Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

your aims for 2015

• 21-12-2014 2:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭

:) any plans/goals for next year? Hope to reseed more and get as much from grass as I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Stay in business, the way things are looking..
    Cash flow planner and budgeting are the key points for this year

Would nt mind pushing through the 1m l mark, but mightn't happen with super levy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Not loose any money. Had loads of plabd of yard projects and reseeding and roadways but they could be on hold for a while.
    Just improve on this yrs performance woukd be brillant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Hoping to reclaim and reseed 10 acres on an out farm. It's not wet ground but has a good few boulders/bushes/briars and the remains of an old wall running through it. Hoping there is white sand under a hill in it too to make a roadway through it, if not that plan will be scuppered for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭stanflt

increase output by 60% on this year- 45% more milkers
    not chasing milk like 2013 when it was financially viable but slightly more buffer feeding in april and may ie 2kg dm of energy and fibre which is critictle during breeding season

have 60% of the herd calving march/april which 75% of these must become feb /early march calvers next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Reseed reseed reseed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hope to build a few sheds so I can double my cattle numbers if I wish in the near future.

Try and see if I can source a few extra acres to rent

Not loose any money. Had loads of plabd of yard projects and reseeding and roadways but they could be on hold for a while.
    Just improve on this yrs performance woukd be brillant

One thing we did do is get a lot more bills under control. 95% cleared hopefully next Christmas we will owe no Monet from 2015 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,288 ✭✭✭orm0nd

plan to take it easy and let the ebb flow,

have done major yard development in 2014, along with land reclamation in 13

was never before carrying as many livestock

if the the ar$e falls out of milk price in 15 , we'll intensify more in cattle and sheep

plan to use less fertilizer and purchased feed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Badly need new shed to give weanlings more space/shelter, they can come and go into an old one, but its life expectancy is getting short.
    Also have man booked to come in new year to improve/replace pen and crush on an outfarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Finish off new shed. Put in a new handling unit. Reseed another little bit. Split a big field with a roadway and fences and increase cows by ten more. And keep Charliebulls Young lads and the likes away from my wee one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Figure out why the f##k I'm farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,511 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Keep expenses down particularly contractors, by doing a lot more tractor work myself - slurry spreading etc. I used to do it years ago but got lazy and a bit complacent during the good times.
    Hope to expand a new off farm enterprise that OH and I started a few months ago which so far has been financially successful all be it, in a small way. We are in the process of registering the business and all that goes with it. I am looking forward to 2015 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

I think im going tofull fill one of my life time ambitions, I let you later in the year when I have completed it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

- Put out more lime.
    - Run high tensile fence around some of the perimeter.
    - Get around to draining those 2 fields.
    - Maybe expand numbers a little, but that depends on something out of my control at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

All ready cut suckler numbers to reduce losses and free up grass to finish all weanlings
    Reseed more this year
    AI all cows again this year .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

grass > cow > cheese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Go at angus only and ditch whiteheads.

Get a spreadsheet going on dates for age, booking in etc cause it pretty complicated and easy miss a bonus.

Get lime out early. Did wonders last yr.

get the farm to work for me rather than other way round. In other words, cut out the needless hours i spend farming and spend that time with the kids. Will ultimately improve my earnings per hr also...

Lastly and prob wishful thinking, stick a bid on bit of land gone up very nearby and hope for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

kowtow wrote: »
    grass > cow > cheese
    That's an easy one-

Egg-chicken-egg-chicken

Which one came first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Stay safe and alive
    Be as tax efficient as possible
    Go to bed earlier and get up earlier
    Not loose the head when the sh*t hits the fan
    Realise Rome wasn't built in a day
    See what l have and not what l haven't
    keep a sense of humour
    Ignore the begrudgers

Oh and also achieve 3 major life goals

Muckit wrote: »
    Stay safe and alive
    keep a sense of humour
    Ignore the begrudgers

Be some year if you manage 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Hope to get around to some of the things I planned from 2008 onwards :)

