Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a lash given

• 22-12-2014 12:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭

Last January of 2014 I decided twas time to go down to the track and join up for the Couch to 5k course. To cut 12 months short, I graduated from that excellent program after 8 weeks and ran the 5k in about 25 mins and a bit. Not 1000% sure how accurate the time was as we got flustered over the lap count near the end but needless to say, shin splints nil, goal reached 1.

On from that I went and within a month completed the Dunboyne 4 miler in 35mins, then the Boyne 10k in 53mins, the Dunboyne BHAA 5 miler in under 38, the Dunshaughlin 10k in just over 47, and finally the Duleek 10k in 50mins.

Dont want to just throw all those details out without making it clear that, I am the man who since the early 90's, couldnt run 100mtrs for a bus without getting shin splints, couldnt do a hurried 30min walk into town to Busaras without getting shin splints. I remember almost not having the muscle available to lift my feet upward to climb the steps of the buses on those nights when I'd have been under pressure to make that Mullingar bus and would have done a good bit of running to get there. So shin splints have been my excuse, not any more. Not to say they are a thing of the past, just I've managed to live with them, push on, see them fade a bit, come back a bit, and fade a lot. I didnt see a specialist about them and wondered all the time if there was a stress fracture issue going on, but ruled that out in my head each time because I knew that I'd had these forever and a day.

Throughout the year, I trained when I felt it was right, yet twice took a long break when I thought there was a niggle that needed rest, the whole month of July and 8 weeks from end Oct to Dec. I still havent seen a physio or got a massage, came close a few times, just work and life - and having no knowledge of those things - get in the way.

Right now, am just back after the 8 week break I gave to try to get past an upper area injury in the foot, pain right below where the laces are knotted. Was after getting my longest run up to 14 miles at that stage, cant believe that still.

So after heading out on Friday night and doing a 5k, the foot is fine and the shins are too. Lookin forward to 2015 and making gains with the experience the last 12 months have given me.

Thanks for reading !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

Its one year tomorrow night since I did my first c25k session so if theres any c25k '15 folks reading, heres hoping these posts can give you a bit of encouragement.

Since my 1st post I've done the following:
    23rd Dec: track night fit4life
    1st Jan: 5k local run
    6th Jan: 5k local run
    8th Jan: 11k down in Limerick (In Fr Russell Rd, out by the hospital, down to Fr Russell Rd again 3 times) 57mins
    12th Jan: 4.2mls local 38 mins

Great to be back and have both legs fine to walk on the next day, thats the big difference to a year ago when I'd be duck arsed for 2 days hobblin around and wouldnt have a hope of been able to run across a road between couch25k nights. I know my times arent gonna be talked about on sports chat radio but just to have the body finally level out and accept that I'm doin this is mighty. Am probably gonna mess that up as the evenings get longer and I stay out longer!!

To update my log and release you all from your suspense...

I've run more or less 3 times a week since last update, maybe the odd '2 run' week. Exotic places I've parked up and trained?

Lets see... the junction where the N17 crosses over the N5 at Charlestown! Its a flyover with an onslip and offslip and the road below isnt dual carriageway, just a main road. The whole thing is quiet at 7pm at night and its exactly a 1 mile circuit, and its lit too. Highly recommended!!

Then theres my Limerick triangle of Fr Russell Road, out by the hospital and down the link road by the Sth Court Hotel and back onto FRRd, thats 2.3 miles per lap.

Then a night running around Newcastlewest in the rain for an hour.

And the piece de resistance starts at the Birdhill roundabout on the old Dublin/Limerick road, and goes up the hill to the motorway (2km climb). So if you do a quick 1k close to the Birdhill end and then run up to the motorway and back down, then you've done a fair 5k.

I did that Birdhill one yesterday at 3pm on the way back to Dublin, ran up the hill nice and steady and coming back down I gave it welly. Did the whole thing between glances at the phone 1524 to 1549, hopefully it was just over 23 mins but it was also possibly just under 25. BUT am I paying a high price for my welly coz since then both my knees arent great at all, any change of direction can give me a real dart in the right one. Also a pain showing up on the topside of my left foot where I had no issue thus far. So the lesson learned is, dont run downhill faster as the knees take a fair hammering for it.

