Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Graham Norton Show - 7th. November 2014

• 07-11-2014 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,435 ✭✭✭✭

giphy-facebook_s.jpg

Extremely-cute-kitten_large.jpg

Eh...wha?!

p_graham-norton_1734883c.jpg

*record scratches*

No, fellow boardsies, you ain't mistaking! This is the LLS Thread!

Graham Norton is on the Late Late Show! :eek: :D

Also...

LONGORIEH!

eva_longoria1_300_400.jpg

O'LEAREH!

dermot_oleary.png

GALVINEH!

paul-galvin-11.jpg

NUTTEH!

madness-c-michael-putland-getty-images.jpg

*dusts off fez*

It's Friday Night Chat Show Host vs. Friday Night Chat Show Host!

9.35pm! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Longoria recorded obviously? Heard she was gone back home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 TGBlinds Awnings Shutters

Tis looking like it'll be a good show then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

vicwatson wrote: »
    Longoria recorded obviously? Heard she was gone back home.

She impressed me in a major way on Bill Maher's comedy- politics show on HBO last week discussing the plight of Latino immigrants working on American farms in slave like conditions. She is the producer of a new documentary on the topic.

Although Tubs will probably ask her about taytos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

No, something's not right here. I've heard of all of those people. And none are dying as far as I know.

Something is definitely wrong here.

(Incidentally, there must be a record drought of Xfactor nobodies this LLS season. Isn't there normally one every two weeks when it's on?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

She impressed me in a major way on Bill Maher's comedy- politics show on HBO last week discussing the plight of Latino immigrants working on American farms in slave like conditions. She is the producer of a new documentary on the topic.

Although Tubs will probably ask her about taytos.

Ah no.........The Irish great-great-great-Granny's friend's cousin will get a look in first I'd imagine....:rolleyes:.......:)

He definitely should ask her about the Smokey Bacon Tayto's...tut, tut...:(

Smokey Bacon Tayto's??.....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

No rugby guest? How did that happen?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Tubs will manage to make Norton seem boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Ah no.........The Irish great-great-great-Granny's friend's cousin will get a look in first I'd imagine....:rolleyes:.......:)

He definitely should ask her about the Smokey Bacon Tayto's...tut, tut...:(

Smokey Bacon Tayto's??.....:eek:

The best ones! Although maybe not nice as nice as Barbeque flavour Hula Hoops. Mmmmm ...

I am looking forward to seeing the Web Summit speaking, Tayto Eating, Always tweeting Lovely Latino lassie later on.

And the rest of the line up is rather good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Skid X wrote: »
    And the rest of the line up is rather good too.

It's hard to look forward to any Late Late show these days... Tubridy just spoils everything.. And I think he's actually getting worse..

Oh and Eva Longoria was on a yank show last night talking about Ireland, so it's definitely pre record...

http://entertainment.ie/celebrity-gossip/Watch-Eva-Longoria-talked-Ireland-Jameson-and-Tayto-Crisps-on-Seth-Myers-last-night/312510.htm

I'd say she slept the whole flight after spending half an hour with Tubridy..

However I have a bottle of wine here and a laptop, so I may pop on the thread later and act the maggot...

Oh and Eva Longoria was on a yank show last night talking about Ireland, so it's definitely pre record...

http://www.whosay.com/status/EvaLongoria/1021739?wsref=tw&code=mzQ9znu
    I just pre-recorded The Late Late Show on RTE for this Friday! Thanks Ryan for a great time!

Like I said before, American A and B Listers know how to do Talk Shows better than most. Pretend you enjoyed it and plug it on your whosay account, good woman yourself Eva.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Apart from Paul Galvin I am looking forward to this lineup.

Very good thread title WE :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Love the OP, WM :D.

Have missed the Show and the thread, for the past two weeks.
    Looking forward to the thread, and the Show tonight (in that order).
    Think I need alcohol though...and taytos.

The best ones! Although maybe not nice as nice as Barbeque flavour Hula Hoops. Mmmmm ...

Gross!!.....:(

Down with this sort of thing!!....:(

The X Factor is unwatchable since the Producers stopped Dermot O'Leary doing his Dermot Dance at the start. They said he was "a distraction from the contestants" :rolleyes:

Surely anything that diverts attention away from the contestants has to be a good thing?

http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2014-11-06/simon-cowell-is-missing-a-trick-by-banning-the-dermot-dance-from-x-factor

I think Dermot's great. He once presented a reality show called 'Shattered' on Channel 4 where the contestants had to stay awake for a week.

Every night (after Midnight) they competed in quizzes and games against Dermot in a section called "The Weary versus O'Leary".

