Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bringing someone in for tae

• 08-11-2014 7:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭

Sold a dung fork this morning to a man from mayo through donedeal. as he arrived i told the wife to have the kettle boiled in case he wants to come in for tae after I had a chance to suss
    him out.

herself was a little shocked of me wanting to bring him in as he was a complete stranger.

I dont think anything of it myself or throwing the luck penny either. Maybe I'm the minority.

What do you fine folk think of letting someone into the kitchen for a cuppa

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Most people just want to do the deal and get back on the road, i would anyway. I would appreciate the gesture but refuse as be stopping several times to go the toilet on way back after a few cups of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I'd be like you op, would always offer the tea, and think always give a bit o luck too. Both nice traditions and would have been the way growing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

every one is invited in even unannounced inspectors and unwelcome sales reps.

o/h always has a supply of "goodies" for same hidden some where safe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

if you land into the yard you are lucky to get away with only tea, the parents usually force feed anyone that lands. its a nice sentiment imo and hopefully one that continues. theres people that landed to buy something years ago that still call just for the ceilie. my own wife finds it a bit odd too but sure shes a townie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Most people just want to do the deal and get back on the road, i would anyway. I would appreciate the gesture but refuse as be stopping several times to go the toilet on way back after a few cups of tea.

Well he didn't come in and that was fair enough but wife would have been happier not asking him at all

Miname wrote: »
    if you land into the yard you are lucky to get away with only tea, the parents usually force feed anyone that lands. its a nice sentiment imo and hopefully one that continues. theres people that landed to buy something years ago that still call just for the ceilie. my own wife finds it a bit odd too but sure shes a townie.
    Its the auld tradition I like to keep going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Always invited in for tea here to. Had a good chat with our vet today about this. When he started doing testing over 30 years ago the test was a big day for everyone and a big social event. He always went in for tea or a whiskey!

Nice to have a chat with the Nabourghs when they are helping us or vice versa over a cup of tea to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,213 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

oh delivered a piece of machinery to a farmyard and was brought in for a t-bone steak:eek:

whelan2 wrote: »
    oh delivered a piece of machinery to a farmyard and was brought in for a t-bone steak:eek:

And ate the dinner when he got home too i bet :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well he didn't come in and that was fair enough but wife would have been happier not asking him at all

I can see why, with so much crime and burglary around you don't know who is coming into your yard sussing things out letting on to be interested in buying something.
    Bringing someone into your house then gives them a good idea of your possessions, valuables, where keys might be thrown around, has it a house alarm etc.
    Its an awful way things are gone but you have to edge on caution, is it for these reasons maybe your wifes thinking was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

it would depend on a few things...but generally no . most people just want to do the deal and get on their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,213 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Volvoair wrote: »
    it would depend on a few things...but generally no . most people just want to do the deal and get on their way.
    yes, asked oh there again, he said he just wanted to head home, they said steak was ready for him, this was in Ballinrobe, he has also had full breakfast in a farm in bunclody and a few cups of tea. Most times he just wants to go asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 tealcottage

We offer tea to most people who call to our farm or house. It's amazing the amount of people that won't take the ten minutes to have the cup of tea.

Is it because people are too busy or unsociable.

I can see why, with so much crime and burglary around you don't know who is coming into your yard sussing things out letting on to be interested in buying something.
    Bringing someone into your house then gives them a good idea of your possessions, valuables, where keys might be thrown around, has it a house alarm etc.
    Its an awful way things are gone but you have to edge on caution, is it for these reasons maybe your wifes thinking was?

I like to think I can figure out if a fella is genuine after a small time talking to him but there is always the one time

aah now thats way too sceptical, if you cant read an oddball coming in to the yard then thats fair enough but in general i at least like to think that the general community are a reasonably trustworthy bunch of people. its easy enough pick up the gangsters and plus theres f-all i have for robbing anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Usually would invite a lad in for the mug of tae or coffee. Feck all to rob here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I often meet older people who would have lived in our area maybe years ago. They would say things like "I drank tea in your Grandmothers house" like it was something they had fond memories of. An old and great tradition alright. I notice though that youger people are more inclinded to say no. I suppose the 'gift of the gab' will die with it too.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Usually would invite a lad in for the mug of tae or coffee. Feck all to rob here!

What about that mint Fiat :D

aah now thats way too sceptical, if you cant read an oddball coming in to the yard then thats fair enough but in general i at least like to think that the general community are a reasonably trustworthy bunch of people. its easy enough pick up the gangsters and plus theres f-all i have for robbing anyways.

Is it though, con men are deadly. They will have all the talk show all the right interest and make all the right moves and let on they are looking at one other one and get back to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

An uncle of mine, years ago done a bit of ploughing for a woman and got invited in for tea. He was drinking away at it and she enquired would he like another drop. Out of politeness he said he would......... She was drinking a cup herself at the time....... She leaned over and pored half of hers into his cup:eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

It's a nice tradition that's slowly dying out. People were more generous when they had less. Curious.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,058 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

my own wife finds it a bit odd too but sure shes a townie.

I'm a blue Dub and always offer coffee to a buyer that comes to the house. Always give back luck money too. Amazed at the amount of country fella's and girls that don't!:eek: In fairness, the stuff I'd be selling to would be to people that would have a common interest and sometimes it takes a while to go over the goods, explain the good points and bad points. I'm guessing some of the stuff you'd be selling could attract the wrong type (scrap metal etc...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I would usually offer , especially if they have travelled a fair bit but its dying out . Everyone is in more of a rush these days .
    I notice it with the plastering aswell , when I started at it and did a bit of patching in someone's house in the evening there would always be a bit of grub and they would seldom let me hoover/sweep up because " I had enough done by working late for them and they would tidy up themselves " but not anymore , most of them would be disappointed if I didnt have my own in case their dyson gets fecked from the dust !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dh1985

I often meet older people who would have lived in our area maybe years ago. They would say things like "I drank tea in your Grandmothers house" like it was something they had fond memories of. An old and great tradition alright. I notice though that youger people are more inclinded to say no. I suppose the 'gift of the gab' will die with it too.

