Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATM - Hoggers

• 27-11-2014 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭

So maybe I just need to learn patience but let me know if you would have said anything?

So I am from a small town, around 8pm last Sat night I go to the ATM, there are two guys already at the ATM.
    So I stand and wait, after about a minute or two I look up to see what these two are doing has they seem to be taking longer than the norm.

I watch as one of them puts in the card, hits the key pad, the other guy was obstructing my view to what they where doing, I then see the card come out then the whole thing is repeated.

I wait a little longer watch him do this perhaps 4 times then I ask "Hey is it broken?" to which the guy who I know as the manager of the local CO-OP say "No no it's fine we are depositing cheques" I then realise they are using the quick lodge function... So I wait a little longer not to be rude, after standing there for 10 mins i say, look guys will you be long? "Guy kind of laughs and said should not be too long" I watch him do this 4 more times and I give up.

Now I had to stop myself from saying "Hey @ssh0le this is not business banking hour, there is only one atm on this street, you could of let me use it between cheques as I only needed it for 30 seconds" but I bit my tongue and walked off and drove to the Centra where I got Money, as I drove back probably 20 mintes later the two boys still standing there.

Am I right to be annoied at this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

No. Relax and get a life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Apt username OP.

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Am I right to be annoyed at this?

Yes, especially once you know all the cheques can be put in together & the machine sorts them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

If I saw two guys standing at an ATM for a while I would leave immediately. Never know what they are doing.
    Yes though, it annoys the crap out of me.
    I had a woman do this a couple of weeks ago, I stood behind her and waited while she removed the IMFs bank balance.
    When she finally got her money she then starts counting it at the ATM. Money goes into her purse and then what?
    She takes out another fcuking card and starts removing more money!!!!!!
    I sighed out loud but she couldn't give a toss. Gave up and went to another ATM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Cheques, Cash, ATM queues? What is this, the 90s? Did you drive off in your Carina E listening to 2 Unlimited at top volume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I always wonder what is taking people so long at the ATM. Seems to just drag on for most people whereas I have it done in less than a minute.
    Those 2 were nothing more than ignorant tossers. That is way beyond anything I've encountered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

McGaggs wrote: »
    Cheques, Cash, ATM queues? What is this, the 90s? Did you drive off in your Carina E listening to 2 Unlimited at top volume?

This is donegal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I'm amazed you haven't called Joe yet.

The rule is one card - 1 transaction. and dont you dare go for a second or third card to go checking the balance on your communion money, current account and savings account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Hmmm sometimes I feel people in front of me are trying to get the feckin internet on the ATM !!!!!

(then again I have no patience to queue!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Can't stand people who need to go to the ATM several times during a night out. Especially really early on and wait until your in a crowded area where queues are really long. Did they not realise you needed money before you walked into the pub and had a pint. Then they go to the ATM a few hours later where the queues are longer and alot of the ATM are out of service while we wait because they only took out €20 the first time.

Recently was at a match at the Aviva and one of my mates stated he needed to find an ATM after we had passed the turnstiles into the stadium, WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Was expecting so much more based on the thread title.
    Dissappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

People taking out €20 cause queues at ATMs as it increases the number of visits required. There should be €100 minimum.

kippy wrote: »
    Dissappointed.

I could tell you the story about the OAP - Doggers if you like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

This is donegal ;)

Sorry, make that a Twin Cam and Binman vs X-ray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

kippy wrote: »
    Dissappointed.

Did you misread it as ATM -Doggers?

Sorry, make that a Twin Cam and Binman vs X-ray.

Not me, unlike the rest I got me an education, got my leaving cert and everthing, my mum and dad who is also my uncle were very proud of me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

bear1 wrote: »
    If I saw two guys standing at an ATM for a while I would leave immediately. Never know what they are doing.
    Yes though, it annoys the crap out of me.
    I had a woman do this a couple of weeks ago, I stood behind her and waited while she removed the IMFs bank balance.
    When she finally got her money she then starts counting it at the ATM. Money goes into her purse and then what?
    She takes out another fcuking card and starts removing more money!!!!!!
    I sighed out loud but she couldn't give a toss. Gave up and went to another ATM.

Do you also have issues with people buying more than one drink in the pub or maybe lots of shopping in the super market?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

There was this one time the girl at the ATM was on the phone and trying to find her card with her other hand and failing whiel she stood their yapping but not actually having found the card and used the machine at all. I inadvertently vocalised the voice in my head and blurted out "for fúcks sake" and she looked at me angrily, looked down at her purse, realised why I just said that and, unbelievably, hangs up the call, uses the atm at a normal spped having been able to get her card out with both hands free and sheeplishly sleeks away after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

GreeBo wrote: »
    Do you also have issues with people buying more than one drink in the pub or maybe lots of shopping in the super market?

