Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is "a score" in money?

• 05-11-2014 3:48am
    Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭

I'm not quite sure on this one, I've heard a few different definitions, I've heard it was 10 euro, from others I've heard it's 20, from others, it's the cost of one dose of a recreational drug(which would vary with the drug), can anyone help me on this one?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,153 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

I'll have one dose of your finest recreational drug please, my good man.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,098 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

20. Ye Olde English term not a scanger one.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

A score is always 20, there's no ambiguity.

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Nodster

I'd wager a pony on it's a twenty

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭biketard

Twenty, and not just for money.

A ha'penny

A score is £20, a pony is £25, a ton is £100.

Source: Only Fools And Horses.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Candie wrote: »

£500 monkey and £1000 is a grand

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Michael2107

a monkey is 500, and a bag is a grand(bag of sand)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

A score is twenty. It has nothing to do with drugs and has been in use for centuries. Abraham Lincoln used it in the Gettysburg Address.
    Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth, upon this continent, a new nation, conceived in liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that “all men are created equal.”

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

A score is twenty. It has nothing to do with drugs and has been in use for centuries. Abraham Lincoln used it in the Gettysburg Address.

Apparently it came from Norse meaning Tally of 20.
    Origin Expand
    before 1100; (noun) Middle English; late Old English scora, score (plural; singular *scoru) group of twenty (apparently orig. notch) < Old Norse skor notch; (v.) Middle English scoren to incise, mark with lines, tally debts < Old Norse skora to notch, count by tallies; later v. senses derivative of the noun; akin to shear

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It's a decent BJ in certain parts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Explain a monkey being GBP500 please?
    I knew the rest but this one stumps me. I'm guessing some kind of rhyming slang is involved?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,242 ✭✭✭✭jake is right

A Score is 20.'

fluffer wrote: »
    Explain a monkey being GBP500 please?
    I knew the rest but this one stumps me. I'm guessing some kind of rhyming slang is involved?

Apparently Monkey and Pony comes from the Indian rupee notes. They had pictures of animals on them.
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_slang

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

A score is an eighth of an ounce. At least it was in my day. Prices may have changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Now, to take the ferry cost a nickel, and in those days, nickels had pictures of bumblebees on 'em. "Gimme five bees for a quarter," you'd say.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

And in certain circles in the US a $100 is called a benjamin (after Benji Franklin).

And, did you know that when the French ruled Louisiana and New Orleans was a vibrant port for trade and employment and the currency was Francs, and the 10 Franc note had "Dix Francs" printed in the corner, people would say they are going to go south to earn some "dixies", hence Dixieland.

.....and not a lotta people know that!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

A Barclay is a ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

When I lived in London, I had two mates would could speak at length in cockney rhyming slang. T'was great to listen too even if it didn't make eighteen pence a lot of the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

a bag of sand and a monkey up the jacksie

• Registered Users Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

20. Nothing to do with drugs. In Shakespeare's Macbeth, "three score and ten" means 70.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

YFlyer wrote: »
    A Barclay is a ****.

Or if you're older, it was also known as a 'J. Arthur'.

Anyone who attends race meetings will be very familiar with the terms "score", "pony" and "monkey", bookies use them all the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

To me "a score" money wise is having any left at the end of the week after paying rent, bills and groceries :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Still in common use in the mainstream press.

E.g. from the Irish Times, August 11th 2014
    Initial reports suggested scores of people ended up in the water after a spate of capsizes

• Registered Users Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Still in common use in the mainstream press.

E.g. from the Irish Times, August 11th 2014

Always was and always will be 20 Op.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

A Monkey is £500

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

I thought a century is £100