I think you hit the nail on the head there pat. Older generation alot better at making small talk. See it with the parents at home. They would be able to strike up and hold a conversation with anyone. As for me there would be alot of awkward silences. I suppose it shows that a college education doesnt always provide the social skills that people had in the past.

I'm guessing some of the stuff you'd be selling could attract the wrong type (scrap metal etc...)[/QUOTE]

ai most of my time farming ive been aspiring to rear scrap metal. ive started off with tin cans but they are growing into serious barrells now. scrap metal has nothing to do with farming especially since reps came in. in the day job most of the times its the not so well off that will offer tea and dinner, and the real well to do that never offer. we were working on a contract once where the owner of the house put a lock on her fridge because one of my lads left a pint of milk in it for the tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'm guessing some of the stuff you'd be selling could attract the wrong type (scrap metal etc...)

ai most of my time farming ive been aspiring to rear scrap metal. ive started off with tin cans but they are growing into serious barrells now. scrap metal has nothing to do with farming especially since reps came in. in the day job most of the times its the not so well off that will offer tea and dinner, and the real well to do that never offer. we were working on a contract once where the owner of the house put a lock on her fridge because one of my lads left a pint of milk in it for the tea.[/quote]

Bathroom door was locked on us a few weeks ago in a house !

Bullocks wrote: »
    ai most of my time farming ive been aspiring to rear scrap metal. ive started off with tin cans but they are growing into serious barrells now. scrap metal has nothing to do with farming especially since reps came in. in the day job most of the times its the not so well off that will offer tea and dinner, and the real well to do that never offer. we were working on a contract once where the owner of the house put a lock on her fridge because one of my lads left a pint of milk in it for the tea.

Bathroom door was locked on us a few weeks ago in a house ![/QUOTE]

had that problem on another job in rathmines which eventually turned into an odour problem eminating from the side of the garden shed. a couple of weeks of lads urinating at the side of a shed eventually leads to its own issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We always invite people in for a cuppa. When people have bought a number of cattle we will bring them to the local hotel and stand them lunch/dinner.
    One man and his wife from Galway buy from us every year - she says that she likes the spin, scenery and the dinner in the local hotel :)

Base price wrote: »
    We always invite people in for a cuppa. When people have bought a number of cattle we will bring them to the local hotel and stand them lunch/dinner.
    One man and his wife from Galway buy from us every year - she says that she likes the spin, scenery and the dinner in the local hotel :)
    Must go shopping your direction :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

Q. "will'e drink tay?"

A. "God knows we will d'ya know... we never refused it yet!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

What about that mint Fiat :D

insured.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

Here we always offer tea and food to buyers and painters or whoever.

I, myself do a bit of gardening for people in the locality, only once have I not been offered in for tea. I have 4-5 keys for people's houses so I can use the toilet or make a cup of tea. I never ask, but also get a spare key. A lot of them would be weekend homes for Dublin people but want a maintained garden. Very trusting as many would only know me a short while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

You put a dung fork up on done deal! Did you not the SFP last month Reggie :-)

Don't get any payments so no inspections as a result :D

he timed it so he get someone elses as well

That's some accusation :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Always invited in for tea here to. Had a good chat with our vet today about this. When he started doing testing over 30 years ago the test was a big day for everyone and a big social event. He always went in for tea or a whiskey!

Nice to have a chat with the Nabourghs when they are helping us or vice versa over a cup of tea to.
    Back in the 80's I used to help out my aunt with their testing their vet was an old timer that liked his whiskey. Always on the day of the reading he would be invited in for a fry and two big glasses of whiskey for some strange reason the cattle always past the test :D The good old days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Base price wrote: »
    That's some treat :)

I bought off a fairly local young fella a few years ago around €3.5k worth anyway he said he would give me €50 luck money if I gave him €50 extra in the draft :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

I like your style Reggie, buttering up a buyer for more of the same :-)

How dare you sir :D

What can I say it runs in the family

Steady sunshine :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

De ould lad has often seemed out the buyer(of breeding stock) in the mart to give em a bit of luck, espicially if he got a good price.
    Well there's one lad that makes a
    point of pulling off a ewe/2 off a pen then asks for luck but hasn't got any since he started that crac

Steady sunshine :P

No problem sweetie I'll get the tea .
    Lyons or barrys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Don't get any payments so no inspections as a result :D

Think of the tea bags you are saving...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Mother feeds all and sundry, prides herself on giving silage men, digger drivers etc the dinner. Loves when they eat the lot, followed by the buns and tarts!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

I'd always make the tea for any lads doing work, builders, digger men, electricians, etc, but certainly not random callers. Neighbours know when it's baking day here. :P

No problem sweetie I'll get the tea .
    Lyons or barrys

Barrys def

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Barrys def

How could ya call that crap tea.... Remind me not to bother with the cupa if I ever end up buying something off ya so :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Sam Kade wrote: »
    That's some treat :)

I bought off a fairly local young fella a few years ago around €3.5k worth anyway he said he would give me €50 luck money if I gave him €50 extra in the draft :rolleyes:
    That is terrible. I wonder is the same fella still in business.