Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster v Ospreys match thread

• 21-11-2014 07:13PM
    Administrators Posts: 54,891 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

Updates in here! Ulster need a win in this one and would be doing everyone else a favour if they get one. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Is it on telly?

• Administrators Posts: 54,891 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

durkadurka wrote: »
    Is it on telly?

BBC2 at 7:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,936 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Is it on telly?

BBC2 NI. Programme starts at 7.30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Is it on telly?

BBC2 NI.

Silly question tbh, Ireland's major province are always televised. :cool:

Conditions are dire so I'm not sure if it will be a great spectacle. I fear our backs will be wasted tonight. Someone like McCloskey might show up well though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

An Ulster win and no bonus points for anyone please.

Well I don't see there being four tries tonight so you are probably ok on that count.

And no serious injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

awec wrote: »
    Silly question tbh, Ireland's major province are always televised. :cool:

Unfortunately munster aren't being televised tonight so you are wrong :p

Weather in Belfast looks abysmal! The sort of night you're glad to be watching on TV.

We are absolutely destroying their scrum.

Well done Cave. Well organised there. Lovely kick earlier by Olding.

7-0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

"The Moldovan from Bucharest"

Eh?

Paul Marshall must have lost a bet to shave his barnet off.

10-0

10-0

Keep that going Ulster.....suits the rest of us. Scrum looking impressive.

Cave's try was out of the O'Driscoll school of centre play there!

Good kicking from Jackson and Olding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Jackson's defence is looking very solid.

13-0

case885 wrote: »
    Jackson's defence is looking very solid.

As is his kicking.....I though that penalty was wide, but thankfully I was wrong. 13-0. Very good from Ulster.

13-3

How many lineouts have resulted in a scrum now? Must be 5 or 6?

TRY! Franco. Mauled over.

18-3 half time.

Ulster forwards are awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭kilkennycat2004

Very impressive first half by Ulster on a dreadful night in Belfast.
    Ulster scrum well on top so four tries are still possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Jones' defense for Caves try was embarrassing. Wet tissue would have put up more resistance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Olding is class in everything he does

Tox56 wrote: »
    Olding is class in everything he does

McCloskey very impressive too. Great play by Ulster. Jackson looking a bit more like his old self.

Ha!

iHumph went to the Jacksonville Jaguars training. Josh Scobee is their kicker.

Interviewer: "Josh does no tackling or anything, just kicks. How would you find that?"

iHumph: "Sounds pretty familiar."

Ye Gods, dreadful conditions in Ravenhill.

Try Ospreys.

Uh oh....Ospreys organised try there. They got the measure of the Ulster forwards there.

18-10

Ulster have this tendency to always run back to where the cluster of men are. I don't get it, and I'm not just talking about this game.

For example there was a maul there. The maul went to ground and all the Osprey's defenders were obviously not too far from that maul. So we start going outside and then slip the ball inside and run back toward all the Ospreys defenders. Why?! They need to back themselves to go outside more often.

Fair play ref, not wasting time going to TMO for nothing. Give the pen and play on.

What the hell ref? How can you magically turn over possession when the team in control of the scrum don't just pick it up at the back?

18-13

Ulster haven't scored since half time, right? Ospreys are a different team now. This is going to be close. C'mon Ulster!

vienne86 wrote: »
    Ulster haven't scored since half time, right? Ospreys are a different team now. This is going to be close. C'mon Ulster!

Ulster are falling apart at the seams.

18-16.

Ulster are falling apart at the seams.

18-16.

They seem to have lost concentration. Giving away penalties all over the place.

We are taking the ball so flat and so slow and therefore going absolutely nowhere. Side to side and back again.

Jackson off holding his arm ffs. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Journeyman_1

Looks bad for Jackson :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Bad enough looking injury for Jackson. Marshall awful in that spell of possession.

Ah feck - Jackson was looking good. Don't like the look of that injury.

Has the rule changed? Can the referee call use it at the back of a scrum that's marching forward? :confused:

That was a great chance for Ulster.....obstruction(?) ....penalty Ospreys. McCloskey brilliant again.

WHY WOULD YOU KICK THAT?!??!