Being deliberately pedantic are you?
    The thread is about people hogging ATMs not shopping or pubs but don't let that get in the way of your great contribution to the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Rule No. 1 - have your fcuking card ready when you get to the top of the queue. Don't wait until then to go rooting for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Now I had to stop myself from saying "Hey @ssh0le this is not business banking hour"

They probably knew it wasn't business hours because they were standing in the cold depositing cheques at an ATM as opposed to doing it indoors in the nice warm bank.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They probably knew it wasn't business hours because they were standing in the cold depositing cheques at an ATM as opposed to doing it indoors in the nice warm banl.

I feel robbed that I actually read your post :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I McGagged when I read your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

As said above , machine would sort all them together , two thicks they were...

But yes , ATM hoggers are very real. I'm not trying to be ageist here but aul one's are the worst for it, in fact is I see an aul one at an ATM I just walk on and don't bother, literally takes them ten minutes to use the bloody thing.

* Card goes in after a struggle
    * PIN number gets entered slowly - probably wrong
    * Card comes back out
    * Card goes back in after a struggle
    * PIN number entered very slowly
    * Stares at screen for 2 minutes
    * Presses wrong amount
    * Tries to find cancel button
    * Repeat steps above
    * Presses right amount
    * Money and card come out
    * Stands there messing with handbag for 5 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Irishcrx wrote: »
    As said above , machine would sort all them together , two thicks they were...

But yes , ATM hoggers are very real. I'm not trying to be ageist here but aul one's are the worst for it, in fact is I see an aul one at an ATM I just walk on and don't bother, literally takes them ten minutes to use the bloody thing.

* Card goes in after a struggle
    * PIN number gets entered slowly - probably wrong
    * Card comes back out
    * Card goes back in after a struggle
    * PIN number entered very slowly
    * Stares at screen for 2 minutes
    * Presses wrong amount
    * Tries to find cancel button
    * Repeat steps above
    * Presses right amount
    * Money and card come out
    * Stands there messing with handbag for 5 minutes

You just described every trip I ever had to take with my grandmother as a child. Flashback of me standing there (6 or 7 years old) in Northside Shopping Centre for 20mins at the ATM before being dragged around to do the food shop between in between her and other coffin dodgers recapping EVERYTHING they did between that moment and when they spoke 4 days ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Don't even get me started on this. I was in the bank at lunchtime lodging some money into the machine. Some stupid cow with her 10 year old held everyone up for ages fcuking about with the machine only to 'realise' that she'd forgotten the new pin for the card so she then had to queue in the line for the cashier. All the while she was having a loud chat with a friend who was in the cashier queue and laughing with her at her friends child's naughty behaviour jokingly shouting 'Can't you control you're child Sonia?', like it was the funniest thing in the world.

Once she was at the front of the queue her kid was swinging out of the table people use to fill in paying in slips and generally fcuking the pens around the place. To which she gave a casual and indifferent 'Jason don't do that', in a tone that suggested that Jason could do whatever the fcuk he wanted to.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

ardmacha wrote: »
    People taking out €20 cause queues at ATMs as it increases the number of visits required. There should be €100 minimum.

What about us poor people who don't have €100 In the bank :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

It does bother me a little bit if people are taking all day about it. I don't go to the ATM very often as I always try to pay electronically if I can.

I think I read that Ireland is the most cash dependent country in the Eurozone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

I had to stop myself from saying "Hey @ssh0le this is not business banking hour, there is only one atm on this street, you could of let me use it between cheques as I only needed it for 30 seconds"

And they could just as easily replied "Hey @ssh0le, I've as much right to use this machine as you have", and they would be right.

Are you a customer of this particular bank / branch??

when getting petrol / diesel, would you ask the driver in front of you to move just because you only want €10 worth, while he/she is filling the tank??

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

There is an AIB ATM (one of the new ones) near me that will not allow yourself you to take out any amount greater than €40 but less than €90 in a single transaction. Cue delays as people wanting to take out between these amounts go through the entire thing twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

ardmacha wrote: »
    OOOOHH!! Richie Rich!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

It's the ones, usually at lunchtime, that go to the machine, put in the card, get money then pull out a 2nd or 3rd card and repeat the process. These are usually women called Mairin or Geraldine and are Office workers who say they are going out for lunch but have to stop at the ATM. At this point two or three of her fellow Office workers, usually Mary, Anne or Fionnuala will say "Oh will you get me money" and they have pure trust confidence in Mairin or Geraldine that they hand over their card and PIN codes.

