Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 5 | Mid-Season Finale | Coda [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• 29-11-2014 12:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭

The Walking Dead - Season 5

Mid-Season Finale - Episode 8 - Coda

Airdate - November 30th on AMC at 9/8c | December 1st on FOX UK at 9pm

Rules and morals have been tossed aside by new enemies. Rick will try to find a peaceful agreement, but they might prefer violence.

The Walking Dead will return on February 8th 2015 for the second half of Season 5

the-walking-dead-episode-508-michonne-gurira-main-590.jpg

How did you rate this episode? 145 votes

0%
    6%
    LFCFanThe BullLone StoneMenaAlso Starring LeVar BurtonPotential-MonkePossedionDublinArnieFURET 9 votes
    18%
    bennycsafetyboyGBXDubh Geannaingoose06Baby4Diddler82ardinnwinston82gavmcg92Iang87dirtydennippsbigneacyMJ23n0brain3rCYHSNMr BlobbyLionbackerfrenchmartini 27 votes
    30%
    Ping Chow ChiSimiDrag00n79geeceeGreen_MartianChorus_suckMadPatrickLongford LeaderRob30888NUTZZdcliffordMr VelonorabattieBazBoxwillowthewispTeyla EmmaganobriendjDiabhal BeagZemuppetZero-Cool 44 votes
    22%
    La_GordyBacchussparkthatbledDVD-Lots[Deleted User]5starpooljohnmolloy554frashGran Hermanoprincemuzzyrobby^5banteecharlietheminxxDylanJMShane St.rednogginSudden Valleylanger91Lucan BohsCork boy 55 32 votes
    11%
    storkerwandatowellnok2008navmanSteelyDanJalapenokeithc83thegreengoblinEssientimetogoDuckworth_Luasari gold24DaMorganatorAlonso77LiamaloneFlippyfloppyHackery 16 votes
    5%
    coLdave1982red daveHank ScorpioriceroThe Gibzillamartomcgshazzerman 8 votes
    3%
    pHKettle316mahamageehadJofspringbiggebruv 5 votes
    2%
    grizzlyDuggy747viztopia 3 votes
    0%
    LandoCalrissian 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

F*ck this mid-season finale business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Ewwwwww, Bob's maggoty leg!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Coda is a term used in music in a number of different senses, primarily to designate a passage that brings a piece (or a movement) to an end.

Charles Burkhart suggests that the reason codas are common, even necessary, is that, in the climax of the main body of a piece, a "particularly effortful passage", often an expanded phrase, is often created by "working an idea through to its structural conclusions" and that, after all this momentum is created, a coda is required to "look back" on the main body, allow listeners to "take it all in", and "create a sense of balance.

In music notation, the coda symbol, which resembles a set of crosshairs

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coda_%28music%29

Carol + beth are gone

Coda = end of music
    beths a singer and carols a type of song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

A Neurotic wrote: »
    F*ck this mid-season finale business.

Well it's for a valid reason(s) at least. A show like The Walking Dead has an extremely high budget per episode, unlike shows that air 20+ episodes in a row, who spend a fraction of TWD per episode. It's not financially viable for TWD (or Game Of Thrones) to the air the season in one run.

Also taking a mid season break creates demand and hype, that helps to increase viewing numbers when the show returns, which in turn means more money being pumped into the series.

I actually don't mind the break too much, if they leave on a decent cliffhanger I can handle it...and it's not too long to February...is it? :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

NUTZZ wrote: »
    Well it's for a valid reason(s) at least. A show like The Walking Dead has an extremely high budget per episode, unlike shows that air 20+ episodes in a row, who spend a fraction of TWD per episode. It's not financially viable for TWD (or Game Of Thrones) to the air the season in one run.

Also taking a mid season break creates demand and hype, that helps to increase viewing numbers when the show returns, which in turn means more money being pumped into the series.

I actually don't mind the break too much, if they leave on a decent cliffhanger I can handle it...and it's not too long to February...is it? :pac:

Whatever about the rest of this, GoT does air in one run as it only has 10 episodes (well aside from the 1 week break they take to avoid airing on Memorial weekend I think).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Who do we think bites it tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

5starpool wrote: »
    Whatever about the rest of this, GoT does air in one run as it only has 10 episodes (well aside from the 1 week break they take to avoid airing on Memorial weekend I think).

