Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Autumn Internationals write ups sign up list *****

• 05-11-2014 1:50pm
    Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

Every year we have very good write ups during the international fixtures. Generally we allow people to sign up for a game. If you're interested, drop a note on this thread.

You have to do the write up at least a day or two before the game.

Weekend of the 7/8/9 NOV:

Ireland v South Africa - Losty Dublin
    Wales v Australia - skippymac6
    England v New Zealand - Swiwi
    Italy v Samoa - Morf
    France v Fiji - ?
    Scotland v Argentina - sydthebeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭skippymac6

awec wrote: »
    Every year we have very good write ups during the international fixtures. Generally we allow people to sign up for a game. If you're interested, drop a note on this thread.

You have to do the write up at least a day or two before the game.

Weekend of the 7/8/9 NOV:

Ireland v South Africa - Losty Dublin
    Wales v Australia - ?
    England v New Zealand - ?
    Italy v Samoa - ?
    France v Fiji - ?
    Scotland v Argentina - ?

I can do one AWEC. Don't really mind which one to be honest.

• Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

skippymac6 wrote: »
    I can do one AWEC. Don't really mind which one to be honest.

Put you down for the Wales game, that alright?

Yep no hassle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Proper tables expected now, crests and all. PM molloyjh for instructions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Zzippy wrote: »
    Proper tables expected now, crests and all. PM molloyjh for instructions!

Beggars can't be choosers Zzippy.

Has a mod ever done a preview?? No pressure now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Swiwi. wrote: »

I've done numerous previews before, but it's an unwritten rule that mods get the plebs to do them. So which game do you want? ;)

You signing up Swiwi? You could do the All Black game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Here you go folks (attached XLS). Enter the image URLs in the top row and the teams directly below. Then just copy the contents of column D into table tags in your post. Simples. Don't say I never do anything for ye. :cool:

You signing up Swiwi? You could do the All Black game?

Possibly. If I have time, I'll whip something up, but no promises...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Possibly. If I have time, I'll whip something up, but no promises...

You are the rightest person to do it. No excuses now, no need to be like Richie McCaw ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

I'd throw my name in for Italy - Manu Samoa.

You are the rightest person to do it. No excuses now, no need to be like Richie McCaw ;)

Who I see has zoomed up to 134 caps, and closing in fast on Gregan...and BOD.

If you can answer this Q Losty, I'll do the write-up just for you...

Ball is kicked and rolling. Player with one foot in play and one foot in touch picks up the ball - this is throw-in to that player AFAIK. He doesn't move, and immediately takes quick throw-in, still with one foot in play and one foot in touch. Has he taken an incorrect quick throw-in?

The fate of my potential contribution to this forum's Saturday morning reading rests on your shoulders...

Who I see has zoomed up to 134 caps, and closing in fast on Gregan...and BOD.

If you can answer this Q Losty, I'll do the write-up just for you...

You bastard :D
    Who I see has zoomed up to 134 caps, and closing in Ball is kicked and rolling. Player with one foot in play and one foot in touch picks up the ball - this is throw-in to that player AFAIK. He doesn't move, and immediately takes quick throw-in, still with one foot in play and one foot in touch. Has he taken an incorrect quick throw-in?

The fate of my potential contribution to this forum's Saturday morning reading rests on your shoulders...

Play on if it's the All Blacks :pac:

You are correct on both counts based on what you say. The player in touch has rendered the ball out of play. His or her two feet need to be outside the field of play when taking a line out, quick or slow line out. It is one that isn't adhered to a lot these days but in the scene of things it's a minor offence.

Ok, Swiwi is doing the All Black game.

France and Scotland games left- come on folks!

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

You can put me down for the Scots game. It will be tomorrow afternoon before it's up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Dear me,

Remind me not to take on a match thread the day before I have to submit something else.

Eternal love and respect,

Me.

Any chance you can do one of your classic tables summarising the TV coverage for the weekend...?