Reggie. wrote: »
    Be some year if you manage 3

You're right 2015 will be a big year for me. I've been lining up the ducks the last few years. All l need to do is 'Keep the faith' and not die of stress!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 mick.mcginley

My plan is to set some potatoes and veg and sale at country market. Land been idle at moment. 28 acers 16 of hill and 12 of workable land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Kill more cattle/bigger turnover, hopefully will equate to more money and not just bigger bills
    Rent more land
    Grow more grass
    Keep costs down within reason
    Pay off for any machinery bought this and last yr
    Stay healthy
    Get a pig herd no.- only a hobby type thing
    Meet new people and generally enjoy myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Cran

First baby due in Jan, if that goes well will do for the entire year.

Farming
    Reseed 20/30 acres and try Tyfon finally for finishing lambs in 10 acres reseed
    Fencing, get back at it after 2 years where its been put on the back burner. 2km by the spring is the aim
    Ram sales, get two returning customers and 2 new customers from recommendations from previous customers.
    Make a significant step towards the dream of average 400 grms daily weight gain from the lambs.

Other than that replace my current small old fast car with a safer faster small car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Stay safe and alive
    keep a sense of humour
    Ignore the begrudgers

Keeping your cool will be the most beneficial of all these after staying safe and alive of course.
    I'm working hard at this myself at the moment.
    I have come to the realisation that every time you go out to work on a farm sh1t is going to happen that you don't want to happen.

Sh1t needs to be embraced. It needs to be expected you need to be happy dealing with sh1t. For that's what a farmer is a man who deals with sh1t. And every day new and more challenging sh1t comes along and it just has to be dealt with. And if some sh1t don't get done the world won't stop.
    But the alternative of reacting like a crazed demented bull to every problem big or small as if such things are unexpected or only happen to you or god is having a laugh, will lead you swiftly into that wooden casket and that hole in the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

1)We managed to increase output of kgsMS by 25% this year, hopefully at least the same again next year with a few more cows, more mature herd and better feeding/FTY.

2)Keep simplifying the workload here, bigger and fewer groups of animals, learn from changes this year to simplify things and improve on them if possible.

3) Keep spending under control, with use of the the cost control planner, use the PM to examine all aspects of the business here. Divert a few more hours towards off farm work, to reduce my dependence on the farm for a wage.

Basically what I'm coming to is after a few years spent running around like a blue arsed fly getting the farm back on its feet next year more of a consolidation year were I can hopefully avoid getting bogged down in day to day plugging holes in the business and instead concentrate more so on driving it forward, mostly in terms of efficency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Get the Christmas shopping doen in early December......Panic setting in now.:(

Still have a bit to do myself yet :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ah lads relax, it ain't Xmas eve yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

have all the stuff, just need to sort it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Probably looking at this the wrong way round as it may be a chicken and egg scenario, but would love to get a bit of an interest in this farming lark. If I did then hopefully the things many of us crave -improved health ( mental and physical), improved output/income/lifestyle would follow naturally.
    But I feel it a bit like when was a kid writing to santy -asking for things that deep down I know I probably won't get.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Ah lads relax, it ain't Xmas eve yet!

Think I'm ok now. If my plan works out

20silkcut wrote: »
    Keeping your cool will be the most beneficial of all these ...Sh1t needs to be embraced.....

Fair play. Belter of a post. Especially had a laugh at the 'embracing sh1t' :D you are dead right. It's gonna happen one way or another!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Charliebull

i intend to take it easy this year and enjoy the kids, they is growing up way to fast and ive come to the conclusion that this running around like a blue arsed fly trying to do everything at once is a waste of time

one job at a time when you have time and "embrace the sh!te"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

After years of chasing quotas, land and cows we're sitting back this year.

Modest increase in cows all capx done. Had planned to start another unit this year but in all honesty we're not ready. Will start in feb 2016.

