Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy overtaking on the R148

• 20-01-2015 10:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.liveleak.com/ll_embed?f=3fa6cc5813e4&quot; frameborder="0"

Hopefully the owner of the video reported and made available the recording to Gardai. Potentially alot of people's lives put at risk by idiotic driving. driver deserves a stay in prison and at least 3 year driving ban but will probably be only fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Sociopath2

The_Mask wrote: »
    <iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.liveleak.com/ll_embed?f=3fa6cc5813e4&quot; frameborder="0"

Hopefully the owner of the video reported and made available the recording to Gardai. Potentially alot of people's lives put at risk by idiotic driving. driver deserves a stay in prison and at least 3 year driving ban but will probably be only get fined.

That link isn't working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

Sorry guys you will have to copy and paste, first video to post went wrong! Video is worth a watch

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

http://www.liveleak.com/ll_embed?f=3fa6cc5813e4

Nuts... but frankly seen an awful lot of this stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Already over in the dashcam thread in Motors. A tweet tweetererered to the Gardai too iirc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Where abouts is that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

newmug wrote: »
    Where abouts is that?

on the R148.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

What's really shocking is how common this is. I've seen it so many times from many types of driver, young, old, men, women, not just boy racers.

Equally astounding is how many people accommodate this type of driving, allowing it to become an unhindered habit for a significant few.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

that's probably some bohreen of a road in the sthicks, the dump truck probably holding up a whole posse of drivers, but the guy passing out all and sundry is an idiot.

Having said that one of the pet hates in Ireland is clowns who refuse to pass out dump trucks when its perfectly safe to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭IamNotNumber

Unbelievable, fair enough if that idiot driving the car plows into a pole but taking innocent people out of it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Looks like a Garda car. Vectra saloon, dark colour and a D? reg.

Probably a locked Garda detective with an invincibility complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

coolemon wrote: »
    Looks like a Garda car. Vectra saloon, dark colour and a D? reg.

Probably a locked Garda detective with an invincibility complex.

There's absolutely nothing to suggest it's a Garda car, but you obviously have an axe to grind :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Was expecting a head on collision. Dashcam says the driver was doing 77 km/h - so the guy overtaking must have been doing well over 100 kmph. At those speeds, a head on collision would likely kill all those involved.

What an idiot. Deserves to have his driving licence ripped up, pay a huge fine and be banned from driving for ten years. This kind of stupidity doesn't belong on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

fullstop wrote: »
    There's absolutely nothing to suggest it's a Garda car, but you obviously have an axe to grind :rolleyes:

I like it sharp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

can anyone make out the reg

i get 06 -D ...but the rest i can't see

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

DVDM93 wrote: »
    on the R148.

Well any idiot can tell that. Demonstrate your intelligence and tell us where in the country that is, and specifically, the name of the area in that clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Deluded Oreo

They seem to be giving out licenses to any old ejit these days probably why I encounter these idiots on a daily basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Well any idiot can tell that. Demonstrate your intelligence and tell us where in the country that is, and specifically, the name of the area in that clip.

Muppetsville. Going by the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Demonstrate your intelligence... if you noticed there is specific location data in the bottom right of the video.. come back when you're done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Patricia Meath

That's on the old road between Kilcock and Enfield. 10Km stretch of road. The first km allows overtaking ( when safe)- the next 9km is No Overtaking . Most of the drivers I see on that road wait until the latter part to overtake. As well as being stupid they're too mean to pay the toll and stay on the motorway.

Being mean has nothing at all to do with it.

I mean that if they want to do those speeds they can take an alternative route by staying on the M6 motorway at Kilcock and getting to their destination quicker and possibly not endangering as many lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Copa Mundial

The "2 lanes divided by a line" plan we're all following is evidently lost on some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

Tonight on Leapardstown Road, Dublin. Goto 1min 07 sec if your too busy to watch it all, slow motion in same clip. Reported to Gardaí.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

fryup wrote: »
    can anyone make out the reg

i get 06 -D ...but the rest i can't see

I mean that if they want to do those speeds they can take an alternative route by staying on the M6 motorway at Kilcock and getting to their destination quicker and possibly not endangering as many lives.

Not everyone who doesn't pay the motorway toll speed on the alternative secondary road. It's an extra expense many can do without.

