Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best wedding you were ever at & why?

• 12-01-2015 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭

Hi All,
    New to this forum,just got engaged over Xmas! Obviously it's a long way off yet as we have app €20 between us at the mo (!) but I am already thinking about what our wedding should be like.

It will defo be small & intimate (max 40 people I would imagine) but I would still like to have some cool features & a bit of luxury if poss. We've all seen the magicians & the fireworks & the chinese lanterns but I like things that are a bit different or unusual but still special with a bit of wow factor.

What I'd like to know is - were you ever at a wedding where you were blown away by something in particular & if so,what was it? I'd love to hear some really unique ideas. And if they are possible on a budget,so much the better!

Thanks everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Best wedding (bar my own obviously) had everything in one venue, no boring religious ceremony, free flowing bubbly and wine, top notch food and a great band. It also had gimmicks like a sweet table and sky lanterns but TBH I don't rate those kind of things. Spend money on food and drink, and don't make your guests wait around for things or travel long distances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Best weddings I've been at kept everyone well fed. People don't need piles of entertainment once the belly is full they will be happy and have a laugh themselves.

Sandwiches, cakes & tea or plenty of canapes appear after the ceremony.

Good quality meal, no shortage of drinks.

More food later... 11/12 ish. Sandwiches, bacon butties, fish and chips, pizza slices or something.

To ramp it up to something even more awesome. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

My sister's wedding in my parents backyard on a balmy august evening. It was a hell of a lot of trouble to go to, expensive, and they would never do it again, but every guest said it was the best wedding they were ever at. It is also bittersweet to think of as all of my dad's family, including himself, have died since.

pwurple wrote: »
    Best weddings I've been at kept everyone well fed. People don't need piles of entertainment once the belly is full they will be happy and have a laugh themselves.

Sandwiches, cakes & tea or plenty of canapes appear after the ceremony.

Good quality meal, no shortage of drinks.

More food later... 11/12 ish. Sandwiches, bacon butties, fish and chips, pizza slices or something.. :)

I am always surprised to hear this, I have never gone hungry at a wedding. The opposite in fact, always too much food!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

My brothers. Civil ceremony so it took less than half an hour, sitting in a church is so boring. It was central so there wasn't much travelling involved. They had a dj instead of a band. And best of all it was a small wedding with just family and friends so I knew everyone which led to a great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

There is another big thread on this somewhere cant find it now. But it seems to always be the more relaxed weddings are the best plenty of food and always let the guests know what is happening..

Just have a board up so everyone can see what the plan is for the day.

And have a good selection of non alco drinks. Not just water or coke

I think my cousins one was the best there was a nice run to the day, then the speeches were just gas and not too long. Great music and then a chip cart with mini fish and chips for later...

Worst ones were when no one knew what the plan for the day was, when food was being served and having huge bands in small rooms, or just have bands that play too loudly. Went to one and the amount of sounds equipment they had with them was crazy and they blasted out the room no-one except those who were pissed could enjoy it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Wow, didn't take long for people to start moaning about what they hate in weddings again...

Nice try OP with being positive!

The band was complete crap at my sisters wedding and it was still awesome. Cos shenanigans. Lots and lots of shenanigans.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