The reason I know this is that Mairin or Geraldine, after hogging the machine, then trying to do several things at once with a purse inside a bag inside a handbag, dropped the plastic wallet containing the two cards (with the names and PIN numbers for Anne and Fionnuala handily wrote on post its stuck to each card) and walked off.

I caught up with her and got a grumbled "oh ya grand" and off she went. Whilst I am not in any way shape or form a thief, if it were to happen again, Ann and Fionnuala would have got their cards back in two halves thus showing them that Mairin or Geraldine cannot be trusted and is an ungrateful bint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

So maybe I just need to learn patience but let me know if you would have said anything?

So I am from a small town, around 8pm last Sat night I go to the ATM, there are two guys already at the ATM.
    So I stand and wait, after about a minute or two I look up to see what these two are doing has they seem to be taking longer than the norm.

I watch as one of them puts in the card, hits the key pad, the other guy was obstructing my view to what they where doing, I then see the card come out then the whole thing is repeated.

I wait a little longer watch him do this perhaps 4 times then I ask "Hey is it broken?" to which the guy who I know as the manager of the local CO-OP say "No no it's fine we are depositing cheques" I then realise they are using the quick lodge function... So I wait a little longer not to be rude, after standing there for 10 mins i say, look guys will you be long? "Guy kind of laughs and said should not be too long" I watch him do this 4 more times and I give up.

Now I had to stop myself from saying "Hey @ssh0le this is not business banking hour, there is only one atm on this street, you could of let me use it between cheques as I only needed it for 30 seconds" but I bit my tongue and walked off and drove to the Centra where I got Money, as I drove back probably 20 mintes later the two boys still standing there.

I always compulsively check my balance unless someone is with me.

So ooops I might be one of these sorry.

It would take more than 30 secs though for any transaction.

What annoys me is when people stand too close to you.

I never take my card out because someone will steal it. But i don't rummage it is readily available.

The ATM on George's St by the market Arcade always has the longest cues.

There was a man standing right beside it not using it. I looked to see if he had a cup to ask for change but he didn't. There is always this boy who begs there sitting under the machine he is 13 at most and not Irish anyone who uses it will know him. But this man was Irish and much older and had no cup so I didn't know why he was there. He was RIGHT on top of me I tried to cover my hand. I used the machine and the older man said 'You need to be careful love people will see your pin cover it up'. I was thinking well maybe if you stood further away you wouldn't.

Firstly I would imagine the amount of usage it gets would be predictable and it could be stocked according to how many people usually use it. There is an ATM near my local lidl and it's ALWAYS out of service by about two in the afternoon.

I DON'T dawdle I have respect for the people behind me and I am as quick as I can but I do what I need to. It's a few secs out of your day. If the person is old I understand.

Hogging it is not very considerate if I had something that would take a while I would let people go before me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Older people are always going to be a bit slower when it comes to using the ATTUM.

I recently bore witness to my own pension-aged mother using the ATM. She took out her own card, tried to enter the pin but her massive purse was obscuring the keypad so as to stop other people glimpsing her enter it, and had to clear and re-enter the pin. Checked her balance. Withdrew cash. Got a receipt.... Put cash into a secret compartment in her massive handbag. Then dug around for a card wallet and took out my dad's card and started the whole process again. Then no sooner had we left the ATM she stopped and took her purse out to check that she had put the money in...

She does this at the supermarket checkout too. My parents seem to get so easily confused these days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Always oulones using two or more cards when im at them.

Multiple bank accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Irishcrx wrote: »
    * PIN number ...
    Oh no you di'nt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

all that ever pisses me off about ATMs is having less than E20 in it and not being able to take any of it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Should have mugged them OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Schwiiing wrote: »
    all that ever pisses me off about ATMs is having less than E20 in it and not being able to take any of it out.

Bank of Ireland ATMs used to give out €10 notes. And before the euro £5 notes.

