safety glass", it doesn't mention "windows" or the words "front", "side", or "rear". The declaration you had to make to revenue is not relevant to the road traffic act.

In fact, the same provision prohibits you from putting stickers on your rear-view mirrors.

The same act mentions windscreen 10 times. You can't not differentiate between the windows and the windscreen because you have to have wipers and demisters on the windscreen.

Makes my car be fulla shport :pac: As they say each to their own..

I happen to be the proud ex-owner of an e36 M3 cabrio (although I'm not sure yours is really an M3 ;) ) but I can say that from the seating position with Vaders in there the highest of the stickers could reduce your road vision.

They aren't vaders :pac:

If they're the Lux that come with standard verts then I'd say you're fine for vision - I just don't know how you would prove that if it ever became an issue other than having the Garda sit in there.

Do you know who own that car across from you? Is that it's finished state?

macyard wrote: »
    Do you know who own that car across from you? Is that it's finished state?

Yeah i do, And it's a girl who owns it.. It''s finished

I am not in all that car modding stuff but your looks at least ok, what do people in that scene think of her car? Is that Matt paint also or a bad photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

1. Technically - the law says they are illegal.
    2. The two guards have told you this.
    3. Whatever about anything else, I'd take the advice of the guards.....do you really want to test this law out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

Lose the stickers and loose the attention!

Unless you want the gaurds to find other faults!!

kippy wrote: »
    1. Technically - the law says they are illegal.
    2. The two guards have told you this.
    3. Whatever about anything else, I'd take the advice of the guards.....do you really want to test this law out?

True, forgot about the "and" in Section 34.