Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miserable Git?

• 20-11-2014 6:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

I have a local man who helps me out on the farm whenever I need a second pair of hands. It normally amounts to a few hours a week. Sometimes he works a full day with me. I pay him in cash. Yesterday I handed over 300 euro to him. I asked him to buy a ticket for a fundraiser for my local rugby club. The ticket cost is 20 euro. His response wasn't too positive so I said nothing and decided not to pursue it. However I believe he has shot himself in the foot. He is always collected and dropped back to his house and eats meals here on the farm when working more than a couple of hours. I don't think I could be bothered now offering him any more work? What are your thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

what has a fundraiser got to do with the work he does.... If you only want your casual employees to work for you as long as they are carbon copies of you morally, or who have the same interests or support the same charities and sports, then you need to really clone yourself.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I have a local man who helps me out on the farm whenever I need a second pair of hands. It normally amounts to a few hours a week. Sometimes he works a full day with me. I pay him in cash. Yesterday I handed over 300 euro to him. I asked him to buy a ticket for a fundraiser for my local rugby club. The ticket cost is 20 euro. His response wasn't too positive so I said nothing and decided not to pursue it. However I believe he has shot himself in the foot. He is always collected and dropped back to his house and eats meals here on the farm when working more than a couple of hours. I don't think I could be bothered now offering him any more work? What are your thoughts?

Good luck with your Jobsbridge "intern".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Which is more important to you? Is it his labour or the rugby club.

Decide and move on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

I wouldn't be falling out with him at all, paying him cash wouldn't the revenue love to take a ride on that train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Which is more important to you? Is it his labour or the rugby club.

Decide and move on

Great advice there. Time to move on. Find someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Not sure if you work off farm?

But what would you say to the following?

It's pay day.
    Your boss knows this, wanders over, asks you to buy a ticket for his daughters horse jumping club. You decline.
    Boss seems unhappy.
    Boss later comes over later that day to say you didn't get that promotion you went for.
    But sure - you didn't buy the fcuking ticket, how could you have expected to have gotten the promotion... Madness...

Thinking about it, not only should you not give him work, you should shun him really... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The farm hand is obviously not a TEAM PLAYER.
    I suggest a day of paintballing and zorbing to foster team building and gel the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

20 euro is a lot of money to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

I say show him the gate and 'release the hounds' on him.

mikom wrote: »
    The farm hand is obviously not a TEAM PLAYER.
    I suggest a day of paintballing and zorbing to foster team building and gel the group.

Or a couple of days sitting at home with no €300 "cash in hand" and free meals.
    In reality, the €300 cash in hand is costing you near €400, so you would be as well get the Farm Relief in, and be able to put the expense into your accounts.
    Also the Farm Relief workers are insured, so if the lad makes a mistake and lets antibiotics into the milk tanker, you are covered for the €6000 bill you would be liable for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

€20 probably amounts to two hours work for this man. Some might call you the miserable git for asking him to buy the ticket on his pay day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    In reality, the €300 cash in hand is costing you near €400, so you would be as well get the Farm Relief in, and be able to put the expense into your accounts.
    Also the Farm Relief workers are insured, so if the lad makes a mistake and lets antibiotics into the milk tanker, you are covered for the €6000 bill you would be liable for.

When you ring the office be sure to tell them to send you a lad that will buy tickets for the local rugby club/ church/ braces for the child fund ect.

You could tell them if they happen to have a lad with a gambling problem, you might have a full time position for him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Kalman

That's rather harsh not to give him any more work just because he refused to buy a ticket from you. 20euros is a lot! I very often say no to most of these so-called fundraising events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Might be only 20quid but it's nearly 10% of his money.
    Never mix business and pleasure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

At the end of the day the e300 is his money and you've no say in how he spends it....he's after earning it
    U
    If my boss came to me on payday effectively asking for some of my money back...I'd tell him to **** off
    Esp if it's someone on casual labour its a lot of money..could buy them a bag of coal for the week

It's seem pointless falling out over this...esp if there no fault with there work...as for telling the revenue....god help you if he finds out...you will want every little thing 100% above board..esp since you are effectively targeting his income