All that said, I ran my first 10miler last week in Trim and got home in 1.18!! I became determined in the early stages that I could stick with the 8min pacer and by mile 4 I was drifting by him and stayed there and although its a lonlier place, it paid off.

Think I'll take a few days off to get my knees back, was enjoying the 2015 feeling of being out of trouble....

Am doing the Dunboyne 4 miler tomorrow at 3pm. 1st time to do it was last year and got over the line in 35mins. This year my goal is to beat 30.

During the week I got to sneak in onto the tartan track in Athlone IT (as you do) and there I did 16 laps, with the last lap clocked at 1.50 (same pace as previous few). If I could possibly do the 4miles at 1.50per400m pace then that'll get me in under the 30. Then you throw in the 'race day' extra bit of pace that you seem to get and the general prep and proper warmup to boot. Only thing that could go against me would be to start behind where I should, and thats a hard thing to figure out.

Hope the weather Gods ease that wind off a bit..... :pac:

**edit** did i say 'only' thing that could go against me would be the start?? can think of a million other things now!!

To resurrect this log from the distant memory, here goes with the latest anyway...

Last week I completed DCM 2015. I had been training solidly thru the summer with the odd break thrown in due to small niggles but I think it was at the beginnning of August that I finally admitted to myself that I was already training for DCM. Was I following a plan? No, but I've had David Carries novice and experienced plans hanging on my rad in the bathroom for a year now and knew that I was already doing enough to have satisfied the first few weeks of his 2 plans or if not then fairly close.

So being a club member I should have been throwing my lot in with them and taking coaching and mentoring there but with work commitments, I rarely get down to track nights, so it really was Dubgal's mentored novice thread where I did all my lurking and info gathering. I trained like I wanted to give more on the road in the training months so that on the day, my goal would seem easier to achieve, like getting the cabbage out of the way at the start of your dinner when you were a kid, so that the rest of the dinner would be more enjoyable. Anyway, I was doing great until the longest long run in September when I ran over 22 miles in 3hrs 20 while carrying a new knee niggle. The niggle caused me to take a break as I couldnt walk properly for over 10 days after the run, and it was there just under the surface for 2 more weeks after that, all of which brought me right up to DCM. I couldnt test the knee as I was too afraid of limping around when not running for another 2 weeks. So I resigned to tackle DCM with no recent training and hope things went ok.

I am sooo envious of my fellow novices who paid so much more attention to their own individual plan and how they would execute it, than I did. The success it brought them was fantastic. Albeit I had a variable thrown into my raceday in that I hadnt trained for a month, but to counter that I should then have played safe and gone out with a set slower race plan, and a more realistic goal. I was running with 'hope' instead of running with sense. The day was still great as I got there, but from mile 11, what I had hoped for wasnt there and to keep going was flippin agony. I was cramping in both calves and my quads were on fire, tightening up the more the thing went on. I was stop starting from 11miles thru to the finish. Walking started to hurt as much as running. I remember stopping to stretch at the top of Fosters Avenue after running up 'heartbreak hill' and seeing my calves and thigh muscles in one leg moving independently of anything I was asking my leg to do.

At that stage I'd drunk twice as much water as I'd drunk on any of the other LSRs and I still drank another 250ml on top of that in the closing miles, did I over hydrate? I should have paid more attention to getting salts into my system as well. I hadnt taken gels with me on any LSR either so I never planned on using them in DCM, but now I was chewing jelly babies and jelly beans and a twix and a wine gum and whatever else I took from the great supporters around the course. These could just have been a distraction for me to do so that I could trudge on, did I really need them? I needed something alright but it probably was the last month of missed training I need the most.

So I finished in just under 4hrs 49mins thanks to the huge support of absolute strangers all around the course who cheered me on and urged me on, and also thanks to the huge club support which was all around (and on) the course on the day.