Also let us not forget the OAP's

Pensioners buying up to €20 worth of tickets in the post office when you go in to register a letter or in the local Spar/Centra etc when you are in a hurry to pay for your petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Using the Ulster Bank atm in Eyre Square, Galway, on sunny days I can hardly see the screen the glint from it is unreal, I have to shade my eyes to input pin but I'm usually quite fast at the transaction after that. One thing I find annoying when I have to use a BOI or AIB atm, is it necessary to have the Gaelic or English selection, I mean phuck that just let me input my pin and withdraw, no unnecessary delays please.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

What a tremendously banal post.

You have a right to be annoyed by anything, it's up to you to decide. That's about it, move on for God's sake.

Also, you shouldn't be chequeing up on them like that - they'll be reading this right now knowing it was you, they'll read all your posts, come after you, and goodness knows what'll happen next.

And they could just as easily replied "Hey @ssh0le, I've as much right to use this machine as you have", and they would be right.

Are you a customer of this particular bank / branch??

when getting petrol / diesel, would you ask the driver in front of you to move just because you only want €10 worth, while he/she is filling the tank??

Your analogy is pretty poor but let me help explain it better as I do not think you have grasped it ;)
    It would be quite normal for someone to fill their tank at a petrol station I do not think anyone would have an issue with.

But let's say you are waiting and a car dealer pulls up and starts filling his car, then once he is finished filling one car he starts filling a second car, now logistically I know this cannot happen as he would need to move one car to get another in etc, but let's just say he can do this as long as he is holding the pump, then after the second car he fills a third and a fourth...

Now techincally he is a paying customer just like anyone else but he could at least let you in between cars if he is anyway considerate!

I am a customer of the bank (not that it matters) it is the only bank in the town...

Most people using an ATM will limited it to 1 maybe 2 transactions but not try and lodge 40 cheques individually.

Now I am from a small town, could you imagine someone in the Dublin city queue with 4 or 5 people behind them and try and pull this?
    I say he would be dragged from the machine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

What about us poor people who don't have €100 In the bank :(

Keep it in your pocket, it's not worth paying the charges to keep it in the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Some people look like they are trying to get a high score on the ATM sometimes. Brow furrowed in intense concentration, fingers constantly jabbing at the keypad as they progress through the levels.

Many people I get stuck behind are absolute wizards at the game, as I can never stretch out my €0.30c to get such a good go at it. Maybe if the bank limited the number of lives you get on ATM it could speed things up a bit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I propose to market a BE card to be sold by all banks. The BE card is for Bloody Eejits and anyone can nominate you to receive one (including yourself if you pass a high bar of eejitry).

The card works as follows:
    -You put the card in the machine
    -5 seconds later the machine gives you €20 (or maybe €40). No input required.

The typical bloody eejit will mash the keypad anyway , unaware that nothing they do will have any effect, but they are still delighted to get some cash quickly. The people in the queue will also be delighted that the bloody eejit is on their way in a flash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

At the end of the day it's a self service banking machine. It's not just a cash machine.

I find some machines are badly prgrammed too tho.

Bank of Ireland: confusing menu layout and dead ends. You can pick a wrong option and the only way back is by cancelling your whole transaction. Very badly implemented.

AIB : that infernal beeping while you're lodging cheques. Why does the machine need to go bebebebebebebe when your card's coming out, when your cash is coming out and going in.
    Are they trying to attract not muggers?

Ulster Bank ; very old ATMs with badly laid out menus.

Machines also do stupid things like offer you amounts in multiples of 20 then after having a think about it realises it only has 50s so boots you back to the start with no explanation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

People who spend more then a minute at the atm should get a electric shock and keeping shocked every 5 seconds they're at the atm

What a tremendously banal post.

You have a right to be annoyed by anything, it's up to you to decide. That's about it, move on for God's sake.

Also, you shouldn't be chequeing up on them like that - they'll be reading this right now knowing it was you, they'll read all your posts, come after you, and goodness knows what'll happen next.

So banal you found the need to comment, but you get at least half a mark for the chequeing pun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

If the banks weren't charging 20cents per transaction and other fees on debit cards Ireland might actually use the card technologies that are in place.

I can only assume that Irish banks must love handling cash and getting cash in transit raids.

Makes absolutely no sense to discourage card usage if you're a bank.

A huge % of Bank of Ireland and AIB customers are paying heafty fees.

AIB also limits the number of debit card transactions per day! They left me stranded in Brussels because I had used my debit card for small items during the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

SpaceTime wrote: »
    ... Why does the machine need to go bebebebebebebe when your card's coming out, ...

you've obviously never grabbed the cash from a machine and walked away leaving the card behind. Which is why they now pop the card out before the cash. Though i have walked away and left the cash there as well.