Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Evans was pretty good the last few years but he's been shocking for a while now. Think he plays his best stuff alongside a more experienced defender. He doesn't seem to have enough about him to be a leader of the defence.

I'd personally have Smalling out the door before him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I think he is more getting annoyed at your assumption that he is just showing up for the lols and not trying, when, you know, he clearly is trying at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

We are short of options at the back and have a sicknote epidemic throughout our entire defense. Why on earth do people want us to get rid of Evans and Smalling when the "replacements" for them are Carrick, Blackett and Mcnair?

Even if we sign another center half, we still need to keep Jones, Evans and Smalling. We need two top class players in before even contemplating selling one .

One right back, one center back and a CM in the mould of Strootman or Vidal is our lot for this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I think the people giving out about the centre-backs in possession are wrong about where the problem lies. We've got three CBs, a defensive midfielder who prefers to receive the ball deep and in space and two strikers who do their best work inside the box. Then there's Rooney who still hasn't figured out the CM position and falls back on the long diagonals which usually kill the play. There ends up being so little useful movement ahead of the ball. The lads are trying to pass it out from the back, but the available options each time are very poor. The static play and over reliance on individuals is very reminiscent of LVG's Dutch team from the summer.

Defensively, Evans had a bit of a nightmare but he calmed down as the game went on. Smalling fücked up on one corner (the goal), but other than that himself and Jones were comfortable without being really tested.

The only thing that seriously bothers me about our CB options is their proneness to injury. In terms of quality of defending and on the ball their fine imo, the problems we're seeing are caused by how the team is set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,532 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

We are short of options at the back and have a sicknote epidemic throughout our entire defense. Why on earth do people want us to get rid of Evans and Smalling when the "replacements" for them are Carrick, Blackett and Mcnair?

Even if we sign another center half, we still need to keep Jones, Evans and Smalling. We need two top class players in before even contemplating selling one .

One right back, one center back and a CM in the mould of Strootman or Vidal is our lot for this year.

Unfortunately Evans has been part of the sicknote trio. My view we simply need to replace a player who has consistently not performed for us with one who has proven reliability ie. a Hummels or Vertongen. and then look at possibly another center half in the summer. If we revert to 4-4-2 then that is plenty of cover as Rojo is also due back. Although the issue playing 4-4-2 has been the lack of available full backs which is also something that needs to be addressed at some point.

kippy wrote: »
    In fairness, every singly player out there (for every club) is "just picking up a paycheque".
    Very few of them actually earn or deserve the obscene amounts they are getting.

In relation to the effort the players are putting in, I don't particularly think that any of that United squad are "sitting back" and not putting in the effort. In a game like soccer and at the highest level that kind of behavior is very easily exposed.
    If the charge being leveled at him is that he ain't good enough at this level, fair enough, he probably isn't.

Players wages are just an easy stick to best them with if the play bad.

It's impossible to justify the money they are on, even the 'crap' players.
    Any time someone brings out that arguement, you know they are spouting spoof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Trilla wrote: »
    who's gonna take him? Most likely back to Brazil? :)

being lined up by mcdonalds apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,586 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Players wages are just an easy stick to best them with if the play bad.

It's impossible to justify the money they are on, even the 'crap' players.
    Any time someone brings out that arguement, you know they are spouting spoof

I was making the point that EVERY player is "just picking up the paycheque" in that they are hardly paying back their wages or not accepting payment when they play poorly etc.

We're all paying for "players wages" in one way or another and of course it's a stick to beat them with.........
    Tangent - Professional players who cannot strike a dead ball, cannot beat the first man from a corner, keep a shot down when taking a long range shot unopposed etc etc

kippy wrote: »
    I was making the point that EVERY player is "just picking up the paycheque" in that they are hardly paying back their wages or not accepting payment when they play poorly etc.

So, I am spouting spoof?

I was agreeing with you.

They are hardly gonna say, no boss, knock off 20 grand there, I missed a sitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

They cant afford his wages. Wants to be paid in happy meals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

I hope Rojo and Shaw don't catch the injury habits of all the other defenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

the Mcdonalds links are a ploy to get Nandos to include bottomless Ice Cream

I'm going to throw it out there that it's impossible to perform well in this 3 man defence. Rojo gave it a good go for a while but they are left one on one with attackers for the entire game and in that situation, especially with the physicality and overall good quality of attackers in the league they are always going to fashion chances. Defending is about teamwork and at the moment everyone is too busy with their own thing to help out with the others.

