Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second hand tractor 10k to spend

• 09-11-2014 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

I am looking for a four wheel drive tractor not a zetor.i would like something to handle a double bale handler do bit slurry fertiliser topping I am only part time farming.with 10k to spend I should find something I was thinking of a ford 7810

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

jamie2000 wrote: »
    I am looking for a four wheel drive tractor not a zetor.i would like something to handle a double bale handler do bit slurry fertiliser topping I am only part time farming.with 10k to spend I should find something I was thinking of a ford 7810

7810 really is a great old workhorse, and reliability is excellent, had a few in my time. U might need no further replies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 jamie2000

7810 really is a great old workhorse, and reliability is excellent, had a few in my time. U might need no further replies!

Thanks for the reply.would you recommend turbo or non turbo or is there any major difference between the different series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 O2b

Landini 9880, good workhorse, cheap to fix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Fiat 90/90 worth considering also. 90 hp 5 cylinder engine. Simple, reliable & cheap to fix. Great pulling power. 100/90 or 110/90 are 6 cylinder and might be outside of budget. Best tractors of that size of the late 80's early 90's era in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

seen a grand Ford 6810 on donedeal the other day for about 8k. prbably bargining room there. she was a 91. looked well from the picutre. drove one for a while myself. she'd handle everythin you were lookin for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Case 1494, or if that's to small a 1594. Both utterly bullet proof, and not really considered classics yet, however they will appreciate in value over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

i see a few International 955 and 956 xl up on done deal, all way under ten grand . One that has been looked after will be totally bullet proof.
    Strangely, they are now cheaper than 885 xl's.

seen a grand Ford 6810 on donedeal the other day for about 8k. prbably bargining room there. she was a 91. looked well from the picutre. drove one for a while myself. she'd handle everythin you were lookin for.

Yea I rang him about it sounded good on the phone it was sold before I could get to him so must have been ok

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    i see a few International 955 and 956 xl up on done deal, all way under ten grand . One that has been looked after will be utterly bullet proof.
    Strangely, they are now cheaper than 885 xl's.

I have no experience with cases but I heard some people say good things about them like their engines.what are things to watch out for.

On 955 models check all gears are changing sweetly. Some had an auxiliary.oil tank to help have oil capacity for tipping big twin ram trailers. Be great to find one that the owner was particular about using International own brand "hytran"oil in the back end. Rusty cabs biggest problem. On 956 models you got a slim line front axle with better lock. these have 4wd engaged with a solonoid switch. Make sure the tractor comes out of 4wd .Slightly nicer hydraulic controls also on the later 956. International used the Axla hitch, like many other makers. Will be sloppy by now. A tractor with a Dromone hitch would be good if you find one.Seldom if ever, see one with a loader fitted. Don't know why, but could be an issue if you plan to fit a loader, cause there will be fewer sets of secondhand brackets for sale. Serious traction and one of the better 6 cylinder engines made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭4odh4n

how would any of the above handle a double bale handler which the op has suggested they may be using?, just asking out of curiosity as we have a mf398 at home and a double lifter would speed things up a fair bit but i have always thought it would struggle with 2 bales of chopped grass on board, neighbour has got a double lifter this year so might try theirs with a few next year to see how we get on. if it is able to lift it i'd think a right few weights will be required as i have used one on a mf6270 before which had a loader attached, it could lift no problem but was getting light on the nose climbing out gates etc.
    would have thought you would need to be north of 100hp or six cylinders to comfortably handle a double lifter??

4odh4n wrote: »
    how would any of the above handle a double bale handler which the op has suggested they may be using?, just asking out of curiosity as we have a mf398 at home and a double lifter would speed things up a fair bit but i have always thought it would struggle with 2 bales of chopped grass on board, neighbour has got a double lifter this year so might try theirs with a few next year to see how we get on. if it is able to lift it i'd think a right few weights will be required as i have used one on a mf6270 before which had a loader attached, it could lift no problem but was getting light on the nose climbing out gates etc.
    would have thought you would need to be north of 100hp or six cylinders to comfortably handle a double lifter??
    If you look up tractor data.com it will tell you all you should need to know about the specs of the data . what surprised me was a ford 6810 has a bigger lift than a 8210 by nearly a ton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭case956tom

Timmaay wrote: »
    Case 1494, or if that's to small a 1594. Both utterly bullet proof, and not really considered classics yet, however they will appreciate in value over time.
    check the engine oil pump has been upgraded as some oil pumps in 1594 had soft gears and prone to failure, also some hydrashift parts are obsolete.

