Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New cars we don't see or are unlikely to see on irish roads due to the economy

• 04-11-2014 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭

one of the few things good things about celtic tiger was the many nice cars being bought . while I know things are improving in the motor trade there are still plenty of new high end cars you are unlikely to see or if you do it will be a rare sight . these vehicles would have been common enough if the celtic tiger was still roaring .

heres a few

new model audi r8

new audi rs models

alfa 4c and 8c

Bentley mulsanne

latest Chrysler 300c

new rhd ford mustang

Mercedes s class coupe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

goochy wrote: »
    one of the few things good things about celtic tiger was the many nice cars being bought . while I know things are improving in the motor trade there are still plenty of new high end cars you are unlikely to see or if you do it will be a rare sight . these vehicles would have been common enough if the celtic tiger was still roaring .

heres a few

new model audi r8

new audi rs models

alfa 4c and 8c

Bentley mulsanne

latest Chrysler 300c

new rhd ford mustang

Mercedes s class coupe

There will be sales for S Class coupe R8 and RS model audis..The alfa and chrysler maybe not but more due to distributors than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

mickdw wrote: »
    There will be sales for S Class coupe R8 and RS model audis..The alfa and chrysler maybe not but more due to distributors than anything else.

Chrysler distributor on nass road has fiat 500 hanging about the place was thinking if you bought a Jeep they throw in a 500 instead of spare wheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Chrysler 300C?? Do you think we're all furkan plumbers, man?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

jimgoose wrote: »
    Chrysler 300C?? Do you think we're all furkan plumbers, man?!?

Tis a baby Bentley like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Audi A8 W12
    BMW M6 Gran Coupe
    Skoda Superb 3.6 V6 DSG
    BMW 550i
    Opel Insignia OPC
    BMW M235i
    Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe S600

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Tis a baby Bentley like

saw some tool with bentley badges on his 300c...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

RS model was never popular in my opinion here. The RS4 was around for the good boom years and I only started seeing them after the recession. Don't think they had the poser prestige that the 'look at me' brigade craved. Anyone I knew that had one was usually someone after a wolf in sheep's clothing and a 'drivers' car.

I'd actually go as far to say you are more likely to see an R8 than an true RS4 / RS6 in the country. That said, there is an RS3 and RS5 knocking around.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Some more normal models now gone....RX8, Subaru Imprezza Turbo, Mitsubishi Evo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

Anything that's available in the UK could be imported here if the buyer is really interested in one even if the importer won't officially bring them in here. If there's money to be spent, dealers will do what they can to get it, especially if it's high end stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

heres a few

new model audi r8

new audi rs models

alfa 4c and 8c

Bentley mulsanne

latest Chrysler 300c

new rhd ford mustang

Mercedes s class coupe

I don't think it has anything to do with the "economy", which I have to stress out it's still (and again) lightyears ahead these of most of the other industrialized countries - EU and UK included. Also, the person who can afford a Bentley is hardly ever gonna be affected by any so-called "recession".

The sad and brutal reality is that in general, Irish people are not much into cars but like to use them as a showoff tool for their wealth, social position and so on. So with a few notable forced exceptions (e.g. you can't get an 1.4 TDI Porsche...), most customers will simply go for the "maximum gain with minimum pain" solution; Why get an RS6 when a basic spec A6 looks just the same in the eyes of a passerby, if all you are interested in are the looks and a "151" registration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

You'd think CL500s were made in Roscommon between 2000 and 2007 with the amount of them for sale second hand now. There's gonna be a massive drop in the availability of original Irish cars like that over the last six years of slump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

heres a few

new model audi r8

new audi rs models

alfa 4c and 8c

Bentley mulsanne

latest Chrysler 300c

new rhd ford mustang

Mercedes s class coupe

You see a few being sold during the year but nothing near like the numbers you used to. Saw this on twitter during the week.

https://twitter.com/_melaniemay/status/529972043035709440/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Any big petrol :( All V6 cars, 4.2 V8 Audi's, OPC / GT / ST / R32 / AMG / M3 / M5 / M6 anything!

