Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

super smash bros

• 28-11-2014 1:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭

best (cheapest :-) ) place to get it???

for wii u

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Captain Hman

its 65 euro in Gamestop, and its around 40 pounds on Amazon.co.uk

50 euro in Smyths as well *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

€56 in Argos (with a special offer of €1 off an Amiibo if bought at the same time).

http://checkargos.com/StockCheckPage.php?productId=247%2F9079

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wing126

Anyone know the price in tesco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,135 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Wing126 wrote: »
    Anyone know the price in tesco?

Tesco as far as I'm aware don't sell any Wii U products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Definitely 50 in Smyths (in store).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Gamestop website is down. Is that so that they don't have to join in the Black Friday sales? :rolleyes:

Gamestop can stay down. They're scum. How do you think think has performed today. Anecdotally I didn't see many people buying it when I was in town. It wasn't sold out anywhere, the shelves were full and checking Argos stock checker, they're nearly all on 5+ in stock. I know Ireland and the UK are a bad market for Nintendo but I hoped for better. I was also noticed in Tesco this evening they have completely dropped all Nintendo products. It's all Sony and Microsoft. So much for that partnership.

I still am waiting to see my first Smash Bros. Wii U ad. Nintendo really don't help themselves. Has anybody seen an ad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Not everybody buys games on release day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Tomo.Murphy

I have only been in one tesco that had games. Our local one only ever had one game (literally, one copy of Ghosts)

True but a huge percentage come on day one. It'll certainly have legs like a lot of Nintendo titles. Nintendo have much better markets. Take the States as an example Smash Wii U sold half a million in 3 days.

I have only been in one tesco that had games. Our local one only ever had one game (literally, one copy of Ghosts)

I mean Tesco have dropped Nintendo full stop, even the 3DS.

sligeach wrote: »
    I mean Tesco have dropped Nintendo full stop, even the 3DS.

I'm not surprised. Gamestop on Henry St moved the Wii U section upstairs with the used DVDs and blu-rays. The 3DS stuff is down in the back corner by the counter.

I had completely forgotten tesco even sold games tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭shreddedloops

If anyone wants to smash at some stage, give me an add; NNID: Shreddedloops

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Played 6 player over the weekend. Its bloody epic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Nollog

Gamestop can stay down. They're scum. How do you think think has performed today. Anecdotally I didn't see many people buying it when I was in town. It wasn't sold out anywhere, the shelves were full and checking Argos stock checker, they're nearly all on 5+ in stock. I know Ireland and the UK are a bad market for Nintendo but I hoped for better. I was also noticed in Tesco this evening they have completely dropped all Nintendo products. It's all Sony and Microsoft. So much for that partnership.

I still am waiting to see my first Smash Bros. Wii U ad. Nintendo really don't help themselves. Has anybody seen an ad?

Don't think I've ever seen a smash bros ad in europe ever, from n64 to u.

I saw the 3DS Smash ad recently. That's been on a few times. I saw the new Pokemon ad yesterday on UTV. The Pokemon X/Y ad was shown a lot last year and the Tomodachi life one has been on more than most other ads here too.

Why a Smash Bros. / Street Fighter Crossover Would Never Work

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cw1ewI5y92o

I thought this was hilarious.

Super Smash Bros. for Wii U and Nintendo 3DS - Super Mario Maker Stage Incoming!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOdhFajSdj8

Is Cloud in Smash Bros. a Trojan Horse? - Game Scoop!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLFVFZBRI-A

I can't state how much I hate some of these third party characters inclusions. This is a Nintendo game and is supposed to be about characters that have ties to Nintendo in some ways. I'm a Nintendo only gamer. I'm not watching that b0ll0cks again where it was suggested by someone that they can't wait for Master Chiefs inclusion. Sonic is more than fine, we've had multiple mainline games and partnerships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Is Cloud in Smash Bros. a Trojan Horse? - Game Scoop!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLFVFZBRI-A

I can't state how much I hate some of these third party characters inclusions. This is a Nintendo game and is supposed to be about characters that have ties to Nintendo in some ways. I'm a Nintendo only gamer. I'm not watching that b0ll0cks again where it was suggested by someone that they can't wait for Master Chiefs inclusion. Sonic is more than fine, we've had multiple mainline games and partnerships.