I have no experience with cases but I heard some people say good things about them like their engines.what are things to watch out for.
    check the handbrake works,check its not mixing coolant with the engine oil also check its not jumping out of gear.great tractor though have a 956 myself.

If you look up tractor data.com it will tell you all you should need to know about the specs of the data . what surprised me was a ford 6810 has a bigger lift than a 8210 by nearly a ton

6810 may have the power but I doubt it'd have the weight to work a double handler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I used a double bale handler on a neighbours JD6610 and she was barely fit for it. front wheels left the ground at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

maybe a SAME 106/ lambourgini 1060 . My old Lambourgini use to be able to handle 3.5 ton on the rear with 320kg weights on the front

The 1060 is 6 cylinder where mine was 4 cylinder.

maybe a SAME 106/ lambourgini 1060 . My old Lambourgini use to be able to handle 3.5 ton on the rear with 320kg weights on the front

The 1060 is 6 cylinder where mine was 4 cylinder.

3.5 ton on the links?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Landini 9880 here would be lifting at front with 1000kgs if fert on it
    Massey would take 2t and its 3cyl with loader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Landini 9880 here would be lifting at front with 1000kgs if fert on it
    Massey would take 2t and its 3cyl with loader

what kind of spreader

carried 1500 in an amazone on an 9880 with no problems

orm0nd wrote: »
    what kind of spreader

carried 1500 in an amazone on an 9880 with no problems

Amazone 1200kg spreader. Ours lifts like a hoore and 200kg on front.
    Had friends 2t spreader on massey not a gig out of her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Amazone 1200kg spreader. Ours lifts like a hoore and 200kg on front.
    Had friends 2t spreader on massey not a gig out of her

You've a fair oul lump of a loader on the massey tho, the brackets alone would be more than 200kg,

Zr105 wrote: »
    You've a fair oul lump of a loader on the massey tho, the brackets alone would be more than 200kg,

A pot less too.
    Alot if weight in cooling pack though

A pot less too.
    Alot if weight in cooling pack though

Yeah, but it's more the way the loader hangs out off the front.

I'd hazard a guess that the 3 and 4 pots in those masseys have the same wheel base though? If it is your probably gaining as much weight in the front casting as your loosing in the amount that would be in the block for the extra piston

Yeah, but it's more the way the loader hangs out off the front.

I'd hazard a guess that the 3 and 4 pots in those masseys have the same wheel base though? If it is your probably gaining as much weight in the front casting as your loosing in the amount that would be in the block for the extra piston
    The 5610 and 5612 exact same tractor only 5612 has 4 pots and bigger tyres

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Would a handy trailer not be quicker and better than carrying bales individually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I use a Ford 6610 to handle a double bale handler and it carries one in front as well. The trick is to make sure that Hydrolic oil level is between median and max level. It has the two hydrolic pumps.

fasted way to draw bales is a double bale handler and one in front. You would want to be drawing bales over a mile for to consider a trailer. If you have some one with a single bale handler get them to stack the bales in doubles and leave singles on the way out of the field.

I use a Ford 6610 to handle a double bale handler and it carries one in front as well. The trick is to make sure that Hydrolic oil level is between median and max level. It has the two hydrolic pumps.

fasted way to draw bales is a double bale handler and one in front. You would want to be drawing bales over a mile for to consider a trailer. If you have some one with a single bale handler get them to stack the bales in doubles and leave singles on the way out of the field.
    I dunno about that puds id be a week drawing bales here with a double bales handler and were only drawing few hundred metres to yard

That makes no sense to me anyway. I would have a Pain in my butt if I was to draw bales 3 at a time. I usually get them wrapped on the yard. 600 bale a year. And my tractor is 2wd. And less than 80hp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

4WD double bale handler is way faster than a tractor and trailer. Local contractor it was that told me you want to be a mile away to be faster that it. The bales are wrapped in the field. Pick up your two bales and one in the front. You reverse in the two dump one on top. After 4 runs all next load goes on top. We stack two high. On a short draw young lad can do over 30/hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Had a machine out on trial here that took two bales over the cab and two below.
    One on loader in front. Not a bad system for short draw.
    Will try and dig out the name of it.

