Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best pizza in ireland??

• 15-11-2014 6:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭

if you were to pick anywhere in ireland for pizza where would you recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Paulies in Beggars Bush. You might want to change the title to Ireland so non Dubs can chime in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Fluorosilisic Frank

Would only know pizza places in Galway but I'd find it hard to see how Dough Brothers or Pizza Dozzina in Barna could be beat. Dough Bros base is spectacular ! Place is run by a bunch of young lads and they're now the number 1 restaurant in Galway on trip advisor, fair achievement.

Honourable mention for Pizza Pasta Napoli too, not the most authentic but pretty savage after a lash of pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Our house :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭sioda

Papa ginos in limerick best takeaway pizza i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Independent Pizza in Drumcondra, Dublin is the best I've had so far. Haven't eaten in many pizzerias outside of The Pale, though.

Bits and Pizzas in Dun Laoghaire.

The end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I've heard great things about Pizza D'Or in Monaghan.

Can't stand the stuff meself, but there ya go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

mizzoni do great pizza at 4am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Our house :p

In the middle of your street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Used to have a wagon wheel pizza every week to myself but went off it when papa johns came out and since then it's been papa johns or nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Independent Pizza in Drumcondra, Dublin is the best I've had so far. Haven't eaten in many pizzerias outside of The Pale, though.

Agreed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Is Ginos in Waterford still open?
    Ate there about 10 years ago.. Amazing pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Loopylil

Ambledown Cottage in Glaslough, Monaghan great Pizza fabulous place! for Supermarket Pizza ... Dunnes Pizza from the deli is the best I have tastest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 creeefer

Firehouse pizza in Ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭OU812

Rays in Templebar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,290 ✭✭✭Guffy

Would only know pizza places in Galway but I'd find it hard to see how Dough Brothers or Pizza Dozzina in Barna could be beat. Dough Bros base is spectacular ! Place is run by a bunch of young lads and they're now the number 1 restaurant in Galway on trip advisor, fair achievement.

Honourable mention for Pizza Pasta Napoli too, not the most authentic but pretty savage after a lash of pints.

Pizza dozzina?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,019 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

For take away Rebel Pizza in Maynooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭deandean

Best I've had was at Il Fornaio in Kilbarrack. Eat in or takeaway.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,344 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Anywhere that does the thin-based pizzas is onto a winner. For general consistency I'd go with Independent Pizza in Drumcondra, or their city sister Gotham City.
    Bits and Pizzas have nice prices, but the pizzas aren't great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Used to have a wagon wheel pizza every week to myself

You should sign up to appear on man vs food with an appetite like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,854 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

gufc21 wrote: »
    Pizza dozzina?

It's the place attached to the 12 Hotel.

Dozzina is a dozen in Italian = 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Pizza Time in Tralee they cook the pizza's in a brick oven.

Tasty grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭silent gav

+1 for rebel in maynooth. Chicken fajita is amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

OU812 wrote: »
    Rays in Templebar

No. That place just tried to fill the void left when difontaines moved. . .and failed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Pizza D'or in Monaghan

I've heard off people coming from Dundalk just for a pizza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Novecento Pizza in Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Chequer's in Portlaoise is mind blowing.
    It's a bad week if I don't get there once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

theteal wrote: »
    No. That place just tried to fill the void left when difontaines moved. . .and failed!

Speaking of Di Fontaines. Their pizza slices are probably one of the best pizzas I've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,592 ✭✭✭✭rob316

The one you make at home yourself from scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Pizza Pasta Napoli in Galway is the closest thing I've had in Ireland to the pizza I've had in Italy. It's an unassuming-looking place, but it's great pizza.
    I haven't tried Dough Bros. yet, but they look good.
    Steps of Rome on Chatham Street was also very good when I was last there a few years ago.

Speaking of Di Fontaines. Their pizza slices are probably one of the best pizzas I've ever had.

Exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Manifesto, it's all about the wood fired oven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 flowerguy

make your own..

- its cheaper.
    - its better quality.
    - its fun.
    - it tastes better.
    - its good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Fabios in coolock lovely pizza. Closest to Authentic Italian I have had. They're in swords too, but have only ordered from Coolock. Plenty o' toppings.

I wish that you could get a good slice of New York style Pizza in Ireland but alas have never found one.

glasso wrote: »
    I wish that you could get a good slice of New York style Pizza in Ireland but alas have never found one.

Di Fontaines! It's the closest to NY pizza that I've found

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,669 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

La Tana's on Barrack St in Cork. Also the place that sells by the Slice in Galway the name of which slips my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭phater phagan

Milano in Killarney has good pizzas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Platform Pizza in Bray is amazing - they do one with goat cheese, mozzarella, pancetta, walnuts and maple syrup that is seriously delicious.

B0jangles wrote: »
    Platform Pizza in Bray is amazing - they do one with goat cheese, mozzarella, pancetta, walnuts and maple syrup that is seriously delicious.

Fecking celtic tiger is to blame for that! What is wrong with pepperoni pizza! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

Have to weigh in on this !

Have lived in both Dublin and Cork and by far the nicest is Novocentos of Cork.

It pales in comparison to anything Ive experienced in the big schmoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Cap1

base pizza terenure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Pompeii Pizza in Franciscan well Cork. Incredible Pizzas, I have chatted to the owner a few times now- he roasts the tomatoes to make the sauce for 3 hours the previous night, ingredients are locally sourced and pizzas are cooked in a wood burning oven that he made himself! Simply no comparison, as I now live in Dublin I'll give Paulies an honorable mention but some of their ingredients shouldn't be anywhere near a pizza.

TheSheriff wrote: »
    It pales in comparison to anything Ive experienced in the big schmoke

Eh? Not sure you've used that expression correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Rebel Pizza in Maynooth is great. At least it was back in 2006-2008.

Big fan of Milano....their Sloppy Giuseppe on a Romana base is my favourite pizza. Now that I'm a family man, have to love the oul Tesco club card deals too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Question for pizza aficionados - Papa John's in the U.S. is remarkably tasty for a big brand mega-franchise pizza, but I've never ordered it in Ireland.

Is it any good here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

Vincenzos wood fired pizza on malahide road gets my vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Another vote for Rebel in Maynooth. I'm a sucker for a bbq base with chicken, meatballs, chorizo, peppers and Dominos herbs from Dominos, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Brought a youth club to Lough Key in Roscommon for the last 2 years and got our pizza's from Troy Deli in Boyle and they were totally unreal ,fantastic food ,

21 Teenagers and not one single complaint (including side orders) now that's a miracle and reflects just how good the food was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Ricardo's Pizzas in Eden Gate, Greystones. Absolutely savage pizzas there, all made fresh to order.