Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving your diesal rattling away there

• 06-12-2014 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭

This bothers me. Why do people stop in a car park and spend half an hour or more eating their lunch reading the news paper and leave their engines running? If I'm parked beside somone who does that I change to a different parking space. I can't drink my coffee and eat with that diesal rattle echoeing beside me for half a bleeding hour. Its like somone standing beside me with a ball bearing in a can and rattling it in my face non stop.

Why do they do this? Its not like diesal is cheap these days..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Heat? Some cars only keep decent heat going when the engine is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Heat? Some cars only keep decent heat going when the engine is on.

I've seen the same behaviour in the summer months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

Possible reasons.

They can and they will (should be against the law to keep the engine running when parked and not intending to move)

They want to keep the heater on this time of the year.

They want to listen to radii but don't know what accessory mode is

and finally I'm sure someone else will come up with more reasons :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

I've seen the same behaviour in the summer months

Air conditioning :)

I thought they were feeling too confident about their diesel fuel economy being way better then the petrol boys hence leave her running day and night. I guess those explanations are acceptable :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

I can honestly say Iv never been bothered by it. Honestly is it worth the effort getting worked up over it?

And as for outlawing it as another poster said, i reeeeally think there's more pressing things to worry about motoring-wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

This bothers me. Why do people stop in a car park and spend half an hour or more eating their lunch reading the news paper and leave their engines running? If I'm parked beside somone who does that I change to a different parking space. I can't drink my coffee and eat with that diesal rattle echoeing beside me for half a bleeding hour. Its like somone standing beside me with a ball bearing in a can and rattling it in my face non stop.

chill pill required urgently.....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭greasepalm

if rattling that much maybe engine about to go due to lack of oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Is there little else to be worrying about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Possible reasons.

They can and they will (should be against the law to keep the engine running when parked and not intending to move)

They want to keep the heater on this time of the year.

They want to listen to radii but don't know what accessory mode is

and finally I'm sure someone else will come up with more reasons :)
    Arah would you come off it like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

Arah would you come off it like

Well what's the point. It's no benefit at all to keep the engine running.

Just wasteful pollution of air. Especially with some of the older cars the smell coming out from them is terrible. Hardly healthy stuff to be breathing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭heffoo

Why do they do this? Its not like diesel is cheap these days..

God you must be having a bad morning... Or you just drive a petrol and it costs too much to leave running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

They're so used to the quiet idle of a petrol, that they don't realise how noisy there tractor is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭zwind

or they might though that diesel emission is really clean and healthy.

carbon monoxide will be built up if parked too long with windows closed .
    I thought they were feeling too confident about their diesel fuel economy being way better then the petrol boys hence leave her running day and night. I guess those explanations are acceptable :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

1 Air con
    2 might have a weak battery
    3 they don't want to damage the turbo by stopping the engine straiget after a long drive
    4 heating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Dicky starter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JBokeh

I hold the throttle at 1500rpm because it helps me sleep,I like to think of it as feeding the trees,lets me sleep a little bit easier.

But in all seriousness,who is it harming,you're burning SFA fuel while idling,If I get somewhere and park up i'd usually make a few calls/send some texts before turning the engine off. The sound of an engine isn't exactly some really annoying sound,it has a rhythm and kind of blends into the background noise after a few seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Er....Move to another area of the car park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Be grateful you can hear it. And move somewhere else.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

I would be one of those culprits...

Often sit up in the Van having some lunch... watching the world go by...
    I often dont turn the engine off...
    why??? no particular reason.... just couldn't be arsed most time ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

I thought they were feeling too confident about their diesel fuel economy being way better then the petrol boys hence leave her running day and night.

:/ That is quite the generalisation to have come to before posting a rant about it.

Goosfraba comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

It bother me to the point I don't do it but I couldn't give a shyte if anyone else does.............unless it's a small truck parked outside my house for a few nights in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Seriously, some people are apparently easily upset.

