Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€100 charge for a diagnostic scan that reveals nothing

• 13-11-2014 1:24am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭

So as many of you know im trying to straighten out my current daily driver and decided a main dealer was the way to go to get to the root of the problem once and for all.

Was told scan could not determine what was causing fault and it wasnt software related yet I should come back for a software update and another diagnostic check after.

Now I know these machines have to pay for themselves but im left €100 down and I know asmuch as I knew going in which is feck all.

Am I right in feeling a little hard done by ?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭goz83

Ouch. I wouldn't pay for a scan unless I asked for it to be carried out. It takes a couple of minutes and if nothing was revealed, then I think it is just bad business to charge a customer €100 for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

goz83 wrote: »
    Ouch. I wouldn't pay for a scan unless I asked for it to be carried out. It takes a couple of minutes and if nothing was revealed, then I think it is just bad business to charge a customer €100 for this.

I specifically went in for the scan. Was more the lack of answers yet the full charge and suggestion of more scanning at a later date.

Wasn't even given a list of fault codes just a typed description.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,266 ✭✭✭greasepalm

well if you mentioned car and symptoms and year we might have a go for free,funny thing one scanner can say no faults and other can give you a shopping list.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Robbed. You can get a scanner v cheaply on ebay and run your own tests.

percy212 wrote: »
    Robbed. You can get a scanner v cheaply on ebay and run your own tests.

The 10-15 euro things? They do very little compared to a professional set up

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

And then folk wonder why back street mechanics businesses are booming!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Were you a regular customer?
    My local indi will charge €80 for a scan unless your a regular customer regarding services.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Like what ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Like what ?
    ?? A cheapo elm327 based obd yoke is very restricted in what it can read, never mind write, compared to a pro setup.

Airbags, extra functions done by "comfort/body control modules" etc etc

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭ScottStorm

?? A cheapo elm327 based obd yoke is very restricted in what it can read, never mind write, compared to a pro setup.

Airbags, extra functions done by "comfort/body control modules" etc etc

I use one and for the money they are good, works for basic faults to read and clear. I currently have an abs issue and no chance - local garage pulled the abs codes easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

An ebay scanner can do a few things which may be fine for the DIYer but garages use professional grade equipment.

100 euro is pretty steep alright. Around here a scan is usually 50, I suppose using a dealer will add expense as per usual.
    OP, maybe elaborate on what made you want to go for a scan. Any lights on dash etc.
    I hope the second scan will be free for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

That still on the S60 SG?

The main dealer charges for that are nothing short of a rip off.
    Although you're paying for the mechanics expertise also, its still crazy money.

For what you paid for 1 scan, the dealer level software and special cable can be bought.
    Granted, only the dealer can do certain things like code keys etc.

The generic ELM327 readers will only give general codes back.

For some reason although Volvos are OBD compliant, they're know for the difficulty in reading (early 2001-04 anyway).

There are one or two users here who have the required kit that could save you a few quid the next time, not that it helps at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

_Brian wrote: »
    Were you a regular customer?
    My local indi will charge €80 for a scan unless your a regular customer regarding services.

80 for a scan is still a rip off. The last diag i had done cost me 25euro from a well known well respected indie in Kilkenny.

obezyana wrote: »
    80 for a scan is still a rip off. The last diag i had done cost me 25euro from a well known well respected indie in Kilkenny.

My thinking also, its not like the Diagnostic kit 'wears out' from usage.

I can understand a consumable like Airco gas.

But a machine that you have for years ? Even if it cost thousands its a rip off to charge 80-100 euros to plug it in and push a button.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,159 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

While €100 is very expensive for a diagnostic, it is not surprising from a main dealer. But I think some people may not be fully versed in how much proper diagnostic equipment costs to buy and maintain. I'm not talking about a €70 flea bay generic ball park code scanner here. The equipment itself is pretty expensive to buy, then you have the software which is licensed, also costs big money plus the regular software updates needed to incorporate the latest advancements. €50 or €60 would be the norm for a diagnostic from a good indy garage. You will always pay more from a main dealer.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,227 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

bazz26 wrote: »
    But I think some people may not be fully versed in how much proper diagnostic equipment costs to buy and maintain.

Yep. Try five figures per year.

The bigger problem though is peoples expectations from that scan, they are useless unless you are prepared to pay for the mechanics expertise to do something about it.

Image connecting your diag machine and correctly identifying that a CAN BUS wire is broken somewhere. Well, good luck finding out exactly which wire it is!

Don't go into any serious garage penny pinching and asking for a scan, forget quick fixes and just ask them to find the bloody fault!

Image connecting your diag machine and correctly identifying that a CAN BUS wire is broken somewhere. Well, good luck finding out exactly which wire it is!

Me hole .... I've never heard of a Main Dealer fixing an electrical problem like that.

:pac::pac:

Me hole .... I've never heard of a Main Dealer fixing an electrical problem like that.

:pac::pac:

Are you being factitious?

Yep. Try five figures per year.

The bigger problem though is peoples expectations from that scan, they are useless unless you are prepared to pay for the mechanics expertise to do something about it.

Don't go into any serious garage penny pinching and asking for a scan, forget quick fixes and just ask them to find the bloody fault!

The reason i left it in for the scan was to find the fault instead of just randomly replacing parts which funnily enough is what they are suggesting.