TBH I've never been to a wedding where there was entertainment or decorations that had a huge wow factor. The best wedding I was at was my own (obviously) and all the best ones I've been at have had the following:
    • Food and drink on arrival: it doesn't necessarily have to be alcohol, although some venues include that as part of the package. I think we had champagne, orange juice, or tea & coffee. Some places do punch in summer or mulled wine in winter. The drinks aren't as important as food though. Not loads of it, because you won't want people stuffed, but a few sandwiches or canapes, because it can be a while between ceremony and the meal.
    • Good food for the meal: this is a big one. Ok, we all know that wedding food wouldn't be michelin star quality, but you can still get really nice meals. Don't skimp on the food budget, bad food will be remembered. One of my hubby's cousin's weddings stands out to me for that very reason; the food was horrendous. If your budget will stretch to it, have a choice for your starter, main, and dessert. Also provide a decent option for vegetarians. If you have any veggie friends, get some ideas from them.
    • Plenty of decent wine during the dinner: again, this is something that will be talked about if you get scabby with the wine. The usual recommended amount is half a bottle per person. I don't drink but I remember one particular wedding (same as the one above) where it was literally one glass of wine per guest. The glass was poured with the starters, so everyone drank it, expecting it to be refilled with the main course, but there was no more, and people were not impressed that they had to go to the bar and fend for themselves for the rest of the meal.
    • Drinks provided at dinner for non-drinkers: this isn't a must, but as a non-drinker it's always a nice touch to see an alternative to water. Jugs of cordial are a nice option, and not too expensive.
    • Speeches after the dinner: a lot of people want to do the speeches before dinner to get them out of the way (usually because they're nervous) but unless your speeches are lightening fast, your hungry guests probably won't appreciate being made hang around. Have them after the dinner when everyone's happily fed and watered.
    • Drinks for the toast: again, not an essential, but a nice touch. Either stand a round for your guests, or have glasses of prosecco, or have another top up of wine for the toast.
    • A great DJ and/or band: you don't have to have a band and a DJ, you can have a DJ alone, but whichever you choose don't skimp on it. More often than not with bands & DJs you get what you pay for. Your band or DJ can make or break the night, so you want to make sure you've got someone who'll gauge the crowd and make sure you don't have an empty dance floor.
    • Decent evening food: it doesn't have to be hugely fancy, sausages, goujons and sandwiches will do, provided they are good quality and there's a nice variety of tasty fillings in the sandwiches. If possible, ask the venue to put food on each table, as opposed to a buffet style serving where people go up and help themselves, because you'll usually find one or two greedy feckers who pile their plates full of food, and then by the time the last person gets there, there's nothing left.

Really what you want to provide is plenty of good food, good drink, and good music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

The best wedding I attended was a small intimate affair, registry office, no frills, very relaxed.

Another memorable one had loads of food and drink throughout the day and great music.

I think the other thread on this had a common list- not too far to travel in between ceremoney and meal (bonus points if it is all in one place), loads of food and an extra bottle of wine or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭amor3

Your never gonna please everyone, someone will always have something to say. Just go with what you can afford/want on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭kandr10

I'd generally agree with lots of food (nice preferably!), doesn't have to be free drink other than the toast though anything extra is nice. If there's a particular thing you think is cool like sweet cart, lanterns, weird place settings then if they're within reason go for it. If you try to please everyone it won't be true to your personality. For me they're always the best weddings- when you can see the couples personality in some way coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭candytog

Small wedding in rural Italy where we rented a villa for a week.

If I do ever get married that's what I want to do!

Plus you can invite everybody and natural selection will wittle it down to true friends and close family, hopefully ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

fits wrote: »
    I am always surprised to hear this, I have never gone hungry at a wedding. The opposite in fact, always too much food!

Me too, I have never felt hungry at a wedding reception. Even the much maligned tea and biscuits is grand, I think, just feels you up nicely without ruining your appetite. I wouldn't want anything big in the waiting around for the B&G part, I always just enjoy chatting and drinking tea or whatever other complimentary drink there is at that stage. And them from dinner onwards, it errs on the side of more than enough food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭willow tree

So the best one was a friends in Spain. They married in a church over looking the sea. Told everyone to wear what they liked (which I loved! Everything from shorts to full length gowns). They rented a house (like something out of cribs) we had dinner overlooking amazing views of mountains with the infinity pool. Byob was money saving too. A pool room, cinema room, dj room made it really easy to meet everyone over the weekend. It was a small wedding too. & they got lots of friends to help decorate etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

Wedding at an old old gothic looking library (Johns Hopkins University library in Baltimore), evening wedding, loads of fairy lights and candles, very atmospheric. Lovely food, ceremony and reception in the same place, great DJ, so much fun dancing in the library! Fab day, very unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭MelanieC

Thanks everyone for your replies. Like a couple of posters,I'm surprised to see lots of food being a priority. At every wedding I've ever been to I've always found myself uncomfortably full from the sheer amount of food served!

I agree having the ceremony & reception all in one place creates a better flow,we are not religious anyway so will defo be going for that.

