Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Read about this this morning while having my breakfast, it's so daft that it actually annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Is his eye blacked out for anonymity? :pac:

If that's Benjy in the photo he's not a great looking shake of a bull.
    Maybe the cows have a higher standard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

ya i heard that plonker from aran on the radio on about it this morning trying to drum up money to buy him. he was hinting that it was a gay rights thing.

I really don;t like aran, an out and out animal rights group that use any animal welfare issue to push their agenda and confuse people about the difference between animal welfare and animal rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/Save-Benjy-The-Gay-Bull

Help save the blight of poor Bengy. GAY UK magazine are trying to raise 5,000 pounds to bring Bengy to some sanctuary in Norwich. They have manage to raise over 3,000 pounds already

Jesus I have never heard such crap in all my life. Probably castrate him to become more docile. Defeats the purpose of allowing him to freely express his sexuality and sexual preferences as they seem to think he's entitled to. I wonder what nonsense they will think about next. They really don't have a notion about the differences between animal welfare and human rights. To them all animals should have the same rights as humans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Ah lads do ye not see how serious an issue this is. The poor bull is going to be taken away and shot or something all because he's not interested in females. It's the sort of thing that might have happened bulls under Nazi rule or the Khmer rouge or some other similar regime.

This is terrible because as we all know that any straight bulls not wanted for breeding are left to live long and happy lives and die of old age in happy land instead of being sent to the factory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I wonder if Benjy knows that his only other option is to become a eunuch.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

It sounds like he could be worth more gay than straight.

Which one of us wouldn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Think I've spotted a gap in the market?
    Im going to start breeding gay bulls.
    Right I'm off to paint the slatted unit pink.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

If he was gay, he'd be riding other bulls. He's not gay, he's just lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

newmug wrote: »
    I had a Hereford one time he had no interest in cows on heat we gave him a hormone injection and he was bulling cows to beat the band :)

This nonsense is probably a publicity stunt by animal rights crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

Are the cows any good, he might just be a fussy lad.
    The aul dog is out the back humping a blanket now and the bitch watching, wonder could I raise funds for the poor aul lad and send him to a blanket factory to live out his days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭silent gav

sounds very queer altogether to me. pretty sure it's a load of bull!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

This does more harm to gay rights than good in fairness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

newmug wrote: »

They're assuming that he won't ride the cows because he's gay but he could be suffering from erectile dysfunction or depression. Or maybe the cows are all ugly. He certainly looks down in the dumps judging from the photo. Maybe it's a midlife crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

zetalambda wrote: »
    They're assuming that he won't ride the cows because he's gay but he could be suffering from erectile dysfunction or depression. Or maybe the cows are all ugly. He certainly looks down in the dumps judging from the photo. Maybe it's a midlife crisis.
    He's not down in the dumps it's just that they decided it would be a good idea to put eyes shadow on him to dramatize the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The whole thing is just stupid, pure stupid !!

This money being raised is just being taken away from genuine charities. Think of all the genuine poor homeless people, the nights stay in a hostel that this money could cover..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭niallam

A farmer I know has a ram that won't go near sheep unless they're sheared.
    He tried everything with him but nothing worked till one day he was shearing and as he finished each sheep the ram started as quick as he'd finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

It's one of the most ridiculous things I've ever read.

If the price is right I'll off load a few lesbian heifers to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Im going to start breeding gay bulls.

Genetically speaking, would that be an easy thing to achieve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

kowtow wrote: »
    Genetically speaking, would that be an easy thing to achieve?

Didn't someone say once that sterility and wooden legs runs in families

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Go into any AI stud and you have your choice of gay bulls :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Maybe he's just curious

Il get me coat

I wonder is this the start of a business opportunity for farmers to open a sanctuary for all gay farm animals. Dogs, sheep etc and charge people admission to view these animals in their natural surroundings. Could be the start of something big?

Corsava6, I'll give you 300 for the poor dog and blanket. Obviously the dog have a preference for blankets. The public would probably pay to see this.

But in all honesty, the money could be better spent on animal charities and educating people on animal welfare and saving animals that really need help. When people are brainwashed with rubbish, they really find it hard to distinguish between reality and fairy tales when it comes to animal welfare. Same as the farm on another thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I wonder is this the start of a business opportunity for farmers to open a sanctuary for all gay farm animals. Dogs, sheep etc and charge people admission to view these animals in their natural surroundings. Could be the start of something big?

Already been done
    image_zpsb056374d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It's one of the most ridiculous things I've ever read.

If the price is right I'll off load a few lesbian heifers to them.

lol, yes we should all say we have lesbian heifers given they jump on one another. Your man got £5k for the bull, no wonder he was happy to sell him to that group rather than the factory, the charity has been taken for a ride.

This morning the head of the group who are taking the bull said he was gay too and he felt empathy with the bull.
    Such rubbish, so a heterosexual bull is not worth saving is what I took from them.

