Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Target Practice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Fantastic!! Really well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

That's just amazing! Congratulations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

fan freaking tastic! brilliant result congrats and enjoy the bubbly, well deserved :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Yet another super result.... Massive congrats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Excellent well done :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

That's disgustingly brilliant, what a time. Wow.
    Congratulations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Go wave your tunguskan wand and leave nothing out there. Good luck.
    That was the perfect thing to say...Tunguskan wand...love it!!
    Great time by the way, you are flying....
    Thanks not too bad yourself, running that fast to avoid me eh?!
    RedRunner wrote: »
    Great result A. Well done!
    Thanks R, pretty happy with it!
    tang1 wrote: »
    Great running DG, congrats on another team medal.
    Thanks tang, yeah my 4yo is happy, she has a nice medal haul now :D
    annapr wrote: »
    Brilliant stuff!! well done... is that a PB? Another round number!!!! :D:D

...did you win the bottle of bubbly (beats an iron anyway) or did you have it set aside just in case? :)
    Thanks Anna, yes another PB and another round number :) The bubbly...on the way home I thought feck it, this deserves a glass so bought it :)
    adrian522 wrote: »
    Thats an absolutely cracking time A. Delighted for you. enjoy this one, great run! sub 40 10K is obviously there for you as well.
    Thanks Adrian, it puts me on the right track anyway and in the right direction. McMillan has that down for a 40:4x 10k so should be able to work on that between now and the WMM
    nop98 wrote: »
    Running out of superlatives to add to all the above..! What a super performance!
    Haha thanks N, really appreciate that!
    Mimojo wrote: »
    Woohoo DG, super performance & time :-)
    Thanks mimojo, I'll pretty happy with it alright ;)
    Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Amazing time !! Huge congrats. Not many spaces left to fill on The Table now.
    Thanks BG, I hope you had a glass for me last night?!
    Smashing time. And more team medals, definitely seeing a trend there. Delighted for you.
    Thanks Laura, yes, we have a good team going at the mo! As I said above, my 4yo appreciates my loot haul :D
    Tom Joad wrote: »
    Great stuff again!! Congratulations :)
    Thanks TJ, I've said it before, that DS core set you showed me has made a big differencso thanks again!
    HelenAnne wrote: »
    Fantastic!! Really well done!
    Thanks Helen, I am delighted!
    That's just amazing! Congratulations!
    Thanks Hanny, appreciate it :)
    Firedance wrote: »
    fan freaking tastic! brilliant result congrats and enjoy the bubbly, well deserved :-)
    Thanks FD, I did...maybe a bit too much :o
    martyboy48 wrote: »
    Yet another super result.... Massive congrats :)
    Thanks Marty, nice to see it come together as you know yourself!
    Excellent well done :D
    Thanks CM!
    aquinn wrote: »
    That's disgustingly brilliant, what a time. Wow.
    Congratulations.
    Haha "disgustingly brilliant", love it. Thanks m'dear :)

So my official time is 19:29, a downgrade of one second. There is only a gun time so I'll take that with good grace....if I have to :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

You're on a hell of a roll. Long may it continue. Bravo!

Murph_D wrote: »
    You're on a hell of a roll. Long may it continue. Bravo!

Thanks Murph :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Savage stuff DG, well earned bubbly for sure :D

Race report: Wicklow County Road 5k Championships, Ashford

We arrived in plenty of time to register and for me to get my bearings. I had run along here once before so it wasn't completely alien territory. The club captain had emailed me a recce of the course along with some tactical advice which of course made more sense once I saw the course.

The course: out and back, the first half mostly a slight drag uphill so a nice slight down on the way back. Found the start and finish points. Spotted the 1k and 4k markers. Also a 400 to go sign...

The plan: to go out conservatively, or at least to leave something in the tank for the turn around point. The strategy was to race from here. "If you go, go decisively" coachy had advised us.

Time plan: using even the most optimistic interpretation of my mile time in the relays , McMillan gave me a predicted time of 19:40. This was quietly disappointing as I suspected on a good day I could go 19:30. I plugged the 19:30 time into splitcalc.com which gave me 5k splits of 3:54, sure a push but...
    (Digression: I really am not sure where this leap of *knowing* came from. It was not so long ago that stringing five x 4 minute kilometres together was the A Goal. I think the 4k tempo I did in March had a lot to do with it and perhaps the 3k race a couple of weeks ago. Anyway....)

The race:
    Fionnuala Britton lined up :eek:, 'never mind' I told myself, 'she'll be company for the men's leaders'.
    I set my watch to stopwatch but with the intention of using it only at the end, ie to crack the whip ;) I was tempted to check at 1k but didn't as I honestly think a check when racing can be counter-productive. I knew I was at the upper edge of pace after doing a breathing and leg check so dialled it back ever so slightly, not too much, it is a race after all :) and told myself that chasing the female athlete in front of me *right now* was not in the plan.

