Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Portugal escorts Russian Ship away from its coast

• 06-11-2014 10:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭

Coming so soon after the Swedish incidents (although there were reports that that may have been a Dutch a sub) Russian ships and planes have been spotted off the coast of Portugal.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

No Dutch involvement in the other incident in Sweden .
    Massive amount of fronting by the putin and his merry band of communists .
    All these incursions are be heavily reported on by the state media to counter there nosediving economy .
    Look citizens were going broke but don't worry our might military are scaring the EU and former states

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

That's nothing OP, the yanks have a hape of warplanes in Shannon!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Gatling wrote: »
    No Dutch involvement in the other incident in Sweden .
    Massive amount of fronting by the putin and his merry band of communists .
    All these incursions are be heavily reported on by the state media to counter there nosediving economy .
    Look citizens were going broke but don't worry our might military are scaring the EU and former states

Blame the gay's!!!!! Sure they are all American or European :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Just a little more probing to test the military preparedness of the EU since it continues with it's eastward expansion.

Can't imagine the Russian leadership will be anything but amused at the results.

Rebellion in eastern Ukraine, Russia sends 4000 trained killers and a few dozen T-72s to back their dog in the fight. EU response? We won't sell you anymore sunflowers. Guess who won.

The EU should stick to what it knows- the bullying of the ordinary people of Europe, social engineering, the erosion of democracy, cultural suicide/defeatism and self loathing. It's manifestly unable to deal with a power that doesn't fear it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

DeadHand wrote: »
    The EU should stick to what it knows- the bullying of the ordinary people of Europe, social engineering, the erosion of democracy, cultural suicide/defeatism and self loathing. It's manifestly unable to deal with a power that doesn't fear it.

So you're pro-Europe then?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

catallus wrote: »
    That's nothing OP, the yanks have a hape of warplanes in Shannon!

Nope. Nothing in Shannon is armed or combat capable. Only transport and support aircraft. All armed US aircraft land in the UK or Germany in proper airbases for security.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Nope. Nothing in Shannon is armed or combat capable.

According to who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

This is just a mad man with deludied dreams of power and empire convinced he can bring back the 1960s.

Just Russia looking for a bit of attention and trying to appear relevant in the world that had largely forgotten about them.

So you're pro-Europe then?

If I give an answer you don't like, will you keep asking me until I give the "right" answer?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,803 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The rouble has dropped by 25% in value against the US dollar this year, to it's lowest value ever and continues to fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Russia is like the aul lad in the pub that won a boxing medal in 1958, before the drink got the better of him. Always sparring and simey dimeying with the young lads and spoiling for a row, acting the hard man, 'look into my eyes and don't blink' type stuff.

Sooner or later somebody will have just about enough of him and punch his lights out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Visit Russia before Russia visits you

This is just a mad man with deludied dreams of power and empire convinced he can bring back the 1960s.

Just Russia looking for a bit of attention and trying to appear relevant in the world that had largely forgotten about them.

If Russia isn't relevant, why has it been all over the news all year?

It's still a pivotal power.

Putin's a lot of things, mad isn't one of them. He was the only world leader applying logic to the Syria situation, for instance. He was ultimately proved right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Putin wants the Cold War back. He must reckon the russian hackers are onto something.

Russia is like the aul lad in the pub that won a boxing medal in 1958, before the drink got the better of him. Always sparring and simey dimeying with the young lads and spoiling for a row, acting the hard man, 'look into my eyes and don't blink' type stuff.

Sooner or later somebody will have just about enough of him and punch his lights out.

Your hilarious analogy would be accurate, if only the aul lad had the capability to kill every other person in the pub (nuclear power, remember)?

By "punch his lights out" I imagine you mean some kind of attack on or invasion of Russia. Remind me, what happened last time someone attempted to invade Russia? Who is in the Crimea now? Who could be in Stockholm, Kiev or Warsaw within a week if they decided to roll?

Aul fella in a pub... Right.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Everyday America conducts Empire projection & maintenance across the globe. Murders whom they wish, via proxy or via drone. Their manifest incompetence since 9/11 has led to the World becoming a much more dangerous place. But hey, at least the terror & armaments business is booming. And Russia is the bad guy?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Russia has over 3k nuclear weapons. The largest nuclear weapons ever detonated is Russian. They have extensive networks of ICBM's and one of the most dangerous aircraft of all time,the TU-160 Blackjack.They could bomb us out of existence.No one could and please God will mess with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

This is just a mad man with deludied dreams of power and empire convinced he can bring back

That sounds awfully familiar...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

The amount of ****e that people spout on here about Putin and Russia is unbelievable.

Russia not relevant?

That's interesting. Because Forbes just released their most powerful list.

This is what they had to say about the list
    This is not a lineup of the most influential or an anointing of the new establishment. It is an evaluation of hard power. We insist the people on our list wield the kind of power that shapes and bends the world, and moves people, markets, armies and minds.

It boiled down to Obama vs Putin.

And Putin came out on top. With damn good reason too.

I think most people in Ireland swallow the Western media view on Russia as the "bad" guys regardless of the facts.

They are not perfect, far from it, but I think the world is better off having a counterpoint to the American world dominance.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Mech1

Why are the Russian Escorts going to Portugal, we need more Russian girls here!!

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

Why don't other countries play tit for tat and invade Russian territory/water

• Registered Users Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Mech1

DanWall wrote: »

do you wanna risk it?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Probably because they have better things to be at than taking part in a pointless willy waving contest with the Russkis

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

DeadHand wrote: »

That's only bolloccks now in fairness. What in the name of jaysus does "cultural suicide/defeatism" even mean? Are you just trying to sound relevant?

Putin is some langer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Maybe being out here in the ocean isn't so bad a spot after all.

They have to go through the Poles, the Germans, the French and the British before they get to us.

We could be the final straw and declared winners and sole survivors of ww3.

chamionay championay

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Nope. Nothing in Shannon is armed or combat capable. Only transport and support aircraft. All armed US aircraft land in the UK or Germany in proper airbases for security.

Well that's news. A friend who worked at the bar served a rake of US Marines and none of them looked like chaplains. Come to think of it, they were all allowed smoke inside a little compound in the terminal building.

If you think that American supplies and personnel don't pass through Shannon then why the taboo about inspections?

Surely, if you've nothing to hide you've nothing to fear?

How about sooner then?

Come on "world's greatest nation", come on "paragon of freedom", come on "defender of democracy" with your hatred of people who invade or threaten other countries. How soon is now?

Come on. Stop picking on goat-herds in mountains, or rice-farmers in delta valleys, or olive-growers in defenseless hills or Michael Mouse islands in the Caribbean. Have a stab at the drunken uncle who is so weak. Come on, let's see that bloody nose. Let's see those lights punched out.

Or is that "somebody" who will have to punch his lights out just not you Sam?

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

Maybe being out here in the ocean isn't so bad a spot after all.

They have to go through the Poles, the Germans, the French and the British before they get to us.

We could be the final straw and declared winners and sole survivors of ww3.

chamionay championay

They were actually in Cork last year https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVtvwOQu_w4

From what I gathered from this abysmal report was that it was a Russian river boat and was escorted from "OFF THE COAST" of Portugal.

The same crap could be said about a couple of Korean scuba divers and their charter boat near Brittany:

"Kim Jong Un-Gangnam vessel intercepted on NATO's doorstep. Vessel had elaborate communication equipment (a radio), survival rations (...uh, food), local maps (...probably wise), foreign currency (...their own and some to pay for that hot port/whiskey after the dive). They have since been escorted from waters OFF THE COAST OF PORTUGAL/ENGLAND/AMERICA"