I'd be "guilty" of this if I'm only stopped for a few minutes or I want to keep the heating/air con on (there's apparently a mode on the current system where it will use the residual heat from the engine when it's off but I just leave it running myself)

I don't get this petrol v diesel stuff either.. who cares if the former is marginally quieter at idle? I quite like the rumble from mine and she gives a nice V6 surge when you put the foot down too. I'll take that over any "average" petrol anytime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

fergus1001 wrote: »
    1 Air con
    2 might have a weak battery
    3 they don't want to damage the turbo by stopping the engine straiget after a long drive
    4 heating

2 and 3
    I could understand, or having just started it recently, i wouldnt be inclined to turn it off, although Id probably try work that into not starting it and eat something.
    I noticed the battery was sounding weaker in the cold, and was concerned Id be stuck if I needed to re start it soon after, likely not getting a decent charge in the intervening short drive.
    robtri wrote: »
    I would be one of those culprits...

Often sit up in the Van having some lunch... watching the world go by...
    I often dont turn the engine off...
    why??? no particular reason.... just couldn't be arsed most time ....

You are hardly paying for the diesel yourself and sitting there running it?
    Some car parks are right near where people live, so I wouldnt be keen on people running them while they sat for lunch myself, seems wasteful at the least.
    On the same hand, if I just started it and need to stop soon after, I might leave it running if someone is there and it is brief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

Maybe they just like the sound of it, crackling away, gently soothing., slight vibration, like a gentle massage :)

Doesent bother me, I probably find myself listening to it, BUT if it's a smelly eyeburning half way to the diesel graveyard job I'd move.

Most places where trucks are standing loading or unloading or waiting, have a policy of "no engines running" for h&s reasons and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Well what's the point. It's no benefit at all to keep the engine running.

Just wasteful pollution of air. Especially with some of the older cars the smell coming out from them is terrible. Hardly healthy stuff to be breathing in.

It's my car and my fuel and I'll do whatever the hell I want with it.

This bothers me also, someone not worried about the cost of diesel or air quality.

Noise is a form of pollution also and people often don't realise this or care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I leave my yoke running nearly the whole time that I'm in/near it, and they don't come much noisier and rattley-er than a 92 Pajero, why do I do it? Cos I bloody well want to. Also for Heat, plus my batteries are sh1te. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

In a lot of countries it's frowned upon or might even land you with a fine.
    That's why:

n335.jpg

It's not necessary 99% of the time, unless you're parked up all night and it's -10. I wouldn't do it, not just for the noise, but the sheer pointlessness of it, as well as doing the engine no favours and not wanting to poison the entire car park. Sitting there for an hour with the engine idling is a daft thing to do.
    In Germany it is not allowed and can actually land you with a fine, but so is driving back and forth with no good reason, so that may be a little extreme.

Why would the Irish do it? Well, the below post explains it perfectly. To show what rebels they are and that they haven't lost that 1916 spirit. :rolleyes:
    Cheensbo wrote: »
    I leave my yoke running nearly the whole time that I'm in/near it, and they don't come much noisier and rattley-er than a 92 Pajero, why do I do it? Cos I bloody well want to. Also for Heat, plus my batteries are sh1te. :pac:

Well it bothers me when I want abit of peace having my lunch.... Makes no sense for fuel economy anyway. As some have already mentioned there are some reasons such as the heater etc so I get that. I guess I got the answer to my question ;-).

Almost forgot I have a small petrol and a bigger diesal car. The diesal is an Octavia so I'm not against diesals or anything just I don't leave mine running all over the shop ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

dayzul chape tax loike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Whats this diesal you talk of? Is it some new fuel :)

In Germany they don't do things they're not supposed to, in Ireland they do it because they're not supposed to, here there is an attitude I'll do what I want and if it effects anyone that's their problem and I don't care, it's a sad attitude really and I'm glad I don't have that kind of attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

I eat my lunch in a building, its great

marketty wrote: »
    I eat my lunch in a building, its great

You could always go out and start the car, so it's running while you sit inside having your hang sangich. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

In Germany they don't do things they're not supposed to, in Ireland they do it because they're not supposed to, here there is an attitude I'll do what I want and if it effects anyone that's their problem and I don't care, it's a sad attitude really and I'm glad I don't have that kind of attitude.

every car emits fumes(either at the car or the gas/coal generating station), and noise (well i will give u electric cars on the noise part)... so should we all stop driving..
    or is it ok to drive and make noise and pollution...

every car emits fumes(either at the car or the gas/coal generating station), and noise (well i will give u electric cars on the noise part)... so should we all stop driving..