Why does it bother you so much that it has to have this 'connection' to Nintendo in some ways? I think it's great they can change it up now and again and include these characters, and it's also good to see they have a good relationship with developers to be able to include them. I remember the surprise reveal of Snake in the series and it was quite a cool recent Nintendo moment. The roster is already chock a block with Nintendo characters, if it was a small roster and they were throwing them in to fill it I'd say something. Cloud is definitely not the same as having the likes of Master Chief, Nathan Drake etc included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Is Cloud in Smash Bros. a Trojan Horse? - Game Scoop!I can't state how much I hate some of these third party characters inclusions. This is a Nintendo game and is supposed to be about characters that have ties to Nintendo in some ways. I'm a Nintendo only gamer. I'm not watching that b0ll0cks again where it was suggested by someone that they can't wait for Master Chiefs inclusion. Sonic is more than fine, we've had multiple mainline games and partnerships.

So you are 'hateful' of the fact that you have a bigger choice and more characters to choose from?

Ridiculous sentiment.

You have no entitlement to play as Nintendo-only characters just because you're a Nintendo-only gamer. Nobody forced you to be. Maybe it's causing you more stress than it should.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    So you are 'hateful' of the fact that you have a bigger choice and more characters to choose from?

Ridiculous sentiment.

You have no entitlement to play as Nintendo-only characters just because you're a Nintendo-only gamer. Nobody forced you to be. Maybe it's causing you more stress than it should.

Never said it had to Nintendo only characters. Sonic, Mega Man, Pac-man are fine. Ryu, though I like the character and the franchise shouldn't be included. But especially Cloud shouldn't be there. Square Enix and Sony for a long time were in cahoots, we didn't get Final Fantasy 7. We haven't had a mainline FF since the SNES. Cloud to me is a Sony character. All these people who own multiple consoles or wouldn't care if Nintendo went third party don't see the problem. Well as a Nintendo only console owner I've seen big problems for the past 20 years and resent their inclusion when they've never given us a game. What's Cloud's history on Nintendo consoles? He has none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

So what?

If Nintendo and Square are talking now, that could mean more chance of their games on Nintendo platforms in the future.

Never said it had to Nintendo only characters. Sonic, Mega Man, Pac-man are fine. Ryu, though I like the character and the franchise shouldn't be included. But especially Cloud shouldn't be there. Square Enix and Sony for a long time were in cahoots, we didn't get Final Fantasy 7. We haven't had a mainline FF since the SNES. Cloud to me is a Sony character. All these people who own multiple consoles or wouldn't care if Nintendo went third party don't see the problem. Well as a Nintendo only console owner I've seen big problems for the past 20 years and resent their inclusion when they've never given us a game. What's Cloud's history on Nintendo consoles? He has none.

It's actually great to see Cloud in Smash now because it was Nintendo's stubbornness that lost Nintendo Square in the first place. Now I love the N64 but there's no doubt it lost them certain types of games during this era, one of them was what Square was doing. Sony's huge capacity on their discs was a no-brainer for Square, it wasn't simply Square abandoning Nintendo, it went both ways. Sony had been able to give Square the canvas they needed to make their games, and they wouldn't be anything like the company they became (not so much now) without it. It was only when Iwata became president that relations began to thaw between Nintendo and Square, bit by bit it's got better, and even though they are not that great of a company now, the more options and possible partners for Nintendo the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭UberPrinny_Baal

What's Cloud's history on Nintendo consoles? He has none.

He's in Theatrhythm 1 and 2 on 3DS!

Character justified!

He's in Theatrhythm 1 and 2 on 3DS!

Character justified!

"consoles" not handheld. They're also rhythm spin-offs of the main Final Fantasy series.

He's not justified. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

I'm a Nintendo fan and a big Final Fantasy fan as well. I never really tried out Smash Bros, probably because my friends were more into other consoles and so I had no one round-the-couch to try it out with, to so speak. I've only had my Wii U since April but Smash Bros has been on my list for a while however, when that trailer for Cloud hit, Smash Bros shot straight to the top of the list. Ryu tempted me back during the summer, but adding Cloud as well just sealed the deal.

Adding characters like this, as i see it, just brings more players into the arena to try out a great game. Can't be anything wrong with that.

