Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A cure for AIDS by Christmas - execute all gay people

• 05-12-2014 1:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭

I know that America prides itself on free speech and has enshrined the right to it in the First Amendment, but at what point does free speech become hate speech and the authorities can actually act on it?

Five years ago a lovely chap by the name of Steven Anderson said that he hated Barack Obama and prayed for him to die and go to hell. Now he's decided, with the help of a chapter from the Book of Leviticus that killing all homosexuals would rid the world of AIDS. This is a man who calls himself a Christian, and yet hold profoundly un-Christian views. And the appalling thing about it is that he'll probably get away with it because he can claim freedom of speech, or freedom to practice his religion or some other nonsense. This is a man who no doubt would be the first to get up and decry a sermon by an Imam who made anti-American comments as hate speech, and yet he has no problem engaging in it himself. And if he was on his own it would be bad enough, but he's the pastor to a whole church full of people who subscribe to his views.

All I can hope is that the caring and decent majority of people in the world shout louder than this moron and his followers so that hateful views like his, which have no place in a civilised society, are drowned out and ignored. And if somebody somehow managed to get a charge to stick and he ended up in the clink, please let his cellmate be an AIDS-infected gay guy who won't take no for an answer.

Link to the article in The Independent here and here's the video from the article for the tl;dr version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Well he would suck the fun out of any party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

He looks like a proper cum-sponge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

these ultra-religious types are always obsessed with people being gay, has to be some serious repressing going on to make them so angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Probably in the closet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

The pastor is a complete shítbag. You want him to be raped and get aids. Do you really think you are taking the higher ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Straylight

The pastor is a complete shítbag. You want him to be raped and get aids. Do you really think you are taking the higher ground.

That's a fair point. However I would be curious to see what his opinion would be if he somehow contracted HIV himself, let's say through an infected blood product, however unlikely that may be these days. I wonder would he be more charitable then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Now I don't have my research to hand right now but I'm pretty sure that there's at least one person out there who isn't gay and yet has AIDS.

So his plan might need a couple of tweaks here and there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

Straylight wrote: »
    from the Book of Leviticus
    There must be a shower of c*nts in the US reading and rereading through it all the time to find justifications for all kinds of mental stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 382 ✭✭Cyber Ghost

He's kind of right, pragmatically speaking.

For example in this country if we rounded up every scumbag "known to the gardai" and put a bullet in his/her head, crime would drop about 95% overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

decent majority of people in the world 

It's illegal to be gay in 70 plus countries in the world. The sad fact is that the majority of the global population are more likely to somewhat agree with him, than disagree with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

For example in this country if we rounded up every scumbag "known to the gardai" and put a bullet in his/her head, crime would drop about 95% overnight.

Murder rate would spike somewhat though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

That's a fair point. However I would be curious to see what his opinion would be if he somehow contracted HIV himself, let's say through an infected blood product, however unlikely that may be these days. I wonder would he be more charitable then?

It might change his attitude to finding a cure but would it change his attitude to homosexuality? The worrying thing is that a homophobic **** like him has a congregation. The sound of them laughing away while he spews hate is sickening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Killing all the gay lads is a bit extreme in all fairness.

Anyway it wouldn't work because AIDS can be spread by straight people too. Drug users sharing needles for example.

No, he'll have to come up with a better plan than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Lapin wrote: »
    Killing all the gay lads is a bit extreme in all fairness.

Indeed, however the stats for AIDS/HIV amongst gay men make for some pretty grim reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭Daith

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Indeed, however the stats for AIDS/HIV amongst gay men make for some pretty grim reading.

Indeed likewise with straight people. Get yourselves checked people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He is mixing up the word 'cure' with 'cull'
    It doesn't 'cure' anything.

That being said it's frightening how complacent younger gays are about HIV. They don't remenber the shocking public information campaigns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Or riots would ensue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

What's the betting he is gay himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

It's only a matter of time before he's caught in a compromising situation in a public toilet.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Ah yeah. Pick and mix religion. The best kind. Thou shalt not kill thy neighbour? How's about some Old Testament instead? I'll have me some of that. Nevermind the Hippie Jesus stuff about neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

There must be a shower of c*nts in the US reading and rereading through it all the time to find justifications for all kinds of mental stuff.

That's the great thing about using a religious tract for your morals: you just decide what you think about something or someone, or some practice of theirs that's none of your bloody business, then start looking through the tract's hundreds of pages to find a three sentence verse written over a thousand years ago that justifies your position. Easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

The Christians will be along shortly to argue he's not a true Christian.They'll be using the the same Bible he's using to prove this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

these ultra-religious types are always obsessed with people being gay, has to be some serious repressing going on to make them so angry.