Every car emits fumes, that's why they should be turned off when stopped. Of course the attitude in Ireland is "ah jaysus, I don't care if you get gassed, just as long as I'm ok ya bollix"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Hopefully diesel will be banned soon (they're banning it in diesel loving France already), saving thousands of people from that horrible and painfully slow death of cancer. In the meantime all owners of modern diesel cars enjoy the cheap Irish tax while you can courtesy of the Green Party - I truly believe they meant well with their agenda, but it is hard to understand how ignorant and naive they were in their beliefs only managing to push through one of their points: cheap tax for low CO2 cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Why would the Irish do it? Well, the below post explains it perfectly. To show what rebels they are and that they haven't lost that 1916 spirit. :rolleyes:

Nothing too do with rebellion here Fuzzy, I was born in '89, so wasn't around in 1916, so unfortunately I'd have no idea what that spirit would be.:rolleyes:

But as far as I'm concerned; If I want to leave my fucking engine running, I will do, and there's nothing you, or anyone else can do about it. Try pull my keys, see what happens. Besides, my motor's that sh1t it will stay running anyway.

unkel wrote: »
    Hopefully diesel will be banned soon (they're banning it in diesel loving France already), saving thousands of people from that horrible and painfully slow death of cancer. In the meantime all owners of modern diesel cars enjoy the cheap Irish tax while you can courtesy of the Green Party - I truly believe they meant well with their agenda, but it is hard to understand how ignorant and naive they were in their beliefs only managing to push through one of their points: cheap tax for low CO2 cars.

It will take a while to phase out diesels and rightly, by that stage maybe electrics will be more available, probably more ideal fro shorter journeys, maybe they'll have something in place with parking spaces with charge points nearer shops like parent/child or disabled spaces, but sure then people will park an ICE vehicle in them, claiming its some right.
    Nothing too do with rebellion here Fuzzy, I was born in '89, so wasn't around in 1916, so unfortunately I'd have no idea what that spirit would be.:rolleyes:

But as far as I'm concerned; If I want to leave my fucking engine running, I will do, and there's nothing you, or anyone else can do about it. Try pull my keys, see what happens. Besides, my motor's that sh1t it will stay running anyway.

It began thinking its hard to believe someone with that attitude was born as late as 1989, but in retrospect, its giving too much credit to Irish people, whatever of peoples reasons that they may think and under some circumstances there might be some, the fcuk you attitude Im all right jack certainly is prevelant in our country.

Yeah but electrics are far more efficient and they can use wind energy at night that otherwise has to be turned off, but we need a lot more on the road to benefit from that, electrics would solve a lot of the storage problems facing renewable energy.

Petrol and diesel refining consumes vast amount of electricity, enough to drive electric cars billions of miles, making electrics even more efficient.

And even if electrics use electricity from coal/peat, at least it's usually in the country and people are not usually directly effected as an exhaust in very close proximity.

I agree, and the U.K Government are coming under increasing pressure to ban diesels from cities also, even though it's been brought up time and time again I do think it will happen within the next 10 years.

I also believe the Green party meant well when they brought in the Co2 tax system, but they also had to be seen to be doing something for the environment, or man made Global warming, aka (climate Change).

Even though Co2 isn't a pollutant, the public have been fooled into thinking it is a pollutant, and a deadly gas. And so began the promotion of a very toxic fuel. The Government have to go by what the so called climate scientists say, be it right or wrong but with more evidence of the dangers of diesel exhaust becoming more known and studied it may perhaps change the way our Government think.

Won't be banned, rubbish.
    What will happen eventually is that ALL internal combustion engines will be heavily loaded with tax and fuel likewise. In other countries because there will be alternatives available such as electric and public transport and in Ireland because we have to keep sending fat cheques to foreign bankers.
    If anyone thinks that now a big party for petrol is ahead, theyre deluded.
    And yes, when cars will be loaded with a 50% purchase tax, when motor tax is 2k a year and petrol and diesel are north of the €2 mark, we can all thank the greens.