I crossed wires when inserting the GOT example, I meant that's why there are only 10 episodes per season as it would be almost impossible for them to do a straight run higher than that with the budget involved per episode.

Who do we think bites it tonight?

Tyreese is my guess, although I think there is a lot of speculation that it'll be Carol. Sasha deserves it based on last week though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Ffs, couldn't sleep so picked up my phone, clicked on facebook and was greeted with a nice big spoiler from the official twd page :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭StaticAge11

Ffs, couldn't sleep so picked up my phone, clicked on facebook and was greeted with a nice big spoiler from the official twd page :-(

You and me both mate. Seriously the official page shouldn't be doing that. Really screws over international fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

3/10 worst episode of this season. Too many narrative dead ends and missed opportunities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

Wow that was genuinely soooooo surprisingly poor!! :eek:

For me the episode just never gathered any speed and similar to the way I felt about the last episode I once again found myself thinking that there is only so long left in the episode surely something big is about to happen :confused:

I mean it started well in the manner in which
    Rick despatched the cop
    but it was just such an anti-climax as a mid season finale

Really feel like I have been ripped off and it has certainly not left me with a load of questions/reasons to be looking forward to the February restart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

i hope everyone stuck around to watch the after credits scene :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

The writing for this episode was very poor I thought, people doing stupid things for no reason.The episode was very slow, I saw the spoiler and just knew what was going to happen. Also Maggie's reaction was funny considering how little she talks about Beth.

I know its the finale for most of the story lines but an urban shootout between the two groups was what was needed. The show is caught in the middle of trying to be real versus trying to be a comic book. I find the show very weak when it's trying to be real, too many inconsistencies and boring, it's much better when it's over the top comic style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Also Maggie's reaction was funny considering how little she talks about Beth.

Completely agree with you here, pretty sure she hasn't mentioned Beth all bloody season, thought it was funny myself when she broke down.

Really thought when Tyreese and Sasha were talking on the roof one of them would get their heads blown off, pity Sasha didn't catch a bullet!

Bit silly of Beth to stab Dawn like that, putting everyone else's life at risk but whatever, she wasn't the smartest!

Still liking ruthless Rick with his coldness at the beginning of the episode.

An alright episode, nothing spectacular really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

Devestated Beth's gone.I'm alone in this but she was one of my favourite characters, even though who the hells stabs someone when youre getting away anyway.

I'm cranky that the official walking dead has a spoiler photo up on facebook this morning only a few hours after its american screening.

Decent episode I thought although not really what we've come to expect from mid season finale episodes. I'm not terribly upset to see Beth die, although once you could see the glee on Maggie's face at the prospect of seeing her not talked about sister you knew her time was likely up. Carol was never going to be the one to die as she wouldn't go out while unconscious or barely conscious and not really able to walk. Did Beth think she was going to stab yer wan and then be on her merry way? Daft.

I've a reasonable idea what's going to happen next (as I'm a comic reader) but I'm interested to see hoe they'll go about it or if they take any more tangents along the way (such as this hospital/Beth tangent).

After 4.5 seasons they are essentially back where they started, i.e. Atlanta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I remember when Shane Dale Hershel died etc and I genuinely felt bad for the character, didn't feel a thing when Beth died, or when Andrea died. Nor did I when Bob died! I wouldn't care if any of the survivors died except for Rick, Michonne, Carl, Carol and Daryl. Older likeable characters such as Maggie and Glenn have just gotten annoying at this stage mainly due to be writing and no character development, where as we get some cringe inducing scenes every episode this season between Sasha and Tyreese. ( Cue Sasha telling Tyreese she can't be the same as before and Tyreese lip quivering, ah bless. )

I know it needs to follow the comics somewhat, but when the group was smaller and tighter you could feel a sense of fight for them, now its so big and mundane you'd wish half of them would be killed off.

The mid season finale was ok, but the weakest yet imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

gungun wrote: »
    Bit silly of Beth to stab Dawn like that, putting everyone else's life at risk but whatever, she wasn't the smartest!
    She knew that the others wouldn't continue the fight. Remember Dawn's speech about how people have to respect you or they won't have your back when you need it? Dawn f*cked up by insisting that Noah stayed. The other's would've been happy to let him go and they were probably delighted that Dawn's dead now.

