Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oldest model on sale?

• 13-12-2014 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭

Now that the Aygo/C1/107 is gone, what's the oldest car on sale now?
    I reckon its the Zafira or the Punto?

(Please note, not the oldest badge, like the golf from the 70s etc, the model that's been out the longest, I mean the longest running current model)

Is the freelander 2 still being sold? discovery is getting on a bit too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Current Discovery is still (just about) on sale since 2005 I think. The badge was changed from Discovery 3 to 4 but it was really just a facelift.

I suppose the Defender actually is but both of these are 4x4's unless you want it limited to cars only?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Suzuki SX4 (not the s cross) is out since 06, same with the Grand Vitara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Mitsubishi's current l200 is out since 2005. Ford's galaxy is out since 2006. VW's transporter is out since 2004, albeit in facelifted form since 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Are you considering facelift adjustments? The original BMW Mini is around since 02 and it still essentially the same with just a few changes to bumpers and lights or is there more to it than that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Still any mark 1 XC90s in Volvo dealerships?

They're properly ancient.

Are you considering facelift adjustments? The original BMW Mini is around since 02 and it still essentially the same with just a few changes to bumpers and lights or is there more to it than that?

Is the current mini not "all new"?

I know its similar, but is it not a new car from the ground up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Bmw x5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭BdaraB

The Mitsubishi Pajero has been around since 1999

Bmw x5?

Kind of a Reskin with new engines and interiors last year, but yeah basically the same as it was!

Could say the same about the 3 series I spose?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Is the current mini not "all new"?

I know its similar, but is it not a new car from the ground up?

the 2014 "update" is a bit more out there. i don't know the real answer but with the 3 door model the doors, rear quarter panels and roof line still look the same. but i guess that's what gives the car its personality so it may not have gotten a heavy overhaul.

continue :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Kind of a Reskin with new engines and interiors last year, but yeah basically the same as it was!

Yeah i suppose you could!

true, the current Punto is out 8 years, and the current Corsa 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

true, the current Punto is out 8 years, and the current Corsa 7 years.

There's a new corsa out, afaik.

The G Wagen is out a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Its actually an entire different car the r56 shares no parts with the r50, every panel is different as the r56 was built by just BMW where the r50 started out with a rover/bmw mix.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

The F30's an all new 3 series.

Hilux is out since 05, had a facelift, but still the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,119 ✭✭✭micks_address

Hilux is out since 05, had a facelift, but still the same.

Honda Accord?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

the 2014 "update" is a bit more out there. i don't know the real answer but with the 3 door model the doors, rear quarter panels and roof line still look the same. but i guess that's what gives the car its personality so it may not have gotten a heavy overhaul.

continue :P
    The incoming one is a very bland interpretation imo.
    The 07 update (R56) was all new or practically all new but was pretty similar to the first gen R50 in fairness, close enough to pass as a facelift on casual inspection.

Honda Accord?

They're still selling them! Thought they'd pulled the Accord last year

Its essentially the same as the 04 model, but its a thorough reskin rather than a facelift. For example the estate is completely different .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

Now that the Aygo/C1/107 is gone, what's the oldest car on sale now?
    I reckon its the Zafira or the Punto?

(Please note, not the oldest badge, like the golf from the 70s etc, the model that's been out the longest, I mean the longest running current model)

Is the freelander 2 still being sold? discovery is getting on a bit too.

The Zafira had a complete makeover in 2011 (tourer C)

There's a new model Zafira Tourer but they're still building the old zafira.

There's a 141 reg in the left of this pic
    Ixjk8B.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

They're still selling them! Thought they'd pulled the Accord last year

Passed Honda in Kilkenny the other day and they had one outside for 46k:eek:

Jaysus. They start at €32k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Merrion

It depends how niche manufacturer you'd consider - but probably the Caterhan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Porsche 911? :pac:

DB9 has been around since 2004.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    There's a new corsa out, afaik.

