Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards testing for drugs on roads

• 05-12-2014 11:35am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Apparently they can stop you and give you an aul drug's test for the illegals.

Bad buzz.

What will your excuse be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

My excuse is I don't take drugs because I'm not a complete and total fúcking moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

'Sorry Guard, I just needed to take a **** load of coke to focus my driving because I drank waaaaay too much booze tonight'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

My excuse is I don't take drugs because I'm not a complete and total fúcking moron.

do you drink tea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

You mean you're not cool enough..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

About fecking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, damn those Gardai for trying to catch people. I mean, I just want to take some mind-altering substances and then go for a little drive! Where's the harm in that?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

What year is it Guard? The aul Delorean is acting up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Once you havent taken viagra be grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Augmerson wrote: »
    Apparently they can stop you and give you an aul drug's test for the illegals.

Bad buzz.

What will your excuse be?

I'd tell the cop to cop on and read this.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/wonkblog/wp/2014/12/02/you-will-not-be-arrested-for-using-drugs-what-a-sane-drug-policy-looks-like/

Although I wouldn't drive when stoned anyway because I, eh, I don't do drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Once you havent taken viagra be grand.

'why the fook won't the gears change!?!?

oh...'

/shifts hand more to left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Beware! Not sure what kit they're using, but on the older Hunter Diagnostic kits if you take any OTC medicine containing codeine then you'll come up as a false positive for Heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Ya say that now until you're stopped one day after taking something like nurophen or something with codeine for your cough and cold and it shows youve beem taking drugs !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

whiskeyman wrote: »
    'why the fook won't the gears change!?!?

oh...'

/shifts hand more to left

Plus the guards don't like when you use your horn in public by night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"It's not cocaine guard, it's raisins!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Beware! Not sure what kit they're using, but on the older Hunter Diagnostic kits if you take any OTC medicine containing codeine then you'll come up as a false positive for Heroin.
    Ya say that now until you're stopped one day after taking something like nurophen or something with codeine for your cough and cold and it shows youve beem taking drugs !

That's me fcuked so , I just had a pint of solpedeine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

That's me fcuked so , I just had a pint of solpedeine.

Haha what a way to start your day. Instant death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

"Guards testing for drugs on roads"

Surely they'll be testing the drivers - unless they are going start swabbing the tarmac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭daUbiq

But you're a monarchist and a soldier; much worse... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Codeine is one of the "don't drive if you've taken..." drugs as it can cause drowsiness. I very much doubt it'd be part of the guards routine test though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Noobascious

Personally, I crashed when drunk once whereas the cannabis frightens me into not putting a foot wrong. So that's about a thousand times driving stoned not a bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

What's the 'test' going to be though? Roadside saliva test, or is the guard just going to tell you to stand on one leg, close your eyes, and count backwards from 30?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Personally, I crashed when drunk once whereas the cannabis frightens me into not putting a foot wrong. So that's about a thousand times driving stoned not a bother.

The most dangerous drivers on the road are the anxious ones.

mike_ie wrote: »
    What's the 'test' going to be though? Roadside saliva test, or is the guard just going to tell you to stand on one leg, close your eyes, and count backwards from 30?
    Yep, that's exactly what it is.
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/new-garda-chief-unveils-tough-new-drug-driving-laws-299924.html
    As part of the roadside impairment test (RIT), drivers will be required to undergo five impairment tests: a pupil-dilation test; modified Romberg balance test, walk-and-turn test; one-leg-stand; and a finger-to-nose test.
    The test will give the Garda good cause to arrest you on suspicion of drug-driving, whereby they take you to the station and take a sample of blood or urine to test for drugs.

So there's no need to worry about codeine, as you won't even be tested unless you fail the roadside test. If you fail the roadside test, and test positive at the station, then you probably shouldn't have been driving.

There are plans to introduce chemical testing next year, but like breathalysers, these tests will probably only be used to allow an arrest to take place and won't be used as evidence in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Nah I'd say drunk people might be a little bit worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

No, the most dangerous drivers on the road are the aggressive ones.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Nah I'd say drunk people might be a little bit worse.

Only one way, an anxious driver is tentative both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

You sound like a right laugh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

mike_ie wrote: »

To test for 'erb the Guards will ask you what is your favourite Pink Floyd album.

To test for coke the Guards will just let you talk away.

To test for heroin the Guards will pull you out of the wreckage of the car that you just plowed into them with.

And so on.

No, the most dangerous drivers on the road are the aggressive ones.
    Nope.

