Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 5 | Episode 7 | Crossed [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Not sure what to make of this episode. Had some moments but I thought it was very mediocre right through.

So stupid by your one at the end, I hope she dies next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Very good episode which kept different storyline arcs going without feeling too rushed, it was very interesting to see what the various groups of people are up to. Rick is now completely changed in that he almost seems to want to kill people without even thinking if they are useful to their situation or not. Very tense in places too, Daryl was almost a goner in that fight (but we all know he isnt going to die!). Also wasnt quite what the cowardly reverend was up to- was he legging it or planning to kill Michone and Carl as his first real kills and then head off...hes a pointless character now, I hope we have seen the last of him.

One complaint? The very last scene, how stupid and naive was Sasha to just lead the cop into another room and trust his story, it doesnt matter how nice someone appears, at least bring along someone else if you are dealing with a hostage- very weak considering how much this group have been through with betrayals and strangers etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭norabattie

I'm totally lost as to what the psycho priest is up to!!??
    Don't see the point in him , hopefully his time us up soon.
    Also thought the whole Abraham kneeling on the road was just completely pointless. Waste of precious air time.

I liked the episode . Still hoping for a little more pace but that'll come too I'm sure.
    The walkers were pretty gory again this week. ugh... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Reasonable episode I suppose.

But that priest seems to attract nonsense. First he rips up the floorboards using a machete and no-one hears a thing. Then stands on a loose nail, which somehow goes well into his foot yet he barely makes a sound. Finally, he hears noises from seemingly all around him in the forest, he looks all around himself and sees nothing only to be attacked by a super crafty sneaky walker that appeared from thin air. Dear me.

And thon silly mare at the end. D'oh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Looks like Rick is heading down a dark path. We've had Sheriff Rick, Farmer Rick, now **** 'em up Rick, Governor Rick next?

Really playing out the Darryl being the moral compass this season though. There needs to be more crossbow headshots.

But Sasha's "Oh, his name is Bob, he must be a sweetheart like my Bob!" moment? Please, child.

What are the chances Priesty McWeirdguy running into Morgan? I've no idea what he's going to do. He hasn't done anything worthy of such screen time being given to him.

Any way, looks like there will be blood spilled soon. €5 says Tyreese gets a bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

Really not too sure how I feel about that episode

Granted there were some issue resolved and plots moved along but for the most part I found myself looking at the timer thinking but there's only "so long" left and as yet nothing has really happened

Beths diversion was needless and Sasha - jesus you must have been the only person that didn't see that coming

Kinda hoped that Eugene had in fact turned and would take a cut at Maggie

Next episode should be them going up against the gang in Grady but no real tension or anticipation built

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

The walkers melted to the ground looked pretty amazing, as well as daryl using the walkers head as a weapon, that was great but other than that there wasn't much in this episode that I liked.
    Sasha was a total dope, could see her getting jumped from the moment she sat down beside Bob 2.0.
    And when Tara found that little bag and created a little bit of tension, was it seriously a ****ing yoyo she found?
    The priest, not a clue what he's at, getting a little bit tired of him pulling a Claire Danes and crying the whole feckin' time, jaysus.
    Every line Coral says I hate him more and more, it doesn't even matter what he actually says anymore :( :pac:
    Thought Maggie pulling a gun on Abe when he just stood up was a bit mad, yeah he was thick but a gun is a bit strong I thought, but now I'm really getting picky:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Felt like another filler/setup episode. At least the main group is back in the frame.

Started off a belter and now its turning into slow burn.

I don't find myself getting excited by this show anymore, I'm just too heavily invested to jack it in though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

It was pretty obvious that he had turned. I'm more curious as to what's going to happen with Abe. They have made a big deal about the cut in his hand that it has to lead to something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I liked it. Cutting between the groups is something we haven't had in a while and it made for a decent pace. Daryll using a walker's head as a weapon - inspired! Sasha's stupidity at the end was irritating though - who didn't see that coming a mile off?

I'd just glad the Eugene is now a walker and I don't have to put up with him any more. Hopefully Abe will be gone soon too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Eh I don't think Eugene is a walker. Sasha is an awful twat. I could see that one coming a mile away. I'm not sure why they wasted time on Glen and co going to get fcuking water. What relevance did that have to the rest of the episode. Looks like were gearing up for another big showdown anyway. Should be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Boring enough episode, all I can remember is Abe kneeling like a idiot and that chick I don't about playing with a yoyo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Seems like Tara is being written as a bit of comic relief the past few episodes. Or was she always that 'quippy?'