heres a few

new model audi r8

new audi rs models

alfa 4c and 8c

Bentley mulsanne

latest Chrysler 300c

new rhd ford mustang

Mercedes s class coupe

I live near rathkeale. I expect to see some of these cars on yellow plates given the coming festive season. They've started to come home in their droves already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Cl500s were the ultimate symbol of having made it. Lets face it most who could afford one would have grown up kids and no need for back doors. Also they would be too old for real sports cars. Also one of Mercs dearest cars so had the kudos.
    The S Class Coupe Im sure will sell plenty here. Theres no shortage of big money in Ireland but its in not too many peoples hands.
    All the land sold at boom prices the money didn't just disappear for every buyer there was a seller...
    The likes of new Porsches aren't going to do so well one of my neigbours bought one new for 135k in the boom at early thirties, now he doesn't even own a car. The young got destroyed by the boom and are saddled with massive debts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

heres a few

new model audi r8

new audi rs models

alfa 4c and 8c

Bentley mulsanne

latest Chrysler 300c

new rhd ford mustang

Mercedes s class coupe

Lexus RC-F

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Ireland doesn't have a car culture as such.
    People always have bought and will always buy anything bland, boring, 1.4 petrol (in future 1.0) or 1.9 diesel (in future 1.5), it has got to be cheap to run, family friendly, inoffensive, spec not as important as reg, long service interval (it needs it in this country), won't draw comment or attention, nothing too exotic and (this is a VERY big thing in this country) it has got to be the same as everyone else has. So if your car fulfills all the above criteria, but no one else drives it, you're a freak.
    If you want a big engine, it's got to be a 4x4, the only exception to the 1.4/1.9 rule.
    So anything exotic, racy, big-engined, fast, exciting, different, strange, unusual or rare is the reserve of eccentrics, dandies, freaks and other suspicious characters.
    This is true for everything in this country, we are suspicious of anything too loud, exotic, exciting, tasty, colorful and above all different, in short anything that would make us stand out as a person and would draw attention.
    If the average person here wore colorful clothes and drove an exotic car, they would feel incredibly self-conscious, imagining everyone looking at them, thinking they're talking about them behind their backs, saying "Jaysus, look at that eejit over there, what a gobsh*te!".
    So we do bland, inoffensive, conformist, grey, anonymous, anything that won't get us noticed.
    I don't know why that is, but, other than the outrageous rip off and gouging by the state for any nice car, that is the reason why very few people who could easily afford something really nice, actually do so and just buy another 520d or 1.9 TDI again.
    I have nothing against those two cars,they simply have become the vehicle to buy to gain the silent approval of the masses who might otherwise tut and imperceptibly shake their heads, the worst fate any Irish person can befall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Saw a 131 reg Audi S8 yesterday in Limerick...
    520hp, 15-25mph 4 litre V8 ...not bad at all, annual tax of 1200..

Blazer wrote: »

I doubt the first owner cares what the tax is it is after all a 130k car!
    Not too many people would buy that new very unusual. Something like an S500 Merc saloon or Coupe would be more in keeping with that kind of cash. Shows you've made it and aren't scared of showing it. Of course you would need to every 3 years replace the car with new at a cost of another 80 grand or so as otherwise people will think you are a loser :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I thought it was an S6? I was behind him on the motorway when he floored it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Sobanek wrote: »
    saw some tool with bentley badges on his 300c...

Taxi in swords has that tat on his already tatty 300

I thought it was an S6? I was behind him on the motorway when he floored it!

he was right beside me as we were stopped on the motorway due to that crash so I was able to get a good look at it..definitely an S8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭td2008