Liam O wrote: »
    I'm going to throw it out there that it's impossible to perform well in this 3 man defence. Rojo gave it a good go for a while but they are left one on one with attackers for the entire game and in that situation, especially with the physicality and overall good quality of attackers in the league they are always going to fashion chances. Defending is about teamwork and at the moment everyone is too busy with their own thing to help out with the others.

I've said it elsewhere and from a defensive point of view its not too bad. The issue lies going forward. There is a heavy reliance recently to get the wing backs into a position to cross the ball into the box from the byline. Stoke and Spurs were wide to the tactic and did their homework and doubled up, because the only wide players are the wingbacks they have no support, no full back to overlap it's a 2 vs 1 situation with everyone else central. That's why i'd like to see a return of 4-4-2. Although that brings other problems to the table ie. what to do with Mata who inst the greatest defensively especially in a midfield two... I think the balance and flow of the team would be greatly improved.

As center backs go Rojo has been our most consistent performer I only remember him having one dodgy game. Be good to get him back in the side in a back four again with Rafa / Valancia and Shaw fit again. Who is best to partner him is anyone's guess.

The reluctance to drop RVP or even take him off makes the Falcao signing more baffling than it already was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

The reluctance to drop RVP or even take him off makes the Falcao signing more baffling than it already was.

didn't RVP come off after the hour mark quite recently, was it Villa or Spurs?
    I bet he was coming off for Wilson too only Young got injured.

Baffling that Falcao came off so early, even though his touch was a little off he was up there fighting for the ball, holding it up as best he could and making some great runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Strumms wrote: »
    Evidence ? such as... Do you watch him play for Man Utd ? We are talking about the same Evans right ? I offer his big **** off paycheck, in return he delivers sub standard performances week after week, cant pass, seems to have lost a yard, poor positional sense and his body language would not inspire you that he gives a great deal of a monkey's about all that. Guy is 26 and not the player he was at 23. Now unless you want a signed statement from the player himself that might have to do you...

So therefore what your saying is you can't provide any proof and were talking nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Falcao really grew into the game yesterday it was a joke he was took off. Rooney and RVP both should have come off before him. He likes his captain always on the pitch and he loves RVP so it looks like Falcao will be the one who will be sacrificed.

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Falcao really grew into the game yesterday it was a joke he was took off. Rooney and RVP both should have come off before him. He likes his captain always on the pitch and he loves RVP so it looks like Falcao will be the one who will be sacrificed.

He's shown 3 or 4 times this season when we needed to make a change, RVP came off around the 60-75min mark.

Probably should have done it 1 or 2 times more though, including yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Ugh am I the only one seriously fed up with the fat Anderson "jokes"? They havent been funny for a long time and it'd probably help if he was out of shape. I'd love to have a physique like him.

a10565deb8daa2bbd5ea05fd4f608e3a_crop_exact.png?w=1500&h=1500&q=85

Or maybe he is an experienced manager who has worked with the best players in the game, and ones who have just come back after a bad injury and has advisors on how to treat the player for a while.

But no, your right. He has a man crush on rvp so will leave him on. Sounds right.

But I kinda do think rvp should have came off once or twice before falcao

Ugh am I the only one seriously fed up with the fat Anderson "jokes"? They havent been funny for a long time and it'd probably help if he was out of shape. I'd love to have a physique like him.

The joke is the joke

So therefore what your saying is you can't provide any proof and were talking nonsense.

I have answered your question and spoken on the subject. If you choose to regard it as nonsense, so be it that's your opinion. I on the other hand beg to differ. By all means continue to refrain from any sort of intelligent or mindful debate on the subject but please keep suggesting that I am talking nonsense because that just really adds to the discussion and an informed debate. Regardless of who agrees with who on this board i'm thankful that the majority of posters can at least disagree and debate on what people post rather then focus on a sentence you disagree with and like a disgruntled teenager describe it as nonsense. thanks for your contribution. ;)

Strumms wrote: »
    I have answered your question and spoken on the subject. If you choose to regard it as nonsense, so be it that's your opinion. I on the other hand beg to differ. By all means continue to refrain from any sort of intelligent or mindful debate on the subject but please keep suggesting that I am talking nonsense because that just really adds to the discussion and an informed debate. Regardless of who agrees with who on this board i'm thankful that the majority of posters can at least disagree and debate on what people post rather then focus on a sentence you disagree with and like a disgruntled teenager describe it as nonsense. thanks for your contribution. ;)

You're the one who said that you get the impression that Evans just shows up and dosent try.