Rumour: Data Miners Leak Some of the Information From Tomorrow's Nintendo Direct

Data miners are notorious for getting ahold of footage and information ahead of the release of major announcements, typically because developers sometimes tend to put out software updates ahead of the announcements themselves. The process doesn't seem to be overly difficult, it just requires a computer and enough technical savvy to know how to view update data by using one. At any rate, an update has recently gone out ahead of tomorrow's Super Smash Bros. Direct, and it contains some very interesting information.

Of course, Cloud is the focus of the update, and it seems that the bulk of the information is related to him and Midgar, the Final Fantasy 7 themed stage. The victory video that plays after beating classic mode with Cloud is also available, and we included that below if you're interested.

Additionally, there will be the chocobo themed hat that we saw in the last Direct, but there's an additional Mii Fighter outfit that'll no doubt draw lots of attention. It seems that there will be an outfit based on Geno, the character from Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars. Geno is one of those characters that it seems has always been a suggestion for the Smash Bros. roster, so it's good to see that he'll finally be showing up in a Smash Bros. game in some form.

Aside from that, it's mostly just tweaks and balances to the existing game, though do bear in mind that there could very easily be more that the data miners didn't find. Additionally, there could be another update coming in the near future with much more content, and it's being delayed so the surprise doesn't get spoiled.

http://www.nintendolife.com/news/2015/12/rumour_data_miners_leak_some_of_the_information_from_tomorrows_nintendo_direct

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZX76TOzmmVg

The Smash Direct is at 10p.m Irish time tonight for those who aren't aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I'd guess that any characters announced tonight won't be in the game for a while so it's unlikely there's any data in the game already for them.

And Cloud appeared in two Theatrhythm games, two Kingdom Hearts games and the upcoming Final Fantasy Explorers. That's five games on Nintendo systems. :)

So Bayonetta, Cloud and Corrin from the upcoming Fire Emblem Fates (along with a bunch of Mii Fighter costumes including Geno from Mario RPG) puts a cap on Smash 4. Fair play to them, they really went above and beyond to load the game with stages, characters, content and fan service. Some stats:

• 58 playable fighters
    • 84 stages
    • 99 Mii Fighter outfits
    • 97 Mii Fighter hats
    • 743 Wii U trophies
    • 707 3DS trophies
    • 507 music tracks

Masahiro Sakurai and his team deserve a long earned rest.

Super Smash Bros. for Nintendo 3DS & Wii U - Final Video Presentation

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muZh0NepiXo

Thankfully I didn't watch this live so I was able to skip Corrin? Who? WTF? Cloud? Get the **** out. You have no right being here and the lame and insulting Mii Fighter costumes(Geno fans pretty much given the middle finger).

Corrin was pretty much a "place advert here". We don't spend money on advertising so we're going to give you ANOTHER Fire Emblem character. "What, you didn't ask for it? Tough ****!"

Bayonetta was a bit of a surprise. I like her even if she's only appeared in one game on one Nintendo system. They've definitely put a lot of attention into her and it shows.

Of the ballot, am I right in thinking only Bayonetta was considered and included? Ryu? No. Corrin? No. Cloud? Hell no. Geno had to be higher placed.

I think the Smash ballot may have influenced which Final Fantasy character they included (they did mention that he was the most requested FF character) but Bayonetta was the winner of the Smash Ballot and only one included. And they ran through the stats - Bayonetta was the highest ranked in Europe, in the top five in the US and the total most voted character that was feasible (assuming that third party stuff etc. beat her out but deals couldn't be done and whatnot).

Bayonetta's inclusion gives me hope of a 3rd game on the NX. The sales weren't astronomical but it's supposed to be hovering around the 1 million mark and given that the Wii U has sold 10 million units, that's respectable. Maybe this is early advertising.

Corrin looks a fantastic character, the dragon changing and blade reach are nice additions to move sets. Cloud looks very decent too, his final smash looks excellent. Bayonetta is made for Smash really and a nice surprise inclusion, I like the way they use Witch Time as well. The amount of work that goes into the characters is insane, Sakurai and co really have outdone themselves with Smash and left behind an outstanding game.

Anybody else think the Smash Bros. ballot was a sham and just a publicity stunt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Anybody else think the Smash Bros. ballot was a sham and just a publicity stunt?

They really should've just asked you and ignore anyone else...

Thanks for that troll response.

Final Smash Bros. Presentation Discussion (Bayonetta, Corrin, Geno Costume, & Cloud!)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-n8z-V6RiQs

I completely agree that they'll release an enhanced version for NX.

Highly doubt they're returning to Smash 4 after February.