anything over 1.1 litre - the selection is pitiful due to tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ireland doesn't have a car culture as such.
    People always have bought and will always buy anything bland, boring, 1.4 petrol (in future 1.0) or 1.9 diesel (in future 1.5), it has got to be cheap to run, family friendly, inoffensive, spec not as important as reg, long service interval (it needs it in this country), won't draw comment or attention, nothing too exotic and (this is a VERY big thing in this country) it has got to be the same as everyone else has. So if your car fulfills all the above criteria, but no one else drives it, you're a freak.
    If you want a big engine, it's got to be a 4x4, the only exception to the 1.4/1.9 rule.
    So anything exotic, racy, big-engined, fast, exciting, different, strange, unusual or rare is the reserve of eccentrics, dandies, freaks and other suspicious characters.
    This is true for everything in this country, we are suspicious of anything too loud, exotic, exciting, tasty, colorful and above all different, in short anything that would make us stand out as a person and would draw attention.
    If the average person here wore colorful clothes and drove an exotic car, they would feel incredibly self-conscious, imagining everyone looking at them, thinking they're talking about them behind their backs, saying "Jaysus, look at that eejit over there, what a gobsh*te!".
    So we do bland, inoffensive, conformist, grey, anonymous, anything that won't get us noticed.
    I don't know why that is, but, other than the outrageous rip off and gouging by the state for any nice car, that is the reason why very few people who could easily afford something really nice, actually do so and just buy another 520d or 1.9 TDI again.
    I have nothing against those two cars,they simply have become the vehicle to buy to gain the silent approval of the masses who might otherwise tut and imperceptibly shake their heads, the worst fate any Irish person can befall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Ireland doesn't have a car culture as such

20141005_111045_zps07ovw31e.jpg

20141005_111059_zps8h4l8e7r.jpg

20141005_111113_zpsvvbc3mfd.jpg

That may be, but Ireland is definitely a country that worships the bog standard family hatch or saloon.
    You could spend a day in any Irish city and not see anything but a4, 520d at best and the rest would be an endless stream of Korean, French and Italian mid sized and small cars.
    Spend a weekend in Stockholm, M6 common as muck over there and must have seen half a dozen R8. Those guys are nuts about cars.
    Ireland doesn't have a car culture any more than it has a food culture. ;)

he was right beside me as we were stopped on the motorway due to that crash so I was able to get a good look at it..definitely an S8

What was the story with that crash? Seems like a weekly occurrence now.
    Some blast of rich exhaust from the audi as it picked up speed. Pity I didn't get to hear it much.

This it? Edit you said it was a 131. The one below is a 142

20141026_132258_zpslbsrdvea.jpg

The one I saw was dark grey? Black? Not white anyway.

That may be, but Ireland is definitely a country that worships the bog standard family hatch or saloon.
    You could spend a day in any Irish city and not see anything but a4, 520d at best and the rest would be an endless stream of Korean, French and Italian mid sized and small cars.
    Spend a weekend in Stockholm, M6 common as muck over there and must have seen half a dozen R8. Those guys are nuts about cars.
    Ireland doesn't have a car culture any more than it has a food culture. ;)

I've been to London etc and Ireland doesn't compare. I agree with you on the Diesel brigade in Ireland. There is a very small culture here, you might not see it on a day to day basis but it's there. If your around Dublin get yourself to the Cars and Coffee in Cherrywood- you'll see what I mean!

Veloce wrote: »
    I've been to London etc and Ireland doesn't compare. I agree with you on the Diesel brigade in Ireland. There is a very small culture here, you might not see it on a day to day basis but it's there. If your around Dublin get yourself to the Cars and Coffee in Cherrywood- you'll see what I mean!

I go to cars and coffee in Limerick on a regular basis and that is where you meet all the wheel nuts.
    My favorite so far was a 1979 German army truck with trailer, it was massive!
    And the best thing about it? Classic tax! :D
    I have checked out the VW festival and the Limerick festival of speed, all been good fun and greatly enjoyed by myself.
    I just had to get the rant about everyone driving VW's and KIAs out of the way.

edit:
    Found a pic!

327907.jpg

What was the story with that crash? Seems like a weekly occurrence now.
    Some blast of rich exhaust from the audi as it picked up speed. Pity I didn't get to hear it much.

no idea..can't have been too serious as it was cleared pretty fast...checked on a few news sites and no mention of it bar just being an accident.

Veloce wrote: »
    I think the congestion charge has an effect on the cars you'll see in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

tbh most of the cars we are discussing you see in London are owned by Arabs or the like, most normal English can hardly afford to live in that place let alone run a car there.