The priest needs to die. He's a liability and is going to get someone killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

Is it really that hard to believe that Maggie was in denial about Beth, she knows she was kindnapped by a group of men and would be thinking all sorts and mostly that she kinda hoped she was dead instead of thier slave to do what they want with. And hoping your sister is dead is not something most people talk about. I also thought she alluded to something about her on the bus before the crash.

Overall the episode was pretty bad but thought the last 15 minutes were decent not sure if im noticing more faults cause of this thread or the fact I rewatched season 1 this week (worth it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Nice to see I'm not the only one who got fecked over by the official fb page this morning!

I know, it was the FIRST thing on my newsfeed this morning, I couldn't avoid seeing it, and wasn't expecting such a blatant spoiler.....I know people say in the comments "FFS you should expect spoilers, don't get butthurt!!", I still think it's bad form from the official WD page. So many followers won't see it until tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

wow I'm just a big massive softy. Was all teary-eyed there at the end. Not that I'm overly sad to see Beth going, but I feel like seeing anyone leave the show is upsetting. Especially someone from season 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

ricero wrote: »
    i hope everyone stuck around to watch the after credits scene :D

I got the latest episodes from my usual cousins and it didn't have the after credits scene - can you describe it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭naughto

Was there any thing after the credits does any one no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Also got fëcked over by the Facebook page, really impacted my enjoyment of the show because surprise was really the only thing that scene had going for it.

I agree with the other posters who said it was weak for a midseason finale. Again though I think the spoilers on Facebook did ruin it for me. Also thought Maggie was a little over the top but then again I suppose you could argue that she had just got her hopes up and got them dashed, and that was on top of the recent disappointment from the not-scientist. Not really sure what Beth was attempting to do with the stabbing, she stabbed her in the shoulder, she could have at least gone for the jugular! Silly way for Beth to die.

I also saw the last piece after the credits. Nothing to lose sleep over. We see Morgan again and he's at the church. He lights a candle and looks like he's praying then he starts laughing (presumably at the ridiculousness of it all). Then he finds the map that he gave Rick and realises Rick is still alive. That's it!

For anyone who doesn't remember who Morgan is he's the black guy with the kid from season 1 that Rick stayed with after he left the hospital. He popped up again as a crazy person in Season 3 after his son died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

wait, why did beth stab her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

wait, why did beth stab her

I was guessing the stupidest murder attempt ever? Or else a little parting present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

naughto wrote: »

Found this on the after credits scene
    The after-credits scene for “Coda” showed Morgan closing in on Gabriel’s church—long abandoned, walker bodies littered throughout—and making a small offering at the altar: a bullet, a rabbit’s tail, and a Goo Goo cluster. He stops after a second, looks around him and laughs, apparently realizing the absurdity of the endeavor. But just as he’s about to leave, he spots Abraham’s old map. Written on the back is the sergeant’s apology to Rick: “Sorry I was an asshole. Come to Washington. The new world’s gonna need Rick Grimes.” Morgan’s face lights up at the mention of his old friend’s name. If he wasn’t looking for Rick before, he will be now—and that’s a guarantee that at least one golden episode is ahead of us.

wait, why did beth stab her?
    To save Noah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Shame, I liked Beth. I'd rather her in it than Noah or the priest. She's hot at least which can help distract some of the stupidity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

naughto wrote: »

My stance against facebook has been justified once again! I guess people here will know now not to follow that official page anymore.

Jaysis, Rick dispatched that cop (Bob) pretty quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,495 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Mine was doubly ruined one by the stupid official page, as others said fair enough if its spoiled in the comments but a big picture and massive letters RIP Beth ya **** you Walking Dead Facebook page, and it was in my newsfeed , And another ****ing eejit spoiled you're ones death aswell , Ruined the entire thing for me, and i liked the episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

5starpool wrote: »
    My stance against facebook has been justified once again! I guess people here will know now not to follow that official page anymore.

Got me too. I've unliked/unfollwed it. Fu$kers.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,833 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Suddenly glad I'm not a big facebook user or I may have been subscribed to their page.