I felt comfortably uncomfortable on the outward stretch, if that makes sense? Some runners passed me, including two (it was actually three) junior women, one of whom I reeled back in :p
    Another senior lady passed me at speed so I let her go, she ended up third female athlete overall so fair play to her. I had fixed my two clubmates in my sights and another athlete and sucked in their tailwind as was the plan ;)
    As we approached the half way point, the leading athletes passed on the other side of the road and to be honest, that little section seemed to take faaaaar to long so I knew the effort was taking its toll. We doubled back around a traffic cone which affects the stride a little but nevertheless, I found myself on the heels of the next female athlete. I know her, and she knows me...we are roughly on the same level and I knew if I overtook her now, she would bite and it was a still a long way home for a battle :eek: But I had to make a decision and I had coachy's words echoing 'if you go, go decisively' urgh...it was only a split second but I had a real mental impasse that seemed to last for twenty; 'do I stay or do I go...'
    So I went. I didn't look behind, I don't think I ever will again, the fear of the unknown seems to drive me.

Because of the slight downhill in places on the return, any wand waving was mostly concentrated on the stomach area which felt a bit tight. I had banished any rising pain-induced panic early on and that - as far as I remember - seemed to stay at bay for the race. Generally, this race hurt and it was a progressive cumulative hurt. I was so glad to see the 4k mark and continued to dig in.
    Club captain called out time about 10metres after the 4k mark: '15:37' and this registered with complete surprise, all my calculations prior to this have operated on multiples of 4 minutes per km so when this pinged into my fuzzy and tired brain I thought 'wow, sub 20 is definitely there' and the really fuzzy and tired bit of my brain tried to tempt me with 'yeah, you could even walk for a bit!' (Ok, I sort of knew the multiples would be less than 4 min per km but still, it came as a shock, a nice one but still a shock.)

I started to kick for home at about 500m, a bit early with hindsight. I started to promise my poor old body, like in the Brian Boru 10 mile, that it only had to 'do this for one more minute, promise'. Unfortunately, time seemed to be slowing so each progressive promise '40 seconds, that's all'...'30 seconds, that's all' seemed to take forever.
    I was very conscious to take the very shortest line all throughout the course which involved at one stage along here, a quite close encounter with a Wicklow bus coming the other way :eek: The other athletes had been hugging the curve of the road but I wanted those extra seconds that badly :rolleyes:
    The finish couldn't come soon enough, I pushed and pushed, I passed at least one guy...there was another just ahead of me and I yelled at myself internally to 'get him'. Mentally, I was tired and didn't dredge that extra bit up. Next time...
    Anyway, stopped my watch (unloved and unlocked at all throughout the race) at 19:28. Hallelujah. Official time 19:29, I'll take that all the way to the bank ;)

5k progression to date:
    1st August 2014: 21:38
    2nd December 2014: 20:33 (- 1:05)
    3rd April 2015: 19:29 (- 1:04)

This result yields the highest vdot so far, at 51.5. Comparably, my best times as a teenager yielded a vdot of 60. Wonder how close I'll get to the old *young* me?

I said in the Jingle Bells report that the aim was to go sub 20 in the next couple of outings. Due to the long gap between 5ks, it took one outing but a sub 19 will take a few and I doubt I'll be taking a minute off on my next outing. There's a 5k track mid-May and another mid-June. Coachy will have the final say but I'd like to have a solid sub 19 before the year is out.

Fionnuala Britton's win led her team to second in the senior stakes...and news just in, we got the gold :D
    I know she was taking it easy but it's not every day that you get to finish a few places and just over a minute behind a world class athlete, so I'll take that and leave the grin on my face every time I think of it.

I cannot tell you enough how much I am enjoying running, racing and extracting the best out of my older and wiser body over the last 15 months. I am a member of the best club you could ask for (at all levels but it needs to be said that we took a healthy medal haul that night ;) ) and I am also lucky enough to have stumbled upon the warm, supportive and welcoming community that is the A/R forum. Thank you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Brillaint read DG, who couldn't love running after reading that!! Well done again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Brilliant! What a superb report. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Fantastic 5K progression Dubgal, inspirational stuff! -1:03 next for sure :D

Do you think the track is more conducive to a PB than the road ? I can't imagine the discipline needed to do 12 and a half laps :eek: but I guess there's no chance of getting clipped by a bus at least!