I suppose the real question I was asking was has anyone ever had or experienced something at a wedding that was a bit special or out of the ordinary? Considering we will be on such a tight budget as it is,I'd love to have some kind of unique aspect to the day that would mark it out as more than just your average wedding coz let's face it,weddings can be quite boring for people outside of the bridal party.

I know I want to incorporate something a little bit different,a talking point that will make the occasion memorable & individual - I just don't know what that is!! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

we are having a pig on a spit instead of the cocktail sausages and goujons for the evening nibbles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

A good friend of mine got married at Dublin Zoo and had the reception in a craft beer pub that did really good food too. That was fantastic :)

Oh, another wedding I was at was in the top floor bar of Guinness Storehouse, also great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Toots wrote: »
    TBH I've never been to a wedding where there was entertainment or decorations that had a huge wow factor. The best wedding I was at was my own (obviously) and all the best ones I've been at have had the following:
    • Food and drink on arrival: it doesn't necessarily have to be alcohol, although some venues include that as part of the package. I think we had champagne, orange juice, or tea & coffee. Some places do punch in summer or mulled wine in winter. The drinks aren't as important as food though. Not loads of it, because you won't want people stuffed, but a few sandwiches or canapes, because it can be a while between ceremony and the meal.
    • Good food for the meal: this is a big one. Ok, we all know that wedding food wouldn't be michelin star quality, but you can still get really nice meals. Don't skimp on the food budget, bad food will be remembered. One of my hubby's cousin's weddings stands out to me for that very reason; the food was horrendous. If your budget will stretch to it, have a choice for your starter, main, and dessert. Also provide a decent option for vegetarians. If you have any veggie friends, get some ideas from them.
    • Plenty of decent wine during the dinner: again, this is something that will be talked about if you get scabby with the wine. The usual recommended amount is half a bottle per person. I don't drink but I remember one particular wedding (same as the one above) where it was literally one glass of wine per guest. The glass was poured with the starters, so everyone drank it, expecting it to be refilled with the main course, but there was no more, and people were not impressed that they had to go to the bar and fend for themselves for the rest of the meal.
    • Drinks provided at dinner for non-drinkers: this isn't a must, but as a non-drinker it's always a nice touch to see an alternative to water. Jugs of cordial are a nice option, and not too expensive.
    • Speeches after the dinner: a lot of people want to do the speeches before dinner to get them out of the way (usually because they're nervous) but unless your speeches are lightening fast, your hungry guests probably won't appreciate being made hang around. Have them after the dinner when everyone's happily fed and watered.
    • Drinks for the toast: again, not an essential, but a nice touch. Either stand a round for your guests, or have glasses of prosecco, or have another top up of wine for the toast.
    • A great DJ and/or band: you don't have to have a band and a DJ, you can have a DJ alone, but whichever you choose don't skimp on it. More often than not with bands & DJs you get what you pay for. Your band or DJ can make or break the night, so you want to make sure you've got someone who'll gauge the crowd and make sure you don't have an empty dance floor.
    • Decent evening food: it doesn't have to be hugely fancy, sausages, goujons and sandwiches will do, provided they are good quality and there's a nice variety of tasty fillings in the sandwiches. If possible, ask the venue to put food on each table, as opposed to a buffet style serving where people go up and help themselves, because you'll usually find one or two greedy feckers who pile their plates full of food, and then by the time the last person gets there, there's nothing left.

Really what you want to provide is plenty of good food, good drink, and good music.

I'd add a decent vegetarian/vegan option to that food heading too. Not enough venues take account of the non meat eaters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Weddings by definition are generic. I don't know what touches you can add to make it unique, as you're sure to see something that has been done before in one format or another. All you can do is have what you'd like on the day. People are going to moan anyway!