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Maybe he is a GAA man.:D I would be slow to give money to a Rugby Club myself, If I was honest. Seriously, maybe he is struggling to make ends meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 braveheart1

Tomwaterford. I never suggested reporting him to Social / Revenue. Your implication that i did so reflectly poorly upon you. If you took the time to read my post then your ignorance wouldn't come to light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

€20 for a line? Thats crazy, l might sound like a tight arse but ld never pay more than a 5er for one of those. Like other posters have said its his money and maybe hes in no position to part with €20 that easily. ld be on the verge of telling them to f off

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

€20 for a line? Thats crazy, l might sound like a tight arse but ld never pay more than a 5er for one of those. Like other posters have said its his money and maybe hes in no position to part with €20 that easily.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Typical Rugby Bugger bloody attitude. I wouldn't give them the steam of my p*ss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

You should have gave him 280 & a ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

You should ring Joe Duffy.

cheek of him. He should tip his cap and call you guvnor. Some people don't know their place....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

You gave him €300 for what I guess was 3 days work?

What does he do the other two days?

€300 sounds grand, thanks a bunch boss - but if that's your weeks money, its not much more than the dole, or one these intern things.

So no thanks to the rugby ticket;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Who do you think you are, getting offended by a lad not forking out €20 of his hard earned money for something he might have no interest in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

TUBBY wrote: »
    You should ring Joe Duffy.

Please don't. He'd ring everyone here, the man who printed the ticket, the cleaner at the rugby club, the milk tanker driver and Mrs. Jones up the road who didn't pay her water bill!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

20 quid for another crowd looking for money ? Maybe he is sick of being badgered by flutes selling lines of ****e , I know I am .
    Maybe you are the miserable git for giving him money in one hand and expecting some of it back in the other . He earned his money and earned the right to spend it where and how he wants . If something like this is making you think you shouldn't give him anymore work it says more about you than him IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

No matter where you go these days there's always someone shoving tickets for this, that and the other under your nose. It's very annoying especially when money is tight. Maybe he had been caught for something else that day and anyway 20 euro is a bit much.

To let him go for that is a bit much.
    He might come back looking for his wage slips to claim a tax rebate too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Tomwaterford. I never suggested reporting him to Social / Revenue. Your implication that i did so reflectly poorly upon you. If you took the time to read my post then your ignorance wouldn't come to light.

I'm not well up in farming matters and cash-in-hand jobs but other way around Braveheart - he might report you to Revenue.

shar01 wrote: »
    I'm not well up in farming matters and cash-in-hand jobs but other way around Braveheart - he might report you to Revenue.
    Depends if he is drawing dole, and taking cash in hand as well...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Jonblack

I thought he was going to report you.
    Sorry for repeating, did not read all posts. If drawing he might be in trouble, but not as much as you. Have you got him on a zero hours contract. Why not pay him with tokens he can only change at the rugby club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Depends if he is drawing dole, and taking cash in hand as well...........

But the "employer" has an obligation to register his employee and pay employer's PRSI and all that sh..tuff

OP, in the words of Queen Elsa - let it go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Usually the employee asks the employer to sponsor things. Never heard of it the other way round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

its not ideal to be buying tickets and such, but ive always found in the long run it pays off. ive had to buy tickets for up to e200 for clubs 150 miles away and have landed jobs off the backing of them. i know its not an ideal situation but i find the lads that sell these tickets because they genuinely want to support rather than the ones that are cornered into selling them, will alwaays try to repay the turn somewhere down the line. As recent as last week ive had a lad come looking for me to advertise in a club magazine and while i mightnt get any work off it, i find its better support them. e20 euro might seem like a lot but it gets you damn all these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Is the heading 'miserable git' for the farmer or labourer? Sounds like the farmer is the miserable one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Ah in fairness if your paying him €300 for a days work then maybe he could have bought a ticket.
    However I would think that it was more for a week than a day and 300 isn't a lot of money these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Uh oh, seems like our poster has gone v quite, don't think he was expecting this kinda response!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Guest0000

Reminds me of a time working in the us, when you would only get you cheque changed in a certain bar every Friday, not before you had been there for long enough to rack up quite a tab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Used to buy a lot of stuff from one particular guy, farm mess and mins. Asked him to buy a €20 ticket for my own club. He refused as is his right I paid what I owed him and haven't not will I again.