The whole episode seemed a bit scrappy or something, could have had something to do with three storylines running at once. Carl needs to be given a storyline of some sort - he has hardly said a word all season, and it's almost the mid-season finale. Even Michonne hasn't had much screen time of real note so far.

Not really a fan of this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭brianregan09

I think Abe is going to try and kill Maggie and Eugene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,560 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I was thinking Sasha's lucky not to have been put through the window, though that was quickly replaced by she should have been put through that window.

Is it bad that I'm now comparing this to Z Nation? I even have the Z Nation music going through my head at parts.

Tara's beginning to remind be of Rockhound from Armageddon. Joking all the time in a serious environment and likely to go a bit mad down the road.

And what's the story with all the walkers in front of Glen's crew? Are they sealed in or something that there doesn't seem to be a threat there? Or maybe they're a distraction as the ninja zombies sneak up on them, since they always seem to come out of nowhere.
    Hmmm, wonder if that's why Lori crashed the car? The road wasn't empty just she saw a ninjas zombie then it vanished when she crashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

Really not too sure how I feel about that episode

Granted there were some issue resolved and plots moved along but for the most part I found myself looking at the timer thinking but there's only "so long" left and as yet nothing has really happened

Beths diversion was needless and Sasha - jesus you must have been the only person that didn't see that coming

Next episode should be them going up against the gang in Grady but no real tension or anticipation built

That pretty much sums up my reaction to this episode. After 32 minutes I was thinking 'ok there's not a whole lot left so must be something good coming up'...instead we get yer wan playing with a yo-yo and then the other one falls for the oldest trick in the book...meanwhile, the whiny priest starts feckin crying again.

It's ironic that after three episodes where most people were crying out for a multi-strand episode and when we get one...it's not really that good. They love taking their time over things in this show but how on earth can the Glen, Rosita, Tara scenes add anything to the story? And the Abraham strop was just embarrassing.

One more and then we're done until February, it's hard to believe. I love this show but it tests my patience sometimes. There's a lot of pressure on next week's episode.

By the way, why do people think Eugene has turned? They just heard him waking up didn't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Was I the only one who initially thought that Tara had found a bag of weed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Sasha dafuq were you doing? Trust the man who just tried to kill Daryl because his name was Bob. He's a trained cop in a hostage situation telling a sob story which results in you being separated and distracted whilst taking your eyes off him. Come on!

That level of stupidity pissed me right off :pac:

That pretty much sums up my reaction to this episode. After 32 minutes I was thinking 'ok there's not a whole lot left so must be something good coming up'...instead we get yer wan playing with a yo-yo and then the other one falls for the oldest trick in the book...meanwhile, the whiny priest starts feckin crying again.

It's ironic that after three episodes where most people were crying out for a multi-strand episode and when we get one...it's not really that good. They love taking their time over things in this show but how on earth can the Glen, Rosita, Tara scenes add anything to the story? And the Abraham strop was just embarrassing.

One more and then we're done until February, it's hard to believe. I love this show but it tests my patience sometimes. There's a lot of pressure on next week's episode.

By the way, why do people think Eugene has turned? They just heard him waking up didn't they?

Agree 100%.

When I think back to the original 6 episodes, somethings been lost. There was a sense of desperation, constant danger and confusion. You find somewhere comfortable, its gone two minutes later and you're on the road again looking over your shoulder.

The show has just gone into comfort mode. The zombies are nothing but an annoyance now, dispatched with a stab to the head (lazy writing again).

We the audience and the cast should have a feeling of dread (for all the good reasons) when watching this show. Unfortunately, I was more interested in browsing on my laptop while watching this episode instead of getting fully immersed in the show...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Something that bothers me is that Maggie and the others are clattering away with ladders and shouting at eachother within spitting distance of a hoarde. Remember when a single gunshot could draw a hoarde for miles? It's the inconsistency that drives me up the wall.

