Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pele is dying!

• 27-11-2014 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭

:( What a legend so sad and far too young...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

youtube! wrote: »

Where you hear this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

sky news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Happens to us all, He's 74 ........ hardly a teenager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

We're all dying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

He's 74.

Death by Viagra overconsumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Football forum >>>>>>

Probably couldn't get over Brazil's hiding in the world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Happens to us all, He's 74 ........ hardly a teenager.

no age these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

no age these days!

Barely 1/3 the average lifespan nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

He'll be stiff very soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

There was a slapper young one in my local who's nickname was Pele , her ball work was spectacular .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

I met him at a booking signing 15years ago. Seemed very humble

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 616 ✭✭✭duckcfc

An op for kidney stones than can easily be removed yourself with the right diet and fruit juice. What a silly way to die!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

There was a slapper young one in my local who's nickname was Pele , her ball work was spectacular .

Was she Thai by any chance?

(she probably used to have a pair herself if so)

Beano wrote: »
    He'll be stiff very soon

So will I, I've just opened the Daily Mail website in another browser window.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I'm dying too...one day at a time. And you know the worst part? I'm the only one of my kind in this World.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Said its just his condition getting worse but they have moved him to a specialist ward to continue care?

The legend can't die and hes only in his 70s, that a bit young to be dying these days, especially for the life he has led after retiring from football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Very little respect shown around here for the greatest footballer of the 20th century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

ghogie91 wrote: »
    Said its just his condition getting worse but they have moved him to a specialist ward to continue care?

The legend can't die and hes only in his 70s, that a bit young to be dying these days, especially for the life he has led after retiring from football.

Average life expectancy in Brazil is 71.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There's not much info in the reports I've looked at, just says he's in intensive care after being admitted into hospital for a urinary tract infection a couple of days ago. His condition worsened obviously

Hopefully he might pull through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

A kidney infection?? That's what I'm reading on sky news. Where has the op recieved info about him dying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭loughside

Very little respect shown around here for the greatest footballer of the 20th century.

Very very true,

but, Hey, another thread, another opportunity by our onboard pillocks to show how cute, clever and witty they can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

It is sad that this particular elderly gent is dying because he seems to have been a genuine, caring person.

His prowess at kicking leather spheres is of zero interest for me and carries no weight towards gaining any respect from me.

We're all dying.

Bollox.
    I'm dying too...one day at a time. And you know the worst part? I'm the only one of my kind in this World.

Yeah, but at least Pele achived something with his life.

What a miserable pair of comments.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    It is sad that this particular elderly gent is dying because he seems to have been a genuine, caring person.

His prowess at kicking leather spheres is of zero interest for me and carries no weight towards gaining any respect from me.

It always intrigues me as to how those with no interest in football also seem to have a problem referring to the game by its name.

(Even soccer would have done in relation to this topic).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

apparently he's fine

http://www.espnfc.com/brazil/story/2167026/brazil-legend-pele-enters-intensive-care-as-condition-worsens
    Pele is "completely fine," his spokesman told Reuters on Thursday, despite the Brazil legend apparently having been moved into a special care unit at the Albert Einstein hospital in Sao Paulo.

Pele, 74, had been admitted to hospital on Monday with a urinary tract infection and was said to be in a "stable" condition, but it was claimed on Thursday that he had been taken into intensive care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Yeah, lazybones31 wasn't a patch on you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

The media hype will be justified when Pele goes.

The only other person I can think of who undeniably transcended the usual sporting celebrity status is Mohammad Ali.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Yea i wouldn't normally agree with anything and i mean anything you say but i agree with you this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

One of the most iconic people in the world, everybody knows who Pele is, hope he makes a full recovery!

Tho he's the 2nd best footballer ever for me but that's not for here ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

We're all dying.

Speak for yourself , I am in transition from being compost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Waitsian

Well in fairness he didn't make it easy for people with all the drunken antics. Still, he was indeed the greatest. RIP George.

Lapin wrote: »
    What a miserable pair of comments.

It's called REALITY.

How many other people are going to die in the next 24 hrs - and where is your concern for them? Or is your 'respect' only reserved for outstanding achievers?

Shallow...

It always intrigues me as to how those with no interest in football also seem to have a problem referring to the game by its name.

(Even soccer would have done in relation to this topic).

I was very entertained by Man City's comeback the other night against Bayern Munich. I watched the whole game but the ability of the players to kick leather does not engender 'respect' from me but if it does for you then fair enough. Personally, I reserve the giving of respect for higher values but each to their own.

Edit. I lie, I missed the first 15 minutes of the game, I didn't watch all of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Thinking of the iconic picture of him and another humble man, Bobby Moore, embracing after their match in 1970.

Let's hope their meeting is delayed a little longer this time. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭loughside

I reserve the giving of respect for higher values

for example ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

the ability of the players to kick leather does not engender 'respect' from me but if it does for you then fair enough. Personally, I reserve the giving of respect for higher values but each to their own.