Mainstream ones seem to be the same .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Feckin queers.what have they ever done for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Looking for a new recipe for turkey with braised red cabbage...

its in leviticus...

Can't find the remote!

Its in leviticus.

looking for a plumber in your area?

Thats exodus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I prepose we cure/cull all fascist religious bigots by Christmas. People with positions of power in a community should be held responsible for their actions. Free speech does no = spreading messages of hate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

It's illegal to be gay in 70 plus countries in the world. The sad fact is that the majority of the global population are more likely to somewhat agree with him, than disagree with him.

70 out of 200 doesn't make a majority. How you can even use the word "fact", in something you just made up (speaking for the human race) should be punishable to some degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

And within sa year would be back to current levels.
    Nature abhors a vacuum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Are you a gay Christian? No, no, it's alright! I mean, I don't mind, I don't mind at all! I mean if homosexuality is your thing... if that's the bag you're into then... that's great! Fantastic! I mean don't be ashamed, whatever you do... Stand up! Come out of the toilet, as the phrase... as the phrase has it. And stand up and say "I am tempted to be a... homosexual." And fine! And you may even decide - after much prayer - to enter into a commited and tempted relationship with a member of the same... same genital group. Hum... if you do and you feel you can do nothing about it, and you've been to a psychiatrist, and you've had aversion therapy, and you've tried tying metal weights to your private parts... and you still feel those tendancies then... I'm afraid it means that God just wants you to have a rotten life. God's like that... he hates poofs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Oink wrote: »
    Ah yeah. Pick and mix religion. The best kind. Thou shalt not kill thy neighbour? How's about some Old Testament instead? I'll have me some of that. Nevermind the Hippie Jesus stuff about neighbours.

Isn't that when they usually draw up the old "lost in translation" argument?

As in, killing is ok, it's only murder that the bible is against. And murder is whatever we say it is, and nothing else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I thought the thread title was the next Band Aid single for 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I've a better idea. Let's kill all the religious leaders in the world. That would probably do a lot more good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Ahh, preachers. You gotta love em, eh? Such a great bunch of lads, all down the years. It takes a certain kind of nozzle to want to preach at your fellow human in the first place, without a big, sh1t-eating ironic grin on yer face. I always assume they're not the brightest bulb in the Christmas-tree lights.

They usually also tend to have a loose grasp of the old Book they preach out of too. Bit like having a Huge manual whose first and most important point is "whatever you do, don't cut the blue wire" and having it plastered everywhere in the manual, then popping out to "follow the manual" and spending all day every day cutting blue wires while quoting other chapters at people like the good little gob5hyte they are.

I guess the Author slipped up not writing the "Love your neighbour as yourself" bit a teensy bit bigger, for the thickies down the back. Like this American tool. ^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

crazygeryy wrote: »

What was it Winston Churchill said about Alan Turing?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

crazygeryy wrote: »

Ah come on now.

They've provided airlines the world over with male cabin crew for a start.

Where would the theatres on Broadway and the West End be without aspiring thesbians?

The advertising industry would be non existant.

The hairdressing industry would be entirely women only. Now what would that do for gender equality in the workplace.

You haven't really thought this one through Crazygeryy have you?

Also, think of the millions of kids working in the sunglasses factory in China. What would they do if we didn't have Elton John?

I could think of lots of other things. Fashion designers and people like that. Cyclists. Waiters. Lots of things.

Nah, I'm with the person above in asking - What have religious leaders ever done for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

War in your country?, Suffering in the middle of a famine?, Do you or a family member have cancer?, Recently had a miscarriage or watched your child die from an illness?

Fear not it's all part of God's plan

Gay?

Well that's YOUR choice, God had nothing to do with this and therefore you are an abomination in his eyes and should be destroyed.

I would love to know how many of these deeply Christian folk have health insurance? I mean if god is watching over you then you don't need to have health insurance right? And if you get sick sure there is no need to visit a hospital because it's gods will that you are unwell and if he wants you to die then surely you are going against his will by trying to get cured. I guarantee the good pastor wouldn't be long rushing off to hospital and i dare say he wouldn't give a flying **** about the sexual beliefs of a surgeon who was about to save his life.

Probably in the closet.
    Pinch Flat wrote: »
    What's the betting he is gay himself?

Ah that old chestnut.

Someone annoys a gay person.

Set defaulft defense mechanism by calling them gay in return as if you're accusing them of something terrible.

That'll learn em all right eh.

Nah, it won't. Doesn't work anymore. Playground stuff. Don't demean yourselves by resorting to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Rabo Karabekian

Shenshen wrote: »
    Isn't that when they usually draw up the old "lost in translation" argument?

As in, killing is ok, it's only murder that the bible is against. And murder is whatever we say it is, and nothing else?

Thou shalt not kill is in the Old Testament though, to be fair. But yeah, it's definitely a case of killing is bad depending on who it was. Sure even God got involved on numerous occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

'merica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Solid plan. What are we doing with all the people who have the disease but are not gay? Hit them? Maybe he hasn't fully got it all worked out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

vicwatson wrote: »
    'merica

Unfortunately stupidity like this is not the sole remit of 'merica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Wicklow Will

Are you a gay Christian? No, no, it's alright! I mean, I don't mind, I don't mind at all! I mean if homosexuality is your thing... if that's the bag you're into then... that's great! Fantastic! I mean don't be ashamed, whatever you do... Stand up! Come out of the toilet, as the phrase... as the phrase has it. And stand up and say "I am tempted to be a... homosexual." And fine! And you may even decide - after much prayer - to enter into a commited and tempted relationship with a member of the same... same genital group. Hum... if you do and you feel you can do nothing about it, and you've been to a psychiatrist, and you've had aversion therapy, and you've tried tying metal weights to your private parts... and you still feel those tendancies then... I'm afraid it means that God just wants you to have a rotten life. God's like that... he hates poofs!

I think Wilhem, YOU need to go back and STUDY your bible with an OPEN mind before you make public statements as you just did. You sir are more of a Pharisee than you are a humble, childlike follower of the man who gave his name to the religion you purport to follow. I understand that you are simply regurgitating the narrow interpretation that you have been fed for so many years. But please, please, please ask God to open your mind, your ears and your heart and he will show you how "fearfully and wonderfully" each one of us is made (Psalm 139) ... And that each one of us is "God's masterpiece" (Ephesians 2) Who are we, mere mortals to condemn the work of the Almighty God? So, I say to you, "Love one another as [He, Jesus, God] has loved you" (John 13) For "perfect love drives out all fear" (1 John 4) If you are open to God's voice you will come to learn, hear, see and know that gay people, gay Christians are your brothers and sisters in Christ and where there's knowledge there is no fear only understanding, acceptance and love. May God bless you and give you His peace.

Yours in Christ,
    Will (an openly gay practicing Christian - in a committed same-sex relationship)

'merica

You can give the yanks credit for a lot of things but I have it on good authority that it was the ancient Greeks who invented gaynessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Now he's decided, with the help of a chapter from the Book of Leviticus that killing all homosexuals would rid the world of AIDS.
    This pisses me off no end. I bet that fecker has no problem eating shellfish or clothes of more than one fabric, which are also outlawed by Leviticus. Cherrypicking son of a bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I think Wilhem, YOU need to go back and STUDY your bible with an OPEN mind before you make public statements as you just did. You sir are more of a Pharisee than you are a humble, childlike follower of the man who gave his name to the religion you purport to follow. I understand that you are simply regurgitating the narrow interpretation that you have been fed for so many years. But please, please, please ask God to open your mind, your ears and your heart and he will show you how "fearfully and wonderfully" each one of us is made (Psalm 139) ... And that each one of us is "God's masterpiece" (Ephesians 2) Who are we, mere mortals to condemn the work of the Almighty God? So, I say to you, "Love one another as [He, Jesus, God] has loved you" (John 13) For "perfect love drives out all fear" (1 John 4) If you are open to God's voice you will come to learn, hear, see and know that gay people, gay Christians are your brothers and sisters in Christ and where there's knowledge there is no fear only understanding, acceptance and love. May God bless you and give you His peace.

Yours in Christ,
    Will (an openly gay practicing Christian - in a committed same-sex relationship)
    He was quoting a sketch from "Not The Nine O'Clock News"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Uncle Ruckus

The second I read the title I knew this originated in Murica. Seriously, these people are getting crazier every year. They should change their national motto to Guns N' God...Murica!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

humanji wrote: »
    He was quoting a sketch from "Not The Nine O'Clock News"

Whoooosh

merica
    Murica

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

But then Christmas wont be as gay. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭TrishSimon

Is her part of one of those cults like the FLDS ? or just a community pastor?