Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People Of The Year Awards 2014 9.50pm

• 06-12-2014 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭

Trophy%20Kitten.JPG

It's the Acada-squee awards :cool:

Wow...this is all so sudden...I didn't have a speech prepared...

Well...first of all, I'd like to thank my teachers for always believing in me...the good people of Ireland...

Now in its 40th year, the People of the Year Awards provide a unique opportunity for the Irish public to honour those who have made a real difference to people's lives, whether as unsung heroes or as household names.

This year's Awards will honour the truly inspirational, courageous and talented people within our society at a glittering Awards presentation ceremony in the Citywest Hotel on Saturday, 6th December 2014. The ceremony will be broadcast live on RTÉ One. If you would like to attend, please contact Rehab's Fundraising Department on (01) 210 0521 or email fundraising@rehab.ie.

The People of the Year Awards are organised by Rehab.

The Awards
    The People of the Year Awards truly are Ireland's answer to a national honours system. Each year, members of the public are called upon to nominate people who have enhanced the quality of life in Ireland or internationally, increased civic pride or, through acts of bravery, have touched the lives of the community. Nominations can be made on www.peopleoftheyear.com or by emailing peopleoftheyear@rehab.ie Winners are finalised by a panel of adjudicators. The Awards were established in 1975 and have been televised live on RTÉ since 1983.

People of the Year Awards to a number of individuals for extraordinary achievement in areas that include arts and culture, sport, community and older persons.
    International Person of the Year Award to an Irish person who has made an outstanding contribution on an international level, or to a person from outside Ireland who has made a positive impact to life on the island of Ireland.
    Young Person of the Year Award for extraordinary achievements made by a young person (aged 25 years or under).
    Sportsperson of the Year Award for someone who has excelled in their chosen sport to create records and make living history.
    The Awards presentation ceremony will be broadcast live on RTÉ One on Saturday, 6th December 2014.
    For more information on the People of the Year Awards, including previous winners, visit www.peopleoftheyear.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Ah yes, the traditional oul Irish awards ceremony.... They all get dressed up for the ball, drinking expensive champagne and slapping each other on the back .. And we all sit here in our sweat pants, drinking cheap beer and abusing them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

where's Brendan?

Aidan Power... ugh

Z listers and RTE hangers on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Sponsored by Rehab.

I wonder if herself will be there?

Sweet Jesus

Oh ffs... The High Kings Of Paddywhackery..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Thankfully, we won't be subjected to a speech from Angela Kearns this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

:eek: :D

Sponsored by Rehab.

I wonder if herself will be there?

are expenses covered? if not, then No.

Angie will be represented by Coreless, Coreless and Sweeney

One of them didn't get the e-mail...DON'T wear a striped suit.

very sparse audience

Finbar Furey's son loves like Louis Copeland :eek:

One of them didn't get the e-mail...DON'T wear a striped suit.

vertical stripes- no so slimming it seems...

this is so low rent

Sponsored by Rehab. I wonder if herself will be there?

I did a bit of work for Rehab this year, so leave them alone...

(Angela told me to say that.. :( )

If this is half as shambolic as the Iffy's, it might be bearable.

Will her sister be singing her tragedy, sorry, charity single...

Come on Eileen!

I think Gráinne is confused, she thinks she's presenting 'Up For The Match' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

What's Yvonne Fair City doing at this? (in the audience, at a table)

Why, hellooooooo Grainne :)

I did a bit of work for Rehab this year, so leave them alone...

(Angela told me to say that.. :( )

are you a solicitor?

If this is half as shambolic as the Iffy's, it might be bearable.

OH JAYSIS THE IFTAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek:

This is crimecall - the good bits

There's a special raffle tonight, organised by Rehab Lotteries. You can buy tickets for 20 euro each.. with a hope of winning the top prize of 10 euro...

amdublin wrote: »
    What's Yvonne Fair City doing at this? (in the audience, at a table)

She's up for the Devious Person of the Year Award.

Is she Dearbhla from Crystal Shwing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I am seeing one person who I recognise in the audience for this ceremony tonight when the high kings were singing Ireland's Call.

I don't know him at all now but I have seen him when I do my shopping in the supermarket sometimes. I hope he is having a great night.

Ah lads Im out

Fair play Adam

Anyone else's VT go dodgy there?

I am seeing one person who I recognise in the audience for this ceremony tonight when the high kings were singing Ireland's Call.

I don't know him at all now but I have seen him when I do my shopping in the supermarket sometimes. I hope he is having a great night.

not weird

We have a person stuck in the Tunnel Of Goats.

The Bros look, going strong in 2014.

He's from RTE's Prime Time.. They're doing a special about you...

Snooker on BBC2 (No MoTD :( )

The Bros look, going strong in 2014.

So the answer was Dec 6, 2014 then...

Good job Adam!

I like Grainne's hair

I've been to Youghal...decent chipper :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

I am going for the free drink

a friend got nominated, and can bring ten guests

Jaysus I thought he was coming out carrying a bottle of wine... phew!!!

Love Paul.... great guy...

My screen is going green at the moment. Anyone else having this problem?

Yep...IFTA gremlins

Is this live?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭A_smurf

It was, but it seems to have stopped for now

Nice guy Adam...fair play.

Ah jaysus, I dont know if I can watch this sort of thing for the night... It's enough on the Friday...

Ah you have to feel for the Heffernan family. Condolences to them on the loss of their two kids.

They are dead already????? Ah god!!!!!!! :(:(:(:(:(:(

Jesus Christ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭A_smurf

Most heartbreaking story ever, losing both children in such a short period of time to the same rare disease