Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mega Mk7 Golf GTI/GTD/R thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭JoeA3

There was zero difference for me when I went from a standard GTI to the R. In fact I think it was very slightly cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭MidMan25

Lads can you advise if there are dramatic differences between insurance quotes on regular mk7 gti vs the gti pp? Hoping to change this year and would love a PP gti but don't want to get completely screwed over. Insurance this year was 507euro on mk6 gti 2010....

What's a few hundred quid (max) on insurance when you are buying a car worth 30k + ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Howdy Folks - here is real world fuel consumption over 4 months for a 162 Golf 7 R DSG bought last week in August 2016. This was measured by brimming it each time,recording the fuel usage and milage, sticking it in a spreadsheet with a few formulas. It is sorted from best (economical) to worst fuel usage.

My driving style would not be aggressive, but I'm not afraid to give it the beans when needed and it safe to do so, guard. Its my daily commuter and it is mostly motorway driving, a lot of it is stop start on the M50. The numbers are actually marginally better than what I was expecting... A couple of observations would be

1. Driving it hard - this did not have a huge adverse effect on fuel consumption over the average fill. In other words, there wasnt a massive difference in a full fill between taking it handy all the time versus being an occasional gobsh!te.
    2. Its not a great motorway cruiser in terms of fuel efficiency... even on Eco mode it rev's too high at around 3000 RPM... You dont really hear it of course, but the engine is working hard. It really needs a 7th gear.
    3. For optimum fuel efficiency you need to have your wife in the passenger seat telling you to slow down.
    4. (unsurprisingly) its nowhere near what VW say... I think their combined figure (urban and suburban is 40mpg-ish). My average overall was about 27.7, which is surprisingly consistent with the numbers reported by Autocar [URL="http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/volkswagen/golf-r/mpg]here[/URL]
    5. I havent been monitoring the average fuel usage readings from the computer...

Distance|Litres|mpg|l/100 km
    570.6|53.3|30.4|9.3
    551.0|51.8|30.2|9.4
    470.0|45.0|29.7|9.6
    491.5|48.0|29.1|9.8
    466.3|45.7|29.0|9.8
    506.3|51.1|28.2|10.1
    448.4|45.3|28.1|10.1
    178.5|18.1|28.1|10.1
    532.4|53.9|28.1|10.1
    488.6|51.0|27.2|10.4
    488.0|51.3|27.0|10.5
    484.0|51.2|26.9|10.6
    486.0|51.6|26.8|10.6
    407.1|43.3|26.7|10.6
    480.8|51.6|26.5|10.7
    480.0|52.1|26.2|10.9
    476.8|52.8|25.6|11.1
    368.8|41.6|25.2|11.3
    Muppet Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭opinionated3

MidMan25 wrote: »
    What's a few hundred quid (max) on insurance when you are buying a car worth 30k + ?

Sorry i should have been clearer in my post. .....I'll be buying second hand. In around the 26- 28 grand mark

I tend to average 26-27mpg over a tank. I do very few long journeys and very little motorway runs so I imagine I'd probably get a bit closer to 30mpg average if my drives were less stop start.

The car's computer is very accurate. It resets itself every time you fill up... I keep an eye on the "MPG since last fill" on the computer and I always find it tallies up exactly to my own calculations ~ 26-27mpg.

I went on an enthusiastic cross country run a few months ago where the pedal was not spared and I don't think it dropped below 24-25 that day. So I'd agree that driving it hard makes little real difference.

Agree on the need for a 7th gear. It rev a bit high and drones a bit at "cruising" speeds. The upcoming facelift is getting a 7th gear, it'd be interesting to see what that's like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Turn off or remove the soundaktor if you don't like the drone at cruise speeds.

I have it turned down so it's not that.

It's the fact that the car revs at over 3K RPM at cruising speeds which is a bit too high for comfort.

OSI wrote: »
    The 19s won't help either.

Negligible tbh. I've never noticed any difference in ride quality or road noise. If anything, the R feels slightly more comfortable, and certainly more planted... due to the extra weight and 4Motion I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,052 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I have been posting for a while about my GTD which was bought in May of 2015. I put every available extra (pretty much) - cash price of 40k.

Not long after, I began to regret not getting the GTi. I have had p*ss poor luck with the car too, and so I began checking around.

I was correctly advised by all on here that the 1st year's depreciation would be the worst, and boy were ye right!

Anyhoo, today I visited Keane's in Deansgrange.

Over there, they had a fairly bog standard GTi with PP, no additional extras, 142 reg. Its listed here...

