Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show - 16th. January 2015

• 15-01-2015 8:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,447 ✭✭✭✭

funny-gif-bunny-snow-backyard.gif

tumblr_m3htatwN601qmpppfo1_500.gif

Braving the harsh weather out there...g'wan the bunnehs! :)

24A5497200000578-2906963-image-a-2_1421087758077.jpg

Hands where we can see them, guys :pac:

On this week's show...Stephanie 'Gooooooooooooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaal!' Roche!

Plus...Bernard Brogan!

BroganBernard_Yessssss.jpg

The Les McKeown Bay City Rollers Experience With Les McKeown!

article-1149122-005749BE00000258-861_468x380.jpg

Steady ladies. :D

Michael Healy Rae!

healyRae_tomBurke

And Claire Byrne!

pr12spayweek.jpg

With a Puppeh, trying to sneak back into the thread! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Michael Healy Rae, I will allocate the wind in the windmill to watch him, he hill be gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Claire Byrne is only gwageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

The Les McKeown Bay City Rollers Experience With Les McKeown!

B-A-Y!

B-A-Y!

B-A-Y-C-I-T-Y

with an R-O-L-L-E-R-S Bay City Rollers are the best!!

It's a rotten shame that Les got defrauded out of all his money. The Bay City Rollers were probably the best Boyband ever but he is struggling to make a few quid these days, long after he should have retired. That's probably why Nicky Byrne is trying to put glitter on that turd of a Lottery Show on RTE1, you have to get the money in the bank while you can.

He should be remembered as he was then, not how he is now ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Watch Tubridy make a big song and dance about that photo of Stephanie Roche walking across Ronaldo and Messi where they supposedly "check we out".

Christ some of the stuff that passes for journalism these days would sicken you!

As an aside...James and all his Real Madrid buddies had a presentation on the pitch just before kick off tonight,not the best idea as Torres rattled the net after 49 seconds.

Anyway,looking forward to seeing Stephanie as I feel RTE could be eyeing her up as a potential presenter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Watch Tubridy make a big song and dance about that photo of Stephanie Roche walking across Ronaldo and Messi where they supposedly "check we out".

Yeah Dirk, I know what you're saying... It is 100% certain that Tubridy will put that photo, say something like "look at the lads, acting the maggot" and I bet he will use one of the cool kid's term like "Look at them checking you out".....Before moving on to his stock question "How does it feel looking at that?"

I'm already cringing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Great OP, WM.

Only problem with the bunnies, I keep thinking of Ol Donie and the white wine sauce :D

This will be a non stop clip show, even more than usual. Ah well, I will enjoy the thread anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

Christ some of the stuff that passes for journalism these days would sicken you!

As an aside...James and all his Real Madrid buddies had a presentation on the pitch just before kick off tonight,not the best idea as Torres rattled the net after 49 seconds.

Anyway,looking forward to seeing Stephanie as I feel RTE could be eyeing her up as a potential presenter.

Stephanie has been on the Late Late two times already on the back of that goal, and while she seems like a nice, down to earth girl, I really can't see what more another interview with her can cover, apart from giving fodder to that non-story of Ronaldo and Messi "checking her out".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

ruskin wrote: »
    Stephanie has been on the Late Late two times already on the back of that goal, and while she seems like a nice, down to earth girl, I really can't see what more another interview with her can cover, apart from giving fodder to that non-story of Ronaldo and Messi "checking her out".

And why wouldn't they?....Stephanie was looking amazing and fantastic!!!

Don't be chucking the bunneh into the snow WM, poor bunneh's are having a bad week.....:(...***makes cake with nail file inside***

BAY CITY ROLLERS??......ah, the "grey" brigade will be out in force tonight!!....:D

***irons plaid skirt***.....length to be determined depending on the cold...and how Les looks!!:p:pac:.....Yes, I'm that shallow.......;)

Skid X wrote: »
    B-A-Y!

B-A-Y!

B-A-Y-C-I-T-Y

with an R-O-L-L-E-R-S Bay City Rollers are the best!!

It's a rotten shame that Les got defrauded out of all his money. The Bay City Rollers were probably the best Boyband ever but he is struggling to make a few quid these days, long after he should have retired. That's probably why Nicky Byrne is trying to put glitter on that turd of a Lottery Show on RTE1, you have to get the money in the bank while you can.

He should be remembered as he was then, not how he is now

Are you talking about Nicky Byrne or Les, Skid??.......lol!......:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 paulieobrien

Claire Byrne is delightful alright.

Are you talking about Nicky Byrne or Les, Skid??.......lol!......:eek:

I reckon Nicky will do alright as a presenter. I didn't think he would be any good but his Radio and TV work so far has been alright. He will probably end up over the water where the real money is ... CountyHurler should enjoy him on the Irish stations while he can :D

The years haven't been as kind to Les, sadly. The BCR were enormous for a while but the money seems to have disappeared. I hope he gets a few quid from his live shows now. There is a long article about them here

http://www.theguardian.com/music/2005/jun/18/popandrock
    The band sold 120m records, generating income worth £5bn in today's money and conquering the UK, US, Australia, Japan - everywhere. They were the world's biggest band since the Beatles.

When the Rollers failed, they failed like nobody else. Suddenly no one wanted to know. By 1976, the Rollers were twee and trite, yesterday's teen icons. Horror story piled up on horror story: apocalyptic fallings-out, a fatal car crash, drug and alcohol addiction, heart attacks, strokes, poverty, child porn convictions and suicide attempts. The story of the Bay City Rollers became an awful cautionary tale of fame and its fallout.