One thing I wouldn't have is Chinese lanterns. They're dangerous, and a lot of venues will not allow them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

To be honest I don't think its 'stuff' that makes a wedding. A good location(only traveling to the one location not all over the shop after the wedding) and food are important but the main thing for me is atmosphere. We had a great band and a photobooth, our photographer also did a slideshow, all things we enjoyed and most people said they enjoyed them.
    I was home for my first decent stretch over Christmas since our wedding (2 & 1/2 years ago) and all the relatives & friends were still saying how much the enjoyed it and to be honest they all said it was the atmosphere and how relaxed we were were and up for the craic that made it. If you guys are chilled out and having fun your guests will as well. I feel the same about weddings I've been too, unless the food is bad people won't take too much notice of it. For me its about catching up with friends or family and celebrating with the couple and making it a day to remember for them. All the other stuff while nice isn't what people remember. I don't regret the stuff we spent money on but they weren't real deal breakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Small group of people and foreign couple had barely a euro between them, registry office in Dublin, followed by sandwiches & cocktail sausages in a small local hotel. Had a great time, chatted to everyone, very relaxed, slighly chaotic, ended up in a nightclub with bride & groom - great fun altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

My mother was at a wedding where there was a hand-fasting on the beach, followed by the whole (small) wedding group joining hands in a ring around the couple. There was music played by a couple of musicians...finally the couple were blessed by a Christian minister. Followed by food. drink, music, dancing and singing in nearby venue.

PS the Outdoor thing was lovely but it was a windswept western beach: they were all supposed to be holding candles but they wouldn't stay lit in the gusts!

PPS I wasn't at this wedding myself, but my mother was: (it was a cousin.) She still talks about it though, as very beautiful and moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Best wedding was an Italian friend in Sardinia. They had a nice location rented, just close friends and family, fantastic food. Every hour there would come a course to each table and you just helped yourself. There were 3 main courses, starters, deserts and lots of wine.

Any of the weddings I have been to in Germany have been fantastic as well. They were all individual and reflected upon the couple. None of the traditional nonsense you get at Irish weddings. And they always just have close family and friends, none of this inviting neighbours or cousins you barely know .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

Best weddings had best weather... unfortunately in Ireland that's little to do with the organisers.

2 weddings in the US were among my favourites, in addition to glorious sunshine, the weddings were at half 4 in the afternoon, had lots of time to relax in the morning, get lunch and get ready.
    The ceremony was on site, no travel necessary once you were there. One had his friend performing the ceremony, about 20 mins, the other had a reverend of some kind, also under 30 mins. Short ceremony is definitely a bonus.
    Break out the food and drink right away and enjoy chatting to friends until dinner. The food wasn't anything amazing, I can't remember it really, but basically the day didn't revolve around it and it felt great not to feel stuffed up and sluggish after the wedding meal. I think one was buffet style at the table (a few plates shared) and the other was 2 courses. Neither had dessert. The cake was cut and you could have some if you wanted, the other was doughnuts and you could help yourself to them throughout the night. Lots of dancing and as others said, shenanigans, and basically the craic with our mates... That was the main thing. Lots of dancing, but it's the people that made the party.
    I think the one "gimmick" that was more fun than I'd expected was the photobooth with accessories... and adults on booze really enjoy the inflatable toys, the hats, etc... Lots of fun photos from that.
    One of the weddings also had some lawn games, which were good fun, and an open fire with marshmallows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

jester77 wrote: »
    Best wedding was an Italian friend in Sardinia. They had a nice location rented, just close friends and family, fantastic food. Every hour there would come a course to each table and you just helped yourself. There were 3 main courses, starters, deserts and lots of wine.

Any of the weddings I have been to in Germany have been fantastic as well. They were all individual and reflected upon the couple. None of the traditional nonsense you get at Irish weddings. And they always just have close family and friends, none of this inviting neighbours or cousins you barely know .

Will the boards.ie "Germany/The continent is sooooo much better in every conceivable way" love-in never end? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Struggling to describe this well but one wedding we were at where the bride and groom were from different countries. They had written short pieces about something from one of their countries and how it was important to them and placed one on each of the tables. It was a starting point for discussions and meant that all the tables started interacting with each other too as tables swapped around the pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

MelanieC wrote: »
    I suppose the real question I was asking was has anyone ever had or experienced something at a wedding that was a bit special or out of the ordinary? Considering we will be on such a tight budget as it is,I'd love to have some kind of unique aspect to the day that would mark it out as more than just your average wedding coz let's face it,weddings can be quite boring for people outside of the bridal party.

