Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Claire Byrne Live (RTE1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,379 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Treatment for self imposed issues like this should get financing when every other single issue in the health system is resolved and awash with money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Claire, go off and swab the cistern lids around Montrosia there and get back to us eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,822 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Untitled Image

Coke can affect all ages

GDY151

Anyone bringing those debts back on their family deserves a proper kick up the hole.

GDY151

Minimum pricing for the cocaine is the answer 🙄

Most Guards are on coke, that's why it will never stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

Typical anti-drugs rubbish, they always have the tiny minority of people who had a problem with coke. Why not have the majority who got enjoyment from it on such as Paul McCartney, Kate Moss, Ben Dunne etc.

I could walk into any City in Ireland and buy coke, yet the whole police force in that City can't find the dealer LOLz

yEA RIght !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Waiting for the Gezza Price program to come on, and to see how Claire was looking which is the only reason to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

That toy segment was a joke. Yer wan was called a "professional organiser".

And the whole organisation of the boxes isn't going to last long when they start fcuking everything into the one box and mixing everything up.

Also lol at the covid props! Did we really need to see a real life model of covid? Couldnt they just have shown it on screen?

All this talk about waste and recycling and that thing will end up in a bin somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭KaneToad

The props dept went all out on it...golf tees and all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,648 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Gerry Ryan, Katy French, Chris Farley, River Phoenix...

Some have fun doing it, some don't last long. I'm not a drug user (never was), but I've known plenty of people who do. All of em had one thing in common-they didn't touch cocaine. The risks were too great. They tended to research the stuff they did.

Plenty of other places won't hire anyone they suspect is using. Lots of them are burnt out from excessive drug use. A painter my mam hired last year couldn't take on any extra labourers. Not because he didn't want to hire em-many who applied were unreliable, using, or burnt out from using. So he left them. Not worth the potential insurance nightmare.

There's an actual component shortage going on right now. Playstation, Xbox, and Nintendo Switch's are in high demand, but short supply. Sony have had to cut their planned console output for the second time this year (I think they're at least 2 million units short right now). Nintendo cut their planned console output by a million also.

Apple have had to cut the forecasted electronics output. Pretty much every device out there is gonna be in short supply because of this.

There's a legit story there. Console shortages, and consoles selling out as soon as they arrive... but do you think Claire Byrne's gonna talk about 'actual' news that affects a good chunk of the population?

Of course Not... it's not ridiculous enough.

Yeah I'm not a drug user admittedly but don't act like there's no bad results.

We all know people who you can tell took drugs based on having the shakes etc.

Prohibition didn't prevent Katy French's death, IMO it caused it, she got a bad batch, there's no quality control in the production of it. A small minority of people die from doing things they enjoy such as driving a motorbike, flying, mountain-climbing etc. Can you give me ONE good reason why cocaine is and should remain illegal? U say you've never taken drugs, how u have any opinion on it is beyond me. If this discussion was about childbirth, I wouldn't take part, 'cos like U and cocaine I have no experience or knowledge of that.

The Rolling Stones took coke, they get decent well-paid earners called concerts, same with Noel/Liam Gallagher, Robbie Williams, Rod Stewart, Kate Moss was snapped taking a snort, she's not stuck for a few bob, nor is Nigella Lawson who admitted taking it. Ben Dunne was charged with it nearly 30 years ago, he's still alive and kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭BuildTheWall

Christ, cocaine in 5th year? I must say I was completely oblivious to the scale of the problem and how rampant it is in society until recently because I never hung around with people who took it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,648 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

It depends the crowd you ran with. I knew some folks who did do the hard stuff in secondary school. It was risky. I think many dropped out. Sadly, many of them had troubled homes.

Substance use (and abuse) tends to come with pain. Trying to mask pain I mean. Known a few recovering addicts, in my time. Wouldn't wish that on any one. Addiction is a cruel mistress.

So all drugs should be legal? Even highly addictive ones?

Once you legalise it, you're telling everyone that it's acceptable to use.

Yes they should, making them illegal is about as useful as making suicide illegal, pointless. Cocaine is not addictive, I've taken it many times over the years, have you? Yes it is acceptable, what a person puts in their body is their business, not yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭landofthetree

They should.

Too many innocent people die because of the drug trade.

Those who become cocaine addicts made a choice of their own accord. The innocent people killed didn't.

Plus absolutely zero state help for drug addicts. Alcohol and gambling at well.

Many things are made illegal to protect people from themselves and others.

Sure why not legalise hand guns!

Cocaine is not addictive, the same way sex is not addictive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

You can make it legal and control the supply through a gp or whatever, dependent on health/mental health assessments. People are doing drugs anyway, at least this way it would bring people into a social safety net instead of stigmatising them and nip any abuse issues in the bud. Nobody wants to see hard drugs sold in the local spar

hand guns are legal in the USA, I'm not saying I agree with that law. Is sex addictive, I know lots of people who lead celibate lives. Cocaine is NOT addictive, I know that from personal experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,670 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Coke isn't addictive, I've given it up at least 10 times at this stage...

Fast food isn't addictive, yet there's many many people who have incredible desire to eat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭BuildTheWall

When someone says cocaine is not addictive their anti prohibition argument loses all weight.

I've taken it 3 times in 2021 and about the same in previous years. If that's addiction then I sarcastically agree with you. Have u ever taken it yourself?

I heard Claire interview a recently retired Garda Superintendent and asked him about legalizing the "scourge" of drugs. She's supposed to be impartial, why did she not just say "drugs". I don't know much about Sarah but she appears to be held in higher esteem.

Twitter loves Sarah but not Claire, I don't know what you can take from that.