Runchick wrote: »
    Brillaint read DG, who couldn't love running after reading that!! Well done again :)
    Thanks Runchick :) even with the self-inflicted pain? Then again we are a weird bunch like that, aren't we?!
    nop98 wrote: »
    Brilliant! What a superb report. :)
    Thanks N! :)
    Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Fantastic 5K progression Dubgal, inspirational stuff! -1:03 next for sure :D

Do you think the track is more conducive to a PB than the road ? I can't imagine the discipline needed to do 12 and a half laps :eek: but I guess there's no chance of getting clipped by a bus at least!

Thanks BG, dunno about inspirational tho :eek: Track is definitely faster and yes, there is far less danger of motorised traffic on a track! I've never done anything longer than 3000m on a track but - surprisingly - the thought of going round and round for 12 and whatever laps doesn't bother me...ask me after I've done it :D The long term plan will include a few track 10 000m races, now that's another ball game....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Awesome! :)

You can't reel them all in but you certainly did your best! That's some progression too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Love the report as always, DG... I had a good chuckle at your 'mental impasse' which I'm sure lasted about a nanosecond before you decided to leave your rival in the dust... and another chuckle at the idea that you would even consider walking :)

You are an inspiration... not so much your times which most of us can't aspire to, but your attitude and joy in it!! Plus you are so generous in your advice and encouragement of people here at all levels.

Well done again... !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I am way behind on all the logs here the past few weeks. Didn't even realise you had a race. Congrats on another great result & report. 5ks are the worst imo. So much harder than longer races.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Awesome! :)

You can't reel them all in but you certainly did your best! That's some progression too.
    Thanks Murph, I'll have to practice my fishing skills ;)
    annapr wrote: »
    Love the report as always, DG... I had a good chuckle at your 'mental impasse' which I'm sure lasted about a nanosecond before you decided to leave your rival in the dust... and another chuckle at the idea that you would even consider walking :)

You are an inspiration... not so much your times which most of us can't aspire to, but your attitude and joy in it!! Plus you are so generous in your advice and encouragement of people here at all levels.

Well done again... !!!!
    Talk about making somebody's day, actually scratch that, you have made my week...thank you missus! (But I did really consider walking :D )
    yaboya1 wrote: »
    I am way behind on all the logs here the past few weeks. Didn't even realise you had a race. Congrats on another great result & report. 5ks are the worst imo. So much harder than longer races.
    Thanks P, am I right in suspecting that a person of the opposite gender is keeping you in the real world?! That and a job, a life and marathon training...
    They're a toughie alright, taxing on both speed and strength for three whole miles...and another bit! Looks like coach wants me to focus on that and 10k for the medium term so I'd better get to like it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Great report, so delighted to see your training paying off and most importantly that you're enjoying it. Really comes through.

Thanks Laura! Oh and ps, I left nothing out there ;)

Wed 22 cotd

Wicklow county 5k championships. (See race report)
    But in case I haven't mentioned it.... ;)
    5th senior (to Fionnuala Britton)
    (7th female if you count the two juniors :o )
    3rd o/40
    1st team...seniors :D

PB 19:29

T: 7

Thur 23
    Rest

Fri 24
    4 easy-steady
    PM full strengthening, mobility and core

Sat 25
    Track session 8x400, 400 continuous jog rec, aim 82 secs

1 77
    2 81
    3 81
    4 82
    5 80
    6 80
    7 79
    8 78

T: 8 (3mi warm up incl 4x100m strides, 1 mile c/d)

Pretty pleased with this considering the weather and two races in the last week. It was a tough enough session both mentally and physically. I had to work to settle in, half way through no 6 my legs felt like jelly but found a second wind on the last two.

The only other lunatics stalwarts out there were Fionnuala Britton (reckon she's trying to cadge our secrets...) and two sprinters. The sprinters seemed to do a lot of sitting under their golf umbrellas and it would have been very tempting to call them lazy (of course we didn't!!)...until they went flying down the home straight, leaving us for dust :pac: They probably called us the veteran tortoises ;)

Easy 10 miler planned for tomorrow to finish off the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

Great result and report on Wednesday DG! Fionnula want to keep an eye over her shoulder, you're on the up and up!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Wed 22 cotd

Wicklow county 5k championships. (See race report)
    But in case I haven't mentioned it.... ;)
    5th senior (to Fionnuala Britton)
    (7th female if you count the two juniors :o )
    3rd o/40
    1st team...seniors :D

PB 19:29

T: 7

Thur 23
    Rest

Fri 24
    4 easy-steady
    PM full strengthening, mobility and core

Sat 25
    Track session 8x400, 400 continuous jog rec, aim 82 secs

1 77
    2 81
    3 81
    4 82
    5 80
    6 80
    7 79
    8 78

T: 8 (3mi warm up incl 4x100m strides, 1 mile c/d)

Pretty pleased with this considering the weather and two races in the last week. It was a tough enough session both mentally and physically. I had to work to settle in, half way through no 6 my legs felt like jelly but found a second wind on the last two.