Which is just a heavy facelift of the current one on sale since 2007.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

The incoming one is a very bland interpretation imo.
    The 07 update (R56) was all new or practically all new but was pretty similar to the first gen R50 in fairness, close enough to pass as a facelift on casual inspection.

The new F56 is all new too, new common BMW chassis and engines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Jaysus. They start at €32k

Ah kilkenny dealers like to throw an extra few thousand onto the price of all their cars. There are very few dealers that are good to deal with in kilkenny.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Ah kilkenny dealers like to throw an extra few thousand onto the price of all their cars. There are very few dealers that are good to deal with in kilkenny.

Shtop, must show you a lancer I went to see in a certain main dealers in Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

The Mercedes Vario van/bus has been on sale since 1988, maybe even before it, and only has received a very minor facelift since then..... both interior and exterior.

Mitsubishi Outlander, more facelifts than Cher but still essentially the same yoke since about 2007. Even Peugeot and Citroen killed off their versions a few years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Nissan navara is basically unchanged since it came out in 2006 and is still on sale here.

The Mercedes Vario van/bus has been on sale since 1988, maybe even before it, and only has received a very minor facelift since then..... both interior and exterior.

They stopped making them last year. They (the vario was basically a revised t2)!came out in 1967

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

The V70 has to take the prize. By any standard it has been the same car since 99! I was shocked to see a 142 in front of me the other day. Still look a fine car though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭PurvesGrundy

The V70 has to take the prize. By any standard it has been the same car since 99! I was shocked to see a 142 in front of me the other day. Still look a fine car though!

V70 Mk1 came in '97 (revised 850); V70 Mk2 came in 2000 and the current Ford based model was launched in 2007. To be honest, I wish it was the same car as the 1999 model! That was a much better quality and overall more solid car. It's amazing how you can possibly think it has been the same car all that time.

The current S80 saloon was launched in late 2006, so is one of the oldest cars on sale aside from the likes of a Defender. It's badly in need of a replacement and one will probably come in the next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Its not the same car at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Isn't the current A3 a facelift of the one available since 2003?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Jaysus this thread is making me feel old,mentioning some of these cars as 8 years old makes me feel as if they entered the market last year.

The new punto is 6 years old? that was a very quick 6 years.

Nobody mentioned the VW Touran, which has fundamentally been the same car since 2003!

The Tiguan is also getting on in years, having arrived in 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,380 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Nobody mentioned the VW Touran, which has fundamentally been the same car since 2003!

The Tiguan is also getting on in years, having arrived in 2008.

I guess it's just so easy to overlook ;)

Sobanek wrote: »
    Isn't the current A3 a facelift of the one available since 2003?

Nope, the current one is based on the Mk7 Golf and was launched early last year. But the previous A3 (second generation) was on sale for 10 years with two facelifts, one in 2005 and then again in 2009.

mickdw wrote: »
    Its not the same car at all

I meant from a looks perspective rather than the actual mechanicals of it. It is very identifiable with it's previous gens.

....and that makes it the oldest model on sale how?

I think you can see where I'm coming from. The Discovery 3/4 was already mentioned when in reality they're a completely different jeep inside and out and mechanically.

I must say, I can't. The Disco 3 and 4 are pretty much the same vehicle with the same T5 ladderframe chassis. The 3.0 litre 'Lion' V6 diesel is also an evolution of the 2.7 litre unit that was in the Disco 3. The only difference is the interior is a little more luxurious and an updated exterior with more colour coding.

It's nothing at all like the generations of V70, which were three distinctly different cars from the ground up. It's a bit like saying the A6 Avant has been the same car since the C5 model of the late 90's.

Jaysus this thread is making me feel old,mentioning some of these cars as 8 years old makes me feel as if they entered the market last year.

The new punto is 6 years old? that was a very quick 6 years.

Try 9 years :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Is the Citroen xsara Picasso still on the go ?. I know they were still making them not long ago , ancient -

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Is the Citroen xsara Picasso still on the go ?. I know they were still making them not long ago , ancient -

Last few (6) were regged by March 2011.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Smart car?