I completely disagree as is my prerogative!

Two and a half grand too dear, for an 885, Pat!

Ooops, guess Pat didn't set up a paid advertising account............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭9935452

4WD double bale handler is way faster than a tractor and trailer. Local contractor it was that told me you want to be a mile away to be faster that it. The bales are wrapped in the field. Pick up your two bales and one in the front. You reverse in the two dump one on top. After 4 runs all next load goes on top. We stack two high. On a short draw young lad can do over 30/hour.

To be fair there is meant to be nothing faster than a keltec to draw bales.

On a different not what sort/size of tractor would be needed to use this quad bale handler with a few wet bales.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S47K8BF0sR4

Bought 7810 yesterday off local dealer very clean with good tyres.11500 euro

9935452 wrote: »
    To be fair there is meant to be nothing faster than a keltec to draw bales.

On a different not what sort/size of tractor would be needed to use this quad bale handler with a few wet bales.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S47K8BF0sR4

Supposedly but at 20odd grand for it its way out of 99%of people's reach, and it's pretty much useless for anything else. Also think that once you go over something like a mile draw the advantage of it is completely lost to the extra numbers you could carry on a normal flat.

I'd say you'd want fair lump under the 4 bale handler, your looking at lifting a minimum of 3 ton of bales there plus the lifter. 1.7t would be getting the front a bit light on a 120hp here with out the weights... Be savage hard on the rear tires to,

Bought 7810 yesterday off local dealer very clean with good tyres.11500 euro

Wear well! A Classic. If you mind it, will probably creep up in value over the years. Hard to beat a six cylinder.

Bought this yoke a month ago, not as pretty as a 7810, but so far seems OK, and the loader works well. 5K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Wear well! A Classic. If you mind it, will probably creep up in value over the years. Hard to beat a six cylinder.

Bought this yoke a month ago, not as pretty as a 7810, but so far seems OK, and the loader works well. 5K

Seems good value Nek , what is it like lifting a bale in the grab ?

Bullocks wrote: »
    Seems good value Nek , what is it like lifting a bale in the grab ?

Marginal enough, mainly because you can only get the bale caught on the points of the teeth. If I had many bales, would be better with a spike or ordinary grab.

Its on an out-farm, so no worries about sudden freezes.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Marginal enough, mainly because you can only get the bale caught on the points of the teeth. If I had many bales, would be better with a spike or ordinary grab.

Its on an out-farm, so no worries about sudden freezes.........

Nek, hope you don't mind a few more q's. what size grab is that? What model is the same? Do you have any ballast on the back? Would the grab work any better with a few tines removed? Sorry for the q's, but I was going to look at a 4'6 grab tomorrow as a cheap alternative to a bale slicer. Thx.

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Nek, hope you don't mind a few more q's. what size grab is that? What model is the same? Do you have any ballast on the back? Would the grab work any better with a few tines removed? Sorry for the q's, but I was going to look at a 4'6 grab tomorrow as a cheap alternative to a bale slicer. Thx.

Shear grab is 50 inches wide. It a home made copy of a Parmitter. Made it back in about 1988 for use on a Massey 65 digger. Rams are off a Track Marshall dozer. We got a JCB in the mid 90's and she lay in the bushes till last week.
    Have a concrete block on the back, again, was made for the Massey. With a few tines removed, the remaining ones would slide into a bale a bit better. Lots of strain on the tines/ bottom bar when cutting, so check very carefully for wear and cracks.

Supposedly but at 20odd grand for it its way out of 99%of people's reach, and it's pretty much useless for anything else. Also think that once you go over something like a mile draw the advantage of it is completely lost to the extra numbers you could carry on a normal flat.

