Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Judging people on what clothes they wear.

• 27-11-2014 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭

If I see you in one of those "tapout" t-shirts I don't think you do MMA, I think you're a rough fat bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

If I see you in one of those "tapout" t-shirts I don't think you do MMA, I think you're a rough fat bastard.

bet it turns you on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Is this a "what I think of you if you are wearing X clothing" thread or a "I judge people for wearing X clothing VERSUS Don't judge a book by its cover" debate thread?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

They are usually cheap on sportsdirect.com. Maybe people get them because they are cheap?

I got a nice Everlast hoody because it was cheap. All I know about boxing is to bet on the black guy. Unless it's Hayes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Covers are actually for judging books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

Covers are actually for judging books.
    unless one is a fg politico.

i do not know what you are talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If you are wandering around with your track pants tucked into your socks, and are not currently in possession of a bicycle, then I'm going judge you as a wanna-be boxer with an aversion to work, and probably a gurrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Got asked to leave a cafe once when I was in ordering a coffee, in fairness I was just back from a match so was wearing the trakkies tucked tight into the socks, but I was definitely judged on my appearance because I know the 2 women combined behind the counter combined salaries wouldnt be the colour of mine. Pissed me off actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

And you'd like them to pin you down?

ghogie91 wrote: »
    Got asked to leave a cafe once when I was in ordering a coffee, in fairness I was just back from a match so was wearing the trakkies tucked tight into the socks, but I was definitely judged on my appearance because I know the 2 women combined behind the counter combined salaries wouldnt be the colour of mine. Pissed me off actually

Bloke wearing tracksuit in café disparages waitresses. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Weirdly enough, when I first came to Holland I thought all the men were homosexuals because they work brightly colored tight pants and faded salmon shirts with pointy brown shows.

I saw some kids wearing clothes and thought they were gangsters or something.

Now my radar is totally banjaxed and when I visit Ireland I find myself saying "Good evening young sir" to some guy in a Reebok Tracksuit, Nike Runners with a Stylish gold chain and an earring with gelled hair and a peaked baseball cap standing next to a knackered old Toyota Starlet.

I have been mugged multiple times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

They judged you on your dress but you judged them on their income?

You look worse, frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Similar thing happened to me when I lived in the IFSC, went into Lagoona to get a bite to eat after a match, was wearing tracksuit bottoms and a hoody (not socks tucked in, never ever done that) and was asked to leave. I never went back again and I didn't judge the staff, they were just following orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭FionnK86

If a young person has a beard I generally see them as trying to mask the fact that they feel their masculinity is under threat by growing something "rough" and "manly".

I do feel bad for it though.

Kinda..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I never judge a book by its cover.

I only judge on what is underneath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Weirdly enough, when I first came to Holland I thought all the men were homosexuals because they work brightly colored tight pants and faded salmon shirts with pointy brown shows.

Now my radar is totally banjaxed and when I visit Ireland I find myself saying "Good evening young sir" to some guy in a Reebok Tracksuit, Nike Runners with a Stylish gold chain and an earring with gelled hair and a peaked baseball cap standing next to a knackered old Toyota Starlet.

Do Neo Nazis still wear Lonsdale in Holland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Yogosan

FionnK86 wrote: »
    If a young person has a beard I generally see them as trying to mask the fact that they feel their masculinity is under threat by growing something "rough" and "manly".

Kinda..
    Facial hair actually grows on it's own accord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Yogosan wrote: »
    Facial hair actually grows on it's own accord.

I know, I mean those "hipster" beards. :cool:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I'm always judging people like that. I'm judging you all right now. Soooo .... what are you all wearing, mm, you durty, durty boardsies?

this, this, a thousand times this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

I find myself in awe of people who can manage to wear a completely different outfit almost every day of the week.

A fair proportion of the people I work with do.

I know it's somewhat silly, but it also makes me a bit self conscious about not caring as much to make such an effort, and I sometimes wonder if it's something I'm being judged for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I wear pyjamas a lot. Now, you would probably look at me and think I sleep a lot. I don't. Not with all the speed I do be taking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

If people didn't judge others by what they wear, there would be no such thing as a multi billion £ € $ fashion industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭worded

Who said

apparel oft proclaim the man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

Kinda..

So what age is it that you're allowed grow one without being judged?

I don't think you were thrown out because of your appearance at all.

I'd bar you too on the grounds of having an obnoxious self entitled attitude towards the staff in the place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

does streaking count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

9bred4 wrote: »
    So what age is it that you're allowed grow one without being judged?

When they can actually grow one instead of a bit of fluff on their chin and upper lip.

worded wrote: »
    Who said

Shakepeare.

From Hamlet.

Advice given by Polonius to his son Laertes as he embarked for college.

Other well known advice in the same speech includes the phrase 'Neither a borrower nor a lender be'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

worded wrote: »
    Who said

Some geebag in a fancy suit I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

They asked you to leave in an act of discrimination?I would have called the guards immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Every girls crazy bout a sharp dressed man:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've noticed townie young fellas wearing wool hats on warm summer days occasionally over the past few summers.

Maybe they think it's fashionable and cool but it seems a bit silly to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

If I see anyone wearing a GAA jersey in a foreign country, I can tell not only that they're Irish, but also what county they are from :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Scarf worn indoors without coat = twat.

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

I know, I mean those "hipster" beards. :cool:

What's a "hipster" beard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

If I see anyone wearing a GAA jersey in a foreign country, I can tell not only that they're Irish, but also what county they are from :D

I can tell that wherever they are going is probably a place for me to avoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Any time I walk through B&Q getting stuff, people ask me to help them and measure things etc etc. I.E. I look like I work there. I need to dress better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Excellent point, a man should be judged by the colour of his money, not his clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Oink wrote: »
    I'm always judging people like that. I'm judging you all right now. Soooo .... what are you all wearing, mm, you durty, durty boardsies?

Ha I'm completely naked. So lets see you judge me now. Sure you may call me a pervert, but you don't know if I'm a high class debauchee or just some common degenerate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Knasher wrote: »
    Ha I'm completely naked. So lets see you judge me now. Sure you may call me a pervert, but you don't know if I'm a high class debauchee or just some common degenerate.

Man you do have a small willy there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Man you do have a small willy there

All part of my plan, makes it harder to tell what class of willy it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

I don't know why people wear sports clothing when not playing sports, exercising, gym, etc.

Also mainly women but the odd fella wearing their PJs in public. WTF is wrong with these lazy people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭con___manx1

maybe one of them could have been the owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

For me, it's scarves. Any bloke that wears a scarf* is a bit of a ponce.

*it's okay if it's -5 with a stiff north-easterly that would go straight through you. But when it's 11 degrees? please...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

6781 wrote: »
    I don't know why people wear sports clothing when not playing sports, exercising, gym, etc.
    Because they're comfortable?
    Because they paid money for them?
    Because they like how they look?

Because some people do not need different sets of clothes and styles to conform to your expectations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

What's a "hipster" beard?

It's a beard that wears thick glasess, skinny jeans and drinks craft beers. Those type of beards.

K4t wrote: »
    Because they're comfortable?
    Because they paid money for them?
    Because they like how they look?

Because some people do not need different sets of clothes and styles to conform to your expectations?

If I see a grown man in a tracksuit not engaging in exercise I do judge them, as immature. People should grow out of that by the age of 14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

And stay far away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

MJ23 wrote:
    And stay far away from them.

Many of the very same Irish lads abroad wear provincial rugby jerseys around the place but for some reason it's always the GAA jersey that gets the flack on boards?