Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ear to the ground

• 06-11-2014 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭

On now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Nothing to do with farming this week by the look of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

mf240 wrote: »
    On now

grand...off now to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nothing to do with farming this week by the look of it
    yup, same old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Feirm was on earlier I have it recorded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Feckthis wrote: »
    Feirm was on earlier I have it recorded

is it any good?

I have the series taping but haven't got to watch any of it yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Fair play to your one that lost her husband. Other than that it was pure scutter.

Dunedin wrote: »
    is it any good?

I have the series taping but haven't got to watch any of it yet.

Yes, it's very good IMO. Just have to follow subtitles. It's all about crops tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Fair play to your one that lost her husband. Other than that it was pure scutter.

Don't have much time for Darragh, Irish people are too far removed from farming for RTE to be putting on farming programmes, I wonder how many watch it, farming doesn't attract advertising revenue, even TG4 will run out of material fairly quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Came across very well
    All too common
    Remember you never know what's going on in anyone's head
    Always take time to chat with friends and neighbours You may make the difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Got fed up after the first 5 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Horse and country and bbc countryfile is what iscan for farming programmes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Dickie10 wrote: »
    Horse and country and bbc countryfile is what iscan for farming programmes

Where is horse and country gone it used to be on channel 280?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Where is horse and country gone it used to be on channel 280?

Too much horse and not enough country on it the last while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

Though Feirm programme on TG4 was very good first time I saw it was tonight. Real farmers driving big farm machinery!! If that was ETTG it probably consist of Darragh learning to plough and then competing in a ploughing match, Oh actually he did that last season!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Watched 'The Story Of Agriculture' on the Horse & Country Channel last night (@ 11pm). Now that's an interesting programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Watched 'The Story Of Agriculture' on the Horse & Country Channel last night (@ 11pm). Now that's an interesting programme.

Is there a repeat ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Bullocks wrote: »
    Is there a repeat ?

I'd say there will. I seen the whole series about 2 years ago!! Very interesting and informative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Mad4mf

I really think Ear to the ground has gone to s**t in the past while 'Tis more of a programe about ruarl life as opposed to farming in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

ETTG is a farming "lite" program. A genuine sellout of agri life that shouldn't be aired. It was always said that nobody in Ireland was further than two generations from farming, so any agri program should "man up" to the real issues.

A few agri programs in French telly would show them, bad language included!

epfff wrote: »
    Too much horse and not enough country on it the last while

I agree. Should be called saddle club channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Don't watch it myself but I see from Facebook that Ear to the ground is repeated today on RTE1 at 1:10 straight after the Farming Weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

The Farming programme on Clare FM is very good. It's a farming programme at about 9am on Saturday mornings. It's usually very topical. Feeds, dosing, single payments as they come up.
    I think it can be got on line.

Figerty wrote: »
    The Farming programme on Clare FM is very good. It's a farming programme at about 9am on Saturday mornings. It's usually very topical. Feeds, dosing, single payments as they come up.
    I think it can be got on line.
    Never heard it. Only time I ever listen to Clare FM is for local match commentaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

I though it was good about the farming on lambay island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

First time farmers gets good viewing figures in the uk. Id like to see a irish version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

First time farmers gets good viewing figures in the uk. Id like to see a irish version.

Read the ould lad thread, it'd be more fun if it was a programme following retired farmers listening to them givin out

anyone watchin this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

didnt think it was great this week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Yep, I always like seeing highland cattle but not an awful lot in it aside from that.

I missed Feirm :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Yep, I always like seeing highland cattle but not an awful lot in it aside from that.

I missed Feirm :rolleyes:

fair play to any young lad that goes out and buys 70 acres, but wild flower mixes and the whin bushes already closing in in parts will leave him with avery different view in a couple of years. i'd have to say its a very idealistic view he has (or perception i got any way) of how farming should work.

Miname wrote: »
    fair play to any young lad that goes out and buys 70 acres, but wild flower mixes and the whin bushes already closing in in parts will leave him with avery different view in a couple of years. i'd have to say its a very idealistic view he has (or perception i got any way) of how farming should work.

In fairness he may well have plans to clear them (perhaps also the land may be designated for all we know, that would prevent spraying and require machinery and likely permission also), there's an enormous amount we don't get told in a few minutes piece. Perhaps the price of the land was influenced by it's condition. It was certainly a less than ideal field with rushes, yellow flag iris and bracken.

well that lass wasn't hard on the eyes :P
    not too happy with the mention of using the SFP to force farmers to improve safety

feirm was on forestry(the bit i saw anyway) with one lad in cork still grazing and making silage on the ground he's planted

ganmo wrote: »
    well that lass wasn't hard on the eyes :P
    not too happy with the mention of using the SFP to force farmers to improve safety

feirm was on forestry(the bit i saw anyway) with one lad in cork still grazing and making silage on the ground he's planted

I'll catch it on TG4 player, am interested in agro forestry, not that I can practice it.

