Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Big Fat Quiz of the Year (2014)

• 20-12-2014 7:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭

These are normally tremendous fun. One airs Dec 26th and the other on Jan. 2nd. Guaranteed a rant from David Mitchell at least. :)
    Quizzers, get your thinking caps on: there are going to be two "Big Fat Quiz"'s on over the festive period!

The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year 2014 is due to air on Channel 4 on Boxing Day at 9pm, and will star teams made up of Richard Ayoade, David Mitchell, Mel B, Micky Flanagan, Sarah Millican and Kevin Bridges, with host as usual Jimmy Carr. The quiz will look back, on a month-by-month basis, at 2014.

But that's not all as, on January 2, Carr will host the Big Fat Anniversary Quiz to mark the 10th anniversary of the series. The celebrities taking part will be Russell Brand, Noel Fielding, Jonathan Ross, Warwick David, Jack Whitehall and Claudia Winkleman, and they will look at everything from Chico-time and the horsemeat scandal to sexy spies. It will also air on Channel 4 at 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Russell Brand and Noel Fielding aka The Goth Detectives reunited at last!

I didn't enjoy the more recent shows as much as the old ones, but they have decent guests lined up there so fingers crossed. Always a good show to record, and watch when there is a lull over Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Surprised no one's started a thread about this.

Thoughts?

Mel B seems a bit out of place among six comedians and comedic actors.

The clip of Jon Snow dancing to Meghan Trainor's All About That Bass will have no doubt gone viral by tomorrow.

Not the worst ever stuff on telly but Sarah Millican irks me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

John snow is class :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Mel B is trying to hard to be out there. Don't like Sarah either. Have a lot of time for the four lads though. Doing shocking on the quiz though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

ugh sarah Millican on this show, but she's after ruining it for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Mel is so out of place on this show, she has the personality of a door knob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭danrua01

Would be good without Mel and Sarah. Get Russell Brand and Noel Fielding back on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

danrua01 wrote: »
    Would be good without Mel and Sarah. Get Russell Brand and Noel Fielding back on!

Noel is always great on these types of shows. Mel is a disaster.

Don't they have to have a quota now?
    Millican is ruining it for me
    God bring back Russell and Noel. :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

They'll be on The Big Fat Anniversary Quiz on 2nd January.

So will Claudia Winkleman, Jack Whitehall, Jonathan Ross and Warwick Davis.

They'll be on The Big Fat Anniversary Quiz on 2nd January.

So will Claudia Winkleman, Jack Whitehall, Jonathan Ross and Warwick Davis.

That sounds like a much better lineup. Think I'll set a reminder for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Threads merged.

Oh my God. 10 years!
    lookin forward to that one. :)

Overall, I didn't think the show was great. Bit disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Mel was a disaster! Poor Mickey having to deal with her.

The song title puns were fantastic though.

That was the only part I actually laughed at.
    I like the lads, the girls ruined it for me. That Sarah wan would want to just stop.

I used to really like Sarah but she gets old fairly quickly.

Really disappointed David and Richard didn't get more airtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Just starting it now..

.. decent line-up with Micky, Kevin, David and Richard - but f*ck me, Mel B is an absolute train-wreck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

I loved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Someones knickers in a twist! Needed more David Mitchell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

deise08 wrote: »
    Jon snow is class :)

Despite the fact that he knows nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Mel B made Sarah Millican bareable. A fine achievement. I hope she never graces my television screen again. Richard Ayoade shut her down brilliantly a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I didn't mind Sarah, I know she's not everyone's cup of tea comedy-wise but she's not a total pain in the neck as a person unlike Mel B. She was awful. I didn't expect her to be funny but she was so gobby and stupid in a lot of her comments.

It was overall enjoyable though- can't wait for the anniversary one though, brilliant lineup!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I like Sarah but Mel B was awful. Seemed like she was on another planet half the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Mel B seems to have no sense of humour. She didn't really seem to get any of the jokes and she was just nasty at times. They all seemed sick of her by the first break.

The rest of them were pretty funny. I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,731 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Why do they always have to have one non-comedian in it? Mel B, Gabby Logan, Jamie Oliver... And now Warwick Davis is in the 10th Anniversary one despite not being on any of the previous ones.

It's a comedy program. Book people who actually have something of a reputation for being funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Warwick Davis is also a bit of an arsehole imo. He has the potential to ruin this for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

To be fair to Warwick Davis.. he's not hilarious but he can take the piss out of himself.. as proven by 'Life's Too Short'..

.. Mel B just seemed like she's never seen the show, and seemed really out-of-sorts by the whole thing. Unfunny, lazy and just downright lost at the best of times.

The 2014 Quiz wasn't terrible, but am expecting more from the Anniversary Quiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Jonathan Ross' production company makes these programs so he was guaranteed to appear on at least 1 this year.

The insufferable Claudia Winkleman seems to appear every time he does. Unfortunately.

Jack Whitehalls 'comedy' career is a triumph of nepotism.