Cloud feels and plays great. It's clear they put a load of work into him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭UberPrinny_Baal

Thankfully I didn't watch this live so I was able to skip Corrin? Who? WTF? Cloud? Get the **** out. You have no right being here and the lame and insulting Mii Fighter costumes(Geno fans pretty much given the middle finger).

I don't understand your mindset. A new character who looks fun and turns into a dragon is a waste of time; and a costume referencing a beloved old rpg character is a middle finger?
    Bayonetta was a bit of a surprise. I like her even if she's only appeared in one game on one Nintendo system.

Again, I don't understand how your mind works if you liking a character is dependent on them appearing on more or less Nintendo systems.

I'm hyped for all new characters, because, on the whole, I think the newcomers in Smash 4 are the most interestingly designed ones out of all Smash games.

For context, Melee is by far and away my favourite game ever; but even their newcomers and retweaked returning cast are not as interesting from a design perspective as the new characters we've seen introduced in Smash 4.
    the total most voted character that was feasible (assuming that third party stuff etc. beat her out but deals couldn't be done and whatnot).

I dunno will they ever release the ballot publicly, but I imagine the top voted characters were stuff like Luffy from One Piece, Goku from Dragonball Z, Darth Vader and Superman.

Geno might have even featured highly, but I doubt Squeenix and Nintendo would have been able to come to a "full-character" agreement there about whether it was worth promoting a character from a one-shot Snes RPG that wasn't even released in Europe.

Let's face it as well, Geno was really just a generic cool guy archtype and the nature of an isometric turn-based-rpg meant he hardly had any animations or attacks to base a moveset around.
    So Bayonetta, Cloud and Corrin from the upcoming Fire Emblem Fates (along with a bunch of Mii Fighter costumes including Geno from Mario RPG) puts a cap on Smash 4. Fair play to them, they really went above and beyond to load the game with stages, characters, content and fan service. Some stats:

• 58 playable fighters
    • 84 stages
    • 99 Mii Fighter outfits
    • 97 Mii Fighter hats
    • 743 Wii U trophies
    • 707 3DS trophies
    • 507 music tracks

Masahiro Sakurai and his team deserve a long earned rest.

Fantastic stats. Really impressed with the work in this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,962 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Hey lads/ladies, looking for some help. Gonna get my nieces this for Christmas on Wii U but is there a new version coming out. I keep seeing it on my FB feed with Cloud being in it. Not sure if it is DLC or a new smash bro's that is being released before Christmas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭elekid

Cloud is DLC for the existing Wii U game, there is no new version coming out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,962 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Cool thanks.

A glitch that allows you to control 8 players at once :pac:

Bayonetta and Corrin will be available to purchase here on February 4th. And so will the 6th wave of Mii Fighters.

Smash Bros. Wii U - Corrin vs. Bayonetta match

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPLNKCfoPUw

https://www.facebook.com/SmashBrosEN/videos/523740611132957/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I may have asked this before elsewhere but can this be enjoyed as a single player game?

Also, is the gamepad a good enough option to play this on?

Pac1Man wrote: »
    I may have asked this before elsewhere but can this be enjoyed as a single player game?

Also, is the gamepad a good enough option to play this on?

Yes, but it's much better if you can go online.

The gamepad is fine but I use the Wii U Pro controller because I fear I'll break the gamepad playing this. It gets a very vigorous workout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I've played about 10 hours of this now. Took a break from Mario maker to give it another chance. (Mario Maker is now back in the disc drive)

I didn't play the previous games.

I know I'll be slated but I honestly just don't get it.

As in I understand the concept but I don't get the love in.

Each to their own so I'm really not bashing it but I just can't get into it.

I'd say if I had a few mates round it'd be a bit of craic alright but playing randoms online just didn't feel fun to me.

I've played about 10 hours of this now. Took a break from Mario maker to give it another chance. (Mario Maker is now back in the disc drive)

I didn't play the previous games.

I know I'll be slated but I honestly just don't get it.

As in I understand the concept but I don't get the love in.

Each to their own so I'm really not bashing it but I just can't get into it.

I'd say if I had a few mates round it'd be a bit of craic alright but playing randoms online just didn't feel fun to me.

I didn't want to taint your experience but I found it boring quite quickly. I think it's because it's so similar to the previous games. After Melee and Brawl, the Wii U version was just more of the same.