Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How strict are gardaí on L plates and qualified drivers

• 09-01-2015 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Stiggy917

Im just wondering how strict are the guards if you are stopped and you have a lerner permit licence and are displaying L plates but have no qualified driver with you ?? also, if you do have a qualified driver and all the rest, are you aloud to drive on motorways ?? thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭foreversky

There getting very strict you will get penalty points.3 I think not worth it.learners are not allowed on motorway.as far as i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Stiggy917

i was only wondering as i would like to be driving to school myself and few other places... there getting wayy too strict on it ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭foreversky

Many think the same.someone will do it...then we Will hear all bout it.....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 tomcolgan

All depends what mood the garda is in

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

really think this whole learner thing is ridiculous in that you need a qualified person beside you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

You simply have no driving licence to be driving unaccompanied. It's a condition of your learners permit that you are accompanied. Ultimately when you cause a collision your insurance company could leave you high and dry if you were unaccompanied.

By the way, definitely do not drive in Northern Ireland accompanied or not. If you're stopped you will be arrested and charged with no licence and no insurance and will have to go to court. To be released awaiting court appearance expect to put down about £300 for bail money and that's when your car doesn't get seized which will cost you another few quid to get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Any learner who thinks they know how to drive well enough to drive unaccompanied should do the test and pass it, then they can drive unaccompanied legally.

i think i will probably do local runs... less than 5km to town and all that anyway... i think the mood the guard is in is very true swell ! :) and yes it is ridiculous as mny new drivers can often be driving better than the qualified drivers :P yeah i deco would not risk anything where my car would be taken off me ( its a mercedes cls350 !! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

I would hope the gardai are enforcing it. I you feel that confident why not go for test? No you cannot drive on the motorway with a learners permit.

because its ridiculous with all the rules.. you have to have 12 lessons done with a qualified driver and have them sign the book .... that could take a month on their own.. swell as costing nearly 400 quid and then when you do pass it, you to put up N plates... this county is only trying to put more people on busses... its all a money racket ! :(:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Stiggy917 wrote: »
    because its ridiculous with all the rules.. you have to have 12 lessons done with a qualified driver and have them sign the book .... that could take a month on their own.. swell as costing nearly 400 quid and then when you do pass it, you to put up N plates... this county is only trying to put more people on busses... its all a money racket ! :(:)

Imagine they make you drive for at least a month before letting you out on the roads unaccompanied and on motorways

It's a scam!! Run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

If you can afford to buy, tax and insure your Mercedes, the €400 for lessons should be no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

i think i will probably do local runs... less than 5km to town and all that anyway... i think the mood the guard is in is very true swell ! :) and yes it is ridiculous as mny new drivers can often be driving better than the qualified drivers :P yeah i deco would not risk anything where my car would be taken off me ( its a mercedes cls350 !! )

And that ladies and gentlemen, is why learner drivers should be accompanied at all times.

Over confidence like this will most likely make you lethal on the roads.

In Ireland there is no practical training before you are given your learners permit, when my wife started I accompanied her everywhere, it took some time for her to be confident enough to control the vehicle properly, and even longer to see hazards as quick as I would spot them. She never drove unaccompanied while on a permit, did her full amount of required lessons plus extra to brush up on points she was weary about and then passed her test first time.

Anyone who thinks that someone with no practical training should be allowed operate a 1 tonne + machine capable doing 120km/h (at least) without a responsible person beside them to monitor their progress needs their head read in my humble opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Driving is expensive. It's also not a right.

You also are driving around a very heavy vehicle that can quite easily kill yourself or others. Proper training is anything but a money racket. Other EU countries have to pay several thousand to earn a licence.

motorways are almost safer than rural roads and there shouldn't be a difference between what roads you can and can't drive on... even with N plates i believe theres something with driving on motorways swell...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

If you can afford to buy, tax and insure your Mercedes, the €400 for lessons should be no problem.

Driving a mercedes on a learner permit, how often would you hear that? Born with a silver spoon in the mouth me thinks

motorways are almost safer than rural roads and there shouldn't be a difference between what roads you can and can't drive on... even with N plates i believe theres something with driving on motorways swell...

Motorways are safer than rural roads, but the speeds are higher, with a lot more going on around you, new drivers' reaction times will be much slower than experienced drivers.

To be honest, if I came across these posts and my own son had posted them, I'd take the 'merc' keys off of him and give him a smack upside the head. Over confidence kills.

its grand for people who signed up 20 years ago and there licence was sent out in the post .. thats the kind of people who think that..( i don't mean YOU ) and i have worked for the last 4 or 5 years to buy that mercedes as i don't see the point in buying a small unsafe and slow box that could kill you much easier than the 5 star euro rating on the cls ? :):) well you tend to have confidence if your driving for 5 years ?? :) or what would you call it ? :)

i bought the mercedes myself.. nothing to do with anyone else at all... i don't see why someone would have the right to take the keys ;)

its grand for people who signed up 20 years ago and there licence was sent out in the post .. thats the kind of people who think that..( i don't mean YOU ) and i have worked for the last 4 or 5 years to buy that mercedes as i don't see the point in buying a small unsafe and slow box that could kill you much easier than the 5 star euro rating on the cls ? :):) well you tend to have confidence if your driving for 5 years ?? :) or what would you call it ? :)

I'd call it experience. I'm confident in my abilities due to the fact I have this experience. Confident enough to know, that 5 star rating or not, I will kill myself if I fly around the place being a dumbass. Now, you haven't come right out and said that, but I've met people with the sort of attitude you have, and speaking from experience I can tell you their road manners are usually deplorable.

yes speeds are higher but the road is generally safer as there are no potholes or major sudden bends :) well your wrong about the silver spoon let me tell you that ;):D

after spending almost 8K on a mercedes I'm hardly going to be flying around like a dumbs :P :) i care for my cars big time.. and I'm not like one of these "boy racers" who love their "speed" :P :) yes i know what you mean :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

i bought the mercedes myself.. nothing to do with anyone else at all... i don't see why someone would have the right to take the keys ;)

Sell the merc, use the money to get driving lessons and pass your test.