I don't think anyone else watched it, and I might have imagined some of the details, but I thought it was epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

The X Factor is unwatchable since the Producers stopped Dermot O'Leary doing his Dermot Dance at the start. They said he was "a distraction from the contestants" :rolleyes:

Surely anything that diverts attention away from the contestants has to be a good thing?

http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2014-11-06/simon-cowell-is-missing-a-trick-by-banning-the-dermot-dance-from-x-factor

I think Dermot's great. He once presented a reality show called 'Shattered' on Channel 4 where the contestants had to stay awake for a week.

Every night (after Midnight) they competed in quizzes and games against Dermot in a section called "The Weary versus O'Leary".

I don't thing anyone else watched it, and I might have imagined some of the details, but I thought it was epic.

I will remember this post when I'm on my deathbed.

Some simple people will be wondering how Graham can be in two places at once. Not me, I worked out that The Late Late will simply relocate to London for the week so he can switch from room to room and hope nobody notices. A bit like Father Ted being filmed near Waterloo.

Hope that didn't come across too sarcastic, sorry Skid. I used to like Dermot but find him a horridly irritating cardboard cutout now - people who seem to work for Simon Cowell seem to have that happen to them (if they had any personality in the first place, people like Cheryl Cole you wouldn't really tell).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

It's getting ridiculous the amount of pre record interviews and clips that Tubridy uses throughout the show he calls "the longest live show on television". At least one pre record interview every week and about thirty youtube clips... I swear, it wont be long before he'll be able to sit at home and watch the show himself... Maybe even set up an account on boards and contribute to the thread...

I, for one, look forward to that day..... It would be nice to have somebody on the thread who was prepared to defend his performance.. :pac:

Heck is any of that live tonight actually...Norton's BBC show is pre recorded sure, but that will be a bit of a dash for Dermot from Cowell's controlling rehearsals to Dublin and back for tomorrow.

fr336 wrote: »
    Hope that didn't come across too sarcastic, sorry Skid. I used to like Dermot but find him a horridly irritating cardboard cutout now - people who seem to work for Simon Cowell seem to have that happen to them (if they had any personality in the first place, people like Cheryl Cole you wouldn't really tell).

:):) No bother at all. I know what you mean, I do think it's time Dermot did something else. Although he says he wants to host The Rose of Tralee, that's not right at all ...

I know everyone complains when the presenter asks people about their Irishness, but Dermot won't have sat down before he starts about his heritage ...
    X Factor presenter Dermot O'Leary's new memoir is based around songs he says are the soundtrack to his life and number one on the list comes from an unlikely source: Brendan Shine.

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/x-factor-s-dermot-o-leary-why-brendan-shine-is-top-of-my-pops-1.1962940

Gross!!.....:(

Down with this sort of thing!!....:(

Careful now.

You just reminded me of something...

David Mitchell on Moncrieff earlier in the week. Asked what people quote back at him the most he (referred to someone else) and then said

"This crack is very more-ish"

I found it hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Norton on Tubridy - this is all too 'meta' for me :eek:
    especially since the former is my main refuge from the latter if I'm exposed to a TV on Fri night...

...maybe Norton's going to stage a coup and wrest the LLS from the DLB
    (then install a puppet puppeh presenter since it wouldn't be worth his while doing the job himself)

I'd say Graham will be full of pity for Mr. T tonight....

and singing "Anything you can do I can do better"......

I can hear the nervous laughter from Mr. T already...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Ha - and plenty of support for the take-over sentiment in the messages to him :pac:

The irony is I bet Tubridy is near enough on the same salary as Norton!! Absolute madness and a joke even if you only watched one episode of The Late Late show. Luckily Graham's talent actually wins through and he laughs all the way to the bank as he also produces his show and gets all the production fees from the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

The irony is I bet Tubridy is near enough on the same salary as Norton!!
    No, Norton is stratospherially rich because he set up his own production company to sell his show to the BBC and then licence it to other areas. We're talking Creases and Mammon wealth with that guy.

Tubirdy? Hung around Montrose long enough that he was nuts deep with the D4 establishment, but they really don't consider talent in terms of succession. Tried to play footsie with the BBC last year but they saw right through him.

Could he not be a child of Tubridy?

B1wrOmgCMAAaS9U.jpg:large

No, Norton is stratospherially rich because he set up his own production company to sell his show to the BBC and then licence it to other areas. We're talking Creases and Mammon wealth with that guy.

Tubirdy? Hung around Montrose long enough that he was nuts deep with the D4 establishment, but they really don't consider talent in terms of succession. Tried to play footsie with the BBC last year but they saw right through him.

