Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silage price

• 27-11-2014 10:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭

What's silage making and is it selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I see a few loads moving but the country must be full of it. I know a farmer that grows beet for sale every year and it's sells as fast as he pulls it, this year it's stockpiled in the yard very little demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I was thinking of buying some silage if I could get it double wrapped stuff it would last?

See silage on Donedeal for 18-20e a bale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

PM me. We might be able to do a deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Duke92

Had it on done deal not one call first 20 then put it up with no price no call one guy texted and said if it was very good he'd give me 14 and wanted it loaded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I was thinking of buying some silage if I could get it double wrapped stuff it would last?

See silage on Donedeal for 18-20e a bale.

Buy what you need but only take a weeks worth at the time. No need to double wrap. Always assuming you're getting it local.

Having said that straw and meal is usually better value and at least you have known feed values rather than bales of thirty year and old meadow grass baled in July being sold as fresh reseeds baled in early May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Buy what you need but only take a weeks worth at the time. No need to double wrap. Always assuming you're getting it local.

Having said that straw and meal is usually better value and at least you have known feed values rather than bales of thirty year and old meadow grass baled in July being sold as fresh reseeds baled in early May.

I was thinking it I might get a bit ahead of myself with Silage

I have access to soft hands to load and wont tear the plastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Duke92 wrote: »
    Had it on done deal not one call first 20 then put it up with no price no call one guy texted and said if it was very good he'd give me 14 and wanted it loaded

Plenty of them fellas around, they think because there is no demand that you should be under a privilege to sell to them at their price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Plenty of them fellas around, they think because there is no demand that you should be under a privilege to sell to them at their price.

If them lads need it this year they can try buying it for half nothing but they'll be remembered and the next bad year that comes they'll have to spend the saving on a stockpile of vaseline and sudocream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

This year silage is more than likely better value than anything. It freely available at 20/bale for good stuff. Rations in bags have not dropped in price with the exception of rolled barley. Feeding rolled barley soya bean meal and straw straw will cost 1.7/day for 300kg weanlings 6kgs/head with straw and mins. Adlib good silage @ 20/bale with 2-3kgs of barley and soya will cost 1-1.25/day.

When you see silage advertised in Mayo at 18/bale then it hard to see it getting much more anywhere else.
    Sam Kade wrote: »
    I see a few loads moving but the country must be full of it. I know a farmer that grows beet for sale every year and it's sells as fast as he pulls it, this year it's stockpiled in the yard very little demand.

With the price of maize and barley this year I say even finishers are shying away from it. Big crop of forage maize as well. If he dose not start to sell fast he will be in trouble in the spring. he competeing with barley and maize at 170/ton. I more say no demand at price he is looking for it. Super feed but it would want to be delivered at less than 30/ton maybe even around 25/ton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

With the price of maize and barley this year I say even finishers are shying away from it. Big crop of forage maize as well. If he dose not start to sell fast he will be in trouble in the spring. he competeing with barley and maize at 170/ton. I more say no demand at price he is looking for it. Super feed but it would want to be delivered at less than 30/ton maybe even around 25/ton.

I know a farmer that was getting 40/tonne last year delivered, I see a few lads collecting a few loads with car trailers. Of course last year lads were still in a panic after spring 2013.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Super feed but it would want to be delivered at less than 30/ton maybe even around 25/ton.

Howuch would it cost to grow per ton? Would a lad be losing money selling it at 25/ton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

If them lads need it this year they can try buying it for half nothing but they'll be remembered and the next bad year that comes they'll have to spend the saving on a stockpile of vaseline and sudocream.

I work it slightly different.I suppose I would be known as being a purchaserof feed and people often come to me offering feed, I dont pay top dollar but I always pay and I use my pit as the reserve.its not unknown for me to close pit and buy bales in the spring if fellas are anxious to clear a few bales or whatever.but during the famine I sold silage for 40 euros aton weighed and loaded which I think wasnt taking the piss and I also had bales bought which I sold on at the same money and other bales I had bought earlier that spring I left back to the owner.those things might be forgotten by some but not all people so hopefully ill do without the sudocream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭PMU

market price has nothing to do with cost price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Silage bales making €18-23 on Done Deal while hay is selling for €20-25
    http://www.agriland.ie/news/latest-fodder-prices-done-deal/

I know a farmer that was getting 40/tonne last year delivered, I see a few lads collecting a few loads with car trailers. Of course last year lads were still in a panic after spring 2013.

