Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beware 320d SE 11 Donedeal clocker

• 29-11-2014 1:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭

Friend of mine was interested, done a HPI, half the miles are gone.

And the guy selling it has all the paperwork for it. It looks like hes well prepared for this one. All the papers and service history are self made probably..

watch out guys:eek:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2011-bmw-320d-edition/8201385

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's amazing how many people don't do a €20 or less check on something costing them €10 plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Report it. They'll remove the ad if you have a report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

The other car he has for sale is an A4 with photo taken outside audi main dealer with display plate on it as if it was driven off forecourt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

.....and he's only asking €1 for it. Might try him with a cheeky .65c offer :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

mickdw wrote: »
    The other car he has for sale is an A4 with photo taken outside audi main dealer with display plate on it as if it was driven off forecourt.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/carparts-for-sale/audi-a4-2-0tdi-automatic/8197406

Edit
    Very cheeky all right,. :D
    But reading the ad again, its in car parts so I presume he is breaking it and the pic was lifted from somewhere else. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Xpro

Donedeal don't care one bit..

He did report and they say, report it to the gardai.. As if they will care:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

K.Flyer wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/carparts-for-sale/audi-a4-2-0tdi-automatic/8197406

Very cheeky all right, but look at all the extras it comes with. ... :D

Seems a right bargain. I'd buy it for the doors alone :)

Xpro wrote: »
    Donedeal don't care one bit..

He did report and they say, report it to the gardai.. As if they will care:rolleyes:

The ads gone now anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

is this it? same phone number as the Audi ad above

http://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/3-series/2011-bmw-3-series-for-sale/6918423

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

BMJD wrote: »

Recorded mileage on that car:

2a7c4mg.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭brianwalshcork

That's the one

Thats the one. over 50k taken off the clock and he says he has a cartel report.lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

lets ask him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Reckon it was him or the person before it went to the boat?

He says he has it over 3 weeks now, yet the last recording is on the 11 of this month in UK? unless he lived in UK, but I doubt.

Plus he has service book and cartell report. ??

How come when my friend done cartell it showed mileage discrepancy, yet his report is clean:confused:

It came out of auction in UK, and I doubt they clocked it. It happened over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Of course his cartel report is going to conform with what he is saying. It was probably edited. It is also possible that the report is from another similar car and the reg on the report was changed to match the car for sale.

BMW store the mileage in 3 places, the odometer, the key and the car's ECU. Odometer and key are not difficult to change, the ECU on the other hand is a lot harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭fm

gone now

Gone off adverts too now?

Oh well, got a screen shot
    0BXoyh.png

LP11HNO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 wilies287

i am a commercial dealer and from time to time i have taken in trade ins off cars and i allways use cartell contact car-tell give them the reg on the 25 that car came up no discrepancy i can only go on the information i am given i have bmw service history and cartell if they are false well that means i lost money if there not well then you have ruined the sale off my car sorry for any inconvenience there was no harm intended regards will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 wilies287

i am a commercial dealer and from time to time i have taken in trade ins off cars and i allways use cartell contact car-tell give them the reg on the 25 that car came up no discrepancy i can only go on the information i am given i have bmw service history and cartell if they are false well that means i lost money if there not well then you have ruined the sale off my car sorry for any inconvenience there was no harm intended regards will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Stop clocking

wilies287 wrote: »

I feel very sorry for you getting caught this way ...... Where did you get the BMW from ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Can have some peculiar results caused by Miles/KM conversions where someone's either noted it wrong, or gotten the units confused.

I feel very sorry for you getting caught this way ...... Where did you get the BMW from ???

I'm just wondering how you got caught twice in a row !!!
    Your lovely 2010 a3 diesel magically lost 50000 miles when it was swimming across from the uk. ....
    I would really love to hear your genuine reply but I know i won't get it !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT8Ap3mEfTQJU9l9kKYF9dFpJqATKqCqGfCajOMjbRg7joGmxK_gQ

Would you like the opportunity to defend yourself before I post my comments???

I am 100000% sure he won't :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Would you like the opportunity to defend yourself before I post my comments???

