Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SUV Driver ploughs pedestrian on Dublin footpath ***read mod warning post #1***

• 11-12-2014 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭

MODERATOR WARNING: This is a Commuting and Transport thread, if you are going to post you must read the Commuting and Transport charter first.

For example: You're not allowed to accuse people of trolling and you're not allowed to call people names or abuse people regards of if they are posters are not.

Original opening post follows:

Regardless of what your opinion is on the current Irish Water protests what happened yesterday on Tara Street bridge was truly disgusting behaviour. A SUV driver drove up on the footpath and knocked one pedestrian over and another rode on top of his bonnet. People are in hospital right now because of this idiot.

Sadly the above is representative of some of the drivers you find on Irish roads today. This breed of driver thinks that they have the right to go whereever they want however fast they want and fcuk everyone else. If that's what this driver would do to pedestrians how would he treat cyclists or motorcyclists who might peeve him off ? Reverse over them to make sure the job is finished ?

I hope the full weight of the law comes down on this idiot, he needs to be slapped with charges for a hit and run and then attempted manslaughter on top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

It won't be very hard to track down the driver. Loads of cameras both from protestors phones and CCTV.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Very lucky for the driver he/she wasn't stopped and lynched. It may have seemed like a reasonable idea, but clearly wasn't.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

wow.. stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

I don't condone what they did at all but when people are jumping in front of and on top of your car, I can understand why they didn't stop for fear of being beaten senseless by the mob.

A bit of cop on from all involved wouldn't have done any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

absolutely disgusting, no deffence or excuse for this. hopefully every possible charge is thrown at this dreg and they are locked up for years

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Maybe some facts need to be posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Sadly the above is representative of some of the drivers you find on Irish roads today.

Hyperbole called...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

AngryLips wrote: »
    Hyperbole called...

Judging by the amount of people on youtube, the journal and here on boards who think what the driver did was acceptable simply because the people were causing them some inconvenience I wouldn't call it hyperbole at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Gatling wrote: »
    Maybe some facts need to be posted

16 second clip.....might not be representative of ALL the facts perhaps...?

Of some note also is the absence of ANY Garda presence at this strategic junction.

Unless the SUV driver can mount a defence of being put in fear for their own safety,Id suggest they're looking at a stretch. :(

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Judging by the amount of people on youtube, the journal and here on boards who think what the driver did was acceptable simply because the people were causing them some inconvenience I wouldn't call it hyperbole at all.

The use of the word "inconvienence" as a nice neutral description for whatever was going through that drivers head at the time may be justified,or it may not be....

It could also be Fear.

We now have a developing culture of "Carjacking" regularly reported from around the country,so who's to say all that roarin,shouting and flagwavin did'nt have a bearing on the drivers thought process ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

Given that O'Connell Bridge and other roads were blocked in the aftermath of previous protest marches, why did it take AGS so long to react to the blockages this time?

I supported the right of the marchers to protest but I certainly do not endorse blockades that were not part of the original protest. Of course the driver should face charges but the Gardaí should have prevented these blockades in the first instance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

2 identic threads by the same poster, me thinks op wasnt getting the answers he wanted elsewhere

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The use of the word "inconvienence" as a nice neutral description for whatever was going through that drivers head at the time may be justified,or it may not be....

It could also be Fear.

We now have a developing culture of "Carjacking" regularly reported from around the country,so who's to say all that roarin,shouting and flagwavin did'nt have a bearing on the drivers thought process ?

Don't know the full story but the video shows a jeep driving down the footpath past traffic that was stopped. Then when protesters tried to stop it they floored it through them. Carjacking, threats to their person don't seem realistic possibilities. Looks like a driver who wasn't gonan be stopped in traffic by protesters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Were the people knocked over 'pedestrians' or protestors blocking traffic? Just like to know if the person driving was the only stupid person involved.

Theye were on the footpath anyway where the jeep shouldn't have been. But I suppose they were protesters blocking traffic rather thanot pedestrians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Banjoxed wrote: »
    The Gardaí should have prevented these blockades in the first instance.

That would be the same gardaí who blockades most of the streets around our parliament and stopped parliamentarians getting to work there?

They were pedestrians on a footpath when they were hit anyway whatever about before.

Well if you block the road then don't be surprised if things like this happen, is what I say.

