Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Club Nintendo Ending

• 20-01-2015 8:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭

Nintendo’s first loyalty programmes, VIP 24:7 and Club Member, started in May 2002, and were combined in December 2007 to become Club Nintendo. Over the years, players have enjoyed the Game Boy Advance, Nintendo GameCube, Nintendo DS, Wii, Nintendo 3DS and Wii U platforms, and countless software titles across them all. We’ve also heard the feedback and opinions of around six million Club Nintendo members across Europe and South Africa, which we have used to help shape our business.

We’re working hard to create a new programme, which we plan to launch later this year. And as a special offer, users who sign up to the new programme during the launch period will be able to download Flipnote Studio 3D to a Nintendo 3DS system for free. Please stay tuned to the Nintendo website for further details.

This new membership programme will replace Club Nintendo, so we will discontinue Club Nintendo according to the schedule given below. Thank you for all your support.

As Stars in your account will expire on September 30th 2015, please make sure you use them before this date. There are plenty of unique and exclusive items already available in the Stars Catalogue, and we’ll keep adding more over the coming months, so there’s plenty to spend your Stars on before September 30th 2015.

Please stay tuned for more information about the new membership programme, including its launch date.

Club Nintendo Discontinuation Schedule

April 1st 2015: From this date, Nintendo will no longer include product registration cards with its packaged games, so such products cannot be registered in Club Nintendo. You may still find product registration cards in games that were in stock before this date, however.
    April 20th 2015: Termination of the registration of digital products downloaded from Nintendo eShop. Digital products obtained from Nintendo eShop after this date will no longer appear in the My Registered Games & Systems page in Club Nintendo. In addition, surveys for download software titles will no longer be available.
    September 30th 2015: End of Club Nintendo programme. All Club Nintendo features, such as signing up as a new member, logging in as a registered member, earning Stars, and exchanging Stars for items from the Stars Catalogue will no longer be possible from this date.

New Nintendo 3DS and New Nintendo 3DS XL

These new handheld systems, which will be released on February 13th 2015, are not registerable in Club Nintendo. However, hardware bundles will still include a product registration card for the included software until April 1st 2015, so software bundled with hardware can still be registered until September 30th 2015.
    Stars

Please exchange any Stars in your account for items from the Stars Catalogue before September 30th 2015. Any Stars not used by this date will be lost, so be sure to use them as soon as possible. There are plenty of unique and exclusive items already available in the Stars Catalogue, and we’ll keep adding more over the coming months, so there’s plenty to spend your Stars on before September 30th 2015.

http://www.nintendo.co.uk/News/2015/January/Important-information-about-the-discontinuation-of-Club-Nintendo-949921.html?utm_medium=Nintendo+of+Europe&utm_source=twitter

Huh. Kinda sad about it, but also curious, since club nintendo is kinda.... I don't wanna say bad, but... not good either? So its replacement can't be any worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭bkrangle

Gotta spend my 13,000 stars quick so!

Pity there's nothing decent up at present

Nintendo says it will add "many" downloadable games and physical items to the store to help people spend their balance

http://www.theverge.com/2015/1/20/7856043/club-nintendo-is-almost-dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

:D knew it was worth saving the stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Back in the GameCube days it was pretty cool - every time you registered a game you got a bunch of digital ****e that, looking back, I now regret not downloading - printable bookmarks and iron-on transfers and things.

I remain ever optimistic that the MarioKart trophies will return, and will keep checking every day till they do :) I have about 7000 points registered and a bunch of cards in my bag, maybe another 1000 points... there's going to be a solid gold Bowser for 8001 points, I guarantee it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Hmm, since jumping back on the Nintendo bandwagon a couple of years ago with the Wii and now WiiU, I have a while bunch of stars to cash in. Do they remove items from the catalog over time or is the stock generally the same?

Not sure whether to just cash in now or stock pile them until I get my 3DS and some games for it and see what else they add over the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Means no more free games for buying games and consoles, look through your accounts to see if you are due any extra points for previous purchases too, think it's 50 points per game so it might add up if you have enough, I have 20 unregistered cards that i know off too, hope they put some good stuff up in the next while.

I remember pissing away 10,000 on Kid Icarus cards a couple of years back thought they would be like Pokemon Cards. :(

The stuff in the catalogue is what they can't shift. Good stuff - the dioramas and trophies - fly out the door. Mediocre stuff like the cuddly yoshi or the folder sets takes a while. The Foam wall shapes just don't seem that popular :)

Some things come and go - there's a great 3DS-game-box-sized game card case, holds a tonne of games and has 3 interchangeable (and reversible) slip covers with various characters. Seen that pop in and out at least twice. The car shades are fragile but ALWAYS get talked about (by other peoples' five year olds, but I'll take what I can get!). Haven't seen them for a couple of years though.

The lack of eShop goods is and always has been a disappointment

Was hoping for some exclusive Amiibos on this down the line, Cosplay Pikachu being one, maybe some cds too the Kirby one was great.