I've no regrets at what I did, if I'd backed out and not participated then the 'what ifs' would be killing me now. Next morning as I stood at the top of the stairs 'ready' to go out to work I said to myself 'no way, never again, whats the point' ..... yet by 10am I was on a tea break admitting to myself and others that 'yes I'd have to go back and try again'. Its pure mad.

A week later, and my body is back to itself, the knee thing hasnt gone away 'you know' ! To rule any impact trauma that might have caused this, I had it xrayed on Friday morn, and am awaiting the interpretation which could take 4 bloody weeks I'm told due to lack of radiologists. But in my own head, I know this is muscular, or tendons, or ligaments. Having studied the anatomy of the leg pics on the net, am thinking maybe I have a tight pulling sartorious muscle or maybe a ligament problem with the vastus medialus at the knee. So I'm stretching the quad now like a lunatic, and will go on like that for a bit, theres no hurry back running yet.

Thanks for reading :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Finglas Flier

Congratulations JMSE.
    Thats a terrific effort you've put in.
    And delighted to hear the insanity has stayed in the head and has you thinking of doing another one... :-)

Just wondering if you had given much thought to diet during the training?
    Worth bearing in mind for next time.....but really well done.....

Cheers FinglasFlier, I suppose I'm a meat and two veg kind of man, if I was eating on the road I'd be the type to ask for chicken curry with rice no chips. The rest of the day would be cereal and sambos. We'd have one take away at the weekend for sure and as for drink, I might go thru 5 drinks in a week and that'd be about it. Am mad for the Glenisk low fat strawberry organic yoghurt (Lidl version is exactly the same) and I like a few biscuits alright with a cuppa tea but even then its mainly just boring rich tea.

That kind of diet has been me now for a good few years, so did I do anything different in marathon training? I suppose I did find myself picking a bit in between meals at the goodies in the press and not feeling guilty about it coz 'sure I'm burning all that straight back off' rings inside your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Aha! Now I can keep a proper eye on you :D
    Get yourself to a physio Jim, you're going to have to overcome your aversion to people who have trained to become proficient in a certain area and actually have a better idea than you ;):D

Seriously, hope you recover soon. There's a great physio on boards who will sort you out. PM if you want details.

Looking forward to following this.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Aha! Now I can keep a proper eye on you :D
    Get yourself to a physio Jim, you're going to have to overcome your aversion to people who have trained to become proficient in a certain area and actually have a better idea than you ;):D

Seriously, hope you recover soon. There's a great physio on boards who will sort you out. PM if you want details.

Looking forward to following this.

Aversion!! I resemble that remark, very cruel words, sure I overcame my 'aversion' on marathon Monday haha!

cheers dubgal for everything, send on that pm if you please

/*edit... I have actually been to Physio over the knee dg, didn't help too much but willing to try again 😬

I still don't have any running done since DCM but thats ok. Last Friday got an xray just to rule out any damage I might have done to the kneecap at work, hopping up and down off machinery, banging knees every 2nd day (results not available for 4 weeks FFS but am only 5% worried about that being a thing). Nearly went out a for a jogeen a few nights ago as the knee was feeling good but did a bit of driving 7-8pm Wednesday and realised no it wasnt a good idea, still a bit of tension there above the kneecap so went for a half hour walk around Kilmainham/Inchicore ... grand but even happier that I hadnt run on it.

So thanks to my overseers :), I went from Dunboyne to Walkinstown yesterday and saw the well recommended physio Miles Splitz! The man took to his task with increasing optimism as he went through this and that and within no time had his decision made and knew what he wanted to go at. ITband and TFL and glutus oneofthemius. He gave it 110% of what I had hoped for and left for home full of enthusiasm that by Monday night I'll have done my local 5k route.