Also yeah Sasha is dumb, never put your back to a prisoner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭frash

Nobody mentioned the amount of dialogue both Tara & Rosita had this week - one of them is so gonna die next week ala T-Bone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

I liked it. We've had a few episodes now focusing on each different set of characters so it was nice to feel that the stories are starting to come together again. I thought each of the storylines played out well....
    - Glenn's group coming to terms with the hope of a cure being snatched away and finding a brief moment of joy. Abraham too getting to grips with it in the end. His reason for living is gone now, whatever depression he was in before he met the "scientist" is back I'd say. He's gonna be a bit of a wild card now - will he loose it or hold on to some glimmer of hope.
    - The hospital scenes were probably the most filler-y. They decide to take Carol off the meds/machines, Beth sneaks meds to her. That's about it.
    - The mystery of the priest continues. I think there is more to it than he just locked the doors on people. Where is he going? What is he looking for?
    - Finally, the main group. It's great to see them in the city setting. The whole ambush scene was great, with extra gross points for the walkers melted into the ground from the napalm strikes. Interesting too to see Rick defaulting to "kill or be killed" and Daryl go against him. Conflict on the horizon there I'd say.

The only "FFS" moment was the final scene. It was all playing out to be quite a happy ending (in a "don't look at the massive zombie horde behind you" kinda way) and I actually thought that cop was going to be decent. Stupid of Sasha though to go alone with him and then turn her back on him. At least get him to stand away from you so he can't jump you.

frash wrote: »
    Nobody mentioned the amount of dialogue both Tara & Rosita had this week - one of them is so gonna die next week ala T-Bone

Agreed, one of them dying has to be on the cards. Tara was just too happy in this episode and that yo-yo isn't gonna save her. She is totally set up as a "too weak to survive this world" character. Rosita dying could be the final straw for Abe going absolutly bonkers.
    Something that bothers me is that Maggie and the others are clattering away with ladders and shouting at eachother within spitting distance of a hoarde. Remember when a single gunshot could draw a hoarde for miles? It's the inconsistency that drives me up the wall.

They are far away, they ain't gonna hear a ladder clattering, particularly with the noise the herd is making itself. It is odd though that we haven't seen the odd walker come across them yet.
    Sasha dafuq were you doing? Trust the man who just tried to kill Daryl because his name was Bob. He's a trained cop in a hostage situation telling a sob story which results in you being separated and distracted whilst taking your eyes off him. Come on!

It was the other cop who nearly killed Daryl. This cop seems decent and the kid told them that "he was one of the good ones". He was also the most cooperative. So, their guard was slightly down with him. Still shouldn't have put herself in that situation though. That was stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

Not a great episode, but worth it all for that Daryl head kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

The priest was just being a coward, scared what the others would think if he said he was leaving so he sneaked away, from the moment he got outside it showed how even a nail can be his downfall he is that weak, Then the lack of experience about where the sound is coming from so he got attacked, then when it was time to kill the zombie he saw the cross which reminded him of the people he let die and of his faith(he does not want to be a killer) so he headed back to the church instead of running away.

I really dont think there is a lot more to the character than what we have seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Pretty rubbish I thought.

Some nice fluff in it with the melted zombies and all that but overall a seriously weak episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

Effects wrote: »
    It was pretty obvious that he had turned. I'm more curious as to what's going to happen with Abe. They have made a big deal about the cut in his hand that it has to lead to something.

Did I miss something or is it just your opinion that Eugene has turned - bearing in mind that I have not read the comics if that's where you are coming from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Who are the crazies who gave this anything over a 6? Ugh, potential was there but so many face palm moments. It's losing its credibility more and more with each episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Richie71

I really liked that episode. Thought it moved at a good pace and was happy we returned to seeing all of the groups. The end could have been better though, I thought it was building up to Abe going a bit psycho and killing Maggie and Eugene. Now I'm thinking Eugene has turned and Abe rescues Maggie.

The priest was just being a coward, scared what the others would think if he said he was leaving so he sneaked away, from the moment he got outside it showed how even a nail can be his downfall he is that weak, Then the lack of experience about where the sound is coming from so he got attacked, then when it was time to kill the zombie he saw the cross which reminded him of the people he let die and of his faith(he does not want to be a killer) so he headed back to the church instead of running away.

I really dont think there is a lot more to the character than what we have seen.

Are you sure he was heading back to the church? It was impossible to tell what direction he was going in. You could be right though, it could just be as simple as him being a coward. I've a feeling there is more to it then that though. The only other thing I could see happening is that he accidentally leads a herd back to the church and up his little escape hole.
    Did I miss something or is it just your opinion that Eugene has turned - bearing in mind that I have not read the comics if that's where you are coming from?