When Michonne told Maggie Beth was alive I was just thinking Maggie was a great actress as she was clearly thinking "Who? Am I meant to know her? Michonne seems to think that's good news so I'd better act like I'm really happy!"
    And later "That must be the one she was on about and she's dead now, so I'd better act upset or people will wonder why I'm not"

As long as after all this time of not caring about Beth, that Maggie doesn't suddenly become withdrawn or annoying in another way. We already have a useless character in the priest.

Found Beth's death pointless. Kinda seen it coming though I was also thinking they wouldn't do it after building her return up so much.

Did they seriously tease a character death for the episode beforehand?

When the priest found Bob's leg I just thought "That's a waste of a perfectly good piece of Bob" Though I guess it was after they were told he was infected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

so dawn took noah because she had to gain control, beth tried to do the same thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Although the episode was good, with some great scenes from Rick, I think the season is slightly losing direction. They have a heap of characters that are now in the same place with no real plan.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Was sad to see Beth go just as she was actually gaining a bit of a spine and becoming an interesting character.

Have enjoyed recent episodes though. Happy its getting better as time passes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Noo Beth. Nooo! :(

Don't understand it. Can't figure out what she was trying to achieve other than murder-suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I don't watch the Talking dead but I heard that the actress who plays Beth was interviewed on it and got really upset and that it was really awkward viewing. I would think that actors on a zombie show would kinda expect to die at some stage. Anyway I hope the death doesn't result in Daryll becoming a mopey git for the rest of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

The show is always well acted if nothing else. I was really sad to see Christine Woods go as she did a great job as Dawn. Her final moments of sheer confusion and genuine devastation at shooting Beth was brilliant, made even more heart breaking by her look of absolute fear and pleading as Daryl bared in on her.

I also have to give credit to Emily Kinney as Beth. She's taken a lot of grief but I thought she gave a great performance this season, giving Beth a combination of hardness yet also a fatalistic despondency. I don't think she was too bothered by making it out alive once she decided to stab Dawn, I think she just wanted to tear down Dawn's delusion of control and order over everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭The Gibzilla

Found this episode very meh. This was largely due to me being one of AMC's 'The Walking Spoiled' as I saw the FB post this morning so Beth's death had no impact on me.

I found this half of a season fizzled out after such a great start. I think the show could've done with a cull of characters in that episode as the group is far too large now. Luckily no one else from the hospital left with Rick's crew.

I'm looking forward to Morgan featuring more in the second half of the series. His performance in the episode "Clear" is fantastic. Top actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Michonne: "Beths alive."

Maggie: "Beth who?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

I don't think she was too bothered by making it out alive once she decided to stab Dawn

I think she lost interest in making it out alive before then. I'd been half expecting her to jump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

I was utterly underwhelmed by that episode. What a stupid way for Beth to go out, it just seemed pointless. There was very little drama among all of that. Usually when a main character dies there's a fair bit of tension but this all just seemed very odd.

It never got going until the half hour mark. I found myself switching off at the Beth and Dawn chats, they went on too long.

I'm a huge fan of the show but I'd seriously question the merits of this hospital storyline. I just don't think it was all that interesting. Having started off with an incredible episode I just think this series went very flat after that. Did anyone really care about this Dawn character and what made her insane? Did Beth have to die to prove some kind of point about Dawn? To me it's one of the weakest stories so far in the show.

I'm obviously curious to see what they do now but there's no contest between last season's mid-series finale and this one.

And as for the AMC spoiler...what do people expect?! Yes, it would have pissed me off too but that's exactly the reason I avoided Facebook and Twitter until I'd seen the episode. It wasn't that difficult not logging in for 12 hours or so. Anyway, roll on February...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

I picked a good week to deactivate my facebook account :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭McSasquatch II

AMC actually spoiled it for Americans in different time zones, so quick were they to post what had gone down. Muppets.

Anyway, thought it was an above average episode let down by the ridiculousness of Beth's death. Was genuinely shocked when she was shot, but the scissors thing was beyond dumb. Sad to see her go actually - she had grown on me the past few episodes.

Oh and the Terminus folk barely touched Bob's leg. Don't they know there are starving children in Africa?