In my experience, the couples that follow the generic plan but try and make it unique just end up with the bog standard cliched Irish wedding.

Most of the "unique" ideas just aren't unique any more and have been done to death.

Throw the template out the window and do exactly what you want to but I would agree with what many have said above. The best weddings tend to be the least formal. If you guys are relaxed and at ease, the atmosphere will flow and your guests will relax and enjoy the party.

If budget is tight I would spend money on a decent DJ as opposed to a band. I can only count 2 weddings where I actually remember the band. A good DJ will have everyone up dancing.

Relax, enjoy and best of luck.

couldn't agree more, I think "trying" to make a wedding unique only makes those differences look forced... ooh, look at us, we're so unique. (no offence meant).

Truth is everyone wants their wedding to be special, why wouldn't they? "different" things that are popular catch on and then become the norm, like flip-flops and bathroom accessories, decorations involving bird-cages, sweet-carts, chabby chic decor, country house venue, marquee venue, photo booths... all those things are great, and they've been done lots and lots in the last 3 years because they're great. They're not unique any more, but they were, once upon a time...
    Point is, just do the wedding you want, whatever that is, without trying to make it unique, different or special. It's only really going to be that to you... otherwise, it's more often than not forced. Make it look pretty how you want it to look, choose food you'd enjoy eating and others would enjoy eating. Have fun, if you're having fun, so will - more than likely - most of your guests.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

The best wedding - the bride was only about ten minutes late and the ceremony was held inside the venue so no trek from A to Z and no sitting in a draughty church for an hour til the bride deigned to show up.

The food was good and plenty of it and the speeches were short and not overly personal eg remember the time Johnny cut his knee on the tree / Mary walked on her glasses in the garden.

The bride and groom made the effort to talk to each table and were on the floor all night with their guests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Good food, good drink, good music. If you don't have the above, gimmicky extras ain't gonna save the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭An Bhanríon

Best weddings were my own, my sister's and one of our cousins. The main thing in all cases was the company and the fun we had. The other thing in common with all three weddings that they all reflected the couple and although they followed the traditional format each couple had left things out that they didn't want or changed things as they wished. One had no speeches, one had no cake, one had no bridesmaids or best man, one had a fiesta as a wedding car, at one the bride and groom arrived at the same time before the ceremony and were both there to welcome their guests, at another the bride wore a blue dress. All three weddings were lovely and relaxing to be at and the guests felt very welcome.

Sorry this probably doesn't help you at all! I think was I am trying to say is to do what you would like on your wedding day and don't be trying to impress people by trying to do something 'different'. Also have a good think about your guest list and your table plan. A few people came back to us after our wedding thanking us for where we had sat them because they really had a great laugh at their table.

OP here,thanks to everyone posting.

Sorry,I think I may have expressed myself incorrectly - a lot of people are saying just do what we want & don't try to do something different just to impress people........I'm not concerned with impressing people. I do want to just do whatever we want but we don"t know what that is,that's my point really!

We know we don't want to just do the same ol' same ol' that you get at every wedding but at the same time we don't know what the alternatives are either so I was just wondering if anyone had any unusual ideas/had come across any quirky features that worked well. Just to make it a bit more fun/interesting coz I find weddings boring myself tbh!

Its just hard to tell how it will go. I was quite concerned about the feel of the venue. I don't like a lot of function rooms personally as I thing they can be too large and atmosphere can be lost. So the place we picked has a dining room and then the band will play in a different room that has the bar in it, and opens out to an enclosed courtyard. I honestly don't know if the people who come will get on and have a great time but we are doing our best to help it as much as possible. I also didn't want anywhere too fancy or where I wouldn't feel relaxed.
    We want to be as relaxed as possible on the day and spend a lot of time with our guests. We'll see how it goes.

Op we'd maybe need to know more about ye to make suggestions. Whats the best wedding you've been to & why? I say this as a few friends did creative things but If its not very you, there's no point sharing.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

If you get too worked up about having something different, you mightened enjoy the day at all. Don't try to stand out. Have all your friends there, plenty of food and good music. Have a lovely time, and best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭kandr10

Op what was it that you found boring about the weddings you attended? I think thd easiest way to have something different is to have a different kind of venue. Tbh you'd need an idea of your budget and numbers of guests before you get into that.