No, there are far too may catches, snags, and conditions on SFP already. I'd say half the farmers don't know half of them, and I'm probably one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Ella has some God awful contrived accent, she might not be hard on the eyes but she would be hard on the ears. McCullough is a farmers son and he couldn't even use the shovel :rolleyes: he obviously spent his childhood sitting by the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

I'm not from a farming background at all but I'll watch ETTG if it's on, especially more so this weeks episode on account of the Steam Rally. Overall there's not much meat in the programme but what can you expect from such a short show. I don't like that tall one that presents it (Big Bird I call her!), she looks like a giant in the land of midgets- I don't think I've ever seen her stand beside any of the contributors where she didn't tower over them! I thought McCulloughs effort at feeding the firebox on the engine was pathetic- a child would make a better attempt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Ella has some God awful contrived accent, she might not be hard on the eyes but she would be hard on the ears. McCullough is a farmers son and he couldn't even use the shovel :rolleyes: he obviously spent his childhood sitting by the fire.
    Jaysus, I thought I was the only one...Sure that piece she did about the lass from Killorglin was like something a child would put together - she was mystified as to how a 24 yr old could OWN the place...OMG...like she ~OWNS it...savage
    Onto your man Darragh then with HIS stupid accent and his condescending 'farming for children + idiots' slot...RTE should can the series, or re-title it 'Away with the fairies' ,or 'In my faaathers time' , or maybe 'My little pony'.
    Drivel.

I'm not from a farming background at all but I'll watch ETTG if it's on, especially more so this weeks episode on account of the Steam Rally. Overall there's not much meat in the programme but what can you expect from such a short show. I don't like that tall one that presents it (Big Bird I call her!), she looks like a giant in the land of midgets- I don't think I've ever seen her stand beside any of the contributors where she didn't tower over them! I thought McCulloughs effort at feeding the firebox on the engine was pathetic- a child would make a better attempt!

Big bird great name we should call her that from now on.

oldsmokey wrote: »
    Jaysus, I thought I was the only one...Sure that piece she did about the lass from Killorglin was like something a child would put together - she was mystified as to how a 24 yr old could OWN the place...OMG...like she ~OWNS it...savage
    Onto your man Darragh then with HIS stupid accent and his condescending 'farming for children + idiots' slot...RTE should can the series, or re-title it 'Away with the fairies' ,or 'In my faaathers time' , or maybe 'My little pony'.
    Drivel.

Darragh is surely a clown he kept saying to the bandon man why steam engines why please tell me why, Darragh why are you such a clown why please tell me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Darragh is surely a clown he kept saying to the bandon man why steam engines why please tell me why, Darragh why are you such a clown why please tell me.

It was pure drivel. Think they should can it and make a new programme. Have one item per episode for 30 mins and do a decent job on it.

The only reasoned I stayed watching it was for the girl that took over the farm. Good looking and smart. Great combination

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Watchinh Ffiermo on s4c
    Whole programme based on young farmers.
    One lad only out if college assistant manager on wales biggest dairy farm. 2000 cows and 2000 followers.
    Your man was calving a cow and presenter got stuck in getting fluid out of its nostrels.
    Wouldn't see Ella at that she would need 10min on explaining how ye do it.
    Very good programme worth a watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Watchinh Ffiermo on s4c
    One lad only out if college assistant manager on wales biggest dairy farm. 2000 cows and 2000 followers.
    Your man was calving a cow and presenter got stuck in getting fluid out of its nostrels.

Pity no subtitles though! :-) l liked the bracket he had made up to mount stomach pump on gate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Muckit wrote: »
    Pity no subtitles though! :-) l liked the bracket he had made up to mount stomach pump on gate

Press help on your remote and turn them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Watchinh Ffiermo on s4c
    Ella would be too engrossed in perfecting her false accent :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

rangler1 wrote: »
    Don't have much time for Darragh, Irish people are too far removed from farming for RTE to be putting on farming programmes, I wonder how many watch it, farming doesn't attract advertising revenue, even TG4 will run out of material fairly quick

Usually upwards of 400k or 28% of the tv audience. It would be a lot less if it was purely for farmers, like it or not most of the viewers are in Dublin city.

faigs wrote: »
    Usually upwards of 400k or 28% of the tv audience. It would be a lot less if it was purely for farmers, like it or not most of the viewers are in Dublin city.

I don't think there are too many dubs tune into ettg. It is seen as a programme for farmers by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I don't think there are too many dubs tune into ettg. It is seen as a programme for farmers by them.
    I work as a consultant with Dubs (am a Dub myself) and a good few of them watch it. We forget that a lot of people living in Dublin are either directly from a farming background or their parents were and therefore retain an interest in all things agri related.
    I often meet people (exiled country folk) who have more of a graw for farming then some farmers that I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

I'm a dub and I turn in for that reason, it being a farming program

Ya I'd say a lot of ppl who grew up on farms would like it. Maybe it's a north side south side thing cause I don't think I can think of any non farmers that watch it(or admit to it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

on now