You better make sure your dads trade insurance covers learner drivers too.

yes speeds are higher but the road is generally safer as there are no potholes or major sudden bends :) well your wrong about the silver spoon let me tell you that ;):D

Read my post again, I've explained why, your lack of attention would worry me also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

It's been a long long time since people got free licences. Most people have gone through a test of some form at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

If you've been driving that long surely you could have passed your test before the new regulations came in?

s what your saying is because I'm younger, my attention on the road would be worse ?? putting other peoples life at risk ? don't think so mate... :) and if i sell the merc i won't have a car which will take even longer :P thanks :)

after spending almost 8K on a mercedes I'm hardly going to be flying around like a dumbs :P :) i care for my cars big time.. and I'm not like one of these "boy racers" who love their "speed" :P :) yes i know what you mean :)

A yet you are complaining about €400 to learn how to operate your beloved €8000 machine safely and by yourself. I don't think you care that much about it, if you know what I mean :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

its grand for people who signed up 20 years ago and there licence was sent out in the post .. thats the kind of people who think that..
    If you're going to try use that one, maybe get the date right ;) It certainly wasn't 1995 when that happened.

And how well would you deal with a tyre blowing out at 120km/h? Or a deer running across the road?

Inexperienced drivers forget there's a lot more hazards than potholes and bends on motorways.

A bunch of girls just died on a national road and you're on about how you have a god given right to drive on motorways with no licence. Will you seriously give over and cop on

If you're a good driver, go pass your test

well not exactly :) i have my learner permit now ( almost ) but once i have the lessons done then yes i will be doing the test :) do you have to display N plates for 1 or 2 years does anyone no ? :)

Sure you should know that if you have the lessons done? Is that not on the curriculum? Whats the (almost) for? Do you have you learner permit? Yes/No

what would you do ?? most people would push the brake pedal ? :) yes i get what your saying :) thank you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Two years... Bit early to be worrying about that when you don't have the permit yet though?

bluewolf wrote: »
    A bunch of girls just died on a national road and you're on about how you have a god given right to drive on motorways with no licence. Will you seriously give over and cop on

If you're a good driver, go pass your test

i asked about L plates.. please don't bring up deaths !! :) thank you

Pass the test first, the tester will confirm the length of time you need to display N plates.

bjork wrote: »
    Sure you should know that if you have the lessons done? Is that not on the curriculum? Whats the (almost) for? Do you have you learner permit? Yes/No

YES.. i do not the lessons complete yet ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Not this again :mad: it was well over 20 years ago late 70's and 40k drivers got the licence without the test but they had trouble getting insurance after because they had no test done. I wonder how many of them are still driving today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

How have you been driving for 5 years without a full license, or even a learners permit?

Not this again :mad: it was well over 20 years ago late 70's and 40k drivers got the licence without the test but they had trouble getting insurance after because they had no test done. I wonder how many of them are still driving today?

thats an interesting point about their insurance actually.. never thought about that :)

COYVB wrote: »
    How have you been driving for 5 years without a full license, or even a learners permit?

there are a lot of private roads down my area between neighbours ext. where i have been working on farms for years .. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

If this guy owns a Mercedes..I own a Veyron.

thats nice for you :) I'm sure you won't last long inside that :)

thats an interesting point about their insurance actually.. never thought about that :)

I see from you other posts your working theory is to rely on the soundness of most Irish Gardai to get away with just a telling off and not be put in the book!

You must be some charmer!! Seriously thought please drop the cocky ego before driving on the same roads as me. Get proper lessons, pass your test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Moneymaker wrote: »
    If this guy owns a Mercedes..I own a Veyron.

I call shotgun

there are a lot of private roads down my area between neighbours ext. where i have been working on farms for years .. :)

By that you mean ragging the arse of anything with an engine left lying around, we all know one of those guys...

To be honest you've got your answer, 3 points and a fine, with your attitude here's hoping you get caught and slapped with the points.
    I don't normally reply so scathingly but in my opinion your attitude to the subject matter stinks, for every other road users sake here's hoping your driving and attitude on the road isn't the same. I think I'll leave now.

no comment ......

I'm only answering back to what people said AFTER i mentioned i had a mercedes... and yes i got my answer.. but not from you so ill think you'll find what youv said is a bit backwards if you think about it :)

Let me be perfectly clear, none of my responses were the result of your having a merc, you can do as much damage with a 106. It's your attitude, end of.

iv often wondered why people told me not to post on boards.ie about motoring questions... but now i know :) full of people who think they no it all :) ( some people might but an awful lot don't )