Yer man is on the dole and well paid collected to and from work and fed the least he could do was buy a ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Next time just tell him there's a €20 rugby club fundraiser tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Sick to the hole of ticket sales people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

€300 for how many hours work? I think you're taking this too personally. It's his money which he earned. I would say fair play to him for directly saying no to you instead of buying the ticket and whinging to everyone about it afterwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Yer man is on the dole and well paid collected to and from work and fed the least he could do was buy a ticket

We don't know for sure he's on the dole. He probably is. As for well paid you can't say that. He got €300 but how much work did he do for it.
    I know a guy who operated similar to the op collecting a man 20 miles away and giving him meals but knowing the same guy the lifts and meals were well paid for with the work done and wages paid for same. Let's just say nobody stayed long term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Used to buy a lot of stuff from one particular guy, farm mess and mins. Asked him to buy a €20 ticket for my own club. He refused as is his right I paid what I owed him and haven't not will I again.

No doubt hes well paid...its his money at the end of the day...hes earned it...I wouldn't buy it on payday...as I'd make sure I'd have all my bills etc paid first...but thats just me like!!!

As an aside being fed used to traditionally he regarded as part of farm labourers pay around here anyway....I do come from a long line of farm labourers....I always wondered was that the case elsewhere in the country??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Guest0000 wrote: »
    Reminds me of a time working in the us, when you would only get you cheque changed in a certain bar every Friday, not before you had been there for long enough to rack up quite a tab.
    Kilburn in the 90s too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

As an aside being fed used to traditionally he regarded as part of farm labourers pay around here anyway....I do come from a long line of farm labourers....I always wondered was that the case elsewhere in the country??

Anyone that works here the odd day gets well fed. Tea and dinner ect. I see it as common courtsy and being decent. I wouldn't like to work sumwhere for a day and get a wave goodbye out the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Sick to the hole of ticket sales people.
    The gaa are the worst offenders, they always make sure they send on your nearest neighbours in case you have any thoughts of refusal :mad: Then you have the ones chancing their arm from neighbouring parishes they will usually send a former neighbour that changed parishes. The ones further afield that are really taking a risk they will send two very talkative men and a lovely car as first prize.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The gaa are the worst offenders, they always make sure they send on your nearest neighbours in case you have any thoughts of refusal :mad: Then you have the ones chancing their arm from neighbouring parishes they will usually send a former neighbour that changed parishes. The ones further afield that are really taking a risk they will send two very talkative men and a lovely car as first prize.

Esp when you have F all to do with the gaa.....hate when they turn up to your door and you've never spoke to them before, but might know to see and their all best friends tryna have the craic with you...hoping you'd just hand over some money....and the next day they dont know you at all :pac: rather give my money to people and animals in need, not some sport ****e where alot (not everyone) of the people involved are cocky and just full of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Meals are benefit in kind u liable for tax -when some one else reports him u the one who have most to loose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

My advice , do your own business.wouldnt waste time thinking about it myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Esp when you have F all to do with the gaa.....hate when they turn up to your door and you've never spoke to them before, but might know to see and their all best friends tryna have the craic with you...hoping you'd just hand over some money....and the next day they dont know you at all :pac: rather give my money to people and animals in need, not some sport ****e where alot (not everyone) of the people involved are cocky and just full of it
    I'd be with you on that no interest in gaa.

A few gaa bright sparks in our parish came up with the idea of collecting €1k from every household in the parish for a new gaa complex, when they went out to collect it they didn't get very far :) then they thought of installments 4 payments of €250. They ended up getting a few installments from a few people but abandoned the idea. The complex went up regardless. The stupid thing was that they were still going to charge subscribers for use of the facilities.