I'm impressed how you felt the need to say the same thing as me but in an apparently deeply knowledgable on these matters way there :P
    I was talking salary for presenting the show. Norton will get one of those from the BBC. Probably just short of a million a year. But, as we both said, his real money is from his production company which makes the show. Oh and to be pedantic he's had that a long time now, it wasn't a matter of setting one up just for the BBC fees they actually put a bit of effort into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I cannot wait when Graham comes on the show tonight. I don't know what type of reaction will be coming from Graham but with Tubridy it could be drab and depressing all the same but I don't want that for tonight.

Who knows there could be a little bit of rivalry on the show if Tubridy succumbs to it.

It was also my mum's 50th birthday this week on Wednesday. She is going to get a birthday dinner organised by her brother probably this weekend.

Happy Birthday Mum :)

I cannot wait when Graham comes on the show tonight. I don't know what type of reaction will be coming from Graham but with Tubridy it could be drab and depressing all the same but I don't want that for tonight.

Who knows there could be a little bit of rivalry on the show if Tubridy succumbs to it.

It was also my mum's 50th birthday this week on Wednesday. She is going to get a birthday dinner organised by her brother probably this weekend.

Pat Kenny would have probably been his usual superior self and Norton would have felt compelled to truly put him in his place. Tubridy comes across too wet to be too obviously unkind to imo.

Happy Birthday Dublinman1990's mum!

Ah, Happy Birthday Mammy of dublinman!....

A mere 50!....:):):)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

She is going to get a birthday dinner organised by her brother probably this weekend.

Ye should take her to dinner in the RTÉ canteen and she'll probably be a guest on the show next week ;)

Lapin wrote: »
    Ye should take her to dinner in the RTÉ canteen and she'll probably be a guest on the show next week ;)

What drinkies are we having tonight Lapin?? xxx :)

We should celebrate Mammy's birthday!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Happy birthday to Dublinman1990s mam, hope ye have a great night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What drinkies are we having tonight Lapin?? xxx :)

th?&id=HN.608005603815459611&w=300&h=300&c=0&pid=1.9&rs=0&p=0th?&id=HN.608003920182117064&w=300&h=300&c=0&pid=1.9&rs=0&p=0

I feckin wish. frown.png

th?&id=HN.608004882259969314&w=300&h=300&c=0&pid=1.9&rs=0&p=0

This is as good as it gets for me tonight I'm afraid.

Babysitting.

th?&id=HN.608037163232987845&w=300&h=300&c=0&pid=1.9&rs=0&p=0

I'll have a large one Lapin........

Em, it that the baby crying I hear???.......

Nappy changing time I think!!....***pours another large***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭For Reals

I think I've got it....
    Rather than have a non-event show, they began to sign up for press junkets, so the star quality will improve, but they won't be arsed hanging around for the show. The whole fun, (yeah stretching the word I know) of the show is the live element. We're not going to see that with any heavy weights it seems, 'cept Twink, wha? ;)

Ah, not Paul Williams again and Galvin!!!......Boooo......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I'd say Graham will be full of pity for Mr. T tonight....

and singing "Anything you can do I can do better"......

I can hear the nervous laughter from Mr. T already...........

The nervous laughter will be off the scale tonight, I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

And Paddy Casey when Tubridy was on his preview.

I can take Paddy Casey but not Paul Williams!!....:( He is the most annoying full of himself man ever...."I know all the crims" Paul....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Hon the Galvin

He's an awful pain in the tight jeans Kerrydude....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bmm

The Late Late Show is in the dark ages and needs to be put down! plz!!

Paul Williams? I'd love if came on and said Limerick's lovely now all them criminal fellas are in jail. (Scum, Ryan. Scum.)

Ha, I'd love it even more if he was on to talk about Love/Hate. (Nidge is scum Ryan. These are the type of thugs that are terrorising the streets of our TV shows).

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Paul Williams? I'd love if came on and said Limerick's lovely now all them criminal fellas are in jail. (Scum, Ryan. Scum.)

Ha, I'd love it even more if he was on to talk about Love/Hate. (Nidge is scum Ryan. These are the type of thugs that are terrorising the streets of our TV shows).

Nidge isn't real???........:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

He's an awful pain in the tight jeans Kerrydude....:o

Tight jeans and pair elf shoes,standard Galvin rig out

Was a great player for Kerry though,even if he did have a nasty streak in him,but sure you need that as well.

Tight jeans and pair elf shoes,standard Galvin rig out

I wouldn't doubt his talent, he had a mean streak all right, but that carry on with the fashion stuff turned me right off him tbh....:(