Well, I know this is a cultural thing, but as a non-Irish person, I find Irish weddings very long. Verrrrrrry long, and I get bored and tired. Maybe that's just me. The nicest weddings I've been at have been evening events (ie, ceremony at 4:30 or 5, followed by dinner etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭deathtocaptcha

ideal wedding:

bride & groom request and insist on no presents or donations of any kind - weddings are a huge financial drain on everyone invited - the bride & groom have prepared for it but the poor suckers who get an invite 2 months before the event don't have much time to prepare and most of the time don't actually want to go because weddings are hassle and costly (getting clothes sorted, perhaps booking hotel, getting kids minded, dogs looked after, travelling long distance etc..)

people would enjoy weddings a lot more if they were free and it cost nothing to go to them... as things stand, the average wedding would probably set the guests back a week's wage...

Toots wrote: »

I like starter/soup/speeches/main personally

Gets them out of the way for the nerves, gives people a bite to eat so they aren't hungry, and it breaks up the meal nicely so the main comes out right after the speeches are done.

MelanieC wrote: »
    OP here,thanks to everyone posting.

Sorry,I think I may have expressed myself incorrectly - a lot of people are saying just do what we want & don't try to do something different just to impress people........I'm not concerned with impressing people. I do want to just do whatever we want but we don"t know what that is,that's my point really!

We know we don't want to just do the same ol' same ol' that you get at every wedding but at the same time we don't know what the alternatives are either so I was just wondering if anyone had any unusual ideas/had come across any quirky features that worked well. Just to make it a bit more fun/interesting coz I find weddings boring myself tbh!

I've shot a lot of weddings and I personally agree a lot with what Peter Kelly AKA Franc has to say about them. Don't separate yourself from your guests, include them as much as possible.

Don't spend hours of your wedding at some location getting photographs, you don't need a good location, just a creative photographer.

Take a leaf out of the french wedding format where guests are welcome to get up and perform a party piece. And I don't mean at 3am after the DJ I mean during the reception early, in between courses, and even during the mass. I shot a french/irish wedding last year and it was brilliant, loads of sing songs, kids dancing, jokes. Harness the entertainment from your guests (and save yourself money in the process)

Keep your guests fed and watered and they will never complain no matter how barmy your wedding is.

Op we'd maybe need to know more about ye to make suggestions. Whats the best wedding you've been to & why? I say this as a few friends did creative things but If its not very you, there's no point sharing.

Share away willow tree! I'm open to literally anything & creative sounds right up my street! I haven't ever been to a wedding that wowed me tbh,they've all been the usual bog-standard type that every Irish couple has. They weren't bad or anything & I had a laugh at them as I was with family & friends but I'm just looking for something a bit different for my own day.

My OH is easy-going & is leaving the details pretty much up to me. His only concern is budget really & he wants us to get the best we possibly can out of our money. That's why I'm on the hunt for fun/quirky ideas in leiu of the more luxurious traditional aspects. We are happy to sacrifice some of the pricey unecessary features so it would just be nice to replace them with more unusual and fun but cost-effective features!

Basically we're looking to cut the cost but embrace the creative!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Without trying to sound corny it's the people that make the best weddings. I've been at weddings that had lovely food and good music but the atmosphere sucked, and I've been at them where there were problems with the food / venue / music but had a great time because I was with good friends.

I still think a guide would help us help you, we're on the 4 th page & there's nothing you've said is close to what you want.. friends of mine had a pagan ceremony in a round tower in the burren, it was wow to me. They had a medieval banquet in bunratty. But her husband is American so this really impressed particularly his side. Other friends had a festival wedding ion their back garden. So a marquee with ceremony & buffet. Followed by lots of bands & food vans outside & people camped, so tents everywhere. There was other stuff but I left early as I'd a newborn. Another place was in the Pyrenees, amazing trek up to a church (no other way to get there so only able bodied & fit ish) followed by amazing veg food & byob. I can give details if you like. Sorry typing quickly.