Last year Maize was over 220/ton. This year it is 170 and if Dawgone is right after Christmas it will be 130/ton. At that price beet is heading back towards 20/ton
    Howuch would it cost to grow per ton? Would a lad be losing money selling it at 25/ton.

I expect they would be losing money yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

Thinking of selling some but I reckon I`d only be getting around the €15 at the moment. I could wait to see if we get a late spring. If not they will be mouldy by next year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Duke92

The Cuban wrote: »
    Thinking of selling some but I reckon I`d only be getting around the €15 at the moment. I could wait to see if we get a late spring. If not they will be mouldy by next year :(

Country seems to be full of it wouldn't like to wait that long was hoping to go before Xmas before it all starts coming out what part of the country are you in.

South west,
    Yep country is full of it, Ive 2 years supply ahead of me now and thats counting on leaving a good few cattle in the sheds till mid-April. Money down the drain if we get an early spring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭newholland mad

Last year Maize was over 220/ton. This year it is 170 and if Dawgone is right after Christmas it will be 130/ton. At that price beet is heading back towards 20/ton

I expect they would be losing money yes.

If i had a yard of beet and couldnt move it for decent money and wasnt in a hurry for cash i would wash chop and pit it, this would take the panic out of selling in april when the weather is good and cattle at grass. This of course would be ideal also if buying and got cheep beet, enough for 2 yrs maby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

I said wrote: »

Would ye think hay be a better buy than the silage? At least u can see the hay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

South west,
    Yep country is full of it, Ive 2 years supply ahead of me now and thats counting on leaving a good few cattle in the sheds till mid-April. Money down the drain if we get an early spring

Not really dont make any fodder this year and save alot of money on fertliser and contractors and also will give silage ground a rest.
    This year have already doubled up on straw bought and and if any bales for sale locally will start buying them if can get for around 20 or less will feed to dry cows.This will allow me to keep my own bales and when year comes along when silage is dear and quality is not good will have store built up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I said wrote: »
    that is the asking price, i doubt many are paying that

If I was a gambling man id say stores will be mad next spring because fellas will say they wont get caught with too manybales again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭Robson99

Is beet any good for fattening cattle or is it just a substitute for silage ??

keep going wrote:
    If I was a gambling man id say stores will be mad next spring because fellas will say they wont get caught with too manybales again

I hope not as I'll be in the market for a few from Feb onwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

Robson99 wrote: »

a bit of both really. we used ta use beet if we got a load handy to us. saved a bit of silage. u could throw some to sheep as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Silage bales costing 15c per kg in the stack here. At 700kg fresh that's €31.5 per bale inc land charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Silage bales costing 15c per kg in the stack here. At 700kg fresh that's €31.5 per bale inc land charge.

Bales feeding seriously well here. Using 3 bales less than I had budgeted for :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Phuckin bales I hate them!!
    The amount of time wasted opening them, not to mention the price of making them.

Dawggone wrote: »
    The amount of time wasted opening them, not to mention the price of making them.

Used to be like you. We are now 60% bales and I love them since we bought a Tedder. I find you can feed a lot of cows quickly. Different if thru feeder of course

How much time per hundred cows? Would you put out enough for a few days?
    I'm only using lucerne wraps for cows but the opening of them is time consuming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭stanflt

I put 2 bales tru my hi spec paddle feeder 10cub every day and no problem

700 kg brewers first then 1900 kg from 2 bales and up to 4400 with maize

From start to empty it takes 30 mins and feeds 80 milkers

Silage is 48% dm before anyone asks

How much time per hundred cows? Would you put out enough for a few days?
    I'm only using lucerne wraps for cows but the opening of them is time consuming.

15-20 mins per 100. Feeding daily ATM. Straw put out with fork first and 4kg in parlour

Do you put straw underneath bales?

stanflt wrote: »
    I put 2 bales tru my hi spec paddle feeder 10cub every day and no problem

700 kg brewers first then 1900 kg from 2 bales and up to 4400 with maize

From start to empty it takes 30 mins and feeds 80 milkers

Silage is 48% dm before anyone asks
    Do you break bales up for the hi spec?