I'd say you'd want fair lump under the 4 bale handler, your looking at lifting a minimum of 3 ton of bales there plus the lifter. 1.7t would be getting the front a bit light on a 120hp here with out the weights... Be savage hard on the rear tires to,

To be fair you will pick a 10 bale one up second hand for 10k. ive seen 8 bale ones on done deal for around 8k.
    They are built strong and able for rough work , you could buy one use it for 5 years and sell it on for the same money.
    They reckon at anything up to 3 miles nothing will touch them.
    on a half mile draw they say a 10 bale one will take 72 bales an hour , 7 trips an hour,under 9 minutes a round trip including loading and unloading.
    A 30 ft flat trailer will take 14 in the bottom row, and 6 on the next row so 20. Anything more any you will have to strap your load.
    How long will it take for one man to drive to field, take off the trailer, drive all around the field to get 20 bales back to the one spot, hook back up to the trailer, drive back to yard, take off trailer, unload 20 bales. 30 to 60 secs a bale gives 10 to 20 minutes to load and unload.
    The keltec unloads in under a minute. I do understand that there will have to be a man with a loader stacking the bales at the yard.
    That said i fail to see how a flat trailer would beat a keltec.

9935452 wrote: »
    To be fair you will pick a 10 bale one up second hand for 10k. ive seen 8 bale ones on done deal for around 8k.
    They are built strong and able for rough work , you could buy one use it for 5 years and sell it on for the same money.
    They reckon at anything up to 3 miles nothing will touch them.
    on a half mile draw they say a 10 bale one will take 72 bales an hour , 7 trips an hour,under 9 minutes a round trip including loading and unloading.
    A 30 ft flat trailer will take 14 in the bottom row, and 6 on the next row so 20. Anything more any you will have to strap your load.
    How long will it take for one man to drive to field, take off the trailer, drive all around the field to get 20 bales back to the one spot, hook back up to the trailer, drive back to yard, take off trailer, unload 20 bales. 30 to 60 secs a bale gives 10 to 20 minutes to load and unload.
    The keltec unloads in under a minute. I do understand that there will have to be a man with a loader stacking the bales at the yard.
    That said i fail to see how a flat trailer would beat a keltec.

Ok, fair enough maybe it is quicker but it's still ludicrous money unless your purely contracting to move silage.... 4k will buy you a very good 30ft and and it'll draw an awful lot more than 8 or 10 bales. 20 of silage, up to 30 of hay or straw without going to third row, can go for a pallet of fert or bags of meal...

My trailer is 23 foot. It will go in through any gap. Will carry 14 bales of haylage without straps. I would draw around 2 loads an hour from a mile away..with wrapper man unloading me.. with my 70 hp 2wd tractor And I can draw hay straw fertilizer any distance. Value of tractor and loader€5000 trailer €2500.

Ok, fair enough maybe it is quicker but it's still ludicrous money unless your purely contracting to move silage.... 4k will buy you a very good 30ft and and it'll draw an awful lot more than 8 or 10 bales. 20 of silage, up to 30 of hay or straw without going to third row, can go for a pallet of fert or bags of meal...

i admit that it would be an expensive buy but bought second hand worth the money you could own and use it for years and sell it on and lose no money on it.

On another thought, a lot of lads over the last few years around me have been buying fusions and their workload has been consistantly dropping.
    It would be cheaper to hold onto their balers and wrapper but its the time saving they are after. the same could be said for the keltec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

With a few tines removed, the remaining ones would slide into a bale a bit better. Lots of strain on the tines/ bottom bar when cutting, so check very carefully for wear and cracks.

Ya she'd snap them like tooth picks, especially if blade is blunt!!

A friend of mine went to see a case 956xl the only problem he saw was it jumps out of gear in 3 and 4 high is it a big problem

jumping out of gears 1-4 isn't too bad a job, jumping out of the range gears is a bigger fix, cab has to be removed you might get away without removing it, tractor has to be split, front half has to be removed from gearbox not too bad after that,what was the handbrake like?gbox lube light come on and switch off when it should.what's it like on a cold start they were never that great on a cold start anyway,hyd lift working as it should?

case956tom wrote: »
    jumping out of gears 1-4 isn't too bad a job, jumping out of the range gears is a bigger fix, cab has to be removed you might get away without removing it, tractor has to be split, front half has to be removed from gearbox not too bad after that,what was the handbrake like?gbox lube light come on and switch off when it should.what's it like on a cold start they were never that great on a cold start anyway,hyd lift working as it should?

That sounds like a big job removing the cab.the rest of the tractor is fine he is looking for 8k for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

case956tom wrote: »

I put a high speed starter in our 956 and it made a job of it