We could but labour not in place and to be honest I wouldn't mind stopping the thread mill for 12 mths

So my goal is to accept this and be set up for 2016

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I'm embracing (as silkcut says) the TB sh1te at the moment, so have to get over that hump first but looks like I'll be taking everything to beef in 2015 anyway.;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Try and make time for a bit of downtime. Cut down on a bit of stock and cut down on the expenses before I end up in a early grave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

1) spend less time in de scratcher
    2) finishing off a few of the jobs that have been waiting for a few dry days
    3) fencing a few fields that need doin to improve grazing
    4) rear a few calves testing out contract rearing or something
    5)glas and safety grant schemes too

A big change for me to work on will be how I work with the old lad, for the past few years I've been working with him to improve things now I've to start doing them things myself leaving him the day to day running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

I absolutely MUST find the time for a proper summer holiday....my health is suffering.
    No holidays for three years. :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Probably looking at this the wrong way round as it may be a chicken and egg scenario, but would love to get a bit of an interest in this farming lark. If I did then hopefully the things many of us crave -improved health ( mental and physical), improved output/income/lifestyle would follow naturally.
    But I feel it a bit like when was a kid writing to santy -asking for things that deep down I know I probably won't get.
    what do you need to do the make things change? Try to put a plan in place by a certain date to make a difference, no point looking back saying I could have done things differently, we cant change the past- unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Dawggone wrote: »
    I absolutely MUST find the time for a proper summer holiday....my health is suffering.
    No holidays for three years. :(.

Shame on u, life's too short to be skipping holidays. We'll have to do a house swap, how does two wks in west cork looking out over the Atlantic grab u!

Dawg will swap when his busiest time if calving is :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

Try and get a day job near the farm.
    Put in more cover areas.
    Get into GLAS Scheme.
    Get somebody to do work on farm (mowing/grazing/spraying etc) who will not **** me over.
    Pray I don't get more storm damage like last winter.

Jeez, that sounds good right now, real good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

The best thing of all is have a 'date night' once a week to just do something completely for themselves or partner i guess wth kids it's difficult but can change it around to pick one day to just have fun and switch off from the world. If you miss one week the budget gets doubled then x4 second week. There's a term that gets put about over here of 'The farming widow' married but never see each otherCan be farming widower also just for fairness!
    Personlly, life seemed to be settling to some sort of routine when suddenly somebody decided to arrive in a few months, hopefully! :D

Farming, pretty much can't complain being honest of 2014, was 95% of the way we wanted so if 2015 can go as smoothly with the of course better prices!

Blackgrass wrote: »
    The best thing of all is have a 'date night' once a week to just do something completely for themselves or partner i guess wth kids it's difficult but can change it around to pick one day to just have fun and switch off from the world. If you miss one week the budget gets doubled then x4 second week. There's a term that gets put about over here of 'The farming widow' married but never see each otherCan be farming widower also just for fairness!
    Personlly, life seemed to be settling to some sort of routine when suddenly somebody decided to arrive in a few months, hopefully! :D

Farming, pretty much can't complain being honest of 2014, was 95% of the way we wanted so if 2015 can go as smoothly with the of course better prices!

Congratulations Blackgrass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I used to have a date night once a week, was a great thing. Put a real spring in my step.

Until the OH found out about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

ganmo wrote: »
    1) spend less time in de scratcher
    2) finishing off a few of the jobs that have been waiting for a few dry days
    3) fencing a few fields that need doin to improve grazing
    4) rear a few calves testing out contract rearing or something
    5)glas and safety grant schemes too

A big change for me to work on will be how I work with the old lad, for the past few years I've been working with him to improve things now I've to start doing them things myself leaving him the day to day running

the year could of been worse, fencing still needing to be done.
    the year took a twist with the young farmer scheme so now i'm in partnership with the ould lad, if we don't kill each other its a success

Stay safe and alive
    keep a sense of humour
    Ignore the begrudgers

Having a baileys coffee now to celebrate!!