I don't think he turned either. They purposefully had Eugene make that gargled "zombie" sound when he came to so we might think he had turned but you could hear Maggie say something to him after she went up to him.
    Who are the crazies who gave this anything over a 6? Ugh, potential was there but so many face palm moments. It's losing its credibility more and more with each episode.

Do you usually think people who don't share your opinion are crazy? There was only 1 face palm moment as far as I could tell (stupid Sasha). What others did you pick up on?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Eugene hasn't turned. They just made the initial groans sound that way to create a bit of tension, but he is alive and well (i'd be 99.99% sure of that).

As for the rest, after what, 3 years of this thing, people are still as stupid and naive as ever. Sasha deserved to have her head bashed like that, and what was the priest trying to achieve? Did he think he'd survive without having to kill any walkers? It was lazy plot contrivance really, and him probably heading back to the church now with his tail between his legs is just stupid.

It annoys me as well the way the show make the walker noises obvious to the audience but for some reason the characters never hear them until they are only 2 feet away from them.

6/10 for me as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭norabattie

Credibility. We are talking about a show with zombies in it here. lol

And I for one ( not crazy btw ) gave it a 9. I enjoyed the episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

whats wrong with you people :) did you not hear Eugene saying 'help'? he is alive. As said it was a red herring, a groan to make you think a zombie was coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Bacchus wrote: »
    Do you usually think people who don't share your opinion are crazy? There was only 1 face palm moment as far as I could tell (stupid Sasha). What others did you pick up on?

Yes yes, different strokes etc. I just found it meh with an extra serving of stupidity.

Facepalm moments;

Sasha's deserved 5 different ones alone.
    The priest "escaping".
    The priest stepping on a nail and calmly pulling it out without a sound.
    The priest looking everywhere and BOOM magic zombie appearance.
    Beth and her "strawberry payoff" with the amazing sideshow which took the attention of all the cops.

It's just so derpa derpa.

Norabattie, so we are supposed to throw out all reams of reality and plausibility just cos it's a zombie apocalypse? Riiiiight.

It's badly written most of the time. And horribly "filler" based. Ten good episodes would be far better than the watered down ****e we seem to be getting for the past 5 or 6 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭obriendj

Yes yes, different strokes etc. I just found it meh with an extra serving of stupidity.

Facepalm moments;

The priest "escaping".
    Beth and her "strawberry payoff" with the amazing sideshow which took the attention of all the cops.

It's just so derpa derpa.

Norabattie, so we are supposed to throw out all reams of reality and plausibility just cos it's a zombie apocalypse? Riiiiight.

It's badly written most of the time. And horribly "filler" based. Ten good episodes would be far better than the watered down ****e we seem to be getting for the past 5 or 6 weeks.

You don't get that with american shows. They want a higher number of shows that will generate more revenue through advertisement. you have to remember that this show was 6 episodes in season 1 and it worked well. Then they dragged it out to 12 then 16. its a shame but thats the way it is. I think tho that the past 4 episodes, could have been condensed to 3 but thats it.

I enjoyed yesterdays episodes and liked the way the initial kidnapping did not go to plan for Rick and the lads.

I worry for Maggie tho. I reckon there is a walker or rotter near Euguene or he is one himself. The other 3 walking back happy with the yo yo spells trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭barneyrub

Eugene hasn't turned. Maggie went over to him and told him not to move that he was going to be ok.

Facepalm moments;

The priest "escaping".

In order...

- Sasha deserved one and it was a brutal one at that. Don't know what the other 4 are.
    - Priest escaping was not a facepalm moment. We still don't know the full story with him. Let's see that play out before dismissing it.
    - TBF, the nail didn't look like it went that deep. Nit picking there.
    - That is a ploy the show has used on many occasions. It's a silly shock tactic alright that they used to use quite a bit back in season 2.
    - Don't see the problem with this one. The wards are basically prisoners, so a couple of strawberries to sweeten the deal to get one over the cops seems sound. Strawberries are most likely a real rarity in the post apocalyptic world.

The stuff at the hospital was unnecessary filler but everything else was quality in this episode, keeping each of the stories moving on. Some people didn't like it but I enjoyed the brief escape from all the doom with Glenn, Tara and Rosita. The priest stuff really depends on what happens next. If nothing comes of his little escape then I'd agree that it was pointless, let's wait and see though.