As for those lesbian heifers, £4k each would ease my pain of having to let them go instead of the butchers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Had to check the calendar to make sure it is not April 1st but thanks for the laughter.. Hey one of my bitches loves to hump the female collie...any offers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

He is from Mayo, I wonder is he just depressed about the football?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

On rte news. "Simpsons co wrighter steps in to save the gay bull from sloughter"
    What sort of fcuking ejects live on this plannet ffs.
    Fair play to the owner what a sale stunt. He is one crap looking bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭frippy

A cock in bull story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

grassroot1 wrote: »
    He is from Mayo, I wonder is he just depressed about the football?

Will ya stop, there's a lot more depressing things in Mayo, never mind the football.

On rte news. "Simpsons co wrighter steps in to save the gay bull from sloughter"
    What sort of fcuking ejects live on this plannet ffs.
    Fair play to the owner what a sale stunt. He is one crap looking bull.

I just wish there were more like ejects like him when I have cattle to sell.
    If I had that bull he'd be the most fruitful heterosexual bull in Ireland and there's not a hope id be able to keep him away from the cows.
    Some people have all the luck first of all he gets away with leaving that bull with the cows without him bulling them and then someone gives him 5k for a bull worth maybe 1500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,809 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Maybe he's just curious

Il get me coat

Bi-curious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Benji is gonna get neutered to prevent any little benjis...

ganmo wrote: »

Will that not be against his rights, neutered without consent? I see a court case against the sanctuary :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

I don't understand, if he is gay why castrate him?

The reason why he is in the sanctuary in the first place is because he wouldn't mate.

Why the need for castration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Maybe it is only a phase he is going through PlainP

I find this whole thing a bit daft, when you consider all the other bulls that were killed based on looks and their weight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Benji is gonna get neutered...

...to prevent the whole thing being exposed as a fraud !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

PlainP wrote: »
    if he is gay why castrate him?

Because
    1) If he is gay, he will try and ride every other male bovine in the sanctuary, causing havoc .
    2) If he isn't gay, he will try and ride every female bovine in the sanctuary, causing pregnancies.
    3) Bulls can become dangerous, and kill people, due to higher hormone levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Because
    1) If he is gay, he will try and ride every other male bovine in the sanctuary, causing havoc .
    2) If he isn't gay, he will try and ride every female bovine in the sanctuary, causing pregnancies.
    3) Bulls can become dangerous, and kill people, due to higher hormone levels.

I think 3 is the most likely reason or maybe he is a bit pissed off being taken from his home put on display and everyone smiling and looking at him saying he is a gay bull.
    I often see bulls show aggression when taken from the herd and stressed

...to prevent the whole thing being exposed as a fraud !

Ah it's easy enough to avoid it being exposed. Leave Benji with all male cattle away from any females and he'll bull the boys.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I can see a name change coming up.

Benji -> Ben-dun.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

greysides wrote: »
    I can see a name change coming up.

Benji -> Ben-dun.

Thought them white powders were done away with long ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Thought them white powders were done away with long ago!

Couldn't get a cow into calf, but could he get an escort into a bath?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Sorry to drag this back up but it looks like Benjy just wanted out of Mayo! They raised the £5,000 to send him to the animal sanctuary only for him to start having his way with the cows in the sanctuary. Maybe they were just better looking?

Benjy the gay bull develops a taste for the heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

Sorry to drag this back up but it looks like Benjy just wanted out of Mayo! They raised the £5,000 to send him to the animal sanctuary only for him to start having his way with the cows in the sanctuary. Maybe they were just better looking?

Benjy the gay bull develops a taste for the heifers

Hardly a surprise in fairness. Bulls aren't gay or straight they will mate with anything that stays still long enough. I have often heard lads reffering to certain bulls as being the 'gay' bull. Which normally refers to an infertile or pure lazy bull.

I guarantee this story started down the pub with the original owner jokeing with his mates saying "I think that bull I just bought is gay".

But in the story ended well for both the farmer who got well compensated for a useless bull.

And the bull who avoided the slaughter house.

*****Disclaimer: I hope that I have not offened any one by suggesting some farmers may joke about gay bulls. But from my experience cattle are never gay or straight because they are all of course bi-sexual. If any rich luanatics out there want to save poor bi-sexual animals from the slaughter house I've got a whole heard of them ;) . ******

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

They raised the £5,000 to send him to the animal sanctuary only for him to start having his way with the cows in the sanctuary. Maybe they were just better looking?

maybe he's bisexual ?

but seriously can animals really be gay?? sounds a bit daft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭busyatwork

emaherx wrote: »
    Hardly a surprise in fairness. Bulls aren't gay or straight they will mate with anything that stays still long enough. I have often heard lads reffering to certain bulls as being the 'gay' bull. Which normally refers to an infertile or pure lazy bull.

I guarantee this story started down the pub with the original owner jokeing with his mates saying "I think that bull I just bought is gay".

But in the story ended well for both the farmer who got well compensated for a useless bull.

And the bull who avoided the slaughter house.

*****Disclaimer: I hope that I have not offened any one by suggesting some farmers may joke about gay bulls. But from my experience cattle are never gay or straight because they are all of course bi-sexual. If any rich luanatics out there want to save poor bi-sexual animals from the slaughter house I've got a whole heard of them ;) . ******

I know my bull will hop up on anything including a gate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Oh I believe it. I have 3 gay bulls and 5 lesbian heifers here going to the factory unless someone saves them quickly:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

If you left your hairy hand out long annof they would ride it.