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/volkswagen/golf/used-2014-142-volkswagen-golf-gti-per-dublin-fpa-6444584994604750658

I have 42k km on the clock and the car in value (to them) went from €40,000 to €25,495 in just under 2 years as I was told that I would have to pony up €2500 to change, and redo my finance, which would change my monthly payment of €400 to €546 a month.

So basically, I'd have to pay the 2.5k to go back a year and down in spec and increase my repayments.

When I highlighted that it appeared to be a little off, the salesperson shrugged his shoulders and said that diesel golfs had gone down in popularity. I think he then realised what my next comment was going to be and swiftly moved on.

Obviously, its not a runner.

Just thought i'd share that with ye.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

JoeA3 wrote: »

I have it turned down so it's not that.

It's the fact that the car revs at over 3K RPM at cruising speeds which is a bit too high for comfort.
    Fair enough. I thought it was geared near 2000rpm at 70mph.

everlast75 wrote: »
    I have been posting for a while about my GTD which was bought in May of 2015. I put every available extra (pretty much) - cash price of 40k.

Not long after, I began to regret not getting the GTi. I have had p*ss poor luck with the car too, and so I began checking around.

I was correctly advised by all on here that the 1st year's depreciation would be the worst, and boy were ye right!

Anyhoo, today I visited Keane's in Deansgrange.

Over there, they had a fairly bog standard GTi with PP, no additional extras, 142 reg. Its listed here...

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/volkswagen/golf/used-2014-142-volkswagen-golf-gti-per-dublin-fpa-6444584994604750658

I have 42k km on the clock and the car in value (to them) went from €40,000 to €25,495 in just under 2 years as I was told that I would have to pony up €2500 to change, and redo my finance, which would change my monthly payment of €400 to €546 a month.

So basically, I'd have to pay the 2.5k to go back a year and down in spec and increase my repayments.

When I highlighted that it appeared to be a little off, the salesperson shrugged his shoulders and said that diesel golfs had gone down in popularity. I think he then realised what my next comment was going to be and swiftly moved on.

Obviously, its not a runner.

Just thought i'd share that with ye.

Depressing for sure. And clearly a non runner. You'd be nuts to go for such a "deal".

Extras you spec on the car don't matter a fiddlers fcuk come trade in time. It makes your car a bit more attractive on the forecourt but your average salesman in a cheap suit only looks at your number plate and your mileage.

You might well actually get a better trade in allowance against a new car. Plus better pcp rates obviously.

Depressing for sure. And clearly a non runner. You'd be nuts to go for such a "deal".

Extras you spec on the car don't matter a fiddlers fcuk come trade in time. It makes your car a bit more attractive on the forecourt but your average salesman in a cheap suit only looks at your number plate and your mileage.

You might well actually get a better trade in allowance against a new car. Plus better pcp rates obviously.

Cheers mate.

I always find it funny when salesmen say extras don't matter, but then you see the 2nd hand PP version going for 1k more than their 2nd hand basic gti. Seems it only ads to value when they are selling it.

I won't be buying new again - too much of a scalp on depreciation. 15 thousand in less than 2 years.

It would appear the PCP guaranteed future value limits the trade in value, which may lead you to go to another brand where they've no access to such records.

Incidentally, there was a 151 high spec gti which went last night for 32k in the same garage. I would have had to fork out 6k to change to a similar year and spec GTI. Doesn't seem right to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

everlast75 wrote: »
    Cheers mate.

It would appear the PCP guaranteed future value limits the trade in value, which may lead you to go to another brand where they've no access to such records.

What do you mean by this? I don't follow?

vintagevrs wrote: »
    What do you mean by this? I don't follow?

What I mean is, when you go for the PCP finance, they guarantee how much the car will be worth in 3 years.

Any VW garage can access that info by inputting the reg plate.

What I believe is that they make sure that they bear that figure in mind when offering a trade in value if it is before the end of the PCP term, usually 3 years.

If you go onto Carzone or CBG, the trade in offer doesn't compare with what the 2nd hand car is selling at.

Therefore, if I went into a merc garage, the 2nd hand price as advertised on such a site would influence the trade in offer, not what VW guarantee my car would be worth pursuant to the PCP deal.

Hope that makes more sense!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,551 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

GFV is the lump sum you owe at the end of year 3 of the PCP deal, it's not the market value of the car at that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭MidMan25

bazz26 wrote: »
    GFV is the lump sum you owe at the end of year 3 of the PCP deal, it's not the market value of the car at that time.

It's not but he's saying that the guaranteed future value influences what they'll offer you.