You sure as hell are pushing it this week :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=92940610#post92940610

So report card time

NZ v Eng: Swiwi predicted NZ by 10
    Scot v Arg: sydthebeat predicted Scotland by 3
    Wales v Aust: skippymac predicted Aussie by 5
    Ire v SA: Losty Dublin predicted SA by 13 to 15

Well done to skippymac for nailing it....
    ...and Losty Dublin, what can I say, that was a shocking call :p

So report card time

NZ v Eng: Swiwi predicted NZ by 10
    Scot v Arg: sydthebeat predicted Scotland by 3
    Wales v Aust: skippymac predicted Aussie by 5
    Ire v SA: Losty Dublin predicted SA by 13 to 15

Well done to skippymac for nailing it....
    ...and Losty Dublin, what can I say, that was a shocking call :p

Oi you, stop misquoting me :)

I also said While we have a team that are capable of competing, scoring and even beating them on a 15 versus 15 basis, the winning of this game will be on attrition which naturally puts the focus onto the bench as well as the likes of Heaslip lasting the full game.."

And...

We need to keep them try free for as long as possible, exploit any penalty chances with clean line out and 3 pointers and expect the bench to keep the same work rate up.

Check and check!

The only bit I got wrong was the scoreline and I was only out on that by 25 points. As Meatloaf sang, two out of three ain't bad :pac:

Now who was that mad eejit who said that Polland was better that Sexton? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

You must be right peeved about that penalty try ruining your prediction Swiwi.

Yes. It was all on track for some solid bragging rights on the forum...

Like that's ever stopped you :)

Working ahead of things, this is the match list for the forthcoming weekend.

FRIDAY

Canada vs Samoa. (This takes place in Stade de la Rabine, Vannes, France)

SATURDAY
    • England vs. South Africa.
    • Wales vs Fiji.
    • Italy vs Argentina.
    • Romania vs. Japan.
    • Tonga vs US Eagles. (This takes place in Gloucester)
    • Scotland vs New Zealand.
    • France vs Australia.

SUNDAY
    • Ireland vs Georgia

There are games in total this weekend. Who bags what?

I can't see anybody taking on Canada vs Samoa, Romania vs Japan or Tonga vs US though they may be of interest to some. Both Samoa and Tonga's games this weekend are to be streamed live on www.IRB.com.

If no-one else wants to I don't mind doing SA v Eng, but if someone wants that match be my guest. I don't want to do NZ again tbh I quite like getting alternate views to my own on those games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Croket should get an opp to give a lowdown on the Georgia selection!

SATURDAY
    England vs. South Africa. - Swiwi
    Wales vs Fiji.
    Italy vs Argentina. - sydthebeat
    Romania vs. Japan.
    Tonga vs US Eagles. (This takes place in Gloucester)
    Scotland vs New Zealand. - skippymac6
    France vs Australia. - Pudsy33

SUNDAY
    Ireland vs Georgia - Losty Dublin

SATURDAY
    England vs. South Africa. - Swiwi
    Wales vs Fiji.
    Italy vs Argentina.
    Romania vs. Japan.
    Tonga vs US Eagles. (This takes place in Gloucester)
    Scotland vs New Zealand.
    France vs Australia.

SUNDAY
    Ireland vs Georgia

I'll take one again if that's alright? The Scottish or French one if people didn't have a preference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I'll take a stab at the Frenchies vs Aus

Edit: If you're happy to do NZ skippy?

Both signed up! :)

Thanks lads.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    I'll take a stab at the Frenchies vs Aus

Edit: If you're happy to do NZ skippy?

Yeah sounds good!

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

ill do the glamour tie of the weekend!!

italy v argentina ;)

Ireland still free lads...

I'll take the Wales game if it's free or the Irish game; either either.

You're on Ireland duty sir. :)

But Misssss :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭hman231

International fixtures this weekend: Italy vs Argentina ( I predict a slender Italian victory by 5 points.)
    England vs South Africa ( The box were blown away by us last week, so I reckon that they will really up it for this one but England too look ever impressive and I think that they can stop the box and beat them by a narrow 5 points)
    Wales vs Fiji ( wales by 30-40 points)
    Scotland vs New Zealand ( Would love to see the scots but I predict a poor sporting weekend for them with there soccer team narrowly beaten and their rugby team played off the park the All blacks by 25-35 points. game over at half time France vs Australia ( A really tough one to predict but I have a feeling the Aussies will take this one, they play with great flair and I really think they are serious dark horses for the world cup. Australia by 10 points).
    And then the big one Ireland vs the mighty Georgia............ ( All I can say is if I were a bookie I would suspend betting as to who will win the match. the question is by how many points Bookies have it as -41 and I think that thats fair a 40-50 point win should set us up nicely for the game with the Aussies.
    And one last word C'MON YOU BOYS IN GREEN