The only other lunatics stalwarts out there were Fionnuala Britton (reckon she's trying to cadge our secrets...) and two sprinters. The sprinters seemed to do a lot of sitting under their golf umbrellas and it would have been very tempting to call them lazy (of course we didn't!!)...until they went flying down the home straight, leaving us for dust :pac: They probably called us the veteran tortoises ;)

Easy 10 miler planned for tomorrow to finish off the week.
    That's a mighty impressive session you did there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

Really enjoying your race reports DG. Your writing is almost as good as your your running!!!

Great result and report on Wednesday DG! Fionnula want to keep an eye over her shoulder, you're on the up and up!:)
    Thanks NE, I suspect she's safe enough though :D
    That's a mighty impressive session you did there...
    Thanks Bon, I seem to be able to keep up with the speedsters on these (in comparison to the more endurance-based intervals), I did a lot of this type of session as a teen so the legs definitely remember what to do!
    dintbo wrote: »
    Really enjoying your race reports DG. Your writing is almost as good as your your running!!!
    Thanks for the kind words dintbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Having only 'found' your log in the past few weeks, I hadn't a chance until this weekend to read from the start...such a great log, love your race reports. I am a fair bit slower than you but I've picked up some tips to incorporate into my training and look forward to reading more of your running exploits!

Keep up the good work and thanks! :D

spaceylou wrote: »
    Having only 'found' your log in the past few weeks, I hadn't a chance until this weekend to read from the start...such a great log, love your race reports. I am a fair bit slower than you but I've picked up some tips to incorporate into my training and look forward to reading more of your running exploits!

Keep up the good work and thanks! :D

Thanks spaceylou, that's really kind! Can't believe you read it right through :eek: fair play. Glad to help in any way I can :)

Sun 26
    10 mile lsr cancelled due to (:o) maybe a little too enthusiastic indulgence last night with friends I haven't seen since before Christmas. My head cold has also taken a turn for the worse but if my children could articulate it they might say for the better as I have lost my voice :D
    So my self-imposed penalty is to haul myself out at 7 in the morning for an easy 8 miles....core planned for tonight after bed time (kids, not mine of course)

Weekly total: 23.5 (low but enough quality in there)
    Total running days: 4
    Double days: 0
    Rest days: 3 (one unplanned :(:o )
    Recovery/easy days: 2
    Quality sessions: 1
    Race days: 1

Well done all you marathon runners today, excellent results and some great digging in when the going got tough. Great to see Abhainn coming in with Paula Radcliffe, cool to see our club had the honour of being her 'last marathon honour guard' ;) Cracking time too! (2:36:56)

Log report w/b Mon 27 April

Mon 27
    8 miles easy

Stretching throughout the day, Achilles and under heel tight. Going to investigate AIS (Active Isolated Stretching) further, I have a funny feeling it's not far from the dressing-gown-rope stretching I've seen my dad do on the living room floor for years. He might be the one for an on-the-spot tutorial.

Tue 28
    Planned 6x400 session followed by some 200s cancelled :(
    The head cold is not going away and the voice is not coming back. Gulping in icy lungfuls of air in the wind did not appeal so I did some hill sprints instead to keep the legs turning over in advance of the track race at the end of the week and Leinster road 3k next Monday. (Not crazy, the cold is all in the head, I'm not otherwise sick but hard training would increase the stress on my body. Coach said to just do easy running this week and save the hard stuff for racing, depending on how I am by Friday. If not better, don't race...)

3 mile warm up plus .75 mile strides (3x30sec+) and drills
    10x10 sec form hill drills, full walk back rec
    2 mile w/d
    T 6.25

Had a chat with coachy after, he seemed a bit *interested* in my latest bout of sickness and I have to admit he's right, it's not great.
    (For the record, it seems to be running-related, before last winter, the 'mammy juices' were in full power: I never got sick even when the whole house was bed-bound with some lurgy or other.)

A few pointers from him:
    Iron? Check, all ok had blood test results back, all normal.
    Overtraining? No, don't think so...I keep the hard days hard and the easy days easy.
    Rest? :o No, if this was a report card it would read 'could do better'. I can't do much about kids waking during the night but I can get myself to bed earlier each night. 10:30pm curfew for me, anyone sees me on here after that time, kick me out ;)
    Hanging around in running gear.... :o Guilty. Such an elementary thing and of course when he said it, I had a *duh* moment. Damp running gear on body for prolonged period = body chill :rolleyes:
    And I took myself off the the siopa poitigéara for some Fosfor, echinacea and bronchosan...