The new GTI wheels are hideous. Straight off a Nissan Quasqai or Hyundai Whatever. It means upgrading to 19's has become essential...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Comhrá

The new GTI wheels are hideous. Straight off a Nissan Quasqai or Hyundai Whatever. It means upgrading to 19's has become essential...

I think they're not as ugly as the Clubsport wheels, but they're not great either imho. I think VW have lost their way with designing tasteful alloys for the Golf in recent years, with the notable exception of the Pretorias.

Clubsport wheels:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ2fWOItjvTAT--d74TTlk11Oo9Mi60RAd3KxKgJRpCXxk4I_nB

tippman1 wrote: »
    I think they're not as ugly as the Clubsport wheels, but they're not great either imho. I think VW have lost their way with designing tasteful alloys for the Golf in recent years, with the notable exception of the Pretorias.

Clubsport wheels:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ2fWOItjvTAT--d74TTlk11Oo9Mi60RAd3KxKgJRpCXxk4I_nB

Those are the 19" "brescaria" option on the Clubsport and it looks like they'll be optional on the FL GTI too. They're better than the 18's but having seen them in the flesh on a Clubsport I wasn't mad on them either.

The pretorias are in a different league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭carsfan2

first drive of refreshed gti

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/volkswagen/golf-gti/first-drives/2017-volkswagen-golf-gti-review

re. depreciation on the performance golfs, I think they are a victim of their own success now they are a lot more plentiful and almost mainstream. When they were more rare they were able to command higher asking prices.
    I actually think 15k depreciation in two years on a 40 grand car is a tad high. Would have expected about 12k.
    Why not wait for new gti pp.You might get better deal and definitely better apr.

I don't think the trade in value is influenced at all by how the car was paid for originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I really love the headlights. They look superb!

Following on from the post above, I was looking around for an alternative to the GTi. This is my car..

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/volkswagen/golf/used-2015-151-983571983515-louth-fpa-338563252872255154

As an alternative, I found the following;

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/seat/leon/used-2016-161-seat-leon-5d-2-0tsi-280-dublin-fpa-286686347479232668

Now, I know Seat would be below VW as a brand, but for an extra 40 per month, with a trade in offer of €27k for mine, I could go from my 151 GTD manual 184 bhp to this 161 petrol DSG 250 bhp.

General comments and opinions would be appreciated :)

First thing I would say is go test drive the Seat, as only you will know if you like it. I would probably try and do that in the wet too, as I would be interested to know how comfortable it is under hard acceleration when it is wet as it usually is in Ireland as it's basically a FWD Golf R. In fairness, I believe the Cupra might get the proper LSD that comes in the GTI PP that the R doesn't have so maybe putting the power down isn't an issue if you have decent tyres.

What's the main reason for wanting to change?

It's 280 or 290bhp they have right? As above, I'd say try a test drive in it, preferably on a wet day! It's a lot of power going through the front wheels... if you have experienced wheel hop/tramping in the GTD, the Seat will be much more prone to it I expect... although decent tyres should help.

The interior and tech isn't up to VW either if that's something that'd bother you.

Residuals tend to be shocking with Seats too but if you're buying used that isn't as big an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Have you driven the car and been offered 27k for your own?
    I'm sure the Seat is a lovely car but you may find the depreciation even harder to stomach than you already have on the gtd. the interior is a lot more low rent than the gtd.
    I remember when I bought my gti the dealer who also sells Seat had a Cupra too. He told me if I had bought one it would be worth significantly less than the golf in a couple of years.
    You may find yourself going through a lot of tyres too with that much power through the front wheels.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    First thing I would say is go test drive the Seat, as only you will know if you like it. I would probably try and do that in the wet too, as I would be interested to know how comfortable it is under hard acceleration when it is wet as it usually is in Ireland as it's basically a FWD Golf R. In fairness, I believe the Cupra might get the proper LSD that comes in the GTI PP that the R doesn't have so maybe putting the power down isn't an issue if you have decent tyres.

What's the main reason for wanting to change?

I test drove it today. In terms of performance, there is nothing lacking. The front tyres did struggle for grip when the foot was planted. I test drove an ST-3 two weeks ago and it was the same.

In terms of trim, the GTi is more expensive looking.

The reason for change is I wanted a GTi but for some reason got the GTD, and as I mentioned above, regretted it to a large or small degree ever since.

Interesting thing I've noticed myself RE tyre wear.... the R seems to be far less hard on tyres than my GTI was. I was expecting the opposite. Still loads of tread on my fronts with nearly 20k kms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,551 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They upgraded those Cupras from 280bhp to 290bhp about a year ago afaik, think they also tweaked the suspension/chassis.