Anyway, tonight I had a go at a half hour doing home improvements: i.e. lunges squats bridges etc, the kids have me watching youtube vids of people doing squats to 'bring sally up bring sally down', and it went on from there

so me and the 2 teenagers did:
    2 x bring sally up squats https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CswK7e_Bep8
    1 x roxeanne press ups / squat https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-61NA43M6qk

then with the 3 year old :D:D
    1 x bring sally up lunges (cant find that one now)
    1 x bring sally up bridges

then out to the stairs with the 3 yr old for some of what Miles recommended but I dont know what they're called

Anyway, it wasnt running but a shower was needed after the first 3 minutes of it so its good stuff. Any of you reading who like me, are a bit out of touch with gyms and shtuff like that, check those vids out on youtube and have a go, its damn hard, but great fun at the same time if theres anyone about to have a go too with you - or not.

And my knee that kept me off the road a bit lately? No bother with all of that mullarkey goin on.

Heres my pbs:

5k: 20.44 at Tallaght 5k May '15
    4 mile: 28.56 Dunboyne 4 miler Mar '15
    5 mile: 34.10 Dunboyne BHAA May '15
    10 mile: 79 mins Trim Feb '15

oh and

26.2 miles: 4:49 DCM'15 :rolleyes: :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Nice to see things working out for you. November is recovery month
    So no better time to get on top of all the excerise, only don't stop
    Once all appears well, if your the same as me you will need to include
    As part of your weekly routine. Best of luck.

Cheers kenny, got out for my first since the marathon tonight, did a leisurely 5km around the estates, was real nice to be out and at it, knee behaved but the hip complained. IT band and TFL. Am not too far off getting back to normal just perfecting my hypochondria in the meantime

non-running day today, still in 'improving injury mode'
    spent 1hr 35mins in total today clenching my ass as I drove along (and here I am telling the world)
    didnt do anything exciting tonight, more home improvements:

squats to moby's bring sally up
    planks/pushups as above
    raising legs 2inches off ground count to 100
    sit ups
    bridges to moby's.... (no imagination I havent)
    more squats to moby (starting to hate that tune now)
    stair leg lifts?
    calf raises
    clams
    donkey kicks
    stretches (which now include TFL/ITB stretches, new to me)

One day it'll all make sense.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

JMSE

Watching this thread. Great work and enjoyed the videos. Hope to see you on the road once we recover!!!

Thanks Db, yep will have to link up with ye sometime, wud prefer to be able to run whatever it is though ... hmmm :D

More home improvements tonight, more or less the same as last night. Will try a run tomorrow again probably... be rude not to !

Weds night I did a 5k jog nice and easy, stopped and stretched halfway, stopped and yapped after another bit, in other words...... slow. Knee still givin what I read online to be classic IT band symptoms that come on slowly as you run, hip wasnt as bad. So thats vice versa to Sundays run. Lovely. Headwreck.

Anyway Thurs tonight I took down a program off runnersconnect.net (who wha?) for IT band and TFL woes, just exercises and stretches, some I'm already doing, a few new to me. Not gonna write all the goreys down every evening but if I commit to doin these at least 5 nights a week on boards, then hopefully I'll do them. 1st night done anyway.....

1. Lying hip stretch with rope, 3 times a day, 15 second hold, both sides needless to say
    2. Standing crossover stretch, 3 times a day, 15 second hold, both yadda yadda
    3. Lying hip abduction, 3 reps of 30
    4. Standing hip hike, 3 reps of 30
    5. Glute bridges 2 reps of 20
    6. Clamshells 3 x 30
    7. Wall isometric hold 2 reps of 15 holding for 5 secs each
    8. Calf raises 12-15 each side
    9. Lying leg raises 3 x 20

I started with the stair stuff first, didnt do those stretches till I'd warmed up a little bit. Takes a good hour, would like a 25 hour day if poss goin forward .....

After all that, then I open the fridge to see can I down a bit of protein into meself so I get the good from it all, and not a whole lot of options so I went for just a pint of milk, thats 16g of protein. What do others do when they finish doin a bit at a late hour???

JMSE wrote: »
    Weds night I did a 5k jog nice and easy, stopped and stretched halfway, stopped and yapped after another bit, in other words...... slow. Knee still givin what I read online to be classic IT band symptoms that come on slowly as you run, hip wasnt as bad. So thats vice versa to Sundays run. Lovely. Headwreck.

