Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gone back to using IE9 because FF is eating all my ram

• 28-11-2014 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭

Haven't use IE for probably a decade, not since the advent of Fire Fox. Lately, though FF has been eating up all my ram, especially if I play embedded videos.

And it's not too bad... I cant use Chrome because as soon as I click it crashes.

Any one else gone back to IE? Or am I now one step close to living on a leper colony? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I generally only use FireFox. Chrome was good for a while and then it just went to ****.
    IE I don't bother with either cause it ain't 1999 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I have so many tabs open that I will not count them on FF.

Yes it does use a lot of RAM, when it gets to over 1.2GB, I usually go to windows task manager and 'end process', then re-open at a much lower RAM rate.
    I added more RAM to my PC.

Chrome is the only way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

bear1 wrote: »
    I generally only use FireFox. Chrome was good for a while and then it just went to ****.
    IE I don't bother with either cause it ain't 1999 :p

How do you find the latest FF and ram? I only have 4GB on my vista pc ( :o ) and it eats it all up fairly quickly and then crashes. Even faster if I'm playing embedded videos. Funnily enough it doesn't do it if I play the videos through you tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I read the thread title as Fianna fail is eating my ram.

I use chrome and IE. I used to use opera too. Firefox is just a horrible resource hogger.

For some reason Chrome just crashes instantly on my pc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I've done the exact same thing this week, since the last update Firefox has been using 8gb to 12gb of ram even when it has just been opened and is only on the homepage. I've completely reset it and its still the same it just uses all the possible available RAM.

I wouldn't use chrome, I dislike how much they have integrated everything and your web browsing history being linked to your email account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

According to tech radar, Chrome is by far the best for HTML5 applications, but IE11 is the fastest for loading web pages.

IE11 is a respectable browser but it's always a good idea to have several browsers installed because some websites don't work very well with certain browsers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

GarIT wrote: »
    I've done the exact same thing this week, since the last update Firefox has been using 8gb to 12gb of ram even when it has just been opened and is only on the homepage. I've completely reset it and its still the same it just uses all the possible available RAM.

I wouldn't use chrome, I dislike how much they have integrated everything and your web browsing history being linked to your email account.

12GB? Something is seriously wrong there, just reinstall it. Mine takes 240MB on the home page, not that I use Firefox much (at home).

As for Chrome, you are aware you don't need to do anything of that? Just sign out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Wha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

12GB? Something is seriously wrong there, just reinstall it. Mine takes 240MB on the home page, not that I use Firefox much (at home).

As for Chrome, you are aware you don't need to do anything of that? Just sign out.

I've done that, cleaned everything with Ccleaner, made sure every file related to Firefox was deleted but it is the same after its installed again. As soon as I open Firefox I get a popup from windows saying that I need to close Firefox to reduce memory usage. If I choose to keep it open RAM usage stays at 100% before the latest update it used to slowly creep up to 100% over time now it just shoots up.

I also don't really trust Mozilla, Firefox has been known to have ram issues for probably 10 years now, I don't like the whole open source thing, it removes all accountability.

I just find it easier to avoid chrome than fight against it.

I've actually found IE to be much faster than FF but I miss my add ons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

FF 33.1 using around 800MB here with 5/6 tabs open and a fair amount of extensions and addons.

No issues. Love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Internet Explorer couldn't even drag me back with their anime magical girl mascot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Just download more RAM. Be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Opera is for those who travel light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

mad muffin wrote: »
    How do you find the latest FF and ram? I only have 4GB on my vista pc ( :o ) and it eats it all up fairly quickly and then crashes. Even faster if I'm playing embedded videos. Funnily enough it doesn't do it if I play the videos through you tube.

I find it good, only thing I've noticed is that youtube gets fecked up and starts skipping videos even though I'm not asking it to.
    RAM wise I've 16GB I believe, would need to double check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

IE is actually a pretty decent browser these days, just struggling to recover from the reputation it got for being crap for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

Also are they not on like IE 11 or 12 now? Why are you using 9?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Foxes don't usually go for rams, get on to the authorities, it might be rabid or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Grayson wrote: »
    Fianna fail is eating my ram.

Fine Gael ate my hamster :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I'd put a vote in for Iron, same as Chrome but doesn't call home to mammy Google. There's also a portable version. http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron_download.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Yogosan

I use:
    -Firefox
    -Chrome
    -The Library
    -Intenet Explorer

In that order.

Joking aside, my laptop only has 3GB of RAM and Firefox runs very smoothly. Even with 10 tabs worth of porn videos open. Sounds like Mozilla need to sort out some issues... And myself too I guess!

I also have Adblock and Ghostery running simultaneously in the background and sometimes have Autodesk Inventor and WMP open while using Firefox. Perhaps it's just down to incredible engineering by the South Koreans, because my laptop is nearly 5 years old too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

SRWare Iron is the browser to go for.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SRWare_Iron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

A fox ate a ram and someone wrote an opera about it?

Karl Stein wrote: »
    A fox ate a ram and someone wrote an opera about it?

There was an explorer in there somewhere too.
    Maybe he wrote it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭b757

For some reason Chrome just crashes instantly on my pc.

Same happened me last week. Done this to get it sorted, infact it was the second time i had to do it in about a year.