My dream line up would be: Jack Dee, Sean Locke, Noel Fielding, Russel Brand, David Mitchell and Charlie Brooker.

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Jonathan Ross' production company makes these programs so he was guaranteed to appear on at least 1 this year.

The insufferable Claudia Winkleman seems to appear every time he does. Unfortunately.

My dream line up would be: Jack Dee, Sean Locke, Noel Fielding, Russel Brand, David Mitchell and Charlie Brooker.

I actually really like Claudia Winkleman on them. She's kinda the exception to the rule when it comes to non-comedy people.

That being said, you'd never get that dream line-up. Have to have at least one woman on it, obviously.

I don't mind Jack all that much but he was crowned King Of Comedy at the British Comedy Awards 3 years running. That's just madness!

My line up would be: David Mitchell, Richard Ayoade, Dara O' Briain, Stephen Fry (it's a dream line up after all), Sean Lock and Miranda Hart.

Penn wrote: »
    I actually really like Claudia Winkleman on them. She's kinda the exception to the rule when it comes to non-comedy people.

That being said, you'd never get that dream line-up. Have to have at least one woman on it, obviously.

Why? There isn't a decent female comedian out there. I'd take Aisling Bea at a push.

I don't agree that they should HAVE to have a female comedian, but they open themselves up to criticism if they don't. Same way BBC decided that from now on, all panel shows have to have at least one female panellist.

That being said, Kristen Schaal was really good the time she was on. She'd be my pick. Would love to see Isy Suttie get a shot too. But a lot of the time these shows tend to come down to what agent you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I'm watching this now and it's pretty bad, jesus. Mel B is an absolute disaster. It's never going to be a case where everyone is firing on all cylinders but she's actually making it uncomfortable.

The rest are grand (Ayoade in particular is always strong) but it's weak enough and I think Jimmy is doing a poor job hosting.

Looking forward to the one coming up in a few days. I think Winkleman is very quick and funny and I think she'll be good despite not being a "comedian".

Would love to see Kristen Schaal back. And Aisling Bea is a good suggestion for the future. Maybe Sara Pascoe too. Or Trevor Noah, maybe even Bo Burnham but I don't think he does these kinds of shows.

Hugh Dennis would be great

I wish Greg Davies would do more panel shows. He stood in for Lee Mack on Would I Lie To You once and he was very good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Hugh Dennis would be great

I wish Greg Davies would do more panel shows. He stood in for Lee Mack on Would I Lie To You once and he was very good!

Off topic I know but Lee Mack should have got NMTB host ahead of Rhod Gilbert.

On topic: Channel 4 don't have a host better then Jimmy Carr. Jimmy is an excellent host when he has good comedians to work with.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    maybe even Bo Burnham but I don't think he does these kinds of shows.

He wouldn't know a lot of "affairs" relating to Britain though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Mars Bar wrote: »
    He wouldn't know a lot of "affairs" relating to Britain though
    Even better!

That's part of what made Schaal good.

Anniversary should be better. Would like Bill Bailey in place of one of the others, see him on Qi a few times this series. I have a lot of time for Henning Wehn as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

. Get Russell Brand and Noel Fielding back on!
    Russell Brand is enough for me to avoid the anniversary show.

Ah yes henning wehnn is funny. :)
    Mickey flanning
    Richard Ayode
    sean locke
    Johnny Vegas
    :( Frankie Boyle but I think he's banned. throw in Armstrong and fry.
    Danny dyer and I'm in heaven :)

Thank god Frankie Boyle has been banished.
    Johnny Vegas used to do my nut in altogether but he is improving with less shouting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Just seen it now and glad I was far from the only one to find Mel a massive pain. It was clear the rest were completely sick of her but it was nearly worth it when the ripped her at the end.

I love Richard and David while Mickey has grown on me a lot recently. When Mel made Millican bearable it says a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Watched it this evening, first chance I got. After reading all about Mel B etc, I thought it'd be crap. It was pretty good I thought. Helped that I was able to fly thru all the breaks maybe, but was a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Stevecw wrote: »
    Watched it this evening, first chance I got. After reading all about Mel B etc, I thought it'd be crap. It was pretty good I thought. Helped that I was able to fly thru all the breaks maybe, but was a good laugh.

yeah, I didn't understand the ganging up on Mel B. I watched most of the repeat on Ch 4 a few days later and was again mystified as to why people were criticising her. I thought it was very good. I'll keep an eye out for it on E4 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

lertsnim wrote: »
    Warwick Davis is also a bit of an arsehole imo. He has the potential to ruin this for me.

Came across as a real arsehole in 'An Idiot Abroad'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Aimeee

I wonder if Mel b knew what she signed up for there? Doesn't she live in US most of the year? I really think she didn't have a clue on most of the questions. There's been a lot in the press lately too about her marriage etc. Possibly has other things on her mind or was very anti men that particular week?

Anniversary quiz had some good bits. Chris the fly!