Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jackie Healy Rae has died

• 05-12-2014 3:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭

Hearing of reports that Jackie Healy Rae has died.

83, a great age.

May he RIP.

Mod edit. A word of warning to show some respect and decorum please, thanks.

Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1205/664888-jackie-healy-rae/

Former Independent TD for Kerry South Jackie Healy-Rae has died at the age of 83.

He had been ill for some time. He died at 1:35pm today at Kerry General Hospital in Tralee.

He was the patriarch of a poilitical dynasty, which includes his son Michael, who succeeded him as a TD for Kerry South and another son Danny and a grandson Johnny who are members of Kerry County Council.

Mr Healy-Rae had four sons and two daughters and his family were with him when he died this afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

A good man. Condolences to his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Rest In Peace.
    The roads in Kerry will go to rack and ruin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

RIP

Served Kerry with grace and dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

RIP

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

He was certainly a unique character. RIP Jackie bah. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

RIP, every constituency could do with a JHR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Sad loss for his family at this time of year. R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

RIP. A real character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

He fixed the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I drove on some of his roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

If every politician did as much for their county's as JHR we would live in a better country. Tipperary TDs take note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

TBF although many us may not be impressed with the parish pump politics and the "everything for my area" approach to national politics......he was what he was and the people elected him to do it.

He was a hard working representative for South Kerry and never seemed to be any badness to him or anything like that.

hard time of a year for a family too.

R.I.P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Whatever people think of his politics, he is definitely one of those politicians who will be remembered with a smile rather than a snarl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

There are always two - a master and an apprentice ;)

Seriously though, he played on his buffoon exterior but beneath it was an utterly shrewd political operator with a brilliant ability to deliver for his local constituents.

Condolences to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Whatever people think of his politics, he is definitely one of those politicians who will be remembered with a smile rather than a snarl.

Anyone outside of Kerry who fondly remembers him is deluded, the man held up numerous National issues to further his own local political agenda, yes I am sorry to his family for the loss but for everyone complaining about how politicians only look after themselves and care about getting reelected here is one of the prime examples and ignoring this fact due his death is hypocrisy of the highest order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Riskymove wrote: »
    TBF although many us may not be impressed with the parish pump politics and the "everything for my area" approach to national politics......he was what he was and the people elected him to do it.

He was a hard working representative for South Kerry and never seemed to be any badness to him or anything like that.

hard time of a year for a family too.

R.I.P.

In fact he might just be the first and last politician that did what he was elected to do.
    While I used to bemoan parish pump politics, I've gained a new appreciation of late for politicians that listen to people more then once every five years and then spend the rest of the time post election barely concealing their contempt for the plebs that vote for them, something that couldn't said about Healy Rae.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Prepare for constant reruns of At Home With the Healy Rae's for Christmas now!

Ah no though, RIP to him. I know one of his granddaughters well enough. He'll be sorely missed in Kerry and indeed in Ireland. Some character.

VinLieger wrote: »
    Anyone outside of Kerry who fondly remembers him is deluded, the man held up numerous National issues to further his own local political agenda, yes I am sorry to his family for the loss but for everyone complaining about how politicians only look after themselves and care about getting reelected here is one of the prime examples and ignoring this fact due his death is hypocrisy of the highest order

Fair enough - but can we agree at least on "a wry smile" then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

In light of the Mod note on the OP - he was certainly unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Why are people above criticism just because they have died?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

'Never a bollix died' as someone posted here recently, they're all saints in the graveyard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

It's the old internet adage, "Don't be a dick". You don't have to pretend to like the guy, but you don't have to go out of your way to hurl abuse at him either. Common sense should come into it.

I should also add the below note:

MOD: let's not get into the usual "Why can't I insult the dead guy" debate on here. There's a feedback forum for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Mainly as there not here to answer the said criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

realies wrote: »
    Mainly as there not here to answer the said criticism.

Was he posting in his defence here while alive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

They aren't, but it's basic decency in a case like this to tone it down on the day they died.

Whatever about the cynicism of his politics there was no malice in the man.

May he rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

He was a sign of everything that is wrong with this country. R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Lord have mercy on him, as others said, he will be missed by his family, friends, those who respected and it is the worst time of the year to lose a loved one (not that any time is good).
    Rest in Peace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Over €2 million and counting given to Healy Rae's firm by Kerry County Council over the years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

sabat wrote: »
    Over €2 million and counting given to Healy Rae's firm by Kerry County Council over the years...

Not "given". Paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

A family has lost a father who they loved. From that point of view I sympathise with their loss.

However JHR was an exemplar of the dreadful clientilism which typifies Irish politics - the very opposite of a national interest. I hope people will look at how he conducted his business and do the other thing.

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

sabat wrote: »

An utterly meaningless post.

R.I.P.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    However JHR was an exemplar of the dreadful clientilism which typifies Irish politics - the very opposite of a national interest. I hope people will look at how he conducted his business and do the other thing.

RIP.

He was a public representative, elected by his constituents to represent them, which he did with aplomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I could never understand what he was saying

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭toxicity234

Rip

It Funny people referring to the National interest.
    After 20 years working with politicians in my job in Dublin, The National interest is Dublin and around Dublin. If not for politicians like him the Dublin Interest would be the national interest and the rest of the county would be forgot about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Valetta wrote: »
    He was a public representative, elected by his constituents to represent them, which he did with aplomb.
    That's what a counciller is supposed to do, not a TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Valetta wrote: »

You completely misunderstand the national responsibility of a TD above the local responsibility and typify everything wrong with how people vote in this country in general elections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

If every politician did as much for their county's as JHR we would live in a better country. Tipperary TDs take note.

We'd have had 26 counties fighting against each other to get at the trough rather than one country working together.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

What I don't understand is the term "parish pump" politics.

He was elected by the people of South Kerry, in my eyes he done his job by representing the people of South Kerry.

Labour are suppose to represent the "working class" and they have sold themselves out.

If all anyone has against JHR is parish pump, he hasn't done too bad for himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

iDave wrote: »
    Served Kerry with grace and dignity.

Fair to say many would disagree.

Condolences to his family, RIP.

VinLieger wrote: »
    You completely misunderstand the national responsibility of a TD above the local responsibility and typify everything wrong with how people vote in this country in general elections

Eh... no I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,422 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

RIP. In two minds about him. He obviously did well for his constituents but equally he was the epitome of parochial, gombeen, parish pump politics in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

Will be missed by many in South Kerry.
    Outside of that, I'm not so sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Ah, sure the family pub will do great business from now right through Christmas. That's about as nice as I can get with the Healy Rae's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He served Kerry South the way Tony Gregory did Dublin Central. The Dublincentric media made a saint of one and a bafoon of the other. But he delivered for his constituents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Him and his family introduced me to the term Gombeen politics.

Irish Times obit is up already, and here's an extract:
    He was not beyond hamming it up when confronted by a media posse, as was the case when he was an Independent TD keeping the government in power in the run-up to the IMF arriving in Dublin.
    Alighting from a taxi outside Leinster House, he was asked if he would continue to support the Fianna Fail-led coalition. “I don’t know what is going on,” he declared. “I’m just up from the bogs of Kerry.” He knew the soundbite would feature in the evening news bulletins.