I reckon Nicky will do alright as a presenter. I didn't think he would be any good but his Radio and TV work so far has been alright. He will probably end up over the water where the real money is ... CountyHurler should enjoy him on the Irish stations while he can :D

CH will be lighting candles on the altar for years to come by the looks of things.....:)

We should have a collection for money towards a contribution for candles......like a cake sale.......or suchlike.....:P

Ah, poor Les.....frown.png....I can see him now with his very pale bare chest before waxing was de rigueur for young men.....:D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Hardly. She's very much flash in the pan material.

Woohoo, the Bay City Rollers! I'm busy here looking for my tartan scarf :D.

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Woohoo, the Bay City Rollers! I'm busy here looking for my tartan scarf :D.

Lynn, If I can get the skirt out you could at least do the same!!....:D:D:D

The years haven't been as kind to Les, sadly. The BCR were enormous for a while but the money seems to have disappeared. I hope he gets a few quid from his live shows now. There is a long article about them here

http://www.theguardian.com/music/2005/jun/18/popandrock

Interesting article, Skid, thanks for that.
    I'd like to hear him properly interviewed, which, of course, won't happen with Tub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,447 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

The BCR's 'Shang-A-Lang' was written by none other than Mr. Phil Coulter.

Is it wrong to know this? :O

I see no reason to feel like that WM!....Unless you have it written it down in a little black book waiting for Les to appear on the LLS.

Then I'd worry.

I did not know that. :)

Betcha Mr. T reads this thread and asks Les about WM's vast knowledge of the BCR!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

ruskin wrote:

The Stephanie Roche thing is getting a bit like...

Still, I shouldn't knock her as I'd probably be doing the same thing.

I am expecting TeleTubby to be pretty cringeworthy in the segment though as others have said.

Let me add to the Claire Byrne appreciation by saying I too am a fan. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,199 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

They went far and wide for the guests this week.
    Irish sportsperson
    Irish politician
    Irish TV presenter (who works in the same building)
    Scottish fella.

NIMAN wrote: »
    They went far and wide for the guests this week.
    Irish sportsperson
    Irish politician
    Irish TV presenter (who works in the same building)
    Scottish fella.

We always have a "Canteen" spot!!....:)

Always.

I like it!

Nick Lowe (who was connected to pretty much every decent Pop record of the late seventies) once wrote a Bay City Rollers fan record, in an attempt to get out of his United Artists record contract. Naturally, they loved it and it went to No.1 in Japan :pac:

Loved Nick Lowe's voice!... :)...

I won't even mind the countless clips of The BCR's tonight!!

I think I heard Phil Coulter mentioning that in an interview once, but I'd forgotten it.

No, definitely not wrong to know it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Funnyonion79

I'm here with stand by tickets for the audience!! Hope I get in!

How does that work Fonion??....

Are you outside with a "maybe" pass??....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Stand by tickets? For the Late Late?

I'm not sure why, but the very idea irritates me something fierce.

Hope you get in, all the same*.

*Unless someone has to miss the show because they are sick. Because that's not nice.

With stand by tickets you have to show up and wait and see if others have cancelled or are no shows. If we don't get in, we still get the one for everyone in the audience prize and are guaranteed tickets for another show later in the season.

I'm here now having some free wine waiting with all the other actual audience people. Should know soon enough...although tonight's line up doesn't actually excite me much...still - it'll be a but of craic I'm sure!

With stand by tickets you have to show up and wait and see if others have cancelled or are no shows. If we don't get in, we still get the one for everyone in the audience prize and are guaranteed tickets for another show later in the season.

I'm here now having some free wine waiting with all the other actual audience people. Should know soon enough...although tonight's line up doesn't actually excite me much...still - it'll be a but of craic I'm sure!

BEST OF LUCK Funnyonion!!...:) xxx

I hope you get at the very least a nice weekend away! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

BERNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!

:D:D:D:D:D

Be still my beating heart !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

I'm placing bets on how many different ways and times he will ask Michael Healy Rae questions about what it felt like when his dad died a few weeks ago....

***No photos please***

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,092 ✭✭✭Hitchens

"d'ya know something, no matter how good a heater you'd have in your car, your feet'd sthill be cowld" :D

00119958.jpg

We got in! Not sure if that's a good or bad thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 frankiebouy

Birneybau wrote: »
    Claire Byrne is only gwageous.

michael healy- ray isnt bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

***No photos please***

:(

A photo of Jackie Healy Rae in his coffin was published already so I would be surprised if Tubs didn't show it in his usual clip montage

We got in! Not sure if that's a good or bad thing...

Ah, it's a goid thing alright. Reports back are always that a good time was had!

Enjoy!

GDY151

zlxmyo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Legend Bet

1-7 "he was a great character"

1-4 "this must be a hard time for you"

5-1 "do you miss him?"

500-1 "did you bury him with his cap?"

A photo of Jackie Healy Rae in his coffin was published already so I would be surprised if Tubs didn't show it in his usual clip montage

I know.....:(

Please God no.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Even money "let me tell you now!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,092 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Legend Bet

500-1 "did you bury him with his cap?"

...no, we used a shovel :pac:

Hitchens wrote: »

Hitchens on a roll tonight........:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Jayzus, that story on the news about the couple who had their house demolished "by mistake" is shocking, isn't it? :eek:

Hitchens wrote: »

I've a good feeling about the thread tonight!

:-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Evening all :)

GDY151

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Jayzus, that story on the news about the couple who had their house demolished "by mistake" is shocking, isn't it? :eek:

I'd say they got a very nice handshake and a cheque :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

ProudDUB wrote: »

Muslim terrorists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,103 ✭✭✭✭neris

Wouldnt be surprised then if tubs was on a sicky and stand in presenter was joe duffy