Well obviously those idiots we saw in the video do. I think that's who this thread is referring to n'est pas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I do that sort of thing all the ****ing time. In the supermarket. When oul ones won't get their ****ing trolleys out of the way. I just motor onto the wrong side of the aisle and play chicken with the son of an unnamed goat coming towards me on the other side. I eyeball that mother****er, they know they can't do ****. Pull your goddamn trolley in to the side because I am coming through and you ain't gonna stop me, bitch. Then I get my sliced pan and I'm good to go.

Well obviously those idiots we saw in the video do. I think that's who this thread is referring to n'est pas?

Yes, but they're not speeding because they're mean.

Not defending them in any way at all, I just didn't see him come off the motorway at Kilcock.

What kind of deranged fool names a town "Kilcock" anyway?

BMJD wrote: »
    I do that sort of thing all the ****ing time. In the supermarket. When oul ones won't get their ****ing trolleys out of the way. I just motor onto the wrong side of the aisle and play chicken with the son of an unnamed goat coming towards me on the other side. I eyeball that mother****er, they know they can't do ****. Pull your goddamn trolley in to the side because I am coming through and you ain't gonna stop me, bitch. Then I get my sliced pan and I'm good to go.

What brand bread do you buy ?

Brennan's of course.

Mech1 wrote: »
    Tonight on Leapardstown Road, Dublin. Goto 1min 07 sec if your too busy to watch it all, slow motion in same clip.

Wow, you kept it together pretty well after that, nerves o steel.
    Looks like he did a slide.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Jesus, bring on the automated cars so we don't need to put up with mongoloids like that anymore. Brb my journey is gonna take an extra 5 mins, better risk multiple people's lives

BMJD wrote: »
    What kind of deranged tool names a town "Kilcock" anyway?
    fixed.

Yes, but they're not speeding because they're mean.

Not defending them in any way at all, I just didn't see him come off the motorway at Kilcock.

That's true- we don't know if he came off motorway or out of T junction 500 metres back. However I travel that bit of road twice a day every day and the majority of cars on it have come off motorway .I think perhaps they are indefensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

wil wrote: »
    Wow, you kept it together pretty well after that, nerves o steel.
    Looks like he did a slide.

No he didnt slide/ skid from what I seen, just mega risky, I was catching the white van and didnt pass just yet due to the roadworks in his lane.

After Mr Bmw comes through I admit im a bit riled up and go faster hoping he will get caught at the roundabout or next lights so I can get a reg. I didnt .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

i would have been hoping he spun out at the roundabout and wrapped his 'BMW' around the nearest pole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

This,

ladies and gentleman,

is an idiot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Muppetsville. Going by the video.

Know it well, theres a pub there called 'the muppet'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,486 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Mech1 wrote: »
    Tonight on Leapardstown Road, Dublin. Goto 1min 07 sec if your too busy to watch it all, slow motion in same clip. Reported to Gardaí.

The Cult, eh ?

So it's not just a driving offence, but also one against the ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Aircraft Freak

FFS, that was a close one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Doesn't seem that bad to me, I've certainly seen worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Jesus, bring on the automated cars so we don't need to put up with mongoloids like that anymore. Brb my journey is gonna take an extra 5 mins, better risk multiple people's lives

Automated cars are a long long long way off to be used to eradicate stupidity on the roads. Whilst the cars will become available .. the infrastructure needs to catch up to facilitate that.. so good luck waiting on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

GBX wrote: »
    Automated cars are a long long long way off to be used to eradicate stupidity on the roads. Whilst the cars will become available .. the infrastructure needs to catch up to facilitate that.. so good luck waiting on that
    The new cars are autonomous. They work off GPS but also radar and onboard cameras. They won't need infrastructure outside of the GPS system.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Oh you silly, silly person. The fact that the joke was lost on you was made up by the irony of your post. As mentioned, see the bottom right of the video for the location in which this incident took place. I'll bring you there some day if that's not enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

That video was recorded by a fellow Boardsie and has been tweeted to the Guards.
    If people want to know what the reg was then it was this - 06D60048 and for sure it wasn't a Garda car as someone already said :rolleyes:
    If people want to re-tweet it to the Guards then here is their account on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/with_replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,809 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

This driver appears to be able to see a third lane on this particular stretch of road.