Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maynooth/kilcock cycling club.

• 30-12-2014 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Just wondering if there's a cycling club in either kilcock or Maynooth or if not is there much interest in starting one up for 2015?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Not much point in one really. Area is already well served with Lucan CRC(my own club and has something to suit every one from the beginner to A1 racing level. Different level spins every Saturday from Staggs cycles in Lucan), BikeworxCelbridge(purely racing), Adamstown(purely racing), Dunboyne which I think is a fairly broad club as well but maybe someone else can shed further light on it.

I only joined Lucan in Feb and can't recommmend it highly enough. Excellent club and very well run. You'd be made feel very welcome. Call into Staggs Cycles in Lucan and ask for Jimmy and he will have a chat with ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭sullzz

Just wondering if there's a cycling club in either kilcock or Maynooth or if not is there much interest in starting one up for 2015?

What level of cycling are you interested in racing or leisure , there is a group spin that leave from maynooth college (starting next weekend I think ) they train for an annual charity cycle to galway and back , short mileage building up each week , a bit more info on what you're after and we can point you in the right direction , the nearest racing clubs would be lucan or dunboyne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Badgerburke

sullzz wrote: »
    What level of cycling are you interested in racing or leisure , there is a group spin that leave from maynooth college (starting next weekend I think ) they train for an annual charity cycle to galway and back , short mileage building up each week , a bit more info on what you're after and we can point you in the right direction , the nearest racing clubs would be lucan or dunboyne

Well I bought a bike during the summer and usually put in a 60/70km at the weekend and maybe a 40km on one of the evenings. Not really interested in racing just plan on doing a few of the an post cycles and the like this summer. Looking for a few of a similar level to team up with. There's plenty cycling around north Kildare just surprised there isn't a club in Maynooth.

As wirelessdude said , lucan cater for all aspects and are a known great club who would bring you on in leaps and bounds as a cyclist , they have a sportive group which could be of interest to you , or you could join the galway cycle group at the weekends and train with them , i know a few of them stay together all year round and do other sportives together as well as training for the race around ireland this year and next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Donadea Wheelers would have some members fro Kilcock/Maynooth I think,

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Donadea-Wheelers/123078224557909?fref=ts

nilhg wrote: »
    Donadea Wheelers would have some members fro Kilcock/Maynooth I think,

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Donadea-Wheelers/123078224557909?fref=ts

Totally forgot about them , great bunch of lads , I've cycled with a few of them before , they are apparantly a very welcoming club for new members .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

There's also an informal group who meet every Sunday opposite the church in Maynooth and do 70-90km. Not a registered club but the rides are organised.

Google Maynooth Chain Gang. Can't paste a link on the touch site for some reason.

Orion wrote: »
    There's also an informal group who meet every Sunday opposite the church in Maynooth and do 70-90km. Not a registered club but the rides are organised.

The chain gang ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Beer Assistant

If you fancy a bit of Mountain biking KMBC (kildare Mountain Bike Club) do evening midweek spins in Donadea Forrest, and hit the hills at weekends.

NB : No man gets left behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Living in Maynooth and usually spin with Naas on a Sunday. They are 30 mins away, catering again for all levels.

There is Failte group on a Saturday from K Leisure that runs through technique and the basics of group riding.

Personally i dont mind the travel, though I realise its not everyones cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Welshkev

Dunboyne meet up at 10am in the main square every Saturday and Sunday morning. The usual spin is approx. 60km and has members who are purely leisure cyclists and a few racers too, but the pace is nice. Usually stop for a coffee in Kilcock on the way back.
    More than welcome to join!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭pot p

Dunboyne meet up at 10am in the main square every Saturday and Sunday morning. The usual spin is approx. 60km and has members who are purely leisure cyclists and a few racers too, but the pace is nice. Usually stop for a coffee in Kilcock on the way back.
    More than welcome to join!

What's the name of the group in dunboyne? Had a luck on FB and there appears to be 2

pot p wrote: »
    What's the name of the group in dunboyne? Had a luck on FB and there appears to be 2
    We're the Dunboyne DID club (there is also Inspiration). This is us - http://www.dunboynecc.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭rtmie

Inspiration Dunboyne club spins from Dunboyne Garda Station Saturdays at 10. 50/60km.

We're the Dunboyne DID club (there is also Inspiration). This is us - http://www.dunboynecc.com/

Is this more of a racing club?? I've never raced and not good enough too and I'm only gettin back into cycling after a bit of a lay off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Beer Assistant

If you build it they will come,

Stick up some flyers in local shops/post office/butchers/gaa/paper, it's always handier cycling from your own doorstep than travelling somewhere else to start.

If you build it they will come,

Stick up some flyers in local shops/post office/butchers/gaa/paper, it's always handier cycling from your own doorstep than travelling somewhere else to start.

Exactly what I was thinking. And with the numbers around Maynooth there should be plenty of like minded people interested in starting up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭NBar

At moment I'm just on my mountain bike around Leixlip/Ceilbridge area but will be back on the road bike the odd time around the Maynooth and some times around Howth but would be interested in going for non competitive spins, only thing is my work shifts mean I can't always do weekend spins only week day ones.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,892 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

NBar wrote: »
    At moment I'm just on my mountain bike around Leixlip/Ceilbridge area but will be back on the road bike the odd time around the Maynooth and some times around Howth but would be interested in going for non competitive spins, only thing is my work shifts mean I can't always do weekend spins only week day ones.