Customer Club Nintendo n3DS plates would have been a good idea too.
    3DS themes
    Wii U gamepad silicone covers
    Ah look, there's any number things they could have done. The one thing they did consistently was be unimaginatively cheap since 2002.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Banjo wrote: »
    The stuff in the catalogue is what they can't shift. Good stuff - the dioramas and trophies - fly out the door. Mediocre stuff like the cuddly yoshi or the folder sets takes a while. The Foam wall shapes just don't seem that popular :)

Some things come and go - there's a great 3DS-game-box-sized game card case, holds a tonne of games and has 3 interchangeable (and reversible) slip covers with various characters. Seen that pop in and out at least twice. The car shades are fragile but ALWAYS get talked about (by other peoples' five year olds, but I'll take what I can get!). Haven't seen them for a couple of years though.

The lack of eShop goods is and always has been a disappointment
    Is the European store bereft of any of the neat things you've mentioned? I can see the case and the NES Remix 2 T-Shirt on the US site but the only thing that catches my eye in the least on the European one is the Mario Kart 8 Badge Set. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,680 ✭✭✭Nollog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

I'd wait. Unless you really really want festive wrapping paper

I have absolutely zero points after spending them when the Mario Kart Lightning cup came out. If they come out again I would totally recommend everyone getting one. They are super cool!

Totally explains why the New 3DS didn't come with points.
    gizmo wrote: »
    Do they remove items from the catalog over time or is the stock generally the same?

They come and go. About once a year Nintendo will have some really cool things up which will then be gone in less than a day.
    I remember pissing away 10,000 on Kid Icarus cards a couple of years back thought they would be like Pokemon Cards. :(

Ow! Weren't they only like 500 each though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Just tried to log on and see what I could get, site seems to be getting hammered at the moment.

EDIT: Found my stars balance in an email. Think once I register Captain Toad I can afford the golf balls!

i got golf balls, seems the yoshi stuff was already gone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,724 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Feck!
    I was quite liked the club Ninty program, got a few nice bits and bobs but, the truth is, it's handier to buy them on eBay!
    But I don't have a mountain of points right now so I'll get something modest with them before the end.
    At least there'll be no more filling in that blasted survey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Is there a way to register the, Wii U console to claim points? I don't remember ever doing so when I bought mine.

The WiiU Registers itself I think, then you take the survey to get the Stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Tomo.Murphy

I was wondering why the points cards in the newer games expire in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,999 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Shame it's ending, but we only every got useless crap compared to the American version. The best thing I got from it was about ten years ago I got a very glitchy zelda collectors disc for GameCube. It had ocarina of time and majora's mask, and I think zelda 1 and 2 on it also. It used to wreck my head playing majora's mask because it would just crash for no reason and you'd lose everything since your last save.

I got a deck of cards from it last year and have 4350 points left on it, so I may as well spend them on something before they disappear.

gubbie wrote: »
    I'd wait. Unless you really really want festive wrapping paper

I have absolutely zero points after spending them when the Mario Kart Lightning cup came out. If they come out again I would totally recommend everyone getting one. They are super cool!

Totally explains why the New 3DS didn't come with points.

They come and go. About once a year Nintendo will have some really cool things up which will then be gone in less than a day.

Ow! Weren't they only like 500 each though?

They were 250 for 2 packs at a time, I ended up with 80 packs of the damn things thinking they would be the next tcg craze, ocd is a bitch sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

cloud493 wrote: »

club nintendo is kinda.... I don't wanna say bad, but... not good either?

Ha, well put!

Jaysus, so I have to go and scratch a bunch of those yokes..sigh...and the surveys...ugh...

From what I can see it's been nearly all rubbish on there.

Aside from the much loved (but not much opened!) SNES classic controller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

http://www.nintendolife.com/news/2015/01/club_nintendo_rewards_are_updated_for_january_kicking_off_its_final_run

These are the rewards in the States, should be similar here. More rewards coming in the next few months.

Super Mario Bros. 2 — 200 coins (Wii U Virtual Console) and awarded 8/10 in our review
    Excitebike — 200 coins (Wii U Virtual Console) and awarded 7/10 in our review
    Super Metroid — 250 coins (Wii Virtual Console) and awarded 10/10 in our review
    Super Punch-Out!! — 250 coins (Wii Virtual Console) and awarded 8/10 in our review
    Super Mario Land — 150 coins (3DS eShop) and awarded 7/10 in our review
    Donkey Kong — 150 coins (3DS Virtual Console) and awarded 9/10 in our review
    Wario Land II — 200 coins (3DS eShop) and awarded 9/10 in our review
    The Legend of Zelda — 200 coins (3DS Virtual Console) and awarded 8/10 in our review

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Wolverine359

Ol' Donie wrote: »

That's right I completely forgot I ordered that. Feck it I'm just going to open it and actually get some enjoyment out of it, screw this keeping things in mint unopened boxes for so long I forget I even have them. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

That's right I completely forgot I ordered that. Feck it I'm just going to open it and actually get some enjoyment out of it, screw this keeping things in mint unopened boxes for so long I forget I even have them. :pac:

I opened up my Lightning Cup as soon as I got it. That and the Shell Cup are the only things that my mother has displayed, pride of place on her mantelpiece in her house

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,724 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I got Ball, the soundtracks for Super Mario 3D World and Kirby Triple Deluxe, and a bunch of other stuff.
    It was never mind blowing but it was stuff for nothing.