Anyway Thurs tonight I took down a program off runnersconnect.net (who wha?) for IT band and TFL woes, just exercises and stretches, some I'm already doing, a few new to me. Not gonna write all the goreys down every evening but if I commit to doin these at least 5 nights a week on boards, then hopefully I'll do them. 1st night done anyway.....

1. Lying hip stretch with rope, 3 times a day, 15 second hold, both sides needless to say
    2. Standing crossover stretch, 3 times a day, 15 second hold, both yadda yadda
    3. Lying hip abduction, 3 reps of 30
    4. Standing hip hike, 3 reps of 30
    5. Glute bridges 2 reps of 20
    6. Clamshells 3 x 30
    7. Wall isometric hold 2 reps of 15 holding for 5 secs each
    8. Calf raises 12-15 each side
    9. Lying leg raises 3 x 20

I started with the stair stuff first, didnt do those stretches till I'd warmed up a little bit. Takes a good hour, would like a 25 hour day if poss goin forward .....

After all that, then I open the fridge to see can I down a bit of protein into meself so I get the good from it all, and not a whole lot of options so I went for just a pint of milk, thats 16g of protein. What do others do when they finish doin a bit at a late hour???
    Well done your self, good to remind yourself what has been working, so if you
    Feel niggle in future, you know exactly what worked. It's the boring stuff that
    Keeps you on the road😀

Very quiet JMSE, hope running starting to get back on track.��

hehe am a little shy on the running side kenny alright, could have gone out over the weekend or tonight, its not that i'm lazy about it, I'm afraid to aggravate things thats all

that said, am doing an hour up on the landing each night doin 8 or 9 different exercises all aimed at glute hip quads and calf, if i go running then i wont have the time to do the exercises too so am veering towards the exercises as being of most benefit just at the minute

am lookin at nov/dec as being the ideal months for getting in better shape to prevent repeats of this particular injury, actually when i look back at last year i was on the same type of break for somethin totally different and the break did the trick.

hehe am a little shy on the running side kenny alright, could have gone out over the weekend or tonight, its not that i'm lazy about it, I'm afraid to aggravate things thats all

that said, am doing an hour up on the landing each night doin 8 or 9 different exercises all aimed at glute hip quads and calf, if i go running then i wont have the time to do the exercises too so am veering towards the exercises as being of most benefit just at the minute

am lookin at nov/dec as being the ideal months for getting in better shape to prevent repeats of this particular injury, actually when i look back at last year i was on the same type of break for somethin totally different and the break did the trick.

Good to hear, short slow run on grass may be ideal see how it all feels. But your
    Right to get niggles sorted, but don't think they ever go completely. You will
    Probably always have to incorporate excerise routine into week , hope to see you
    Back soon. Good luck with recovery 😀

Hows thing JMSE, back running yet. your log suggest not, hope all good

hey Kenny thanks for the enquiry, back at last :pac::pac::pac:

Been doing club nights all January and building the confidence back, IT band thing is now only a thing comes and goes in the background but not causing probs. In fact tonight at the track I gave it socks and didnt feel a bloody thing so happpy days ...... hence why I'm after logging in at last.

Got carried away on Saturday night and did 10 miles and so based on that I'm entered for the Trim 10miler on Sunday, so back to the punishment :)

Ur doin Cork marathon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

I'm entered for the Trim 10miler on Sunday, so back to the punishment :)

welcome back! see you there :) we'll have another big crowd out I'd imagine.

hey Kenny thanks for the enquiry, back at last :pac::pac::pac:

Been doing club nights all January and building the confidence back, IT band thing is now only a thing comes and goes in the background but not causing probs. In fact tonight at the track I gave it socks and didnt feel a bloody thing so happpy days ...... hence why I'm after logging in at last.

Got carried away on Saturday night and did 10 miles and so based on that I'm entered for the Trim 10miler on Sunday, so back to the punishment :)

Ur doin Cork marathon?

good to hear your back on track, yeah doing Cork this year. Take handy on Sunday if not putting in miles, best of Luck, I'm sure well hear all about on Monday:)

Firedance wrote: »
    welcome back! see you there :) we'll have another big crowd out I'd imagine.

