Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Irish accents in TV/Movies

• 16-12-2014 4:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭

I was watching the third season of Sons of Anarchy last night and some of the attempts at an Irish accent are awful. Got me thinking about some other bad ones - Kevin Spacey in Ordinary Decent Criminal, Julia Roberts in Michael Collins and the worst of all was when I heard Gerard Butler in PS I Love You.

How hard is it not to sound like a leprechaun? Anyone else have some bad ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Colin Farrell in anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

• Registered Users Posts: 11,111 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman in Far and Away :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

Tommy Lee Jones and Richard Gere instantly spring to mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Sean Bean in the Patriot Games, actually any actor in that film trying to do an Irish accent was atrocious.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Some old guy in Shallow Hal

• Registered Users Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭maximoose

Brad Pitt in that crap IRA movie.

That TV show with Jorah from Game of Thrones in it - Jack Taylor. His accent is brutal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

PS I love you with Gerard Butler.

Oh my god that was shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Alan Partridge

'Deres more to Oireland dan dis'

• Registered Users Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭rob316

• Registered Users Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Liam Nesson as Michael Collins....woeful attempt of a Cork accent

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Jared Leto in Last of the High Kings. I cringed anytime he spoke in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Just to mention a good one Kate Blanchett in Veronica Guerin was excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,395 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Liam Nesson as Michael Collins....woeful attempt of a Cork accent

On a similar note, the lads in Cool Running's.

Shocking attempt at a Cork accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

Anyone mention John Boy in Love Hate? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Mickey Rourke in Prayer For The Dying.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭pajor

Pierce Brosnan in Evelyn.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,497 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

maximoose wrote: »
    Brad Pitt in that crap IRA movie.

That TV show with Jorah from Game of Thrones in it - Jack Taylor. His accent is brutal.

Brad redeemed himself bigtime with his note perfect traveller accent in Snatch!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Brad Pitt should at least get a pass for the brilliant accent in Snatch!

De ye like dags?

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Julia Roberts in Michael Collins. Awful.

Also Kelly MacDonald as Margaret Schroeder in Boardwalk Empire, which is strange because her Dublin/Irish accent in Intermission as Deirdre was excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭Motivator

Caddyshack.

Maggie.

That is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

rob316 wrote: »
    I was watching the third season of Sons of Anarchy last night and some of the attempts at an Irish accent are awful. Got me thinking about some other bad ones - Kevin Spacey in Ordinary Decent Criminal, Julia Roberts in Michael Collins and the worst of all was when I heard Gerard Butler in PS I Love You.

How hard is it not to sound like a leprechaun? Anyone else have some bad ones?

that series and the accents nearly turned me off SOA for good but was glad I gave it another chance. Watch out for Keith the ex-mechanic from Carraigstown making an appearance in s5 (I think)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The Boondock Saints was pretty bad as well - though to be fair it more played on the ridiculous stereotype, I can't think of any excuse for that dreadful clip from Sons of Anarchy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

The Knick with Clive Owen. The Irish accents are woeful, I'd be tempted to stop watching if the rest of the show wasn't so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Arturo Bandini

that series and the accents nearly turned me off SOA for good but was glad I gave it another chance. Watch out for Keith the ex-mechanic from Carraigstown making an appearance in s5 (I think)!

His northern accent is terrible in the most recent season.

Dano from Love/Hate is in it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

A masterclass here..........

Load a bollox

• Registered Users Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭dmc17

Richard Gere - The Jackal

• Registered Users Posts: 21,436 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I've just been watching Penny Dreadful and Billy Piper's Belfast accent is truly appalling.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

pajor wrote: »
    Pierce Brosnan in Evelyn.

Pierce Brosnan in real life more like. He should just adopt an American or British accent as his default, like Christian Bale!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Nokotan wrote: »
    Also Kelly MacDonald as Margaret Schroeder in Boardwalk Empire, which is strange because her Dublin/Irish accent in Intermission as Deirdre was excellent.

That one I'd say was how she was asked to do it so the Americans would know she was Irish. The Irish accent would have been different back then though so I suppose that's the excuse.

My vote goes to Kevin Spacey in Ordinary Decent Criminal.