People are panic-buying. One of the Pikmin keyrings has sold out :)

I opened mine, felt good playing SMW with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭sok2005

I tried to order the Yoshi backpack this morning but at the final page of checkout it said order unsuccessful. Eurgh, Nintendo, you just never make things easy, unless it involves taking my money.

sok2005 wrote: »
    I tried to order the Yoshi backpack this morning but at the final page of checkout it said order unsuccessful. Eurgh, Nintendo, you just never make things easy, unless it involves taking my money.

Keep clicking the link just below the "unsuccessful" image until it works.

you may need to log back in on another tab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

What about limited edition packs that had the scratch cards? I have a skyward sword with the gold nunchuck and cd is it worth keeping the points unscratched or should i go ahead and use em.

Gold remote, you mean (I hope! I couldn't have missed a gold nunchuck, could I !?)

Best CD ever, that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Gold remote, you mean (I hope! I couldn't have missed a gold nunchuck, could I !?)

Best CD ever, that.

Whoops ya, i meant wiimote :-D
    Deadly cd !

I forgot about that CD! Still haven't listened to it. Must throw it on when I get home.

If you've opened the pack already I don't see what added value the scratch card gives after September in terms of selling it as a collectors item. That would be like saving the last Marathon. Sure, it looks great, but you can't eat it 25 years on. Keep the wrapper, eat the bar, I say.

Edit : it's 4:14 and the Stars site is down for maintenance..... start you engines, gentlemen....

Hope theres some digital stuff waiting when it comes back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

I ordered the Mario Galaxy OST cd last week, as there was literally nothing else. It'll be sad to see it go, I'd loads of GC and DS stuff registered on there but could rarely pull the trigger and order something :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Was so disappointed when I'd missed out on the Link and Epona statue years back, spent loads of my star points on converting them to Wii points cards.

Then the damn statue became available again.

:mad:

Page is now offline, wonder if they are updating the products

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Wolverine359

Got my order confirmed yesterday for the Super Smash Bros 2-CD soundtrack (if you have both wii u and 3ds versions, it's available for free) just in time, with the offer finished on Tuesday evening. I got the smash bros xl last month (even though I have enough special editon XLs at this stage :pac:) because it looks so goddamn gorgeous with the characters in silver on the red front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Forgot I had a Gamecube registered! Surprised the code worked in 2008

Nnintendo_zpsmzedfllz.jpg

I remember a few years ago they put up a limited edition Pokémon DS lite for something ridiculous like 35,000 stars. I wanted it so much! Over the years I did get lots of wii points, the game & watch collection on the DS and recent;y ordered the game & watch ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jos22

Forgot I had a Gamecube registered! Surprised the code worked in 2008

Nnintendo_zpsmzedfllz.jpg

I remember a few years ago they put up a limited edition Pokémon DS lite for something ridiculous like 35,000 stars. I wanted it so much! Over the years I did get lots of wii points, the game & watch collection on the DS and recent;y ordered the game & watch ball.

I found some GBA codes that didnt work few years back.
    have 296 registered titles dating back to 10/08/2002

adding up to 48435 stars

I see all the download pics and themes from the cube ere all point to dead links now

Hey, remember the last time the Stars Catalogue went offline for a few days and when it came back.... nothing had changed!
    But then those Mario Kart pins followed a couple of weeks later. Wow, this is going to be epic

Still offline... the tension mounts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Is there any point holding on to the red scratchies (for the next loyalty program) or are they being retired too?

They're also being discontinued.

The stars site is back up!!!
    And nothing has been added!!!

Why am I so excited???

Edit : and its gone again. Maybe they noticed the lack of worthwhile tat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

The stars site is back up!!!
    And nothing has been added!!!

Why am I so excited???

Edit : and its gone again. Maybe they noticed the lack of worthwhile tat?

lcxyE0D.gif

It's back again!
    Nothing has changed again!
    It's like trying to get your pet chimp to stop smoking...

It's back again!
    Nothing has changed again!
    It's like trying to get your pet chimp to stop smoking...

500px-Lionel-Hutz.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

So what's the best way to redeem your stars ? I've 2,500 here so say I could get 600 Nintendo points.

I only have the original DS so all I can really do is use them to buy stuff on the Wii shop channel ?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    So what's the best way to redeem your stars ? I've 2,500 here so say I could get 600 Nintendo points.

I only have the original DS so all I can really do is use them to buy stuff on the Wii shop channel ?

The points can be used on wii and dsi.
    If you're planning to buy any game coming up, I'd hold on to the 2,500 you have to get something better though.

also, check if you have any surveys to do.