Dont think it'll surpass the 30 or so that went to Raheny based on last year FD, could be wrong. I got my technical socks in the post, nothing can get in my way now :)

Ran the Trim 10 mile today, already had the number in the post so didnt leave house till 11, no rush to hang around in the cold, but enough time to warm up. I still havent bought a watch yet so was doin a luke skywalker feelin the force as normal, but when we hit the Dunderry road I noticed the 8 min pacer was edging past and I'd started ahead of him hoping to run sub 8s.

That didnt last too long though and I found a pace I was happy with while at the same time reeling in people. The normal headwrecks were going thru my cranium as early as two miles in or even before .... the 'oh **** can I keep this up for 8 more miles' thoughts. Also I find as I pass someone, I get that little bit of pressure in that I'm thinkin 'feck now I have to maintain whatever I've just done or they're goin to find me out and they'll reckon I've paced it wrong' :D No doubt these are the race conditions that bring you home in faster times than you expect.

Around mile 4 I picked out four lads and a lass who were slowly leaving me and I went for them, I wanted to have a group in front of me if the wind was goin to be too much. But as soon as I got up to them the group gradually became just two, and by the turn back for home I was with these two for the long haul. Long haul story short, I ended up playing swops with one of them while the other lad left us both with his real steady pace.

Mile 7 ish and tired, noticing I was lagging and thinking I could hear a lot of traffic behind me I somehow from somewhere got a shot of energy from a few mins past the 2nd water station - was it the mouthful of water I took on or what I dont know but now I'm feelin like its Tuesday night at F4Life and I'm running my 10k pace for the next 2 miles gaining ground and passing a few who took a bit of reeling in to get to. Mile 9 and those hills and I'm losing my mojo a bit but still hangin on just below the pace I'd found. Then John O'Malley from the club passes me and I tell myself he's here to help so I tuck in behind him and he drags me at a much quicker pace up to near the gates of the finishing straight. No way I could stick with him but with the finishing line in - wait where the feck is that finishing line - had forgotten from last year how far in it is, but with the finishing line in the sight of a long distance sniper's sight, I let a big 30 second fart and propelled myself over the line two inches above ground.

Got home in 1:14:39 and thats 4 mins better than last years Trim 10miler. Theres been a lot of running done in the last year what with marathon training but no long distance stuff since then. Damn happy to get a payback now given that the marathon went pearshaped from ITB **** that happened at end of September so tonight, tá áthas an domhain orm :D:D:D

ha! what the hec is the story with the finish line!!! they could surely start a bit further back so its not so dam far :D

well done on your run J :) lovely to finally meet you clubmate :p

ha! what the hec is the story with the finish line!!! they could surely start a bit further back so its not so dam far :D

well done on your run J :) lovely to finally meet you clubmate :p

Thanks firedance, theres a thought, maybe one of us shud put that up on the event thread for paulomn. Ah I suppose its just a thing, Dunshaughlin 10k is a fairly long run in too. With only 9.5 miles done, you still have to run another half mile or you arent gettin your time :pac:

Well done on pb, sounds like you put really good race together, keep up
    Good work .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

JMSE and FD are clubmates?! Aha, you can keep an eye on him for me FD ;):D Well done today JMSE, hope things keep on the straight and narrow for you this year!

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    JMSE and FD are clubmates?! Aha, you can keep an eye on him for me FD ;):D Well done today JMSE, hope things keep on the straight and narrow for you this year!

twas those pesky marathons got me straying into the forest Dubgal! The worrying thing is, I've not had a frontal lobotomy yet and theres this summer yet to come, and another shot at ... DCM. But I'm a year wiser :);)

Cheers

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Well done on pb, sounds like you put really good race together, keep up
    Good work .

Thanks Kenny, no sign of the old injury today at all. Confidence is as now as good as its ever been to get on with things. Bohermeen half perhaps March 15th...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

Wow, what a race! Brilliant! See you at the SEVEN pm training session tomorrow JMSE???