Blocking traffic is a slight bit different to mounting a footpath and driving over people though. One is inconvenient the other dangerous and possible fatal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

But i wouldnt drive up on the pavement and run them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭zagmund

I know this is probably an AH sort of comment, but I think that people are coming to realise that the Gardai have lost *a lot* of authority in recent times from inaction in cases like these "blockades". In many other countries there would be lads down there arresting folks instead of standing watching them bringing the traffic to a halt. It was pitiful to see the pictures yesterday evening of a single bloke sitting in the middle of O'Connell Bridge with not a worry on him, while the rest of the city ground to a halt.

The main protest seemed to be relatively well organised & policed other than funnelling all the cars off Stephens Green onto Merrion Row and Baggot Street . . . you know, the route most people were walking along to get to the protest on Merrion Square. However, the blockades in various locations weren't official. I would expect any chimp who blocks any city street on any day to be moved on, so why were these guys allowed just set up camp like that? What do you think would happen if I decided to sit down in the middle of College Green of an afternoon? If the Gardai were afraid/unwilling to move me, I think I might just keep on doing it. But if they are afraid/unwilling then who is supposed to do this stuff?

z

Blocking traffic is a slight bit different to mounting a footpath and driving over people though. One is inconvenient the other dangerous and possible fatal.

No they're both dangerous and possibly fatal. People trying to get to hospital are delayed.

Don't know the full story but the video shows a jeep driving down the footpath past traffic that was stopped. Then when protesters tried to stop it they floored it through them. Carjacking, threats to their person don't seem realistic possibilities. Looks like a driver who wasn't gonan be stopped in traffic by protesters.

I don't know the full-story either,but my perception is less clear than yours...I DO see both fear of Carjacking and/or Assault as realistic and viable defences here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Regardless of what your opinion is on the current Irish Water protests what happened yesterday on Tara Street bridge was truly disgusting behaviour.

I agree. A lynch-mob of knackers surrounding and intimidating a driver just trying to make their way home, forcing them to mount the path in order to escape without personal injury, is indeed truly disgusting. Something must be done about these feral scanda-jacket-and-runners thugs masquerading as "protestors" before a civilised tax-paying citizen ends up being seriously hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Neither side have exactly covered themselves in glory here to be perfectly frank.

I can understand the driver's fears/frustration but surely in such an instance ensuring all doors and windows were locked and creeping past the 'blockade' in 1st gear while staying on the road would have been a much better move to take than revving up on the pavement.

Of course the 16 second video clip does raise certain credibility issues.

zagmund wrote: »
    I know this is probably an AH sort of comment, but I think that people are coming to realise that the Gardai have lost *a lot* of authority in recent times from inaction in cases like these "blockades". In many other countries there would be lads down there arresting folks instead of standing watching them bringing the traffic to a halt. It was pitiful to see the pictures yesterday evening of a single bloke sitting in the middle of O'Connell Bridge with not a worry on him, while the rest of the city ground to a halt.

The main protest seemed to be relatively well organised & policed other than funnelling all the cars off Stephens Green onto Merrion Row and Baggot Street . . . you know, the route most people were walking along to get to the protest on Merrion Square. However, the blockades in various locations weren't official. I would expect any chimp who blocks any city street on any day to be moved on, so why were these guys allowed just set up camp like that? What do you think would happen if I decided to sit down in the middle of College Green of an afternoon? If the Gardai were afraid/unwilling to move me, I think I might just keep on doing it. But if they are afraid/unwilling then who is supposed to do this stuff?

Good post,and perhaps one which should drop onto Commissioner Norín's desk tomorrow....even if only to get her to give a definitive answer.

If the Gardai Won't/Can't act to support ordinary non-protesters,then say so and give these people the opportunity to work around the situation.
    If we are to have large scale protests into the future then the CITY has to have some means of operating to a PLAN B...or is it only the Germans have that sorta stuff ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Funny; that's exactly what goes through my mind just before I drive over cyclists.
    No they're both dangerous and possibly fatal. People trying to get to hospital are delayed.

This happened did it - the blocking of ambulances trying to get to hospital? Think of the children!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭hju6

I agree. A lynch-mob of knackers surrounding and intimidating a driver just trying to make their way home, forcing them to mount the path in order to escape without personal injury, is indeed truly disgusting. Something must be done about these feral scanda-jacket-and-runners thugs masquerading as "protestors" before a civilised tax-paying citizen ends up being seriously hurt.