I cycle from Celbridge on weekdays. At this time of year it'll be Thursdays or Fridays.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

pot p wrote: »
    Is this more of a racing club?? I've never raced and not good enough too and I'm only gettin back into cycling after a bit of a lay off

Not at all - there are of course racers in the club (as with all clubs) but the weekend spins are more for the social side of things

Sorry about the 50 questions. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Terry365

Exactly what I was thinking. And with the numbers around Maynooth there should be plenty of like minded people interested in starting up.

I can't see how there wouldn't be enough cyclists in Maynooth that a club couldn't be set up. Surely not having to travel to Lucan/Nass/Dunboyne for a club would be preferably.

Terry365 wrote: »
    I can't see how there wouldn't be enough cyclists in Maynooth that a club couldn't be set up. Surely not having to travel to Lucan/Nass/Dunboyne for a club would be preferably.

Exactly. Would be nice to fall out of bed and onto the bike rather than into a car and drive somewhere to cycle.

Is there not a cycle club in Maynooth already or is that a sportive club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Think it would be very successful, massive population around there & kilcock etc

If it was based in Maynooth it could take in kilcock, Ceilbridge , Leixlip and surrounding areas but maybe a sportive type based club but anyone who wanted to participate in the competition side as well,

Right well who's organising it?? Hahahaha

IMHO if you are going to set up a proper club , (CI registered) you really need someone who has been in a club previously, especially if you are going to have a race section within the club . Best of luck with it if you do set one up .

Well I think it should start out with a few going for spins at the weekend and see how the numbers are for that. But your right, I'm only just getting into cycling and we'd definitely need someone with experience.

Had an idea earlier just to create a list of like minded people in the Maynooth Area that want to meet up informally. No personal details just use DM on boards to arrange things. Nothing formal just a way of people who want to cycle to meet up and take it from there I guess.

As people have said sometimes it may not suit to travel to a club for a spin. Again all of the people should have Cycling Ireland insurance and the spins would be at their own risk.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1w3c-POV_rCvCpEaXIZCSaqJfNIWdfcbEmdwpGPnDf9E/edit?usp=sharing

With my current work shifts and other commitments I can't guarantee my participation but if I am free I will meet up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Lucan is of no use for us folk west of Kilcock. I'd be interested in something for us culchies.

So how do we put out the word for people around the area then? This is where we need someone with some experience to help.
    I'd be of a moderate level... Max distance 80-100km and speed around 23km per hour... Wind assisted.

Set up a Facebook page and get anyone you know to share it .

But keep in mind , a lot of people from the area are involved in the galway cycle at the moment which have training spins from Maynooth every Saturday and Sunday , so you might not get as much interest as you might in a couple of months .

TonyStark wrote: »
    Had an idea earlier just to create a list of like minded people in the Maynooth Area that want to meet up informally. No personal details just use DM on boards to arrange things. Nothing formal just a way of people who want to cycle to meet up and take it from there I guess.

As people have said sometimes it may not suit to travel to a club for a spin. Again all of the people should have Cycling Ireland insurance and the spins would be at their own risk.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1w3c-POV_rCvCpEaXIZCSaqJfNIWdfcbEmdwpGPnDf9E/edit?usp=sharing

Can't edit that.

they/them/theirs

Brian? wrote: »
    Can't edit that.

Should be good now!

TonyStark wrote: »
    Should be good now!

Added myself in there, good work.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

sullzz wrote: »
    But keep in mind , a lot of people from the area are involved in the galway cycle at the moment which have training spins from Maynooth every Saturday and Sunday , so you might not get as much interest as you might in a couple of months .

Or you might get more now that they've started the out and back along the N4 spins! I know a few people who might appreciate variety in a smaller group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Just moved to Maynooth and was hoping to do a bit of cycling once weather is a bit better. Surprised there ain't a club in Maynooth. Like the casual weekend cycle and evenings in summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

And just added my name to Google doc by the way.

Added my name but due to work shifts every week is different for me

Perhaps a Facebook page could be set up? I see most people are recording 100km at 25kph I'd be closer to 80km at 23kph but getting there.

Sure we all like to add that little bit extra on ;)
    You have nominated yourself for setting it up, when you have it up and running let us know

Sure we all like to add that little bit extra on ;)
    You have nominated yourself for setting it up, when you have it up and running let us know

LOL , im glad i phrased my suggestion a bit different in my previous post

Right Chaps, Facebook Group setup. Not around this week or next but I've penciled in a Saturday Spin on the 21st if anyone of ye are interested.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1577004012540345/?fref=ts

I just picked an arbitrary average speed, the more people in the group the more the average speed will even out. If you can do 23km/h over 80km on your own, you're more than capable of sitting in a group at 25km/h.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

A good few of us used to meet on Wednesdays and some Saturdays a couple of years ago. It seemed to run out of steam when a few of us decided that we wanted to race and joined Lucan. Another reason could be that the summer arrived and people started heading away on holidays and never came back to the group again.

Isn't that what's needed a few meeting up going for a spin and then if they want progressing into a club, sure we all kicked ball on a green and then some joined clubs or went onto bigger things etc so all good :)