The more outlandish cars like lambos are usually rich kids be they Arabs or what not. But the ordinary people have it too. Theres a lot of money in London, even crappy ex council houses close to the centre are 1.2 million stg! The financial sector jobs are very well paying and theres quite a few of them. Anyone like that is likely to lease something like a C63 AMG for around 10k a year.

The congestion charge in London is the guts of €5k a year, add in parking etc. and people are less likely to be willing to spend big money to run a 15 year old Fiesta or whatever. It only makes sense to have a car in London if you can afford to piss away a lot of money and in that case it may as well be something nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

To my surprise, saw a 141D Maserati GranTourismo last week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

London is one of the richest cities in the world. Hardly a benchmark for what to normally expect.

We're alright for cars in this country. What you see is fairly similar to what you'd see on most of the the continent. To compare Dublin to Stockholm or London is just silly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

To my surprise, saw a 141D Maserati GranTourismo last week.

1.4 Diesel Maserati?

lomb wrote: »
    The more outlandish cars like lambos are usually rich kids be they Arabs or what not. But the ordinary people have it too. Theres a lot of money in London, even crappy ex council houses close to the centre are 1.2 million stg! The financial sector jobs are very well paying and theres quite a few of them. Anyone like that is likely to lease something like a C63 AMG for around 10k a year.

My friend's brother in law works as a solicitor in London. He got himself a brand new 535d GT in 2012 - fair enough, not bad, but nothing spectacular either.
    Thing is, he paid for it with cash :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Not supercar or anything remotely close to an Audi RS anything but you never see any of the newer Impreza STI mainly because you'd be paying the top rate of motor tax (2350).

Shame really as that flat four sound is unmistakable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Sobanek wrote: »
    My friend's brother in law works as a solicitor in London. He got himself a brand new 535d GT in 2012 - fair enough, not bad, but nothing spectacular either.
    Thing is, he paid for it with cash :eek:

The GT is hideous though.
    Also, you would probably buy that over there for the cost of a 520d here.

mickdw wrote: »
    The GT is hideous though

I have to agree :( That money would've been better spent on an A7 Sportback (I think they're around the same money)

It was 55k gbp.

London is one of the richest cities in the world. Hardly a benchmark for what to normally expect.

We're alright for cars in this country. What you see is fairly similar to what you'd see on most of the the continent. To compare Dublin to Stockholm or London is just silly.

It is kind of similar, but in general compared to, for example, Germany, you can add 500cc to the average engine size and the higher spec, high end models are just not as prevalent here. Just spend an hour on the German Autobahn and you will see more 5 liter+ cars than in a year here.
    If you see an A6 here, you can be 99% it's the 1.9 TDI. Anywhere else it would be a 2 liter+ petrol (the 2 liter being pointed at and people would say "how does it move with such a tiny engine?")
    So, yes, in Ireland we have generally smaller cars with smaller engines, lesser spec and fewer high end models. As far as exotic cars is concerned, nobody would argue that they are prevalent in Ireland to the extend that they are in mainland Europe.
    One thing is different here, I don't recall too many rallies going past my house, there have been several in my area and two right past my front door, so I'm not complaining in that respect. :)
    It's just the way it is and I am glad of the car scene that is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

1.4 Diesel Maserati?

Shur what else would you be having?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

The congestion charge in London is the guts of €5k a year, add in parking etc. and people are less likely to be willing to spend big money to run a 15 year old Fiesta or whatever. It only makes sense to have a car in London if you can afford to piss away a lot of money and in that case it may as well be something nice.

If, as I do, you live within the CC zone, you get a 90% discount not on at least one car. Very few people would drive through it everyday and pay 5k. If you needed to go through every day you'd simply reg your car as a mini cab - hundreds have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Caliden wrote: »
    Not supercar or anything remotely close to an Audi RS anything but you never see any of the newer Impreza STI mainly because you'd be paying the top rate of motor tax (2350).

Shame really as that flat four sound is unmistakable

An S4 costs less to tax than my 05 Saab 2.2TiD does now.

Bring it on :)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭kooga

here another for the list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Did someone here have a photo of an irish reg A45?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I seen a RCZ THP 270 here not too long ago. Definitely a sign things are improving :):):) :pac: