Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charlie (RTE1 Charlie Haughey Drama)

• 04-12-2014 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

In January, a drama based on Haughey will air on RTÉ One over three consecutive Sundays (4, 11, 18) at 9.30pm. It will chart his career in politics from 1979-1992.

Aiden Gillen is CJ Haughey and Tom Vaughan-Lawlor is PJ Mara in the long awaited Drama which finally has a trailer and a transmission date

http://www.thejournal.ie/charlie-haughey-rte-drama-1814977-Dec2014/

charlie_day30_226.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

Skid X wrote: »

Aiden Gillen is CJ Haughey and Tom Vaughan-Lawlor is PJ Mara in the long awaited Drama which finally has a trailer and a transmission date

http://www.thejournal.ie/charlie-haughey-rte-drama-1814977-Dec2014/

Here's hoping Aidan Gillen gets killed off in the first one moving the focus on to Tom Vaughan-Lawlor…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Looks absolutely brilliant. Can't wait for it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Looking forward to this one. Roll on January 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I can't wait for this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Ah ffs, I had been looking forward to this... when I thought it was a documentary about the life of Charlie Bird... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

Alright Nidgey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭touts

charlie_day30_226.jpg

My father always said Fianna Fail were a pack of gangsters.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I thought it was bill nighy when I was scrolling by there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,227 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

touts wrote: »
    My father always said Fianna Fail were a pack of gangsters.....

Aren't all Governments :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Aren't all Governments :p

Not the Scandinavian ones, though. :o:o:o;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Really looking forward to this series - I wonder how far RTÉ will go? (possible legal ramifications??) - if they have the balls to they could make this absolutely epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^

i reckon it'll be a tame affair

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

irishfeen wrote: »
    Really looking forward to this series - I wonder how far RTÉ will go? (possible legal ramifications??) - if they have the balls to they could make this absolutely epic.

I heard on the radio the other day that there won't be anything in the show thats not already well known. So I would say it will all be safe enough. Still looking forward to it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I cannot wait to see this drama either. Roll on January 4th.

However when I was trying to see the trailer for Charlie on my TV about half an hour ago, it cut off half way through. Feckers RTE.

First time seeing it and all. FFS :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Episode 1 of Charlie is on tonight on RTE1 (9.30pm-10.55pm)

Repeated Saturday RTE1 11pm

Episode 1 of Charlie is on tonight on RTE1 (9.30pm-10.55pm)

Repeated Saturday RTE1 11pm

See you tonight 9.30 Skiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Does any know the music that is used in the trailer??

I think they've robbed it from The Knick so I'm assuming it's Cliff Martinez but can't confirm it despite several minutes of half arsed googling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,084 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Looking forward to this myself, hopefully it will live up to the hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

So after a Christmas of TV nothingness, I'm left with Charlie, Foyle's War and Last Tango in Halifax all on at the same time.
    This is going to involve me getting drunk and confused ...I know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I think history will be kinder to Charlie than this drama.

I wasn't to impressed with the clips on the LLS, I hope it's not hyped up and fails to deliver...

It only has to show him running guns, accepting bribes, cheating his best mate out of money and being an egotist. CJH himself did not set a very high standard. Any accurate portrayal of him will be of a cheap man in an expensive suit.

***sighs***

exactly what I was expecting....

I was hoping for a political insight into the '70's.....

***sighs***

exactly what I was expecting....

I was hoping for a political insight into the '70's.....

That would have to cover Jack Lynch, Cosgrave etc. Both sides of the "Troubles". A crippled economy. Charlie spent most of the 1970s travelling along the backroads of Ireland rebuilding his career after the arms trial. He was a powerful entity in the 60s and early 70s. He doesn't re-emerge until 1979 or thereabouts. And well...the rest is the 1980s. So is this show.

That would have to cover Jack Lynch, Cosgrave etc. Both sides of the "Troubles". A crippled economy. Charlie spent most of the 1970s travelling along the backroads of Ireland rebuilding his career after the arms trial. He was a powerful entity in the 60s and early 70s. He doesn't re-emerge until 1979 or thereabouts.

I'd rather watch the drama than comment before it starts...

What was the whole gun running thing about?

Easier to let wikipedia do the talking...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arms_Crisis

Politics was fun back then.

It may have been for you FV but it wasn't in our house. We housed people who were put out of their houses in the North by the fact they were Catholics. Many people passed through our doors, week in, months out...fun was not a word we would have used lightly.

Lets see how this is dealt with by RTE....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

I think you're right about history being kind to him. As for this, its wait and see.
    It will be interesting to see how people who didn't live in the times see him as a result of this, and how they'll compare him to Kenny.

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Aside from the obvious irony, it would have been interesting if Haughey had been in charge during the Celtic Tiger times and if he would have had the foresight to make a similar "we are living way beyond our means" speech... Instead of attempting to be all things to all people like Bertie ...

I'm looking forward to this...

I think you're right about history being kind to him. As for this, its wait and see.
    It will be interesting to see how people who didn't live in the times see him as a result of this, and how they'll compare him to Kenny.

I don't think that could ever be a comparison - words fail....there are no words to compare.....

Always remember Charlie sent Fionnuala on her merry way - whom he groomed - to Enda....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Jesus, this is getting a piece on the 9 o'clock news?

A drama based on real events??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Gillen as Haughey, not too hopeful, he's such a crap actor.

I was not to impressed BM on the LLS....he was detached and the clips were unimpressive for such an interesting time in Irish politics....

I got the impression he hadn't really got the "Charlie" factor.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

I don't think that could ever be a comparison - words fail....there are no words to compare.....

Always remember Charlie sent Fionnuala on her merry way - whom he groomed - to Enda....;)

Yeah, probably like comparing George Best with someone who plays for Accrington Stanley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,876 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm delighted to hear I'm not the only one who thinks this!

The only thing I've seen him in was Love/Hate, and I thought he was awful! The whole world seemed to be falling at his feet, though, based on The Wire and GoT (have I got those right? never saw either of 'em).

All I could think of was the emperor and his new clothes.......

Yeah, probably like comparing George Best with someone who plays for Accrington Stanley.

:D:D:D

I get the drift but I'm sure AS are great in their own way!......:pac::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

He's better in other stuff. Unfair to judge him off one show.
    HeidiHeidi wrote: »

The only thing I've seen him in was Love/Hate, and I thought he was awful! The whole world seemed to be falling at his feet, though, based on The Wire and GoT (have I got those right? never saw either of 'em).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

So hard to make it as an actor, hard to understand how guys with so little talent can make it when presumably there are lots of talented guys that dont make it. I still haven't seen the wire, despite having the box set for a few years, but he was truly cardboard (not as good as wooden) in Love/Hate. It was almost like he was playing a spoof part of a gangster at times, woeful stuff, hard to understand how people rate him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 423 ✭✭The Bould Rabbit

Right here we go - Any chance we can knock all Love Hate references on the head now and treat this drama as it is?

Something completely different.

Just a suggestion like.

Was Charlie's Ma from Norn Iron???!!!

Never knew that.

3 minutes in.....

Not great....

I can talk more like CJ than this....

Is this supposed to be O'Meara???.....

Ah stop the lights........

3 minutes in.....

Not great....

I can talk more like CJ than this....

I think Charlie is good.

O'Meara is just too like Nidge in a disguise imo....too soon after love/Hate for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 423 ✭✭The Bould Rabbit

amdublin wrote: »
    Was Charlie's Ma from Norn Iron???!!!

Never knew that.

Yep. Londonderreh.

Charlie's accent is kind of "rural"

where is he from?

And this is supposed to be "herself".....

***obligatory holding of pints here***

Charlie's accent is kind of "rural"

where is he from?

Donneycarney!

Yep. Londonderreh.

Ya lurn samthin' new avry day Rabbit!