So you know the person in hospital who was mowed down by a psychopath in a two ton vehicle, is not a tax payer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

hju6 wrote: »
    So you know the person in hospital who was mowed down by a psychopath in a two ton vehicle, is not a tax payer ?

The wouldn't be blocking roads and intimidating people on a Wednesday afternoon if they had a proper job.

bull. they're was no excuse for what could have been considered attempted murder. the little runt driving that vehicle should be locked up for years and have every possible charge thrown at them

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

the runt driving the car was a million times worse then those blocking traffic.

The wouldn't be blocking roads and intimidating people on a Wednesday afternoon if they had a proper job.
    oh? maybe they got the day off? you know employers do give days off, and some employers are against the water charges believe it or not

they're was no excuse for this. the person hurt could have been a civilised tax-paying citizen. the amount of people condoning and making excuses for what could be considered attempted murder is shocking and disgusting. at least we know what the "knackers" are about. the ones ranting about them and condoning acts of violence in the guise of "hard working taxpayers/tax paying citizens" are the ones we should actually be more worried about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

they're was no excuse for this. the person hurt could have been a civilised tax-paying citizen. the amount of people condoning and making excuses for what could be considered attempted murder is shocking and disgusting. at least we know what the "knackers" are about. the ones ranting about them and condoning acts of violence in the guise of "hard working taxpayers/tax paying citizens" are the ones we should actually be more worried about

well said no excuse can be made for the driver, but what I find more shocking was how this did not merit a mention on Rte or Newspapers :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

afro man wrote: »
    ...what I find more shocking was how this did not merit a mention on Rte or Newspapers :mad:

They can't just take random videos on the internet and then start speculating as to what exactly what's going on in them. That's for internet fora and Sky News.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

cnocbui wrote: »
    Funny; that's exactly what goes through my mind just before I drive over cyclists.

This happened did it - the blocking of ambulances trying to get to hospital? Think of the children!

Enjoy the 24 hour ban for extreme trolling -- read the charter before posting again.

Read the charter before posting again. This is not after hours.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

This is a comment from thejournal.ie:
    I saw that incident yesterday.
    1. Matt talbot bridge was closed off by protesters who broke away from main protest. I saw Dublin Says No flag amongst protesters.
    2. A motorist decided to drive up on the path off the bridge and then drive down customs house quay. There were no pedestrians on the path when this occurred.
    3. The White SUV then followed the first car. At this moment there were no pedestrians on the path. However protesters intervened to block the SUV.
    4. Protesters jumped on this SUV from all sides. The protester who was injured was hanging on the right hand side Of the SUV. The motorist must have been frightened and continued to drive. This is when the protester fell of the SUV.
    5. The SUV drove down Custom house quay. Stopped at a red light. Protesters sprinted after the SUV and caught up it banding on the side of the car.
    6. It then made its escape down north wall quay.
    That is what I saw. To call this a hit and run is unfair on the driver. It was more like a hit and run at the SUV. There was an air of menace amongst these protesters. The man who got injured would not have been hurt had he not jumped on the SUV. Hope he makes a full recovery.

One way or another, I don't think this was a hit and run in the normal meaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭berger89

was in dublin yesterday…luckily my B.E. bus left city relatively easy via east link. however, my special needs brother and his pals were stuck on another bus, in the city centre because of the people on o'connell bridge.

just wondering, if an ambulance or fire brigade was trying to get through to attend an emergency, would the protesters have allowed them? i highly doubt it.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

berger89 wrote: »
    just wondering, if an ambulance or fire brigade was trying to get through to attend an emergency, would the protesters have allowed them? i highly doubt it.

It is a pity you have so little faith in people! Personally I'd expect an Ambulance or fire brigade would be quickly left through (though perhaps not Gardai, unless accompanying the former).

Please remember that the vast majority of people at these protests are honest, hard working taxpayers, just like you and me.

bk wrote: »
    It is a pity you have so little faith in people! Personally I'd expect an Ambulance or fire brigade would be quickly left through (though perhaps not Gardai, unless accompanying the former).

Please remember that the vast majority of people at these protests are honest, hard working taxpayers, just like you and me.