Win 7/8:
    - Right Click Start Menu
    - Run
    - Enter "Regedit" and Click OK
    - Go to "HKEY_CURRENT_USER"
    - Software
    - Delete "Google" File

Close and restart computer, then install Chrome again. Works perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It would be nice if these things allocated themselves a sensible buffer-size on startup based on the amount of core memory installed, which could of course be overridden by the optimistic, adventurous user. The approach-du-jour of glomming all the memory you want, and more, and letting Windows sort it out is, shall we say, courageous. :pac:

Must look into the recommendations here. Can I install the latest IE on Vista?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Buy a mac.

Safari.

Nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Its Only Ray Parlour

b757 wrote: »
    Same happened me last week. Done this to get it sorted, infact it was the second time i had to do it in about a year.

Win 7/8:
    - Right Click Start Menu
    - Run
    - Enter "Regedit" and Click OK
    - Go to "HKEY_CURRENT_USER"
    - Software
    - Delete "Google" File

Close and restart computer, then install Chrome again. Works perfectly.

I had to remove it that way because I couldn't get the latest version of Chrome. I tired to uninstall it via control panel but it doesn't completely remove it.

Does anyone know how long it would take for PC World or some other place to upgrade the RAM on a PC and laptop?

Buy a mac.

Safari.

Nuff said.

Yes that is my ultimate goal. The accountant insists the current 7 year old Vista PC die beforehand. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Its Only Ray Parlour

Buy a mac.

Safari.

Nuff said.

Safari is shíte. Opera is the fastest browser out there, but Firefox is the most convenient to use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

So there was an explorer who went on a safari and saw a fox eating a ram and wrote an opera about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Does anyone know how long it would take for PC World or some other place to upgrade the RAM on a PC and laptop?

It should take about 5 minutes but they'd probably make a song and dance of it to make it seem more difficult than it is.

I've got about 30 tabs open in firefox normally and it uses 500-600 mb so I don't know why some of you are getting runaway ram usage. DNR FF I guess and try again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Buy a mac.

Safari.

Nuff said.

Safari is dire. So so poor compared to FF and Chrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭TopOfTheHill

Running Firefox on Linux machine - thought that was the way to go when moving away from XP, but now Firefox just keeps crashing, time to move on again.

So there was an explorer who went on a safari and saw a fox eating a ram and wrote an opera about it?

Sure with that backround story, it practically wrote itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Chrome crashes quite often for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Buy a mac.

Safari.

Nuff said.

The only time I'll be going on 'Safari' is when they eventually allow us to hunt Apple ifans.

Any day now...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Opera for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I think he threw a NET over it but it eSCAPEd.

*shoots self in face*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

It should take about 5 minutes but they'd probably make a song and dance of it to make it seem more difficult than it is.

I've got about 30 tabs open in firefox normally and it uses 500-600 mb so I don't know why some of you are getting runaway ram usage. DNR FF I guess and try again.

Maybe this is just me - but I wouldn't trust PC World with a pad of paper; much less a laptop or computer. I've only been inside a PC World once, so maybe this isn't representative of what it is usually like; but I overhead some salesman trying to sell an old lady some 'protection plan' that would let them bring in the laptop once per year and they'd 'optimize it'.

He went on about how, without maintenance, CPUs would start to slow down and how they needed to be maintained and cleaned....like a car.

Utter nonsense.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I've got some lynxs that claim it was a navigator who konquered his fears to go seamonkeys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Slot Machine

No love for Lynx?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Chucken wrote: »
    There was an explorer in there somewhere too.
    Maybe he wrote it?

Was the explorer driving a car with chrome wheels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

lulu1 wrote: »
    Was the explorer driving a car with chrome wheels

Ah here fellas it wasn't funny to begin with :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 366 ✭✭Mayo Yid

UCDVet wrote: »
    Maybe this is just me - but I wouldn't trust PC World with a pad of paper; much less a laptop or computer. I've only been inside a PC World once, so maybe this isn't representative of what it is usually like; but I overhead some salesman trying to sell an old lady some 'protection plan' that would let them bring in the laptop once per year and they'd 'optimize it'.

He went on about how, without maintenance, CPUs would start to slow down and how they needed to be maintained and cleaned....like a car.

Utter nonsense.

Had a friend heard one of the pc world staff try push for the sale of this when his mother was buying a laptop and they actually said they clean out all the dead processors and stuff.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Mayo Yid wrote: »
    Had a friend heard one of the pc world staff try push for the sale of this when his mother was buying a laptop and they actually said they clean out all the dead processors and stuff.....

They do, too. Pretty good at it and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Haven't use IE for probably a decade, not since the advent of Fire Fox. Lately, though FF has been eating up all my ram, especially if I play embedded videos.

And it's not too bad... I cant use Chrome because as soon as I click it crashes.

Any one else gone back to IE? Or am I now one step close to living on a leper colony? :(

What kind of potato are you running it on?

oh...
    IE is actually a pretty decent browser these days, just struggling to recover from the reputation it got for being crap for so long.

Lack of extensions too. Chrome and Firefox use JavaScript, IE uses some .NET crap so little are made for it.

RAM is probably the easiest thing to upgrade in the PC. PC World would want to charge something like 30+ to install it. Someone who knows what they're doing would have it done before the kettle boils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

RAM is probably the easiest thing to upgrade in the PC. PC World would want to charge something like 30+ to install it. Someone who knows what they're doing would have it done before the kettle boils.

Yeah, changing ram is incredibly easy plus ram is cheaper than dirt atm.

Someone mentioned chrome being dodgy recently. For a week or so until the last couple of days whenever I'd leave the pc and come back to it after a while chrome would kill itself and restart. That seems to have resolved now though so it looks like they've thrown in a fix for whatever crappy update they did a couple of weeks ago.