Was up with a friend who was placed on farm in offaly for his manager course. 300 cows fed with shear grab in 40 min. Tractor was red hot after it. Could feel heat off it 5ft away

Do you put straw underneath bales?

Shake out a bit along passages first thing, cows pick then break bales out on top. Works well cows were v loose and fat from 5.36 to 5.77

Feck, that's some fat.
    My "divas" just wil not eat straw. They do like ryegrass hay though.

If i had a yard of beet and couldnt move it for decent money and wasnt in a hurry for cash i would wash chop and pit it, this would take the panic out of selling in april when the weather is good and cattle at grass. This of course would be ideal also if buying and got cheep beet, enough for 2 yrs maby.

If Dawg is right about Maize futures it could be there longer than 2 years. Also what do you do with next years crop. Look at money tied up and cost of same. Say that beet is making 25/ton what price will you need in 12 months or two years time to make money om it. Allow for 10% waste and it will it be a sellable product. It is questionable if it is viable to store for one's self. Buy at 25/ton 10% waste make's it 27.50 add 5-10% for value of money and plastic and chopping. If I did not need it I would not buy it.

keep going wrote: »

There is no gamble about it, exceptionally big kill at year end means that along with 150K less stores than this year you will have another 30-50K hanging that maybe should not be. Stores will be scarce.
    Robson99 wrote: »

Excellent finishers usuall mad about it as it increases intake 9 that is often you can add 1-2kgs of DM to diet by adding equivlent amount of beet to provide that. It is around 17-20%DM
    I hope not as I'll be in the market for a few from Feb onwards

I be buying value at present if ppossible.

Phucking bales I love them flexibility can close and cut fields/paddocks as it suits. As a small farmer I can grow a few acres of Hybrids etc to maximise production.

Do you break bales up for the hi spec?

yeah i open the bales the night before and i just use the bucket on the tractor to feed the cows

use sheargrab for the heifers

yeah i open the bales the night before and i just use the bucket on the tractor to feed the cows

use sheargrab for the heifers

Is there any particular reason for opening bales the night before?
    Scaroboldi?(?) feeder here and can just dump in bales whole. If you put in three or four it will take a bit of horsepower.

Timed myself last night and it is 15 minutes for 110 with sheargrab, I find it hard to see how you match it withbales .was on a farm a couple of years ago 700 cows and heifers in 2 hours with sheargrab

8 foot shear grab on an industrial loader?

Carry 2 at a time cut end off tip off remove plastic in 1 go. Slight nudge seperates bales. Cut net, repeat. 48 cows feed with every 2 bales. When all bales in passage fly around and break them in against barrier. No pushing in in evening so all done in am

Is there any particular reason for opening bales the night before?
    Scaroboldi?(?) feeder here and can just dump in bales whole. If you put in three or four it will take a bit of horsepower.

so hands are clean for the breakfast:) wife back teaching after maternity so im daddy daycare for a few hours during the day and i leave everything ready the night before

planning:)

so hands are clean for the breakfast:) wife back teaching after maternity so im daddy daycare for a few hours during the day and i leave everything ready the night before

planning:)

Call me a freak but I absolutely love the "scent" of the lucerne wraps. Haylage is passable but wet silage is hateful.

Neighbour feeds it, rocket fuel grows. Phuck all though.

I mean the crops are light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I may time myself here for the shear grab for the maize and grass silage to our 67 cows. Altho last week or so I've been throwing it into them twice a day to get a more even distribution of maize into each cow. Definitely more use of the hand shovel with the maize this year, but I usually do that between slow rows while milking so don't mind.

We've never bothered with straw in the diet (aside from the odd bale to pick on in May), certainly now that the cows are on maize no need for the straw, the maize has totally dried them up. Fat has not crashed at all this winter like it normally does.

Neighbour feeds it, rocket fuel grows. Phuck all though.

I mean the crops are light

Lacking heat?

Timmaay wrote: »
    I may time myself here for the shear grab for the maize and grass silage to our 67 cows. Altho last week or so I've been throwing it into them twice a day to get a more even distribution of maize into each cow. Definitely more use of the hand shovel with the maize this year, but I usually do that between slow rows while milking so don't mind.

We've never bothered with straw in the diet (aside from the odd bale to pick on in May), certainly now that the cows are on maize no need for the straw, the maize has totally dried them up. Fat has not crashed at all this winter like it normally does.

Fibre is often neglected and underestimated.