If I were to do it again, I would:
    1. not bother with the cake, it's only there for a single photo, few people look forward to eating it or remember to try it.
    2. not bother with the first dance, lots of people watching you, it's a bit uncomfortable, and sometimes just cringy.
    3. spend less on the dress, as much as I loved it, I saw lots of other dresses that would've hit the mark for a fraction of the price.
    4. Do a less formal dinner, not bother with the soup course. I'm glad we had a choice for every course, it gave people choice and was worth it.
    5. Would have way more finger food/canapes at the start of the day - people were starving by the time dinner came around.
    6. Subsidise the accommodation more.
    7. Do my own make-up and ask hairdresser to redo the hair.
    8. Stick with the same band and DJ - they were grrrrreat!
    9. Get more sleep the night before.
    I think if you found all those hotel weddings you went to boring, then don't do that yourself! Get a marquee if you can afford it, or do up some other random venue, old castle, community hall, whatever... The main thing is the people that are there. I personally don't like being too full to move, so I liked having less to eat at the US weddings. I also don't like being starving in between the ceremony and the dinner, so make sure you keep the nibbles coming for your hungry guests.
    Church is always the most boring part for me, so if you're not religious, ditch the church ceremony and have it on site and under 30 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Yeah no soup!! I keep saying that, I never know people to order soup just think tis something you have at home to warm you up not for dinner out..

Thanks Gatica some nice helpful tips there.. My sister is making the cake for us and was only chatting to her the other day about it and she was kinda going off a bit saying but sure you have to have a proper cake. I was like we are we are just not having a huge white one that will be stuck in the corner with no one eating it... I cant understand why people spend so much on the cake when like you said no one eats it anyway. I know a couple who had completely forgotten about theirs until the day after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 shadowcat

First of all, congratulations on your engagement!

I'm getting married in October, and we are just starting wedding planning in earnest as we wanted to get Christmas out of the way first and we just bought a house last year, so budget is tight enough. A couple of the things that we are having is more as a laugh for the guests as I think weddings which show the couples personalities tend to be more memorable. We're planning on doing a bingo card for the speeches as the last couple of weddings I was at, bets were placed over how long the speeches would last and it was a good laugh at the table, and I found something on One Fab Day that had a wedding speech bingo template that I thought was funny. My MIL is quite prim so might not go ahead on the day mind! The other thing is that we wanted it to be personal to us rather than just the shabby chic look (which I think is lovely too) so we are doing up a "little black book" which lists a little thing about each of the guests and we're going to leave a couple on each of the tables as a bit of an ice-breaker. We're both big into films, and each of the table names will have one of our favourite films and will have a few cheap-y type props left on the table - for instance, my fiancé loves Jurassic Park, so one of the tables will have a few dinosaurs on there as well as a couple of bowls of mini eggs.

Most important of all is that you have fun planning it. Best of luck!

shadowcat wrote: »
    First of all, congratulations on your engagement!

I'm getting married in October, and we are just starting wedding planning in earnest as we wanted to get Christmas out of the way first and we just bought a house last year, so budget is tight enough. A couple of the things that we are having is more as a laugh for the guests as I think weddings which show the couples personalities tend to be more memorable. We're planning on doing a bingo card for the speeches as the last couple of weddings I was at, bets were placed over how long the speeches would last and it was a good laugh at the table, and I found something on One Fab Day that had a wedding speech bingo template that I thought was funny. My MIL is quite prim so might not go ahead on the day mind! The other thing is that we wanted it to be personal to us rather than just the shabby chic look (which I think is lovely too) so we are doing up a "little black book" which lists a little thing about each of the guests and we're going to leave a couple on each of the tables as a bit of an ice-breaker. We're both big into films, and each of the table names will have one of our favourite films and will have a few cheap-y type props left on the table - for instance, my fiancé loves Jurassic Park, so one of the tables will have a few dinosaurs on there as well as a couple of bowls of mini eggs.

Most important of all is that you have fun planning it. Best of luck!

Thanks shadowcat,these are just the kind of fun,interesting ideas I'm looking for! Your wedding sounds like it's going to be great craic. Congratulations to you too!