When they ban diesel, I hope they start with all those nasty trucks, buses, boats, generators and trains. Banning diesel cars only is nothing but Babies Will Die hysteria.

But as far as I'm concerned; If I want to leave rmy fucking engine running, I will do, and there's nothing you, or anyone else can do about it. Try pull my keys, see what happens. Besides, my motor's that sh1t it will stay running anyway.

A fcuk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

And thats the right attitude to have IMO, feck the rest of you;)

Yeah but electrics are far more efficient and they can use wind energy at night that otherwise has to be turned off, but we need a lot more on the road to benefit from that, electrics would solve a lot of the storage problems facing renewable energy.

Petrol and diesel refining consumes vast amount of electricity, enough to drive electric cars billions of miles, making electrics even more efficient.

And even if electrics use electricity from coal/peat, at least it's usually in the country and people are not usually directly effected as an exhaust in very close proximity.

Its more efficient to generate power that way, on a large scale, processes can be utilised to capture components of exhaust, recycling heat.
    IC engines are less efficient than that, although why they are waiting on battery technology to advance and not go straight to a compressed air storage instead, the electricity generating capacity exists at night time to compress air and use that as the energy source.
    I also believe the Green party meant well when they brought in the Co2 tax system, but they also had to be seen to be doing something for the environment, or man made Global warming, aka (climate Change).

Even though Co2 isn't a pollutant, the public have been fooled into thinking it is a pollutant, and a deadly gas. And so began the promotion of a very toxic fuel. The Government have to go by what the so called climate scientists say, be it right or wrong but with more evidence of the dangers of diesel exhaust becoming more known and studied it may perhaps change the way our Government think.

I think the naive or foolish greens thought they were doing good too, although I think it was misplaced and their champagne greeness doesnt mean they might suffer the consequences of their decisions as much as those less fortunate.

Is Co2 a pollutant? well it depends on what you define as a pollutant, we are no doubt pumping extraordinary amounts into the atmosphere, the thing is what does this do? does it cause problems and for who, or what?
    Co2 in itself doesnt seem any more serious than many other chemical compounds pumped into the atmosphere, but the quantity and the effects it has to cause problems, for one, where does it all go???
    Well, its soaked up by the natural environment, where? plants everywhere, but in particular the oceans where there are living creatures and plant life that consume it for their own needs, live and die and sink to the ocean floor and the carbon is stored in their remains there, unfortunately we are pumping out so much that it is changing the acidity of the oceans, plants and animals cant adapt to this change rapidly, so they cant keep consuming it because we are killing them and their environment. I consider that pollution.
    Whatever of the consequences of Co2 in the atmosphere and the effects it may have on global temperatures, the effects it has on the ability of the natural environment to soak up Co2 is being hindered by how much is being put into the environment.

There is worthwhile praise in trying to reduce Co2, not to say a small country shouldnt try, but our efforts to reduce it pale in comparison to the huge producers of the stuff.
    The idea that anyone promoting lower Co2 generating cars is doing any good is laughable, so switching to promoting diesels and then talk of banning them potentially eventually makes little difference, because they will be replaced very slowly, likely arent operated in an efficient manner anyway, have created large amounts of Co2 in their production, its all just a paper exercise, and an economy boosting money moving idea.

Id prefer someone was in an old vehicle if it could meet other harmful emission criteria regarding carcinogens or other hazardous contaminants, than just measuring Co2, as producing a new vehicle type creates huge amounts of Co2, which will likely never be recovered by the use of the vehicle.
    As for running them away regardless
    my neighbour used to sit in his van rattling away his old diesel, fcuking annoying listening to that right beside you at any hour, cant understand the economic sense of it either.
    Generally we dont seem to have any consideration for the stuff that doesnt affect us until it does.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

Amazed op is confused by this.

In a word HEAT!

So bleedin obvious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

here's 12 hours of bliss for all diesel fans.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Y33bTlAA-E

dieselbug wrote: »
    here's 12 hours of bliss for all diesel fans.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Y33bTlAA-E

That is fcuking awesome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

I think people who eat their lunch in cars are a bit odd tbh. I feel a bit sad for them.