Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I Got Clamped

• 25-11-2014 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭

I'm putting this in AH because I like the witty responses. But if a mod is unhappy then move/delete/close etc.

So, I usually pay for weekly parking every Sunday, but I forgot this Sunday.

Dunno how I got away with it yesterday but today when I got back my car was clamped. Plus, I've to wait an hour and a half for yer man to come release it.

It's €8.00 a week or €30.00 a month.

The release fee is €120.00 :eek:

The guy on the phone said I should appeal because he can see on the history I always pay every week and the fact I've to wait an hour and a half will help. He didn't guarantee anything but reckons I might get a partial refund.

What ye reckon? Would ye appeal or just learn from the mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Appeal, obviously. You either get some money back or you don't. That's it really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Don't pay the bastards a penny.

I had a similar thread earlier in the year. Yeah, fair enough I paid, but only cos I had two small babies with me.

Get someone to come to you with good quality bolt cutters, or bottles of oxygen/acetylene. ( or just pm Tail Docker)

Oh, and in before the high horse brigade. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Appeal and learn from your mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

€8 a week sounds cheap, €120, not so much. 8 that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

chops018 wrote: »
    It's €8.00 a week or €30.00 a month.

Where is this? I want to park there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

€8 a week sounds cheap, €120, not so much. 8 that.

Jesus I'll swear this man has clamped thread bat signal alert:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

Don't bother appealing, it will go absolutely nowhere. Once they have your money they are gone. Clamper man probably just telling you that so you don't rip his head off when he gets there for making you wait an an hour and half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭chops018

I'd love to cut it off but there is camera's everywhere and I'd say if I did that I wouldn't be able to park there again.....

I suppose just chance an appeal, might get it cut in half due to being a regular customer!

I''m raging to be honest.

Just got near €1,000.00 tax back last week but I didn't think it would be being spent on this!!

The guy on the phone said he see's people regularly get partial refunds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Would ye appeal

If you have nothing to lose, then why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

A fella working for a clamping firm told me if it ever happens to me to leave the air out of the tyre and the clamp will just slip off.
    (jack up the car first obviously)

Worth a try anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

A fella working for a clamping firm told me if it ever happens to me to leave the air out of the tyre and the clamp will just slip off.
    (jack up the car first obviously)

Worth a try anyway.

Depends on how its clamped

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I''m raging to be honest.

Just got near €1,000.00 tax back last week but I didn't think it would be being spent on this!!

Don't get mad. Get even.

Use some of your rebate to get the bastards at their own game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Jesus I'll swear this man has clamped thread bat signal alert:pac:

I use the same service you have set-up for water threads. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Oh, and in before the high horse brigade. :pac:

Shrewd. They can't clamp a horse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Newcastle West - Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Well, you won't fcuking park there again! :D

Seriously, try the appeal. Might go nowhere, but you'll never know unless you try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Cpt Sh!t Craic

chops018 wrote:
    The guy on the phone said he see's people regularly get partial refunds.

That's just a line of bull they feed people to calm them down and get them off the phone sooner.

Try if you want but I'm positive it's just an exercise in futility.

I carry a bolt cutters in the boot, just in case I ever forget to pay for parking! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

My facebook has regular updates (with photos) of my illegal de-clamping services.

I wouldn't pay these bastards one red cent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Use your 1000 to go out and purchase 3 clamps, put them on the other 3 wheels. That'll show the fcukers

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

put superglue in the lock and go mental when they can't release you, bonus points if you gunk up all the other locks too

where's anglegrinderman when you need him ? http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/3112670.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Is it the council clampers or private clamper?

No point in appealing, 'I normally pay' is hardly going to be accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

If it's council you'll have to pay, no questions.

If it's private I'd be hesitant.

Do you need the car any time soon? If it's private you could just leave the clamp on the car indefinitely as there's been quite a few stories on the motoring forum of the clampers just removing the clamp as it could be used somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

To those saying just appeal as you have nothing to lose.

Its an extra fee for the appeal, & the appeals board is made up of people working for the clamping company. Its just a way of screwing you for more money after the fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

One of my favourite threads on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

There is a way to remove the clamp without damaging it but if there are cameras you might not get away with it. I managed it once. Got a mechanic friend of mine to remove the wheel and part of the axle so we could slide the chain off and then put the wheel back on. I called them and told them I had removed the clamp so I wouldn't be paying the release fee, and they had better come and get the clamp because I was leaving. The guy said if there was any damage to the clamp there would be criminal proceedings. I said that's grand and hung up, never heard from them again.