I'm not a big footie fan, but I think this is built into the respect for Pele - it's not just the ability, but also about a lifetime of discipline, determination and fair-play, and handling the success with dignity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

I think you should pay respect to anyone who was as good at their craft as he was. It shows diligence and commitment that is part of good character. I don't know a lot about football but some characters transcend the area they are experts in.

'Pelé grew up in poverty in Bauru, São Paulo. He earned extra money by working in tea shops as a servant. Taught to play by his father, he could not afford a proper football and usually played with either a sock stuffed with newspaper and tied with a string or a grapefruit.'

From what I understand he was a Jonathon livingston Seagull character of football.

Respect.

Just to say though I googled this and there was a report from two hours ago that he was going to be fine. I am not certain but is it possible the OP jumped the gun a little?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

He's 74.

Death by Viagra overconsumption.

His wife took it very hard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

valoren wrote: »
    Thinking of the iconic picture of him and another humble man, Bobby Moore, embracing after their match in 1970.

Let's hope their meeting is delayed a little longer this time. :(

Who did Bobby leave the bracelet to?

It's called REALITY.

Is it fuck. Living is reality.

The vast vast majority of us don't live our lives under the guise that we're all dying.

Only pessimistic miserable tossers with a glass is always half empty outlook do that.

The rest of us are too busy living.
    How many other people are going to die in the next 24 hrs - and where is your concern for them? Or is your 'respect' only reserved for outstanding achievers?

This thread isn't about all the people who are going to die in the next 24 hours. And, as I'm unlikely to have heard of any of them, I couldn't really give a toss about them. People die all the time - so what.

My 'respect' is reserved for those who earned it.

Pele is one such person.
    Shallow...

Bullshít. You got your arse handed to you because your stupid attention seeking remark backfired. Grow up and move on.

I think you should pay respect to anyone who was as good at their craft as he was. It shows diligence and commitment that is part of good character. I don't know a lot about football but some characters transcend the area they are experts in.
    [\quote]

I respect the dignity, the dedication and the humility of the man greatyl. I respect that he used the ability he honed, to make a better life for himself but I do not respect anyone's ability to kick a ball well. In other words, I respect his attitude but care not a jot whether that ability was for kicking things or for elegant needlecraft!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

[\quote]

I respect the dignity, the dedication and the humility of the man greatyl. I respect that he used the ability he honed, to make a better life for himself but I do not respect anyone's ability to kick a ball well. In other words, I respect his attitude but care not a jot whether that ability was for kicking things or for elegant needlecraft!

I do respect skill and craftmanship. I see it differently.

I don't know him as a man. I would like to think he is humble and a good person he probably is but I don't know from the little I hear of him he is. But regardless for anyone I would have compassion.

But I don't think he is as ill ad the OP thinks. Hope not for his family etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't understand the difference. So you respect that he tried really hard to improve his ball-kicking abilities but not the abilities themselves that he earned from... training?

Oh you are a laugh indeed!

This thread isn't about all the people who are going to die in the next 24 hours. And, as I'm unlikely to have heard of any of them, I couldn't really give a toss about them. People die all the time - so what.

My 'respect' is reserved for those who earned it.

Pele is one such person.

Why then should I give a toss about Pele? He was rich, famous and prolly got more fanny than I'd know what to do with, so why should I faux-mourn or hold a little internet vigil for him? His time is nearing an end and I feel no sorrow for him. Did you know him or something?

Do you respect me? Please do...*trembles in anticipation* ;)

You got your arse handed to you...
    By you!? Not friggin' likely...you got your knickers in a twist because I am not overcome by e-motions because an old man I never knew is in hospital and may die but "People die all the time - so what."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

well the syrian electronic army has seemingly taken over the daily express site now...so thats all there is to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

duckcfc wrote: »
    An op for kidney stones than can easily be removed yourself with the right diet and fruit juice. What a silly way to die!

Come on now lads, if there's one thing we should learn from Steve Jobs' death it's that life-threatening medical problems can not be cured with fruit.

He didn't cure cancer for Jaysus' sake, there's a limit to how much respect he's owed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Man goes to hospital, can afford to stay a few days = death bed.

I think Muhammad Ali is due a health scare article soon enough.

As for some of the comments in this thread :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

Oh you are a laugh indeed!

Why then should I give a toss about Pele? He was rich, famous and prolly got more fanny than I'd know what to do with, so why should I faux-mourn or hold a little internet vigil for him? His time is nearing an end and I feel no sorrow for him. Did you know him or something?

Do you respect me? Please do...*trembles in anticipation* ;)

By you!? Not friggin' likely...you got your knickers in a twist because I am not overcome by e-motions because an old man I never knew is in hospital and may die but "People die all the time - so what."

Why comment on a thread about him then? The same old posts where people feel the need to express their valued opinions about how they don't give a toss about the topic at hand.
    Phenomenonal player that did wonders for a sport enjoyed by millions and entertained and inspired everybody interested in the sport, deserves respect despite the fact that he didn't cure cancer or solve the universe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Nobody's mentioned Maradona.