Mulberry wrote: »
    Wow, what a race! Brilliant! See you at the SEVEN pm training session tomorrow JMSE???

Yeah gonna do it mulberry.... ok to sit and watch and get the feel of it, and eat biscuits?

:D:D:D do it

currently at moate on way to loughrea to tip a load, 7 aint a runner this time, I'll be back for 8 hopefully, verbals will not be tolerated 😛

OK We'll let you off this time - Thursday it is :cool:

Tuesday night did F4L for the last time. Am defo a slow builder. Still a bit sore after Sundays 10mile race, so started off easy thinking nah, not tonight, I'm in recovery ....... and then by the end am goin as hard as I can. Stats - havent a clue.

Thursday, tonight I joined up with the seniors for the first time. Felt at home straight away. Big step up in the general pace, and not used to being lapped for fun :D .

Did 2 mile at 7 min pace, 3 mins recovery,
    1 mile at 6.30 pace, 3 mins recovery,
    1 mile again at 6.30, 3 mins rec,
    2 x 800 mtrs at 3.15, with 1 min rec.

wohoo! good for you JMSE! have you signed the transfer papers :D

Firedance I had my agent see to that (free transfer :D - charity case in fact). Alls left now is the tax clearance cert :)

Tuesday night did F4L for the last time. Am defo a slow builder. Still a bit sore after Sundays 10mile race, so started off easy thinking nah, not tonight, I'm in recovery ....... and then by the end am goin as hard as I can. Stats - havent a clue.

Thursday, tonight I joined up with the seniors for the first time. Felt at home straight away. Big step up in the general pace, and not used to being lapped for fun :D .

Did 2 mile at 7 min pace, 3 mins recovery,
    1 mile at 6.30 pace, 3 mins recovery,
    1 mile again at 6.30, 3 mins rec,
    2 x 800 mtrs at 3.15, with 1 min rec.

Brilliant paces there JMSE, they won't be lapping you for long!

Head cold and creak in neck came close to stopping me but there's gold In them there miles, so I did 6 miles over 55mins and feel the better for it all round. I know for sure I'd be on a downer now if I'd done nuffink 😎

Tuesday night at the track 3 x 15 at roughly 7.5 mins pace

How's the head cold, another good session by looks, things seem to be heading in right direction now.

Cleared up Kenny t.g. Had a dose like you seem to have there in the runup to Christmas but had to get an antibiotic in the end to kick the cough.

Its all goin in the right direction alright, am wearin a knee strap that wraps around the bottom of the thigh and the top of the calf and stays loose around the knee itself, I have myself convince that it works. If anything it keeps the heat in only :rolleyes: . I think I should give the physio a visit soon to just keep tension out of the IT band, coz the mileage is going up.

Am entered for the Meath Spring Half Marathon in on 13th March so it'd be great to register my first time for a HM.

Good stuff, all them club sessions will defiantly help, got antibiotic scpipt from doc
    Myself, but haven't taken them yet, trying time first, am prone to chest infection so try not to take antibiotics much.

Weds 17 Feb, went and did my first ever hour session in a gym

Thurs 18th, club training 5 x 1k at just under 4 mins or on 4mins each, 2 min rec

Friday, diddly

Sat 20th, 10 miles at paces in and around the 8.20 mark per mile.

Wasnt feeling the love before I went out tonight, didnt know what I'd end up doing but that normally in the past has meant 'theres time to spare, its not gonna be a 5k'

Wore the super duper CEP compression socks I bought at the expo last year, 2nd time wearing them, wont be wearing again. They do nothin for me, kind of make my calves feel hot and bothered and uncomfortable.

update: out of action again, out of nowhere I have an infection in my left leg up at the left front. WTF. After 10 days of what I thought was a worsening muscle strain I'm now on a 7 day course of antibiotics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

That's a bummer really sorry to hear that after you had just come back training too. Hang in there. No ballycotton Sunday then you were doing it weren't you ?