Did they give you a report on the scan findings. If not say you want one, because that is exactly what you paid for, then take your car and your report to another mechanic. Perhaps someone on here can recommend a good one in your area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

The reason i left it in for the scan was to find the fault instead of just randomly replacing parts which funnily enough is what they are suggesting.

Absolutely, these garages portray the image of "Ooooh, look at me, I am a 9th grade black belt diagnostician and only my voodoo magic will reveal the code and then I will use my superior brain and knowledge to properly interpret the answer, which you mere mortal can never do and if ye encounter the dreaded airbag fault, you will need my black magic to fix the fault!"
    When in reality some mechanic will plug it in, go "ahm, I think it's the airbag, that'll be €100 for diagnostics and €700 for an airbag, that didn't fix it? Another diagnostic and some more easter egging".
    For the uninitiated, easter egging is the process of randomly replacing what vaguely could be the right parts in the hope that, by pure chance, the right part is being replaced.
    I had an 02 Polo with an airbag fault, brought it to a mate, he got the codes, I looked them up and then did my research. And yes, it was a €50 gizmo from ebay.
    Could have been airbag, could have been clock-spring. Measured both, fault found to be clock-spring, got a replacement from a scrappy, €40.
    Had I gone to VW and said "Amaze and dazzle me with your mighty diagnostics machinery and eminent knowledge!", I would have paid the €100 plus whatever they charge for a brand new airbag, when all it needed was a new wire.

TL/DR:
    The big garages will not spend hours diagnosing a fault and trace wires to find what is the problem.
    They will simply charge you €100 to read some codes and then replace the engine.
    If you have half a brain and an internet connection, you can sort out 99% of all errors. For the ones we can't, well if all else fails there's still the main dealer. But it is not the voodoo and witchcraft it is made out to be if you halfway know your way round a car.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

no. the 80-100 price bracket.
    if you spend 10-15 on one ,then you deserve the results.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

Absolutely, these garages portray the image of "Ooooh, look at me, I am a 9th grade black belt diagnostician and only my voodoo magic will reveal the code and then I will use my superior brain and knowledge to properly interpret the answer, which you mere mortal can never do and if ye encounter the dreaded airbag fault, you will need my black magic to fix the fault!"

wow...best paragraph on boards today...brilliant.
    totally agree with you by the way.

Thats my point, scans are not some magic wand that will always tell you exactly what the problem is.

An example, connect to a diag and it reads a VECU fault. Is the fault with the VECU or with broken wiring to the VECU? One needs a €1000 ecu and the other needs the loom opened and wires repaired, same fault code though.

Thats my point, scans are not some magic wand that will always tell you exactly what the problem is.

An example, connect to a diag and it reads a VECU fault. Is the fault with the VECU or with broken wiring to the VECU? One needs a €1000 ecu and the other needs the loom opened and wires repaired, same fault code though.

Reason i went to main dealers is they should have more experience with common faults than anyone else as tehre is no indy specialist in the part of the country.

I wasn't given any diagnostic codes either just descriptions of what it "might" be on an A4 sheet.

Reason i went to main dealers is they should have more experience with common faults than anyone else as tehre is no indy specialist in the part of the country.

I wasn't given any diagnostic codes either just descriptions of what it "might" be on an A4 sheet.

And what did you let them do? Did you just ask for your scan and thats all you were prepared to pay for, or did you tell them to go ahead and diagnose the fault, even if it takes a few hours?

Even the most experienced master tech might take 4/5 hours opening up that hypothetical VECU wiring loom to find the broken wire. He can't plug a Diag or Texa in and immediately point to the wire, you simply need to just let him at it. But customers don't want to hear that.

I have no intention of defending poor service advisors, but the very concept of a diagnostic scan is one of the most misunderstood in the industry, its a tool, nothing more.

And what did you let them do? Did you just ask for your scan and thats all you were prepared to pay for, or did you tell them to go ahead and diagnose the fault, even if it takes a few hours?

Even the most experienced master tech might take 4/5 hours opening up that hypothetical VECU wiring loom to find the broken wire. He can't plug a Diag or Texa in and immediately point to the wire, you simply need to just let him at it. But customers don't want to hear that.

I have no intention of defending poor service advisors, but the very concept of a diagnostic scan is one of the most misunderstood in the industry, its a tool, nothing more.

I descibed the problem and asked if they could diagnose it and get back to me with a course of action, and they did telling me they thought it could be once of 4-5 things but they werent sure.

And did you let them continue their diagnosis, or were you only prepared to pay the initial charge?

There are faults that cannot be confirmed in one hour, or by connecting a laptop. Its like hearing a rattle and paying a mechanic €10 to open the bonnet and look at the engine, but not being prepared to let him start unscrewing things. Then you are walking away complaining that you paid him €10 and are still no wiser.

And did you let them continue their diagnosis, or were you only prepared to pay the initial charge?

There are faults that cannot be confirmed in one hour, or by connecting a laptop. Its like hearing a rattle and paying a mechanic €10 to open the bonnet and look at the engine, but not being prepared to let him start unscrewing things. Then you are walking away complaining that you paid him €10 and are still no wiser.

You seem to be convinced im a cheapskate.

Car was with them the whole day and i asked would it be worth leaving it in for futher investigation to which i was told they wouldnt be able to update it software or run further diagnostics for two weeks, not much i can do about that really.

The whole exercise was to narrow down what the underlying issues were.

The best next step is to ask the dealer for the report on the scan they did for you, and then go to a good indy, which hopefully someone here can recommend for you. A dealer is the most expensive option in all cases. Best of luck.