Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rogue cyclists set to face on-the-spot fines MOD WARNING in first post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Yes, I've seen his Tweets. They do make a good visual point about speeding.

He's really a "pedestrian campaginer". Actually, I probably shouldn't say this, but he may be a member of the "Walking Industrial Complex", a shadowy organisation similar to "Big Cycling".

https://twitter.com/Flaminghobo1/status/666566866937233408

One things for sure, there needs to be more Illuminati brought into Big Cycling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Jawgap wrote: »
    One things for sure, there needs to be more Illuminati brought into Big Cycling.

I have the perfect candidate;

https://twitter.com/therealjimcorr/status/277121205780226048

• Registered Users Posts: 11,745 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

• Registered Users Posts: 18,987 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I heard there's a large pelaton on the way to the Bilderberg meeting next year.

Tony EH wrote: »
    I heard there's a large pelaton on the way to the Bilderberg meeting next year.

Got excited there.......

.......thought you said Battenberg

(Gratuitous photo of cake)
    battenberg_5.jpg

Battenberg gets served at Bilderberg when the tea and coffee comes out.

My Illuminati friends love it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Its like the old saying goes, if you know people in the group, you wouldn't need/want/have to say you know people in the group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

My impression of country roads is that cycling will only become the norm for rural kids when separate cycle paths are built parallel to the road, using strips of the bordering fields.

"My pet peeve is a very serious issue that requires a walk of shame."
    http://irishcycle.com/2015/12/01/td-wants-gardai-to-escort-bicycle-users-to-atms-to-pay-fines/

An excellent idea - then while they're there maybe the Guards could do something about the number of ATMs being skimmed!

http://irishcycle.com/2015/12/01/td-...-to-pay-fines/

A Dublin-based Fine Gael TD...

There's a shock. :/

An excellent idea - then while they're there maybe the Guards could do something about the number of ATMs being skimmed!

I thought it was considered unwise for police to have the ability to collect cash fines, putting temptation in their way to pocket the money and to be open to the concept of bribes?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

''ummm I don't carry my ATM card while cycling Guard"

I thought it was considered unwise for police to have the ability to collect cash fines, putting temptation in their way to pocket the money and to be open to the concept of bribes?
    Exactly. Also, temptation for criminals to pose as police and "collect fines". Issues were all raised when Tony Blair floated this idea in 2000 in the UK for "lager louts".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Tony EH wrote: »

Brother of Killian Scott no less, who played Tommy in Love/Hate, and grandson of a man who once stole a load of money from Gay Byrne.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭buffalo

Exactly. Also, temptation for criminals to pose as police and "collect fines". Issues were all raised when Tony Blair floated this idea in 2000 in the UK for "lager louts".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭Junior

There has been precedent for this sort of stuff before ...

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/1125/749183-garda-penalty-points/

And well look how that's working out ..

''ummm I don't carry my ATM card while cycling Guard"

FFS, does anyone in the upper house listen when the public talk about wasting garda time or appropriate use of resources. It would cost more in wasted time and reduction in garda presence than the fines would ever raise. On the plus side, most Gardai would not bother implementing the fines at all under instructions from their Super as it would be recognised for what it is.

Either way, not worried as its just a TD trying to get his name a bit higher up in the papers before election time.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,190 ✭✭✭PaulieC

What an eejit. His offices are in Ranelagh, under the LUAS bridge and his email is Eoghan.Murphy@Oireachtas.ie should you wish to point out the error of his ways to him.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Is non-payment of FPNs even an issue? I haven't seen any data come out.

That's true - it was suggested during the Blair years that louts would be marched to ATMs to pay fines for anti-social behaviour, that was actually a worse idea than this one.

One would almost think there is an election pending........

Anyway, I look forward to the Depiteeeee explaining how the Guards are going to walk people to ATMs, in rural locations.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,021 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

That's true - it was suggested during the Blair years that louts would be marched to ATMs to pay fines for anti-social behaviour, that was actually a worse idea than this one.

One would almost think there is an election pending........

Anyway, I look forward to the Depiteeeee explaining how the Guards are going to walk people to ATMs, in rural locations.
    There are many tales of foreign drivers being marched to ATMs by French police when caught speeding.

Here, for instance:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057011822

This has been going on for many years.

Lumen wrote: »
    There are many tales of foreign drivers being marched to ATMs by French police when caught speeding.

Here, for instance:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057011822

This has been going on for many years.

Yeah, the French do it alright. I've some friends (no really, I have) who go to Le Mans and they've told me stories of the coppers just lining up to pick people off then fine them for speeding, no first aid kit, etc.

I think some police forces on the continent also use an electronic terminal to allow you to pay your fine with the swipe of a card - now there's service for you.

Maybe the Guards could develop an app incorporating Stripe!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'd be fine with electronic on-the-spot fines. It's handing cash over that really creates the potential for corruption.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,758 ✭✭✭cython

What a ludicrous idea. Plenty of people out there that if they were stopped the day before payday legitimately wouldn't have enough money in their A/C to withdraw the fine amount. Should they then be hauled off to the cells for non-payment?

I actually wish I was in his constituency so I could raise it with canvassers.

cython wrote: »
    What a ludicrous idea. Plenty of people out there that if they were stopped the day before payday legitimately wouldn't have enough money in their A/C to withdraw the fine amount. Should they then be hauled off to the cells for non-payment?

"Nail them up. Nail some sense into them!"

Nailemup.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

I'd be fine with electronic on-the-spot fines. It's handing cash over that really creates the potential for corruption.
    From last Saturday:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/garda-denies-private-scheme-to-get-drivers-to-donate-to-charity-1.2446338

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I am in that constituency. I got a flyer in the door from the headphones TD guy from last week that stated that they were enthusiastic about prosecuting cyclists to the full extent of the law for any infraction, and also that his party introduced the Dublin Bike Scheme (I thought it was JCDecaux, but I suppose there had to have been a political edge too). There was also a photo of the TD with a Dublin Bike in his shirt sleeves and no extraneous equipment (and certainly no headphones). The flyer was sending me some conflicting messages, I think.

Anyone like to compile a list of questions I could pose to the poor unfortunates that knock on my door in a few months time?

*knock knock*
    "Hello"
    "Hi, I wonder if you would have a few moments to talk about..."
    "Absolutely! Pull up a chair! Make yourself at home. This could take some time!"

Maybe the Guards could develop an app incorporating Stripe!
    They do it in the US, quite handy but its not a requirement. You can pay there and then of leave it for X days depending on the state.

They could just avoid breaking the law, but maybe thats just me. Oddly my civic mindedness has nothing to do with the fear of paying a fine but I am painfully aware of my inability to pay if it ever did happen towards the end of the month.

Nothing stopping you from canvassing in his constituency yourself…
    CramCycle wrote: »
    They could just avoid breaking the law, but maybe thats just me. Oddly my civic mindedness has nothing to do with the fear of paying a fine but I am painfully aware of my inability to pay if it ever did happen towards the end of the month.

This is the side-effect of paying politicians very high wages: they lose any connection with how real people live, and so produce all kinds of loony ideas that would work if other people were as rich as they are.