No pressure Losty Dublin, but you are going to have to really sell the Ireland-Georgia match to me, and even then with the SANZAR games as must-sees, I reckon my missus will put the foot down. About as B-string an Irish team as possible, with a host of players who are going to have no further (or minimal) part to play for Ireland after this (possible exception an Italy 6N game), and a Georgian team who don't even have Gorgodze. I trust Schmidt, so I'm sure it is all a masterplan, but I must admit the enthusiasm levels could do with a boost.

Week three sees the following games.

21 Nov 2014
    • 6:00pm Fiji vs. USA; Municipal de la Rabine

22 Nov 2014
    • 2:00pm Italy vs. South Africa; Stadio Luigi Ferraris
    • 2:30pm Scotland vs. Tonga; Rugby Park, Kilmarnock.
    • 4:30pm Ireland vs. Australia; Aviva Stadium
    • 4:30pm Romania vs. Canada; Arcul de Triumf Stadium
    • 5:30pm Wales vs. New Zealand; Millennium Stadium
    • 7:00pm England vs. Samoa; Twickenham Stadium
    • 8:00pm France vs. Argentina; Stade de France

23 Nov 2014

• 1:00pm Georgia v Japan Mikheil Meshki Stadium

Super Saturday, eh? :)

The tv timings are hopeless. What 2 games this weekend have the most general appeal? I would have thought the games in Dublin and Cardiff...

Ones on Sky and ones on BBC. The perils of multi channels, eh?

But overlapping Losty. It's not a problem for me in the sense that with Switzerland not being a major (or even minor...) rugby nation, I have legal cheap access, including the ability to record the BBC, but why the IRB decides to have major games on at the same time I don't know. There are plenty of less glamorous ties that could be played to avoid the clash. I'm surprised the advertising companies didn't pull rank TBH.

Given that there isn't a lot of time to play with it means that some games are bound to clash. They could pencil in a game on a Sunday to take some pressure off or try have a game played at 12, 2, 4, 6 and 8PM. The IRB also need to to allow for ANZAC TV coverage within reason.

I take your point though; it's a pain in the arse.

Given that there isn't a lot of time to play with it means that some games are bound to clash. They could pencil in a game on a Sunday to take some pressure off or try have a game played at 12, 2, 4, 6 and 8PM. The IRB also need to to allow for ANZAC TV coverage within reason.

Anyway, I have the option to watch Scotland v Tonga, which is a relief.

Be interesting to see how Scotland get on against Tonga this week. They've won their two warm up games beating Georgia over there and fairly thumped the states last week. If Scotland take their eye of the ball (big game against NZ, game not in Murrayfield etc) they could be in for a fright.

Along with a write up? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

It is a pain in the arse having games clash but IRB and union's will never schedule games for 12/2/4/6/8. You just will never see 12pm internationals.
    Maybe have some games on a Sunday but Unions don't seem to want it.

Along with a write up? :)

Nah not this week LD. Someone else can have a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

It is a pain in the arse having games clash but IRB and union's will never schedule games for 12/2/4/6/8. You just will never see 12pm internationals.
    Maybe have some games on a Sunday but Unions don't seem to want it.

I think overlaps are acceptable, it's just going to happen. What I don't get is why the two obviously big name games over lap. That's surely avoidable.

Right, sign up time. Which one do yous want?

2:00pm Italy vs. South Africa; Stadio Luigi Ferraris
    2:30pm Scotland vs. Tonga; Rugby Park, Kilmarnock.
    4:30pm Ireland vs. Australia; Aviva Stadium - Losty Dublin
    4:30pm Romania vs. Canada; Arcul de Triumf Stadium
    5:30pm Wales vs. New Zealand; Millennium Stadium
    7:00pm England vs. Samoa; Twickenham Stadium
    8:00pm France vs. Argentina; Stade de France