I am 100000% sure he won't :-)

New account and 4 posts. Someone isn't feeling brave enough to post under their regular username me thinks.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Come on man, spill the beans.

Unfortunately you are correct. If you take the trouble to look up the history on his adverts adds you will see what type of very unlucky ( or dangerous) person you are dealing with ...........
    I will say no more tonight but if nothing new or interesting said by Monday I will post the lot !!!
    I guarantee you will not hear from the Longford man unless it is pure ****:-)))
    Regards
    Stop clocking

You are a commercial dealer.? What cartel do you use? Your own?

How come now all of sudden cartel shows mileage discrepancy?
    Explain please?
    Hopefully someone from cartel on here will confirm if the car was checked on 25th and the mileage was correct at the time.

So easy traceable these days, bca, manheim etc.

This Should be reported to Gardai and Revenue.

Waiting on innocent victim to buy your story, cartel,service history,etc..

The price alone gives it away. They cannot be got at that price with those miles on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Can we not have a witch hunt, please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Dartz wrote: »
    Can we not have a witch hunt, please?

Time the garda got off their ass and start prosecuting clockers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

visual wrote: »
    Time the garda got off their ass and start prosecuting clockers

Oh great, Garda digs.

Its time people started reporting them too, instead of just thinking "sure they won't be interested"

Hi Will, just curious - why do you advertise the cars without VRT?
    Does the buyer register the car and pay the VRT themselves?

Hi Will
    Still waiting to hear how you got so unlucky to have 2 cars in a row with major mileage discrepancys ....
    Perhaps we could help you catch the culprit if you shared some more info with us regarding where the cars were bought from .....
    My initial investigation just using the registration numbers points to a large very well known and very reputable UK auction house and the cars had the higher mileage on them when they were sold ....
    I hope this might be of some help
    Regards
    Stop clocking

Anyone able to do a mileage check on the other cars in his adverts.ie history?

mickdw wrote: »
    Anyone able to do a mileage check on the other cars in his adverts.ie history?
    I have done one on his 2010 a3 and its missing 50000 miles.
    Should be able to check any others once I have the reg and the displayed mileage!
    Stop clocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

No reg number displayed in the add that I can see ?

All his ads are there on adverts.
    from adverts -
    RJ59UWV
    2010 PASSAT with 62k miles and sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

Jerry, Jerry, Jerry...........Steveeeeee

Wow. That passat had 158000 miles on it when it left uk in April /may 2014.
    Its now 10d125897 and being used as a taxi ......
    I would love the poor buyer to get a copy of the history report. As I'm a new user I can't post a photo of the mileage report.

Poor Will must be the unluckiest car seller in Ireland because all the cars that we have checked sofar have lost an awful lot of mileage coming from the uk to lovely Longford ......

Somehow I don't think he will come back on boards to defend himself but I would love if he did.
    Regards
    Stop clocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,074 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

I would love the poor buyer to get a copy of the history report. As I'm a new user I can't post a photo of the mileage report.

Poor Will must be the unluckiest car seller in Ireland because all the cars that we have checked sofar have lost an awful lot of mileage coming from the uk to lovely Longford ......

Somehow I don't think he will come back on boards to defend himself but I would love if he did.
    Regards
    Stop clocking

i wonder does the poor taxi man know, ive typed the reg into the taxi driver check app to see if there was any contact details but it only gives his name
    Edit: ive found him on fb and am going to send him a link to this information

That should be very interesting!
    I wonder did the poor guy do any sort of check on it prior to parting with his cash.

I think we need Will back on here ASAP to explain what's been going on because he doesn't seem to have much luck with his choice of stock :-)
    Edit : he is having plenty of luck but not sure about the new owners ....

Regards
    Stop clocking

hopefully he sees the link i sent him to here, and he might try get in touch with you for that report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

Very good work lads, interesting to see how this pans out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

This thread has me on the edge of my seat!! It's riveting.. :)

still no sign of the taxi driver on facebook yet

The car is back on done deal being sold by pauric this time !!!!
    Must be Wills brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Damien360

The car is back on done deal being sold by pauric this time !!!!
    Must be Wills brother

But it is in cavan now http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-320d-2011/8151832