Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 In Between Grand Slam Thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Laura Robson will make her return at Surprise, Arizona a $25,000 ITF tournament, followed by Rancho Santa Fe, also a $25,000 the week after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,267 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Their was a "dodgy " match in Dallas challenger Monday Night. :pac:

great article about it here...
    http://www.sportdw.com/2015/02/fix-tennis-match-denys-molchanov.html

And this is frankly hilarious.

https://twitter.com/TheTennisNerds/status/562365156806905857/photo/1

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Sam Sumyk is Bouchards new coach apparently, which seems odd considering he was in Melbourne with Vika just a couple of weeks back.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

^ Yeah, very interesting to see how this came about. Last think Bouchard needs is to be accused of stealing another coach!

We really need an Indian Wells Robson-Bouchard first round match, with the winner to play Azarenka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

*waits for a cryptic tweet from Azarenka* :pac:

Tunisia's Malek Jaziri retired when 6-3 in his match in Montpelier, apparently to avoid playing Israeli Dudi Sela in the next round. Similar thing happened last year which resulted in a Davis Cup ban for Tunisia

RosyLily wrote: »
    *waits for a cryptic tweet from Azarenka* :pac:

Tunisia's Malek Jaziri retired when 6-3 in his match in Montpelier, apparently to avoid playing Israeli Dudi Sela in the next round. Similar thing happened last year which resulted in a Davis Cup ban for Tunisia
    You're saying you don't believe he really was injured? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,267 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Nobody should really blame him for wanting to avoid that ****fest of having to play Sela.

If it was me, I'd try my best to avoid tournaments when Sela or any Israeli player is participating. There's not loads of them on the tour, could be possible. Then again, it might not.

Eugenie posted a selfie with her new coach...he did not look impressed!!:pac: Matt Cronin tweeted that Vika could have a new coach next week.

Will be interesting to see who it is.

It'll be interesting to find out what happened between Azarenka and Sumyk. Perhaps he had already announced his intentions to leave and they simply never made it public, or perhaps he left and Genie was straight in there. Another theory I've seen is perhaps IMG made him an offer he couldn't refuse, and he left Vika high and dry. Given how long they've known each other I sincerely hope that's not the case.

Amazing news for James McGee, he's been awarded a wildcard in the Dubai main draw, will practice with Berdych tomorrow morning and Murray tomorrow evening! :)

Karolina Pliskova into her 7th final in 12 months, and her first premier 5 final. Up to #12 in the rankings. If she beats Halep she'll be close to the top ten. I think she'll have a deep run at a slam this year.

Tomic into the semi's at Delray Beach, playing very solidly this year.

It'll be interesting to find out what happened between Azarenka and Sumyk. Perhaps he had already announced his intentions to leave and they simply never made it public, or perhaps he left and Genie was straight in there. Another theory I've seen is perhaps IMG made him an offer he couldn't refuse, and he left Vika high and dry. Given how long they've known each other I sincerely hope that's not the case.

Bouchard said that her team heard that Sumyk and Azarenka were parting ways after the Aus Open. I think she said it was through her fitness coach who knew him or something like that. I don't think there was anything underhand about it.

You're right. Still, she wasn't long swooping in! :pac:

Have you applied for Wimbledon tickets this year? I'm anxiously checking my emails every day, would love to get them again.

I completely forgot about them this year. It's looking like I might be in Paris when RG is on though so I was thinking about trying to get tickets for that if the dates line up.

McGee gets Sousa in the first round, with the possibility of Murray in the second.

So cool seeing McGee's name in a draw that includes Djokovic, Federer, Murray and Berdych :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

McGees match is being shown on sky sports 3 now

And it's not going well for him. Lost first set 6-1.

McGee well beaten by Sousa, and by the sound of things he didn't make Sousa work very hard for it. Sad to hear.

Kerber got demolished earlier, the signs are looking good for Vika this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭CassieManson

I applied for tickets this year. Any idea when we would expect to hear if we got them?

They started giving them out round about last week and should continue deep into March. I got notified about my tickets March 13th last year, so there's plenty of time yet :)

Great win for Borna Coric in Dubai!! Straight sets over Andy Murray. Really impressed, although Murray looked a bit flat at times. I'm interested to see how Coric plays against Federer in the SFs. He beat Nadal last year in Basel...I'm hoping he's not a flash in the pan and continues this good run.

Another win for Venus over Aga Radwanska. Love watching Venus these days, great to see her still competing at a high level. Imagine it was only a few years ago that everyone was saying the Williams' were done with tennis. They showed them!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Federer wins in Dubai again, in 2 sets. You'd wonder if more of the courts played like Dubai how Federer would be doing the last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

What is Federer playing for ???

He'll never win a grand slam again - he has FOUR KIDS , at their ages that it's most precious to spend time with them - but no , after winning 17 slams it seems 500/250 torneos are important to him while some slave maids look after his kids.

Got to wonder about the mentality of someone like that.

sick sick sick sick person

Anyway, delighted to see Lucie Safarova win in Doha! Biggest title of her career thus far, and she's now closing in on the top ten. Richly deserved. Good to see Vika playing herself back into form too.

Also enjoyed seeing Ryan Harrison get a decent run of tennis going this week, hope he can start to turn things around again.

OK it's a bit extreme with the 4 * sick , but you know what I mean ?

It's very strange, look at Sampras .... had one kid ... won the US Open 2002 ... 14th slam ... beat that history .... oh wait ....

Anyway ... he goes of to the sunset to spend quality time with his new wife and baby son ... class act.

Knew when it was time to leave the game.

Federer enjoys playing tennis and has the resources to still spend plenty of time with his kids.

Doubt that ,

This thing you have against Federer is getting really old. It has no place on this forum.

Either stop it or leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭Henry9

the_monkey wrote: »
    Knew when it was time to leave the game.
    Yep, when the got his arse handed to him at Wimbledon by a nobody, when his game disintegrated so quickly he knew he couldn't compete anymore. He got one more good tournament out of himself, and he got out, proper order.
    I'm not Federer's biggest fan but if he can still get out there and do it, why shouldn't he?
    And you know he's not the first tennis player to have children right? All this guff about 'he's got kids, he must be so tired' that you hear on the TV gets my goat.