In fact the most dangerous drivers on the road are the attention impaired ones. People in a state of aggressiveness take more risks, but are more likely to be highly attentive.

If someone thinks that they're OK driving when stoned because they're nervous, they're deluding themselves. Your attention is still impaired, you are still dangerous.

It's not restricted to taking chemicals. Some studies have shown that driving after a sleepless night can be as dangerous, if not more dangerous than driving just above the legal alcohol limit.

People in a state of chronic tiredness, even if they take copious amounts of caffeine to bolster themselves, are known to be anything up to ten times more dangerous on the road than someone at the legal limit.

This is why the morning after can actually be a really bad time for it. Not only are you still a bit tipsy, but you haven't slept properly at all.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

"Sorry Garda, just done a few rails of blow to take the edge off the cough medicine"

While this is bumping out of the stereo:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The ads on the radio end with 'you're out of your mind'.

It's like having the finger wagged at you by a pensioner dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

You sound like a right laugh.

Yup, because going for a quick drive when off your face is very funny...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭mass_debater

Hopefully they'll be testing for all drugs, not just the illegal ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

sup_dude wrote: »
    Yup, because going for a quick drive when off your face is very funny...

He didn't say ANYTHING about driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Testing the roads?, check that big white line along the middle of the road, looks like coke to me.

seamus wrote: »
    Nope.

In fact the most dangerous drivers on the road are the attention impaired ones. People in a state of aggressiveness take more risks, but are more likely to be highly attentive.

If someone thinks that they're OK driving when stoned because they're nervous, they're deluding themselves. Your attention is still impaired, you are still dangerous.

It's not restricted to taking chemicals. Some studies have shown that driving after a sleepless night can be as dangerous, if not more dangerous than driving just above the legal alcohol limit.

People in a state of chronic tiredness, even if they take copious amounts of caffeine to bolster themselves, are known to be anything up to ten times more dangerous on the road than someone at the legal limit.

This is why the morning after can actually be a really bad time for it. Not only are you still a bit tipsy, but you haven't slept properly at all.

I've driven twice when badly tired and I'd fully believe that. Bad bad bad
    Havent done it since

bluewolf wrote: »
    I've driven twice when badly tired and I'd fully believe that. Bad bad bad
    Havent done it since
    Your reaction times are way off when you've had little to no sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Jawgap wrote: »
    "Guards testing for drugs on roads"

Surely they'll be testing the drivers - unless they are going start swabbing the tarmac:)

"Jaysus Sergeant Mossie....that white line down the middle of the road is awful suspicious"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I wonder how many of the 60+ people who thanked this like to retard their brain function by imbibing ethanol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

People are much better drivers after a spliff, much more cautious than usual, should be encouraged!

Karl Stein wrote: »
    I wonder how many of the 31 people who thanked this like to retard their brain function by imbibing ethanol.
    Or pop prescription medications without considering side effects while driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah, damn those Gardai for trying to catch people. I mean, I just want to take some mind-altering substances and then go for a little drive! Where's the harm in that?!
    I don't think anyone said that. Disagreeing with fairly uninformed black and white statements about using drugs does not make a person ok with driving while under the influence of mind-altering substances. It doesn't even make them a drug user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

You should not be driving after taking codeine..

Karl Stein wrote: »
    I wonder how many of the 31 people who thanked this like to retard their brain function by imbibing ethanol.

Probably the same amount that know that driving whilst your mind is impaired by anything is dangerously stupid, and there's no point getting indignant about it as your only fooling yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

He didn't say ANYTHING about driving.

No but it doesn't take a genius to figure out that the first comment in a post about driving while on drugs.... might be about driving while on drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Well you have! codeine and antihistamines also,, warning on the labels is clear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

driving whilst your mind is impaired by anything is dangerously stupid

The statement didn't mention driving under the influence of drugs tBM.
    I don't take drugs because I'm not a complete and total fúcking moron.

'Morons take drugs' is the message.
    and there's no point getting indignant about it as your only fooling yourself.

I'm not in the slightest bit indignant. Nobody should drive impaired. Shure haven't I pulled in on a number of occasions myself to have a snooze because tiredness was impairing my ability to concentrate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Graces7 wrote: »
    You should not be driving after taking codeine..

As this Waterford man found out.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/icrime/driver-banned-after-codeine-dose-178962.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

anncoates wrote: »
    The ads on the radio end with 'you're out of your mind'.

It's like having the finger wagged at you by a pensioner dad.

Laughable, I had a J half/hour before my test and passed no problem.