They set the whole thing up in the earlier scenes. Then you hear the sound of a walker from Eugene and Maggie, guard dropped, goes to check on him. All the while Glen is off getting fish and chips for dinner and won't be there to protect her.

Bacchus wrote: »
    I don't think he turned either. They purposefully had Eugene make that gargled "zombie" sound when he came to so we might think he had turned but you could hear Maggie say something to him after she went up to him.

So they tricked us for all of 12 seconds? And she spoke to Eugene before she could see him.
    Maybe I'm just hoping he's dead as he's a useless character and actor.

norabattie wrote: »
    Credibility. We are talking about a show with zombies in it here. lol.

This argument is nonsense, it really is. Does that mean that shows that focus on "real" situations are the only ones which can be truly regarded in a credible fashion? Shows like Eastenders and Coronation Street?

So what if its set in a zombie apocalypse, doesn't matter if its set on the moon with zombie Nazi's. That doesn't mean the writers can write toddle in a lazy fashion time and time again.

There are glaring inconsistencies week in, week out in this show. Someone already mentioned that Maggie was making a racket in the last episode. Earlier in the show if you made a loud noise it would attract walkers for miles around with others following into the herd. Very dangerous scenario I would say.

Its getting to the point of dumb now. For a show that, in its first 6 episodes, grabbed the audience by the neck and said look how good this show is, its going tits up sharpish with lazy writing and dumb plotlines galore.

What's worse is they have an amazing blueprint in the graphic novels but they make an arse of time and time again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

CastorTroy wrote: »
    And what's the story with all the walkers in front of Glen's crew? Are they sealed in or something that there doesn't seem to be a threat there? .....

That was a stockyard for cattle, and from what I could see it was crawling with dead, maybe a couple thousand. I didn't see any cows, but maybe there were. And they really do stink from quite a distance away
    They're huge. From what we could most if not all biters where in the stockyard perhaps stuck there. Maybe someone locked them in there.

15135831293_79f4ab06c8_c.jpg

Keyzer wrote: »

There are glaring inconsistencies week in, week out in this show. Someone already mentioned that Maggie was making a racket in the last episode. Earlier in the show if you made a loud noise it would attract walkers for miles around with others following into the herd. Very dangerous scenario I would say.

How does setting up a ladder attract walkers for miles around?

How is this a glaring inconsistency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I liked this episode.

In defence of the cast members who might as well be wearing star trek red shirts.

The priest probably has a lot of adrenaline coursing through his veins so I can believe he could pull out a nail and run on.

Sasha's thoughts are clouded by grief so no wonder she was charmed by the 'nice' cop who everyone likes.

Effects wrote: »
    They set the whole thing up in the earlier scenes. Then you hear the sound of a walker from Eugene and Maggie, guard dropped, goes to check on him. All the while Glen is off getting fish and chips for dinner and won't be there to protect her.

You're clutching at straws there. Eugene is not dead. Do you think that if he was that Maggie would walk over to him, and talk to him for a few seconds and still not realise he was dead? I don't think Maggie needs a lot of protecting at this point either.

In the mid season finale I reckon that Tyreese will get the chop. Not a comic spoiler obviously as this storyline isn't in them, just in case anyone is wondering. It's only a guess as I reckon someone will die, and Tyreese being killed by the lad that Sasha let get away makes the most sense.

5starpool wrote: »
    In the mid season finale I reckon that Tyreese will get the chop. Not a comic spoiler obviously as this storyline isn't in them, just in case anyone is wondering. It's only a guess as I reckon someone will die, and Tyreese being killed by the lad that Sasha let get away makes the most sense.

Ricks plan will fail as they always do , Gradys hospital will burn down like every other location Rick visits

Beth + carol will die

Next episode is called "coda"
    end of a music piece

Ricks plan will fail as they always do , Gradys hospital will burn down like every other location Rick visits

Not Ricks plan. His plan was to (quietly) storm the place.

I don't think Tyrese will die. It could be a double bluff but I think all the "happy happy oooooh a yo-yo" from Tara is a precursor to her biting the dust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Sasha's thoughts are clouded by grief so no wonder she was charmed by the 'nice' cop who everyone likes.
    She should never have been allowed go with them. She should have been left with Carl and Judith and Michonne gone in her place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

I must have missed it but who was behind Daryl in the bushes at the end of 2 episodes ago??