You're the one with lazy, unintelligent post.
    Cherry on the cake is bringing age into this as some sort of intelligence indicator or to belittle a poster.

You're the one who said that you get the impression that Evans just shows up and dosent try.

You're the one with lazy, unintelligent post.
    Cherry on the cake is bringing age into this as some sort of intelligence indicator or to belittle a poster.

I think the idea of belittle someone is to off the bat describe what they type as nonsense. Are people not capable of disagreeing with someone without 'repeatedly' just calling their opinion nonsense ? and asking to prove my opinion ? hardly intelligent debate from the get go. Prove De Gea is better the Courtois ? etc ? who knows, its a matter of opinion. I watch United 6 or 7 times live per season and each game that is televised and my opinion is formed on experience as everyone is entitled to do and expressed here. Would anyone agree then a more sever case, now we are talking whole different levels of phoning it in here.. but Anderson ? then on the other hand maybe I should ask for proof that it inst glandular. but hey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Twitter seems to be suggesting Falcao about to sign permanent deal and DeGea to sign 5 year deal ... What a start to 2015 that would be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Jorge Mendes is up to something, if the Falcao stuff is true

irishfeen wrote: »
    Twitter seems to be suggesting Falcao about to sign permanent deal and DeGea to sign 5 year deal ... What a start to 2015 that would be!

Excellent news if true on both counts.

I'd be delighted if that's true about De Gea considering some of the rumors that had been floating around. He is well on his way to becoming the best goalkeeper to wear the United shirt and considering some of the competition that is no mean feat.

Did you just smash your face against your keyboard there? So many questions.

So you watch utd 6/7 times a year, out of there 50 ish games a year, then think your opinion is more valid or right than people in here who watch most of the games?

Of course someone can call your opinion nonsense, because it is wrong, you came at Evans with lazy arguments. Maybe take a step back and listen to what someone who regularly watches games has to say and you might pick up something you hadn't noticed.

Yes Evans hasn't been playing well, but to think he is just packing it in, an athlete at the top of the game is just simply nonsense. He has to play against players, whose job is to stop the other team playing. He is trying, but at this time, it's just not good enough.

Yeah Anderson just felt like stopping and went to macdonalds, nothing to do with injuries or just not making the final cut.

Your arguments are lazy.

Did you just smash your face against your keyboard there? So many questions.

So you watch utd 6/7 times a year, out of there 50 ish games a year, then think your opinion is more valid or right than people in here who watch most of the games?

Of course someone can call your opinion nonsense, because it is wrong, you came at Evans with lazy arguments. Maybe take a step back and listen to what someone who regularly watches games has to say and you might pick up something you hadn't noticed.

Yes Evans hasn't been playing well, but to think he is just packing it in, an athlete at the top of the game is just simply nonsense. He has to play against players, whose job is to stop the other team playing. He is trying, but at this time, it's just not good enough.

Yeah Anderson just felt like stopping and went to macdonalds, nothing to do with injuries or just not making the final cut.

Your arguments are lazy.

I watch them live 6/7 times a year, as in at Old Trafford or another venue. The rest I watch on TV or streams.

I never suggested that my opinion is more valid or informed then anyone elses. That is something you have plucked out of this air.

I do regularly watch games, again 6/7 live the rest on TV. Although this doesn't make my opinion any more valid but does qualify me to comment just like you or anyone else who watches United.

Evan's hasnt been playing well I agree. Evan's is an athlete at the top of his game ? I don't agree. But I can leave it at that without resorting to petty insults.

My argument's are not lazy, but you can form that opinion as you wish.

I also didn't smash my face off the keyboard. Such a comment could be construed as belittling and I was about to say it would be beneath you but the jury might be out on that regard.