When city centre streets are locked solid there's no way for traffic to get out of the way to let an ambulance through. Short of having a hover-ambulance it would be gridlocked, just like the rest.

z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

bk wrote: »

Little faith in people? Lynch mob springs to mind when I hear of break away groups. Anyway, as a poster mentioned, if there is a gridlock and cars can't move - what then?

BTW, people throw rocks at fire brigades regularly. I know that has nothing to do with the protests yesterday but, when you mention having faith in people, thats what I thought of.
    So, no, I would not trust total strangers in a mass protest situation to be thinking clearly at all. No matter how well organised or peaceful the protest is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Seems the protesters took offence that someone tried to get around them, and flung themselves in the way?

The way I look at it is; if you throw yourself in front of a moving car, don't be surprised if it runs you over!

The saying "don't be a hero" comes to mind. It seems people thought it would look awesome doing so, maybe thinking the SUV would stop. It didn't. These people (silly protesters) need to cop on, as next time they may get squished.

the_syco wrote: »
    Seems the protesters took offence that someone tried to get around them, and flung themselves in the way?

The way I look at it is; if you throw yourself in front of a moving car, don't be surprised if it runs you over!

The saying "don't be a hero" comes to mind. It seems people thought it would look awesome doing so, maybe thinking the SUV would stop. It didn't. These people (silly protesters) need to cop on, as next time they may get squished.

bull****. the driver of the SUV was fully in the wrong. whatever the protesters did or didn't do, this piece of vermin decided to mount a footpath and drove over someone. they're was no excuse for it, hopefully this piece of filth is caught and the key thrown away. do it once, they will probably do it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,604 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

bull****. the driver of the SUV was fully in the wrong. whatever the protesters did or didn't do, this piece of vermin decided to mount a footpath and drove over someone. they're was no excuse for it, hopefully this piece of filth is caught and the key thrown away.

I'd have thought it'd be an open goal for a good defence brief if it went to trial.
    Paint a picture (true or not) of a total breakdown in policing for a few hours, people with a history of rioting blocking the streets, flags of sinister dissident organisations etc. Slam dunk not guilty from the average jury imo (if the DPP even decides to bring a case in the first place).

I'd have thought it'd be an open goal for a good defence brief if it went to trial.
    Paint a picture (true or not) of a total breakdown in policing for a few hours, people with a history of rioting blocking the streets, flags of sinister dissident organisations etc. Slam dunk guilty not guilty from the average jury imo (if the DPP even decides to bring a case in the first place).
    well if so, those who let the driver away with it would be just as much of a danger to society. as for a breakdown in policing, they can't be everywhere at once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

bull. they're was no excuse for what could have been considered attempted murder. the little runt driving that vehicle should be locked up for years and have every possible charge thrown at them

Think you got those arse about face :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

bull****. the driver of the SUV was fully in the wrong. whatever the protesters did or didn't do, this piece of vermin decided to mount a footpath and drove over someone. they're was no excuse for it, hopefully this piece of filth is caught and the key thrown away. do it once, they will probably do it again

Allow a lynch mob to surround your car and bang on the windows.
    What would you do? Serious question.

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Allow a lynch mob to surround your car and bang on the windows.
    What would you do? Serious question.
    i wouldn't be mounting a footpath and moing someone down. hopefully the driver is locked up where they belong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

In fairness we have no idea, the person could have had an emergency, woman in labour, just received news that a relative is dying, injured who knows? Whatever reason they decided they couldn't wait and mounted the footpath at which stage people threw themselves in front of the vehicle, eh given the mob running towards the car at that stage I wouldn't have stopped either.
    If it is just I'm not waiting here **** you, then they deserve what's coming, if there was some legitimate reason why they acted the way they did it should be taken into account.
    Nonsense about representative of drivers in this city is beyond hyperbole if it was representative we wouldn't have had gridlock on Wednesday we would have had very busy footpaths.

BTW the morons who went around blocking roads, how the f does that improve the chances of beating water charges? What logic is there in discommoding thousands of people who the majority apparently actually agree with you about water charges ? That level of stupidity would encourage people to pay for water just to disassociate themselves from these knuckle draggers.

i wouldn't be mounting a footpath and moing someone down. hopefully the driver is locked up where they belong.

Yes, but what would you *do*?

Sit there and respect their right to intimidate you?

Or move?

z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

I call BS on that. You'd be getting out of dodge ASAP.

Nobody was mowed down. They climbed onto the SUV. Trying to sensationalise much?